Author Topic: 2019 Myswag.org National Meet @ Rawnsley Park, SA (Easter) - Discussion Thread  (Read 68796 times)

Re: 2019 Myswag.org National Meet - Discussion Thread
« Reply #25 on: May 04, 2017, 07:43:36 PM »
May have to be back in Vic in 2019 probably another dozen locations around the state that offer up similar sights as the VHC  ;D ;D ;D
Go Team Vic  :cup: :cup: :cup:

« Reply #26 on: May 04, 2017, 07:50:06 PM »
We went through some similar discussions early in the planning for the 2017 meet.
Some great locations were ruled out because they didn't satisfy the criteria.

« Reply #27 on: May 05, 2017, 07:46:25 PM »
We went through some similar discussions early in the planning for the 2017 meet.
Some great locations were ruled out because they didn't satisfy the criteria.

We didn't Jeeps just picked the most midgee infested swamp he could find and said "F6ck em all that'll do."

Offline Redcherokee

« Reply #28 on: May 05, 2017, 08:13:58 PM »
Bungendore showground, just out of Canberra, is an excellent venue that meets all the requirements - very comparable to Mansfield. 

But we would need a group of volunteers who are willing to help with organisation.  That is probably the hardest bit. 

Jeep Rubicon SWB 2013. Outback Campers Sturt 2011
4.2L Patrol and Billabong Grove 16 hard roofed camper.
The following users thanked this post: Hairs

Offline Brodie Tas

« Reply #29 on: May 05, 2017, 08:36:03 PM »
If tassie is a option wayatinah caravan park could be a good place or Myrtle park both have big camp areas enough room for everyone

Offline peter01

• live the -
    • http://ourezytrail.blogspot.com.au/
« Reply #30 on: May 05, 2017, 08:39:51 PM »
Bungendore showground, just out of Canberra, is an excellent venue that meets all the requirements - very comparable to Mansfield. 

But we would need a group of volunteers who are willing to help with organisation.  That is probably the hardest bit.

PM sent
2014 GLXR Triton
2015 Blue Water - FF Darling camper

Our blog:     http://ourezytrail.blogspot.com.au/

« Reply #31 on: May 06, 2017, 08:36:27 AM »
How about Hosanna Farmstay, Stokers Siding, near Murwillumbah NNSW?

https://www.hosannafarmstay.com.au/

On-site cabins & huts, ~45 campsites, 10 of them powered, 2 ablution blocks, fires & dogs allowed, heaps of things for kids to do, camp kitchens & apparently even catering available! :D

Review from Renno on here: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=43252.msg726539#msg726539

We could possibly book the whole place out for a long weekend?

« Reply #32 on: May 06, 2017, 02:58:25 PM »
NYMBOIDA

8)

« Reply #33 on: May 06, 2017, 03:54:54 PM »
Just a reminder Folks...

The rules for nominating a prospective venue for the 2019 Myswag.org National Meet are as follows:

1.     Don't nominate it unless you and at least two other Myswag Members are 
        happy to assume responsibility for organising a Meet there.

2.     Please don't nominate a location, please nominate a venue. For example, instead of   
        nominating "Grafton area", nominate "Nymboida Canoe Centre, Nymboida".
3.     Nominate a time of your ie Summer, Autumn, Winter or Spring (when will your Venue be most enjoyable).
4.     The venue must meet the following criteria:
     *Capacity to cope with at least 150 people (or more if the Venue is a central location) 
     *Ample ablution facilities
     *Both powered and unpowered sites
     *Both bush camping and site camping availability
     *Permit camp fires
     *Have a central area for communal gathering

Offline Alien

« Reply #34 on: May 07, 2017, 01:42:05 AM »
Just a reminder Folks...

A link for once 3 or more of you good folk have got your hand up and want to nominate a location...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=52115.0

Unfortunately due to other trip commitments I couldn't make the national meet this year.
I'm enjoying reading the ideas people have for where a 2019 meet could be held.
Hopefully this thread may encourage a few who live close to some these locations to get together and make a proposal.

Don't forget to think outside the square too.
I have attend a few events where portable toilets are brought in to cater for for larger groups.
Quite large generators are available to provide 24/7 power where the cost can be divided amongst those connected to it also.
Yes it adds to the costs but it may also open up areas previously dismissed.

Cheers, Kyle.

« Last Edit: May 07, 2017, 02:04:16 AM by Alien »

« Reply #35 on: May 07, 2017, 10:27:54 AM »
I understand toilets and showers and an extent....I even arrange a porta lol for day event I run every two years.

Re: power, what are the main reasons power is required, given nearly everybody seems to have solar farms?

As alien said...generators can be hired...I hired one for our wedding so that caravans could plug into overnight..oh and to run the cold room, lights and music.

« Reply #36 on: May 07, 2017, 01:43:40 PM »
If generators or a big kva unit: and portable toilets are permitted for the Meet;  I'm happy to put my hand up to help organise West Kunderang. ...

WK also has no showers btw, but a magnificent river for potential washing  ### provided 100% biodegradable soaps etc were used, and causes no grief with the epa ###....   But that would mean icy cold bathing....  LOL

That, and that you pretty much need a 4WD to get in....

But get through all those hurdles; and its all glorious upside from then on in....

But no doubt; there would be several other top notch areas I am sure; that do have 240 and hot showers ...  WK is just a thought, as I know it's probably a MySwaggers idea of a wet dream  ....   lol

BaseCamp

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #37 on: May 07, 2017, 01:44:24 PM »
I understand toilets and showers and an extent....I even arrange a porta lol for day event I run every two years.

Re: power, what are the main reasons power is required, given nearly everybody seems to have solar farms?

As alien said...generators can be hired...I hired one for our wedding so that caravans could plug into overnight..oh and to run the cold room, lights and music.

The reason that we ask that proposed venues have toilets, showers, water and power is because we need to take into consideration that Myswag.org Members have a range of different set ups, capabilities and requirements and we need to cater for that.  Not everyone is able to camp with no facilities, no water and/or no power (although I personally love that style of camping).  Some of our Members require power for sleep apnoea machines, others have (or have family members) with disabilities and require access to suitable ablution facilities etc.  In a nutshell, National Meets need to be at an "all inclusive" style of venue.

The less we need to hire (generators, port-a-loos etc) the better as it cuts down on costs.  As most of you know, Myswag is funded by donations, the meager profit we make from merchandise and our (Brett & my) pocket so our venue hire budget is pretty tight as Myswag's Server Fees and Accountant Fees alone keep the kitty pretty skinny. Yeah sure, we could charge out the cost of hiring such things to those attending but we try and make National Meets as budget friendly for attendees as possible. 

If you are keen to have a local Meet in a more isolated location or at a venue with little or no services, please feel free to organise one.  They don't have to be a flash affair. Some tips on how to get started are HERE
« Last Edit: May 07, 2017, 02:28:53 PM by Jillsy »

« Reply #38 on: May 07, 2017, 01:53:08 PM »
The reason that we ask that proposed venues have toilets, showers, water and power is because we need to take into consideration that Myswag.org Members have a range of different set ups, capabilities and requirements and we need to cater for that.  Not everyone is able to camp with no facilities, no water and/or no power (although I personally love that style of camping).  Some of our Members require power for sleep apnoea machines, others have (or have family members) with disabilities and require access to suitable ablution facilities etc.  In a nutshell, National Meets need to be at an "all inclusive" style of venue.

The less we need to hire (generators, port-a-loos etc) the better as it cuts down on costs.  As most of you know, Myswag is funded by donations, the meager profit we make from merchandise and our (Brett & my) pocket so our venue hire budget is pretty tight as Myswag's Server Fees and Accountant Fees alone keep the kitty pretty skinny. Yeah sure, we could charge out the cost of hiring such things to those attending but we try and make National Meets as budget friendly for attendees as possible.

If you are keen to have a local Meet in a more isolated location or at a venue with little or no services, please feel free to organise one.  They don't have to be a flash affair. Some tips on how to get started are HERE.

No worries....only questioned power really.

Arranged a local trip last weekend (well the venue) which raised dollars, I'm across local gigs.

« Reply #39 on: May 07, 2017, 02:01:36 PM »
No worries....only questioned power really.

Arranged a local trip last weekend (well the venue) which raised dollars, I'm across local gigs.

« Reply #40 on: May 07, 2017, 02:42:24 PM »
The less we need to hire (generators, port-a-loos etc) the better as it cuts down on costs. 

In saying that, we wouldn't immediately rule out a venue that required hire of some equipment. Those that nominate it would have to put forward a good case though regarding why the venue would be worth it...

Offline Ben.Archer

« Reply #41 on: May 07, 2017, 03:04:47 PM »
I'd find any excuse to hire out the BeerBQ - that was by far the best trailer at Mansfield
2015 Land Rover Discovery 4
2000 90 Series Toyota Prado RV6
2013 MDC Off Road Step-Through V3 - Heavily modded and I am only just starting :-)

« Reply #42 on: May 07, 2017, 03:11:53 PM »
www.rawnsleypark.com.au/
has everything, massive joint, can have your own spot... has showers, dunnys Shitloads of driving to do, sights to see etc..  just no power, but theres more sun than everyone could ever need

The following users thanked this post: fuji

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #43 on: May 07, 2017, 04:41:48 PM »
www.rawnsleypark.com.au/
has everything, massive joint, can have your own spot... has showers, dunnys Shitloads of driving to do, sights to see etc..  just no power, but theres more sun than everyone could ever need

been there... great place. and they like dogs too.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

« Reply #44 on: May 07, 2017, 07:13:50 PM »
And there are powered sites there too.
Just we couldn't have the place to ourself and the central undercover gathering area may be difficult too.
However, happy to look into it further.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2017, 07:18:51 PM by JCOJ »

Offline MarkVS

« Reply #45 on: May 07, 2017, 07:54:01 PM »
www.rawnsleypark.com.au/

It reads as a fabulous place
2020 Patrol Series 5
2015 Complete Campsite Exodus 14

2013,2015,2017 National Meet
Survivor 2013 McGirr Across the Gulf trip
2014 McGirr Cape trip
2016 Duggie Savannah trip
2018 McGirr Kimberley

For every situation you have 3 choices. Live with it, change it, or leave it. But only pick one

« Reply #46 on: May 08, 2017, 09:01:00 AM »
Quote from: JCOJ
And there are powered sites there too.
Just we couldn't have the place to ourself and the central undercover gathering area may be difficult too.
However, happy to look into it further.
I'm sure a few gazebos' could be had.. not that you'd need much there - its not Melbourne weather ;)

not have it to ourself, the paddock we had down the back when we went there was massive and you woke up looking directly at the Pound wall :D

Offline Rusty

« Reply #47 on: May 11, 2017, 08:31:35 AM »

Just had a look on there web site looks good hopefully you can get some people to help you out

Rusty
2018 200 series landcruiser
2021 Jayco silverline outback

« Reply #48 on: May 12, 2017, 04:24:06 PM »
We didn't Jeeps just picked the most midgee infested swamp he could find and said "F6ck em all that'll do."

Ya forgot, it had to close to home for me. :D

Offline ehsc

• FIRE EARTH MOON STARS THATS LIVING
  • JUST DO IT
« Reply #49 on: May 13, 2017, 07:05:19 AM »
Some where in the corner country would be good , it's central to everyone.

:cheers: :cheers:ehsc

2017 Isuxu D-max
2003 Jayco Freedom Outback
The following users thanked this post: Hairs