Author Topic: Hi there, new to Campers could do with some advice and reccomendations.  (Read 4297 times)

Offline Bobbus

Hi there, have already been reading with interest a number of threads to do with technical aspects of trailers and am thoroughly looking forward to this new venture.  I have an 80series cruiser petrol on LPG, auto,  which has been our mobile home when camping for me the missus and three kids.  Im so sick of the time taken in trying to pack everything in the back on the roof and any leftover space I can find when camping.  Its time for a camper trailer.  So look out guys im hungry for answers. Thanks. Rob

Offline Smoko

Re: Hi there, new to Campers could do with some advice and reccomendations.
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2012, 07:19:16 AM »
Welcome Rob

You have come to the right place heaps of advise and answers here

Smoko
2009 Vacation Camper 2015 Triton

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2012, 07:29:48 AM »
......I'm so sick of the time taken in trying to pack everything in the back on the roof and any leftover space I can find when camping.  Its time for a camper trailer............

Hi Rob, and welcome,

Most of us have been down that path. Lots of good info available, so get stuck into it........

It's been suggested in other threads to maybe hire a few different campers to get a feel for what suits YOU.
Has always seemed to me to be a sensible way to go about it (not that I did, though.....).

« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2012, 07:31:55 AM »
Quote from: Bobbus
So look out guys im hungry for answers
Buy a campertrailer.

« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2012, 07:44:23 AM »
Buy a campertrailer.

Good answer......

Tassie devils

« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2012, 08:09:40 AM »
Welcome guys
Quick set up easy pack away.

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2012, 08:24:17 AM »
Are you 'camping' or 'travelling'?
A "flip-over hard-floor camper" such as a Cub offers quite quick set up with (if the design is good) minimal poles/ropes (which is what takes so much time to sort out), the floor is above the ground so it - and you - don't get dirty and you are less dependent on the terrain (for hammering in pegs etc) Plus on some/most you can use the slide-out kitchen during the day for refreshments/lunch
« Last Edit: November 15, 2012, 08:42:56 AM by GeeTee »

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2012, 08:34:15 AM »
..........minimal poles/ropes (which is what takes so much time to sort out)..........

Yep. Some trailers have a forest of ropes and poles.........too fiddly for me........

Offline xmasbaby67

« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2012, 08:39:11 AM »
Welcome to the forum  :cheers:

Heaps of great advice here and a very friendly bunch  :cup:

All depends on what YOUR needs & wants are.  Best way is to make a list and see what ones fit your needs and price bracket......then add your wants....(which can be the expensive bit hahaha).

Also you could try hiring some before you decide if you are not sure of what you like. (we didn't but good advice though)

With three kids though you may need a bit of room like an annexe maybe.... (we have three kids and the annexe was a life saver (or that should be kid saver) when the weather turned bad)....

Let the search begin.....have fun.  :cheers:
2009 12ft CUSTOMLINE towed by 2005 VX Prado

« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2012, 06:55:36 PM »
Hi Rob and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2012, 07:14:48 PM »
H Rob

Welcome.  I have a Customline so happy to answer any questions about them if you are looking at one of them, either new or second hand.

Offline Kydar

• Australia, Love it or Leave it.
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2012, 08:07:03 PM »
G'day Rob, with 3 Ruggies I reckon you'd want at least a 12 ft tent if your looking at the soft floor option. With our CT being a Walkthru  the trailer is longer giving a little more tent space. We are a family of four and we've got loads of room. Be careful of the 16 ft tent trailers if your planning on powered camping sites. You might struggle getting a big enough site.

Good luck..... :cheers:
2014 Nissan Patrol with mods
2012 Lifestyle Walkthru.

Offline Ray-C

« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2012, 10:07:41 PM »
Hi Rob, welcome to myswag
C:\Users\Ray\Pictures\2010-08-01 tom price\tom price 017 email.JPG

Offline gurules

• GU 4.2TD AND TRACK TRAILER EAGLE
« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2012, 02:15:48 AM »
welcome mate enjoy
hiring is great way to find out what ya want
Never Ever Give up

« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2012, 09:10:55 AM »
G'day Rob,

Welcome to the site, first piece of advice that comes to mind is...........   If you buy a soft floor CT, i would seriously encourage you to look at the Drifta DPOR Package, to kit it out with............ I love mine!! ;D ;D ;D

Enjoy yaself!!
« Last Edit: November 16, 2012, 09:12:43 AM by Barrabart »

Offline Bobbus

« Reply #15 on: November 17, 2012, 02:08:15 PM »
Thanks for the welcome guys, and the the advice is already coming in and it sounds good.  Have some speciffic questions though will post new threads.  Rob