Author Topic: What's Making News - 2022  (Read 58636 times)

Re: What's Making News - 2022
« Reply #250 on: July 14, 2022, 09:13:50 AM »
From that page:

https://www.drive.com.au/news/victorian-authorities-target-loud-exhausts/

Would be nice if they checked some of the bikes around here! >:(

I can’t work out how every Harley sold in Australia would fail a noise test, but every cop ignores them all.

Ps; not quite correct…..there is probably 4 people in Australia that didn’t remove the OEM pipes !!

« Reply #251 on: July 14, 2022, 10:17:46 AM »
Quote from: gronk
I can’t work out how every Harley sold in Australia would fail a noise test, but every cop ignores them all.

Spoke to a few cops over the years when out on my bikes, (Putty rd, natio etc) and they said its a losing battle... They swap em, get it cleared and swap em back.
The only way it would work is each time you get done, the fine doubles. That may make them think twice.

« Reply #252 on: July 14, 2022, 01:23:09 PM »
& here's an article that will amaze everybody on here ::)

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-14/caravan-accident-surge-attributed-to-lack-of-knowledge/101234938

One thing I don't understand though ???

"Exceeding size restrictions — for example, bikes attached to the rear — will see a $287 fine"

Umm, what 'dat all about ???

« Reply #253 on: July 14, 2022, 03:11:39 PM »
I  believe that the rear overhang limit on all vehicles including caravans is 3.7m.  The ROH is the distance from the centre line of the axle group of the vehicle to the end of the vehicle - including accessories..

https://gomakesomememories.com.au/getmedia/c8afd133-abed-41d2-97d0-79133bfd00c4/Caravan-and-Towing-Dimensions_web.pdf.aspx

Opens another can of worms....

The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #254 on: July 14, 2022, 04:11:34 PM »
I  believe that the rear overhang limit on all vehicles including caravans is 3.7m.

Good info, thanks!

I noticed though:

"or the length of the front load carrying area/body ahead of the rear overhang line in the axle group, whichever is the lesser ... Front load carrying area is the distance from the centre of the axle/axle group to the front of a load carrying or the body (whichever is longer). Areas ahead of the body that can hold load are items like toolboxes, gas bottles etc."

Or our van, counting the pole box, that would drop the overhang to only ~3.2. Mind you, even with bag on the spare out the back, it's only 2.7 so I couldn't really imagine another 1/2m back out there!

Another thing to keep in mind though.

« Reply #255 on: July 15, 2022, 10:30:58 AM »
Oh what a feeling... There should be no questions from Yota on this Shit .... no excuses.

https://www.drive.com.au/news/toyota-owners-call-for-peeling-paint-fix/

« Reply #256 on: July 15, 2022, 11:02:59 AM »
It’s only Toyota Australia being dicks, elsewhere around the world they have acknowledged the problem and are compensating owners.

« Reply #257 on: July 15, 2022, 05:11:01 PM »

The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #259 on: July 16, 2022, 11:07:31 AM »
It’s only Toyota Australia being dicks,
what defense could they possibly use to deny that paint job!!!!!!

« Reply #260 on: July 17, 2022, 09:22:13 AM »
& here's an article that will amaze everybody on here ::)

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-14/caravan-accident-surge-attributed-to-lack-of-knowledge/101234938

One thing I don't understand though ???

"Exceeding size restrictions — for example, bikes attached to the rear — will see a $287 fine"

Umm, what 'dat all about ???

The wank factor to make the 3.5 g vans look as tough as and Jack them up 3ft in the air isn’t helping either ! I’ve got a mate just bought a super dooper off road van that sits crazy high and it can’t have a trailer stability control system fitted aprantlly  !

What’s that tell you about there stability ? 

« Reply #261 on: July 18, 2022, 12:50:25 AM »

« Reply #262 on: July 18, 2022, 08:45:26 AM »
I can't help laughing

https://www.facebook.com/9NewsAdelaide/videos/571929414471998

They spoke with him on the radio this morning, he wasn’t driving it was his mates car, they’ve done the trip along that beach plenty of times, his mate decided to search for some firmer sand lower down, end result one written off ute. Wanga’s is pretty philosophical about it, says he knows where there’s a one owner, never seen the salt, twin cab for sale!

« Reply #264 on: July 18, 2022, 10:49:37 AM »
I see your laughing and raise you
https://www.9news.com.au/national/adelaide-caravan-stuck-car-park-moana/e8c36a63-8430-449f-ab1c-0228f627ec63

Yeah, I did see that and I'm still trying to work out how the fluck he did that   :cheers:

« Reply #265 on: July 18, 2022, 12:11:37 PM »
Quote from: xcvator
Yeah, I did see that and I'm still trying to work out how the fluck he did that   :cheers:

Drive thru Maccas or carpark with low roof... tried reversing out wife was guiding him... No the other right???

« Reply #266 on: July 19, 2022, 07:39:59 AM »
still trying to work out how the fluck he did that   :cheers:

Article says "after the driver towing the van misjudged a turn. The caravan was swept off the road and jammed on a ledge."

Swept off the road ??? What, by a very, very, strong gust of wind ???

I'd have a guess Birdie is right - started to drive into the carpark, saw a 2.3m height restriction bar which he won't fit under, started to back her up & Ooops! >:D

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #267 on: July 19, 2022, 10:59:54 AM »
Drive thru Maccas or carpark with low roof... tried reversing out wife was guiding him... No the other right???

He's (or She) taken the ramp thinking the van will follow in the same wheel tracks - WTF
Is this his first day towing, maybe he's just come from the dealer  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Should have gone wide into the garden on the left and we wouldn't be laughing at him now  :cheers:
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #268 on: July 19, 2022, 01:00:37 PM »
He's (or She) taken the ramp thinking the van will follow in the same wheel tracks - WTF
Is this his first day towing, maybe he's just come from the dealer  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Should have gone wide into the garden on the left and we wouldn't be laughing at him now  :cheers:

Just another argument to make people at least do a towing course

« Reply #269 on: July 19, 2022, 03:46:12 PM »
Just another argument to make people at least do a towing course

But for some, at least a course might make them realise towing something isn’t for them…..like the driver of the van….got the mirrors, but somehow didn’t know how to look in them !!

« Reply #270 on: July 19, 2022, 04:19:52 PM »
Isuzu's turn for class action
A class action law firm is investigating vehicle manufacturer Isuzu over concerns an estimated 90,000 utes on Australian roads could have defects.

Bannister Law is calling for owners of the Isuzu D-Max 4x4 and Isuzu Mu-X 4x4, sold by Isuzu UTE Australia Pty Ltd, to come forward.

Their inquiry concerns the vehicles’ inner guards in the engine bay, with customers experiencing cracking that was costly to fix. Customers have also had issues with the Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF).

The firm believes roughly 90,000 of the vehicles have been sold between 2017 and 2021.

It first came to their attention when dad-of-one William* found himself thousands of dollars out of pocket and months without a working vehicle.

“I’ve spent $65,000 on a car that’s cost $20,000 to repair in five years,” the Isuzu D-MAX owner told news.com.au.

https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/manufacturing/class-action-firm-investigates-90000-isuzu-utes-for-defects/news-story/a6a7b02faf5743072b5e6a1ea12617a1

« Reply #271 on: July 20, 2022, 07:45:58 PM »

« Reply #272 on: July 21, 2022, 07:52:19 AM »
Well & truly, but I'd go so far to correct "Driving with a 'van is more dangerous than some people realise", to "Being an idiot with a 'van is more dangerous than some people realise". ::)

Overtaking two other vans which are at 95-100, while you're towing yourself, is not a clever thing to do! >:(

« Reply #273 on: July 21, 2022, 09:52:24 PM »
Well & truly, but I'd go so far to correct "Driving with a 'van is more dangerous than some people realise", to "Being an idiot with a 'van is more dangerous than some people realise". ::)

Overtaking two other vans which are at 95-100, while you're towing yourself, is not a clever thing to do! >:(

Not when the van is the size of a block of flats !

I have had my hybrid van up to 140, but towing with a 200 series and the hybrid weighs 1.7T and is rock solid at all speeds.
A thing I’ve done with all my campers is find a quiet bit of road and sit on 80 and make the van swerve side to side….the van should snap straight back into line.
Repeat at 100.

Some of these big vans have trouble tracking straight…in a straight line.
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie, NZMarkb

Offline DandyD

« Reply #274 on: July 22, 2022, 09:59:02 AM »
Repeat at 100.

I inadvertently towed our first camper at 100mph when I was overtaking and forgot it was on the back.