Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1729875 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #1050 on: December 03, 2013, 01:06:33 PM »
Correct, should be done (or at least inspected and passed) by a licenced gas fitter.

All of the bits are readily available. All of my joints are flair fittings, so no need for solder, but you will need a flairing tool and a flame.

I'm lucky cause I have a neighbour with the knowhow, I just had to buy the bits.

« Reply #1051 on: December 03, 2013, 02:18:22 PM »
The "Light of My Life" informed me that the LH indicator light in the front bar wasn't working & as the bar post blocks the vehicle mounted light at certain angles I thought I'd have a look at it just to keep Mr.  :police: happy.
Blown bulb was the 1st thing.
Under the front, unscrew the light fitting, remove said bulb.
Also a quick dash to the water tank to remove 2 teaspoons of dirt from right eye.
Bulb looks OK with left eye.
Check straight from battery using 2 wires. Bulb fine.
"Aha" methinks. The bar light socket wire has parted company with the connector.
Wrong again.
Out with the multimeter & turn hazard lights on.
There's power to the socket.
Replace bulb.
No worky.
Remove whole light assembly for bench top inspection.
All in order as far as I can see.
Connect to camper battery just being topped up.
Bulb on!
You Beauty! I've done something to fix it!
Replace it all back in bar, turn on hazards.....nothing ???
Back under the vehicle, hit scone on steering damper, drop the light out again & retest with m/meter.
Hmmm voltage to this socket only reading 6.8v-8.2v. A bad earth perhaps?
But...the park light in the same socket i.e. same wiring is on as well as RH indicator & park!
Pack everything up, clean up then phone the local auto sparky who'll be here tomorrow.
 Now preparing for a 3pm (proper time) palate cleansing ale!
What a waste of a few morning hours & colourful language!
« Last Edit: December 03, 2013, 02:21:26 PM by Steffo1 »

« Reply #1052 on: December 04, 2013, 06:41:38 AM »
Tried a bit of beer yoga in the shed last night

« Reply #1053 on: December 04, 2013, 07:09:22 AM »
No matter how l try l can only get 34 cans into the Engal, every time l try to do it l get thirsty & then have to start again   :cheers: lts a tuff job but somebodys got to have a go at it  :cheers:

Offline bobkay

« Reply #1054 on: December 04, 2013, 07:28:47 AM »
Correct, should be done (or at least inspected and passed) by a licenced gas fitter.

All of the bits are readily available. All of my joints are flair fittings, so no need for solder, but you will need a flairing tool and a flame.

I'm lucky cause I have a neighbour with the knowhow, I just had to buy the bits.

cheers  :cheers:
renovating cub supamatic, towed behind '02 Landcruiser

« Reply #1055 on: December 04, 2013, 07:29:41 AM »

No matter how l try l can only get 34 cans into the Engal, every time l try to do it l get thirsty & then have to start again   :cheers: lts a tuff job but somebodys got to have a go at it  :cheers:
Im more than happy to offer my services to the northern base, sounds like you need a hand :cheers:

« Reply #1056 on: December 16, 2013, 06:51:42 AM »
Haven't done anything in my shed of late, But I've do the next best thing.
I have helped a mate and fellow Swagger, Ben(The Goodwins) build his.  ;D
10.5M X 7M with 2.7M high walls, frame all up, should start to clad it this week and put the roof on just in time for a Chrissy party in it.  ;D
Now that put a smile on my dial too  ;D

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #1057 on: December 16, 2013, 07:11:23 AM »
hung a couple of sheep on the gantry, skinned them etc. then hung em in my cool room..

a few hours later I noticed the cool room wasn't cool. so covered up the lambs and opened the doors as it was colder outside than in the fridge.

Sunday morning had the fridge man in and he re gassed it for me.. I taped up the leak best I could. But its most likely a new motor is needed.

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.3 using Tapatalk HD
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
« Reply #1058 on: December 16, 2013, 07:24:07 AM »
I started the Solar on the Penguin - panels and cabling in place -
Waiting for large size battery boxes to hold the 4 x 45 aH AGMs and some rubber profile
to hold the cable running from the panels to the roof junction box...
All tested and working OK .. Just need to tidy things up...
Removed two power cables from the 12 pin and fitted an Anderson to fit up with the Anderson on the DMax's rear bar - All good and Jack the 'Max is capable of charging all batteries ...
" I LOVE IT WHEN A PLAN COMES TOGETHER "
Mandrake
Going back to basics - sort of ...

« Reply #1059 on: December 16, 2013, 01:33:02 PM »
My mate's shed with all the 'fruit' ...
1/.  Fitted newbolt down pointsto the rear storage system, to make it compatible with the tie down fittings in the floor of the 2002 Jackaroo - I think the unit must've been built for the earlier model...
2/.  Repairs to the 66 VW Type 3 'variant' advanced a bit further.  All guards off, rust removed and repaired where required.
Now just waiting for sand blasting and a replacement sill.  It is actually in much better condition than I thought it would be.
 Gotta love that thick German steel!   :cup:
3/.  Fitted my 4x4 Equip shovel and axe carrier to the rear wheel carier.   ;D
« Last Edit: December 16, 2013, 01:38:08 PM by B&B »

Offline Lloyd65

• Toyota 200 & Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #1060 on: December 16, 2013, 09:33:55 PM »
Mod Rear Cover and Fitted a Better Reverse Light  :D

Lifes Good :D Lloyd & Pam

« Reply #1061 on: December 17, 2013, 07:38:46 AM »
I've been busy the last few weeks spending 3 hours a day before work cutting the cancer out of an old Holden I've been doing up. Started about six years ago, but never find the time to touch it.
Best part about starting early is in those 3 hours, I get more work done on my own car, than I manage to do for the rest of the day.  ;D

Shane.

Offline berlitza

« Reply #1062 on: December 17, 2013, 03:33:57 PM »
I've been busy the last few weeks spending 3 hours a day before work cutting the cancer out of an old Holden I've been doing up. Started about six years ago, but never find the time to touch it.
Best part about starting early is in those 3 hours, I get more work done on my own car, than I manage to do for the rest of the day.  ;D

Shane.

stating the obvious but  ,,    pics    pics    pics    pics     pics    pics     pics    pics   ;D

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #1063 on: December 17, 2013, 08:26:24 PM »
butchered the lambs that we hung.. the chops are huge.. yummy, it was a huge lamb, weight was 32kg..

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.3 using Tapatalk HD
1993 80 series landcruiser

« Reply #1064 on: December 18, 2013, 12:09:26 AM »
Did a bit more on my plastic crate battery box. Got all the bits, now putting it together. Will update build thread as I go.

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #1065 on: December 18, 2013, 06:29:06 AM »
About this time last year, daughter and her husband suggested they would like to build a shed on our block as they needed more room to store their toys. My reply - not a problem. As long as it costs me nothing and I have room to store the KK. After 5 months of problems with council approval and neighbours, we got it started. Put it in place of the old green cowshed and needed to move the driveway to give double access to the shed and a driveway.

Shed is 12mx8mx3m to fit it all in and give access height for the boat.
Pretty happy with the result.

Son in law suggested he would like to buy a big tool chest and I fill it. My reply - sure buy the chest, fill it with tools and I will let you keep it in the new shed.

Just had enough room to fit it all in.
They like the shed so much that now they want to buy our house.
We found a house we like and decided it is time to downsize to give more time for holidays, but a small problem. No shed at the new house. Plans are now underway to put up a 15mx5mx3m at the new house to store the truck, KK and still have a room for a small workshop.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2013, 06:46:28 AM by Hewy54 »

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #1066 on: December 18, 2013, 09:57:45 AM »
Last night I re packed trailer hubs for the first time. Wasn't that difficult. Only a box trailer, the camper will get similar treatment sometime further into the he future.

« Reply #1067 on: December 18, 2013, 10:00:25 AM »
stating the obvious but  ,,    pics    pics    pics    pics     pics    pics     pics    pics   ;D

This is the state it's in at the moment. So far, have repaired inner beaver, trial fitted beaver, replaced spare tyre well, lower rear quarters, boot floor and repaired c pillars. Most of the subframe rust is done, 1 door and 1 guard also done.

Still left to do is replace dodgey repairs to front of rear quarters, floor pan and under rear side glass. Almost finished shaping the new tulip panel.

Have already rebuilt the engine, 327 with mild cam and a pair of touched up new Sportsman II heads. It's an all forged bottom end. Powerglide is rebuilt with a new 2200 convertor. Front end is built. Swapped the HK one for a HT/G type and HQ brakes.
Diff was done, but I sold it.  ;D  It was from an Impala that I chopped to suit the Holden rear. Sold it as I came across a Camaro diff. Haven't had time to chop it yet.

Plan is to have the car back on the road in 2008. I'm dragging the chain somewhat  :-[ Missus is at me to get it done, as I have an EH next in line that she wants.  >:(

Shane.

« Reply #1068 on: December 18, 2013, 10:11:37 AM »
Looks good Shane.  Is everything forward of the fire wall bolt on on these old 'Oldens?
Excuse my ignorance, but my 'expertise' for that period, such as it is, is with VWs.

« Reply #1069 on: December 18, 2013, 10:34:16 AM »
Is everything forward of the fire wall bolt on on these old 'Oldens?

It does. And they are VERY prone to rust where the body meets the subframe. I was lucky with this one as it was near perfect  :D

Shane.

« Reply #1070 on: December 18, 2013, 10:41:21 AM »
Shane you are as bad as me, just get one job done, and start on another. I like the work shop, and there are a few toys in the back ground of the photos. ;D

« Reply #1071 on: December 18, 2013, 10:53:28 AM »
Shane you are as bad as me, just get one job done, and start on another. I like the work shop, and there are a few toys in the back ground of the photos. ;D

The EH will be a while off. In my spare time I much prefer fishing than fixing ####ing cars! Unfortunately it's not a "play shed," that's work for 12hrs a day. And those "toys", they aint mine. Others' toys, I'm the sucker who builds and fixes them when they break them. (Though I must admit I have had the unfortunate responsibility of making sure the white one runs straight and fast before handing the keys over  ;D  That's been hard  :cup:  )

I'll see if I can find a better pic of the shed later. Got some somewhere of when it was clean.

Shane.

Offline berlitza

« Reply #1072 on: December 18, 2013, 04:07:51 PM »
that's a decent view from the workshop Shane, I wouldnt mind spending the 12hrs a day in there,, not sure how much work i would get done though  :cheers:

« Reply #1073 on: December 18, 2013, 05:38:23 PM »
The HK was "the one" to own, before the dills started changing stuff on 'em and stuffed the styling. (In my opinion)

Offline firecracker

« Reply #1074 on: December 19, 2013, 04:57:50 AM »
Picked up a (1978 rusty n tatty) Snap-on tool chest the other week, so I'm now painting it to fit in with my garage colours, hope to get piccies soon. :laugh:
D3 HSE, Compomotive18"275x65 Cooper ATs, Sumpguard, GVNP.rods, Prospeed tree sliders, Brembo 4pot
Out laning/camping when i can.(ongoing trailer build)