Author Topic: First Camper Just Ordered....  (Read 5194 times)

Offline TheTaylors

• In for a penny...
First Camper Just Ordered....
« on: March 11, 2013, 07:05:09 PM »
Hi, We went to the Caravan and Camping Show in Melbourne yesterday, in the sweltering heat.... Had a bit of a look around and decided on our first camper trailer.
We ordered a Red Rock Camper, semi-off road. We are very excited and can't wait to get it and try it out!
Have been guests here for a while, have learnt lots from people's posts, thanks for that.
2009 GXL prado and a Red Rock Camper

Offline speedhump

• Going places ... others dream!
Re: First Camper Just Ordered....
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2013, 07:12:21 PM »

:D Wecome to my swag
 :cheers:Speedhump
Speedhump
2013 triton 4WD dual cab
2016 New Age Wallaby Caravan
4.55m Makocraft runabout & Quintrex 350 cartopper
Our Blog: chezzastravels.wordpress.com

Offline LB

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2013, 07:12:46 PM »
Welcome :cheers:

Look forward to the Pic's.

LB
2017 BT-50 GT
Kimberley Kamper Platinum 2013

Offline TheTaylors

• In for a penny...
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2013, 07:15:07 PM »
Thanks speedhump and LB, will put up pics when we pick up CT!!

« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2013, 07:27:07 PM »
Congrats, when is the delivery date?

Disco teddy.

Offline TheTaylors

• In for a penny...
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2013, 07:31:27 PM »
We could've rushed order to be ready by Easter, but don't need it for then...
We're getting married on Easter Saturday and already have a few days booked away for a mini-break.   ;D
We hadn't planned on getting trailer so soon, but we saw what we liked in our price range and decided to bite the bullet.
So, we can pick CT up after Easter, probably mid April by the time things settle down here... 

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2013, 07:39:48 PM »
Welcome to TheTaylors,

Congrats on the marriage!! Enjoy your day!!  :cheers:

Enjoy your time here, this clan is big and has lots of knowledge!!!

« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2013, 07:54:32 PM »

Well now you've gone and done it!  There will be no end of the camping joys to be had.  Have a great day too.

« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2013, 09:17:17 PM »
Hi and welcome to My Swag

Offline TheTaylors

• In for a penny...
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2013, 05:57:12 PM »
Thanks for the welcome everyone.... just realising how many hours can be 'lost' on here researching...
Currently looking at what BBQ we should get, if any... have looked at different threads about the weber q, so will be looking into that probably.
Storage, yep, need to search out what type of storage containers are used...
Soooooo much to learn and buy..... >:D

« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2013, 07:44:16 PM »
G'day Guys,

Congrats on your camper purchase.
Yep, many hours can disappear once you log on to Myswag  ;D
There are plenty of great trip reports to wet your appetite and heaps of info to help you guys get the most out of your setup. 

« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2013, 08:11:58 PM »
Soooooo much to learn and buy..... >:D

Not really if you put to use what you already have and work out what you actually need, then check and double check.  No use buying something that doesn't cut the mustard.  If you can ... visit campsites and befriend other campers ... they have some excellent ideas ... and are enthusiastic about things that work for them.  But keep in mind that ... as always ... what works for me might not work for you.

Simplicity is the key I believe.

Make a list when you are camping of those things that would make it easier - genuinely easier - then measure twice ... buy once.

« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2013, 08:21:08 PM »
Well,well a double header new camper and new bride/husband, do they both come with a warranty ? :angel: You better get a sign "if the camper's rockin, don't come nockin"  Congratulations  :cheers: :cheers:

Offline TheTaylors

• In for a penny...
« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2013, 08:25:56 PM »
Thanks for the advice kit_e, we are aware of the pitfalls of buying everything that looks good.... and aren't planning on buying much before heading out with the new camper and what we already have from our tent camping days... it just does get tempting...
Thanks for the congrats on our up and coming wedding, we have both been there and done that before... so are determined to get it right this time....lol.

Offline misheemee

« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2013, 05:12:30 AM »
Congrats on both the wedding and the camper!!  :cheers:
Disco 4 tugging 'Jackson' - Blue Tongue Off Road Deluxe CT

« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2013, 07:26:14 AM »

Storage, yep, need to search out what type of storage containers are used...

Mate, welcome to the site,,,,,, i'm not sure what's already inside your trailer as far as kitchens storage etc go, but i strongly recomend "Drifta" if your starting from scratch. I've got the DPOR Package Deal in my CT and love the thing.

http://www.drifta.com.au/PackageDeals.php

« Reply #16 on: March 15, 2013, 12:58:32 PM »
Welcome to Myswag the Taylors,
It starts from when you pick up your new shiney CT and the once you start camping you will soon fill it up with the goodies that makes life simple.
All the best and happy camping.

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #17 on: March 15, 2013, 09:00:49 PM »
Welcome and congrats on the upcoming wedding,   

This is a great site and don't forget to the electrical section to fill in some time.   As has been said, try not to buy to much until you have had a couple of shakedown trips in the camper,  look and borrow others ideas. Most of them have no patents so you don't need to worry

Offline Shutterbug

• Ruediger Photography
« Reply #18 on: March 15, 2013, 09:14:41 PM »
Congratulations on the camper and the upcoming wedding.

There's an idea for your honeymoon, some time away in the camper!

Marc
My camper: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=22380.0
What I tow with: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=22612.msg348598#msg348598
My website: http://www.pbase.com/marc_ruediger

Offline TheTaylors

• In for a penny...
« Reply #19 on: March 16, 2013, 11:08:12 PM »
Thanks again for the warm welcome everyone.... we ae getting a bit stir crazy, it's hard to not ring and say we'll have the CT before Easter. However, the wedding, Easter, work, families, friends etc must come first until then....

If we had thought that we would have decided on a CT by the time of our wedding, it would have been great to escape in it for a couple of days...or more! We have booked a couple of days escaping already, so don't want to lose that money. I am sure there will be plenty of time... we'll make sure of it.

Offline mrw63

« Reply #20 on: March 17, 2013, 07:22:22 AM »
Welcome! Lots of excitement for you guys then!!  Congratulations  :cheers:

We are taking delivery of our new Jayco Swift Outback the end of April  :D

Yes you can certainly get lost in time on this site, so much information it is great.  Keep us posted with pics.
2009 Mitsi Pajero NT GLS, 2015 Lifestyle Breakaway Icon and Oztent RV-4

Offline Turbojohn

« Reply #21 on: March 17, 2013, 09:06:35 AM »
Welcome ! Hope you enjoy the new ct and all the adventures that come with owning one :cup:

First Camper Just Ordered....
« Reply #22 on: March 17, 2013, 06:04:49 PM »
Congrats on your new camper, hope you get out often.

Offline 1HDT

« Reply #23 on: March 17, 2013, 06:12:07 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Guys.

Sit back and relax, you're among friends.