Author Topic: Queen's Birthday Long Weekend 7/8/9 June 2014 - who going camping and where?  (Read 40535 times)

Offline Lori

Heading off to watch the fireworks along the river.

Offline dlncooke

• 2014 Dmax LSU, Jayco Destiny & Oztent
Anyone heading to Boreen Point !!! stop in and say hello over a beer or coffee.
Jus look of "Nomad Condor" Hard Floor camper with a blue tent/annexe & a Beige Dmax.

2014 Dmax, LS-U setup for outback touring.

2 days of work and were off

Offline Clouty

2 days of work and were off
>:D >:D
Have fun mate.. Wish I was going :cheers:

Eldest is having her birthday, 9th, on friday and wants to go away camping. Trouble is, can't get away before Sat Arvo.

We went Stinson Pk last year and froze our butts off, dubious of going out that way again as we're not fully prepared for the cold.
Might try Lennox Head Van Pk, by the lake, or something easy like that

Offline robbo1172

• I owe, I owe, it's off to work I go...
The swmbo is presently in labour :) ain't going nowhere this weekend...
Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever. - Ghandi

http://www.rockfactor.com.au

https://www.facebook.com/rockfactorduo

Offline Chippy76

• :D
I've convinced Mrs Chippy to head down to Yurargir National Park for the weekend. We have never been there before so we are looking forward to checking out somewhere new. I was hoping to take the canoe, however a lack of lifejackets has vetoed that idea.... Oh well I might get in a spot of fishing :D

Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

>:D >:D
Have fun mate.. Wish I was going :cheers:

Yup, we will. Send me a post card from china will ya  ;D ;D  >:D >:D

Offline MrEMan

• Our Adventures
Heading somewhere close (free campground at Laanecoorie central Vic) with the clan from Friday to Monday. Small chance of rain and it'll be cold but we'll have a fire.
2002 Prado & 2014 Johnno's Off Road Deluxe

Offline Campsite Cruiser

Staying at Tallebudgerra and spending time at Cooly Rocks festival.
Pete & Nat
2006 GXL HDJ100
Sunseeker Wild Child

Offline Dion

Sandy Creek Campin for us and some friends.
2017 Y62 Patrol
2009 Lifestyle Extenda

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
Ballina for us, at lakeside yes it is expensive but it's where swmbo said we were staying.

Offline Rogerthatv2

• GNDN 4
Heading off tomorrow / Friday (after visiting the Caravan and Camping show in the morning) to Clarence River Wilderness Reserve for 3 nights.  Looking forward to it, never been and I hear good things about it often.  We are in one of the wilderness sites.

Enjoy the long weekend all.

Cheers Dan
2009 Jayco Outback Hawk & Prado 150 Series VX D4D - Now we just have to use it - not look at it!

nice one dan, just take it easy on the rd up, can be a bit tight in some spot. we have never been there as we take the dogs, but always go past it to another spot. Have a good week end.

Heading off tomorrow / Friday (after visiting the Caravan and Camping show in the morning) to Clarence River Wilderness Reserve for 3 nights.  Looking forward to it, never been and I hear good things about it often.  We are in one of the wilderness sites.

Enjoy the long weekend all.

Cheers Dan

Those spots had a lot of weed through them at Christmas time, hopefully it is a bit better now.

Offline Moggy

Well we're heading to hydeway bay this weekend. I have to admit i'm reluctant to broadcast because every time we have planned in last 6 mths it starts pi$$in down rain. After the first time swmbo was not going out in the rain.
Anyway we'll have another crack. Oh for a rainless Qld winter  :D  :D
All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

The swmbo is presently in labour :) ain't going nowhere this weekend...

Well how did she go.

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
Cheers mate, yeah we were looking for somewhere to take the dog.  Looks like the long weekend isn't going to happen now as we've got a couple of things we can't get out of in Brissie Fri & Sat and now we've got a family thing up in Toowoomba on Sunday.  I enquired about Murphys Creek Escape as an option close to Toowoomba, but they want 3 nights minimum at peak prices. 

I appreciate the feedback on Flanagans and Darlington.  I'll get out and check them out for myself one of these days.

Lately we've been staying at Janowen Hills, at Goomburra(?), this side of Warwick.
A few places up that way to camp, and dogs are ok. It's not a bad spot, camps are fairly far apart and surprisingly there's not much noise at night from other campers. Quite a bit to see and do also, particularly if you like 4wd tracks. The main range national park is great, and the lookouts breathtaking from the top of the mountain - http://www.southernqueenslandcountry.com.au/destinations/warwick/attractions/main-range-national-park/

Contact me for special MySwag prices on 4x4 accessories!
http://scenicrim4x4.com.au

Made it to Eildon with a few other swsggers

Trying to get the planets to align for Wollondilly. Hope to have some good friends of ours who we usually travel with. I will know more next week.
Swaggers welcome.

Ended up at Upper Colo River. Top spot.

Offline cheekygirl668

• Rebel without a clue...
ended up at the Bridle Track near Bathurst as the road to Bendethera was closed ...brilliant weekend, spot and weather

Caledonia River - Howitt Hut - Dingo Hill Track.

Had intended to come down the Butcher Country Track from Howitt Hut, but track impassible due to a vehicle with a busted axle.  >:(

Lots of river crossings  ;D and muddy climbs / descents.  ;D

Snatch straps and winches deployed for several bog holes.  >:D

A great weekend for the 3 'young blokes' from the Jackaroo Club!  :cup:

Had intended to come down the Butcher Country Track from Howitt Hut, but track impassible due to a vehicle with a busted axle.  >:(

Sounds like a great trip, Pics? :)

Waiting for the photographically gifted to e-mail them to me.

Offline 4.2_simo

We were around there too! We started in Dargo Friday night, then up Billy Goat Bluff Sat morning then over to Dingo hill track to camp on the Caledonia River Sat night. Followed Caledonia River track to Howitt hut then to a campsite near Upper Jamieson Hut Sun night. Finally popped out in Mansfield Monday morning. Rather muddy on Caledonia River track :) :)

There were 4 of us, my GU, an 80 series, a GQ and a newish Navara.  We had a bit of winching to get us out of trouble, but also put my winch to use to help recover a near-rollover!

Sent from my GT-N8010 using Tapatalk