Author Topic: Finished lurking  (Read 4769 times)

Finished lurking
« on: July 20, 2012, 06:02:11 PM »

Been lurking for a year or so whilst deciding which CT to buy.  We love camping - see last year's camp photo - but wanted to reduce the set-up/pack-up time so figured a CT is the go.  Narrowed the choices down to four manufacturers and finally paid a deposit on a Customline.  Hopefully it will be ready for pickup at the end of the month.

A big thank you to the knowledgeable posters on this forum.  After many hours of reading, I have managed to save a few dollars and wire in an electric brake controller and Anderson plug on my vehicle (Subaru Outback).

Will post more info when I pick up the CT and start the farckling (a mate's term for fancy, sparkly bits that may or may not be actually needed but sure do look good).

Billy
The following users thanked this post: oldmate

Re: Finished lurking
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2012, 06:15:07 PM »
G'day Billy,

There is heaps of great info here to help you get all setup.
Look forward to your pictures  ;D
Hope your enjoy your time here.

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2012, 06:19:22 PM »
Welcome Billy, good to see the electrical section has useful information :)

Finished lurking
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2012, 06:37:44 PM »
Welcome aboard Billy :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2012, 06:56:49 PM »
Welcome to the Forum Billy

« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2012, 07:42:36 PM »
G'day Billy and welcome.
Congrats on the camper and look forward to the pics. ;D
Happy times ahead mate.

Offline GG

• Don't know Karate...but I DO know crazy!
Finished lurking
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2012, 07:59:10 PM »
Hi and welcome KB! This forum has loads of info and interesting people to meet out in the great beyond!

Cheers! GG
2008 Toyota 'Freddy' Kluger & 1980's 'Gypsy' Jayco Dove Camper

« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2012, 08:14:54 PM »
G'day Billy and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2012, 05:56:15 AM »
Welcome to the show mate.

Offline gacoxd

• You wring your hands, I'll roll up my sleeves ...
Finished lurking
« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2012, 08:40:49 AM »
G'day Billy. Welcome to the forum.
2011 Navara STX-550
2011 Trackabout Deluxe Tourer

« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2012, 10:12:38 AM »
Hi Billy and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #11 on: July 21, 2012, 11:01:29 AM »
Thanks folks for all the warm welcomes.

Must add the last few weeks have been horrible waiting for the new CT.  Will catch up with Ian at the the Toowoomba Outdoor Show next weekend and hopefully he will have a delivery date.

Meanwhile we have purchased a new 60l EvaKool from http://www.australiandirect.com.au  Better price than at the Brissy camping show and free, lightening quick delivery.

Offline elle.mac

« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2012, 09:31:31 PM »
Which model customline did you go for?

Ah but the wait will be worth it - we have 2 and half months until we pick ours up when we venture out to civilisation for a much needed holiday.
2003 120 series Prado (aka the Beast)
2012 Customline Deluxe Offroad

« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2012, 09:42:20 PM »
Deluxe off road with a few mods.  Liked the walk up but had to be carfull of the tow ball weight and the hip pocket.

What have you ordered?

Offline elle.mac

« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2012, 09:38:18 AM »
We have the Deluxe off-road with alot of extras added on. The Walk-up looked good but with what we wanted added on in our budget we were better off with the Deluxe off-road model.

« Reply #15 on: July 22, 2012, 05:49:12 PM »
Look forward to comparing notes.  Those extras sure can add up.  Cost gets away from you.  Our wish list had to be shortened unfortunately.

Where in the NT are you?

Offline Gmac52

« Reply #16 on: July 22, 2012, 06:06:35 PM »
Way to go Billy , enjoy it all . See you out there :D :D :cheers:
GU 3.0Lt 2" Lift 3"exhaust  Tune-it chip 33" Maxxis Big Horn Mike Vine inter-cooler Kit Trackabout Safari

Offline elle.mac

« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2012, 07:14:19 PM »
We are in Nhulunbuy - so our time from of driving out and getting it is only during the dry season.

Yeah we had to do a few juggling of budget and working out the $$ and things we can add on later

What extras did you opt for?

« Reply #18 on: July 24, 2012, 10:19:41 AM »
G'day & Welcome and congrats on your new camper.

« Reply #19 on: July 25, 2012, 09:42:25 AM »
What extras did you opt for?

We added the 12' tent with extra door, tropical roof, full screen and canvas walls to the annex, an overnight awning which can be swapped to the drawbar side when we have the full awning up (my modification), large jockey wheel, jumbo toolbox, extra gas bottle holder and Jerry holder, boatracks (for the kayaks), gas struts to mattress board, electric brakes, spreader bar kit, inner spring mattress, high tonneau cover, aluminium bed extension (east/west bed), spare wheel on tailgate (to get some weight off the towball) plus a custom made mattress board but need pics to fully explain (my mod also).

We will add a Drifta pull out kitchen.  It's been delivered already and it is just so well built, got me beat why I even contemplated building my own, couldn't be happier, fantastic service from Luke and his staff, we've already packed it with all of our kitchen stuff   ;D  Will also add 3 x 80Ah AGM batteries (which we got for free).  They are charged and waiting to be fitted with a 240v charger and all the bits to connect them up.  I have already wired an Anderson plug to the back of the tug and wired in the P3 brake controller.

Will post some pics when it arrives (hopefully soon).

Offline elle.mac

« Reply #20 on: July 25, 2012, 12:08:14 PM »
Extras sound good, i agree with the Drifta kitchens we are getting the DPOR with Fridge box and storage box (drawers at the front) so that should be a nice set-up.

We have yet to get the Anderson plug wired up to the Prado - my husband is looking at paying to get that done as he doesn't want to play with electrics and risk something going wrong.