Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1742170 times)

Offline Tjupurula

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #300 on: June 08, 2013, 09:36:37 PM »
I actually thought I had snuck into th oom where all my tools are at the moment, started picking a couple up, and the voice came from behind "think about usng a tool, and another heart attack won't kill you.......I will"   I am smart enough to be scared of the woman I am married to, mainly because she is doing most of the cooking these days.

« Reply #301 on: June 09, 2013, 09:43:53 AM »
Made up an Anderson to accessory socket adaptor to plug into the rear Anderson plug on the Prado. Not pretty but it was made from parts I already had in the garage.

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #302 on: June 09, 2013, 10:53:54 AM »
Thought I should pull my finger out now that the girls are home and the trip next weekend, and start on some of the jobs on the trailer.
New brake hubs and a fluid flush on the camper and started on the electrics.
Box is built, just racking my brain how to get all the wires from the side of the trailer into the box at the front, then back in to the trailer....
Figured it wasn't going to get done with out drilling lots of big holes so thought I would leave that till tomorrow  8)

Evo

Use pipe like I did to protect it mate!!!

Offline Bigmacthepunker

• Life too short without good music.
« Reply #303 on: June 09, 2013, 09:37:58 PM »
As I couldn't go campering this weekend, I thought that I would follow through with an idea that been lurking for a couple of weeks now. A old car amp and speakers that was salvaged from when I traded my 1991 Hi-Lux back in 2005.  I also have a old suitcase from my grandmother that has a broken handle, it was storing old computer parts. So I put them together, to build a retro boombox. I have to say, the sound pretty good also because of the pine box that I built behind the speakers. It's powered by the CT battery, draws .5 to 1 amp.  Just add an iPod for a source. I needed to add an merit socket an external RCA sockets so the lid can stay closed.

It nice to add something of Nan's to take camping, a wonderful woman.

Big G

Offline thommo19

« Reply #304 on: June 09, 2013, 11:13:57 PM »
Very cool

Offline berlitza

« Reply #305 on: June 09, 2013, 11:37:20 PM »
^^^^Great idea^^^, i walked into the cave this morning looked at the unfinished ct and a couple other projects, walked out then went shopping

Offline redrocker

• Wanting to see Oz in a soft floor camper
« Reply #306 on: June 09, 2013, 11:40:26 PM »
I spent the last 2 days trying to clean out the 8mtr x 6mtr garage after running a business out of if for the last 15yrs its got pretty full and hardly any room to move Ive managed to get back about a quarter back, filled the 7 x 5 trailer full of crap
a few more weekends to go and I mite be able to get the camper in one side and then get the 46 Morris in the other.
Would rather been camping down at Wee Jasper but I gota do what what need to be done.

Redrocker
Redrock Extream offroad soft floor
 04  Nissan Pathfinder Ti

« Reply #307 on: June 10, 2013, 09:12:17 AM »
my shed gave me a headache yesterday, sadly not the type many of you get from raiding your fridges in there though. i was finishing the cladding on one side of the shed standing on a plank and turned around and walked into the end of the rafter overhang, opened the top of my head up nicely and had some red stuff coming out >:( >:(  after holding my head for a while as the pain subsided whilst yelling a word that sounded much like fire truck many many times, i eventually stopped the claret from flowing and then finished the cladding...lol
just got to order some flashings tomorrow to finish the gable, run some power to the shed and paint the weatherboards....and the  roller door goes on this week also  8) 8)

Offline Clouty

« Reply #308 on: June 10, 2013, 10:01:10 AM »
my shed gave me a headache yesterday, sadly not the type many of you get from raiding your fridges in there though. i was finishing the cladding on one side of the shed standing on a plank and turned around and walked into the end of the rafter overhang, opened the top of my head up nicely and had some red stuff coming out >:( >:(  after holding my head for a while as the pain subsided whilst yelling a word that sounded much like fire truck many many times, i eventually stopped the claret from flowing and then finished the cladding...lol
just got to order some flashings tomorrow to finish the gable, run some power to the shed and paint the weatherboards....and the  roller door goes on this week also  8) 8)
:'( :'( :'(
All it looked like was a little paper cut.. Lol

« Reply #309 on: June 10, 2013, 03:09:51 PM »
:'( :'( :'(
All it looked like was a little paper cut.. Lol
you can talk, that knee of yours looked fine to me yesterday. you seemed to manage nicely getting up and down for a refill as the arvo went on. reckon your trying to tie one over to the compo mob myself....lol

« Reply #310 on: June 10, 2013, 03:22:39 PM »
Hope it didn't scar. I don't want people to think we are brothers.  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #311 on: June 10, 2013, 04:59:18 PM »
I had a busy weekend, we are about to embark on a top end trip so I have plenty of little things to get organised but this weekend I painted my roof rack, bulbar and rear bar with the same paint I used to paint my wheel arch flare things, so everything is nice and uniform now matches, instead of being all different coloured blacks and different finishes.

I also fixed some wiring to my tail lights and made sure I have brake lights and indicators as my new rear bar doesn't have any yet!

I took the pics just then, it is almost dark and I just washed it so very poor quality photos but its proof of what I did in my man cave :)

Offline berlitza

« Reply #312 on: June 10, 2013, 05:02:32 PM »
The rear bar looks good Danny, Don't think I wanna run up you clacker anytime soon

« Reply #313 on: June 10, 2013, 05:03:55 PM »
Hope it didn't scar. I don't want people to think we are brothers.  ;D ;D ;D
;D ;D ;D i'm a bit woried it might effect my modelling career >:( ;D ;D

Offline Clouty

« Reply #314 on: June 10, 2013, 05:12:52 PM »
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
And all the modelling agencies are lined up at your front..
« Last Edit: June 10, 2013, 05:19:41 PM by Cloutys »

« Reply #315 on: June 10, 2013, 05:39:24 PM »

It didn't hurt mine so you will be right.  :cheers:

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #316 on: June 10, 2013, 05:59:39 PM »
The rear bar looks great I reckon, id love something like that, i'm not into the wheel carriers, to heavy, and a PITA, but urs looks like it would afford all protection you need without being over the top, great job.

:cheers: Swanny

« Reply #317 on: June 10, 2013, 06:10:21 PM »
The rear bar looks great I reckon, id love something like that, i'm not into the wheel carriers, to heavy, and a PITA, but urs looks like it would afford all protection you need without being over the top, great job.

:cheers: Swanny

Thanks Swanny, its clean, simple and tight :)

« Reply #318 on: June 10, 2013, 08:21:56 PM »
Not nearly as fancy as your jobs DannyG,I only achievves to make seating around outside of my patio, built a front fence, fitted security lights to outside my shed, finished my retaining wall out front, did the weeklyfood shop, cut firewood, did a bunnings shop, cleaned put my sued and fitted new storage boxes, but ran out of time to mow the lawn.

Wife reckons I need to time manage better....??

« Reply #319 on: June 10, 2013, 08:37:42 PM »
l wanted a shelf to prepair food in the Cub Escape , asked Cub & they quoted me Silly $ . l thought l can do this at 4/5 of 5/8 of the $ quoted . So l did , l will post pics as the project procedes  :cheers:

Offline MDSimpson

• 2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 Prado
« Reply #320 on: June 10, 2013, 08:38:01 PM »
I had some new lights delivered for my Toyota Sovereign bar, to replace the old yellowed, cracked Narva units.
Fully sealed, LED indicator and parking lights, look great.

Looks like I need to spray the surrounds now too :(
2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 D4D Prado. Lets get out there...

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #321 on: June 10, 2013, 08:39:01 PM »
Yeah firewood should be all done by November ..

Or march if u can get dry wood..

I try to have 2 years supply ready by the start of winter, well the firewood season so end of march..
1993 80 series landcruiser

« Reply #322 on: June 15, 2013, 10:47:10 AM »
Made a toy truck with my son from some scrap timber

« Reply #323 on: June 15, 2013, 11:22:12 AM »
Made a toy truck with my son from some scrap timber

Well done mate, projects with the kids are always the most satisfying.

6 wheeler tray back you harboring any long term wishes for a MB or ex ADF LR ?

« Reply #324 on: June 15, 2013, 12:06:00 PM »
Well done mate, projects with the kids are always the most satisfying.

6 wheeler tray back you harboring any long term wishes for a MB or ex ADF LR ?

Thanks, it was a bit of fun.

It was supposed to be a semi, but I can see the resemblance to the LR. Agricultural, square, doesn't like water, harsh ride :)