Author Topic: New to the forum from Brissy  (Read 3752 times)

Offline reads90

New to the forum from Brissy
« on: May 07, 2011, 10:36:51 AM »

New to the forum but had my camper trailer for about 5 years now.

Bought it 5 years ago before we did a 40,000k trip around Aus

I have a Castaway Camper  soft floor trailer . Not the most expensive but I am very pleased with it and see it as great value for money.

This was the car we drove around Australia with

A few pictures of our travels

Alice Springs

Big trucks out in the outback

Car park at the top of the Cape

This was the route of our trip

This is what the camper looks like open  

I have since our trip around Aus , repainted the trailer as it got a few stone chips .

I have also changed the trailer from Toyota and Nissan hubs to land rover hubs .

As some of the sharper ones may have notice there is a bit of a recurring theme with my cars. Well I am a pom so I have Land Rovers , had about 28 of them by now so had a few. Here are the two of the three I have at the moment

Re: New to the forum from Brissy
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2011, 10:46:14 AM »
Welcome aboard reads90 :cheers:
IIRC, was your setup featured in a 4wd mag a while back? Seems familiar to me!
Anyway, enjoy your time here! although watch out in the electrical section  ;D
There always seem to some "BIG SPARKS" there

« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2011, 10:48:42 AM »
G'day & Welcome and thanks for putting up such a great intro.

Offline reads90

« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2011, 11:02:02 AM »
Welcome aboard reads90 :cheers:
IIRC, was your setup featured in a 4wd mag a while back? Seems familiar to me!

Yeah it was , about a year or so ago In the mag and did a vid on it

Ali

« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2011, 11:07:39 AM »
Hi reads90
great pics & a great trip around oz buy the sound of things
cheers sheeds

Offline squirell

« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2011, 11:26:49 AM »
Hi and welcome, not a lot you haven't covered in the outback, thanks for the great intro and pic's.

Squirell/Graeme
Just spendin' the kids inheritence !!

« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2011, 11:54:46 AM »
Welcome to the forum, nice intro.. ;D

« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2011, 12:32:48 PM »
Hi Reads90
IF IT WORKS WHY CHANGE IT
 I'd say by looking at the map of yours it works
Happy Trails with your camper

« Reply #8 on: May 07, 2011, 01:11:31 PM »
Hi Ali and welcome to My Swag some great pics sounds like it was a great trip

Offline buildermidwife

« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2011, 03:50:31 PM »
Hi Ali welcome .
What a great trip around oz . That is something I have always wanted to do .
How long did you spend away .
Cheers Paul
04 dx 3.0 patrol Goldstream Explorer st

« Reply #10 on: May 07, 2011, 04:43:40 PM »
Hi reads90 and welcome to My Swag, I reckon ive seen the DVD with your landy on it. Looks like you had a great trip and look forward to seeing more pics of your trip :cheers:

« Reply #11 on: May 07, 2011, 04:54:28 PM »
Welcome mate

« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2011, 06:35:04 PM »
Welcome to the forum Reads, looks as though you have done your fair share of travelling this great land, enjoy your stay and enjoy the banter

« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2011, 07:32:58 PM »
Gday reads, welcome to Myswag :cheers:

Nice looking setup mate, thanks for sharing :cup:

Enjoy your stay  :cheers:

Offline ausmarvin

« Reply #14 on: May 07, 2011, 08:09:14 PM »
Welcome to the forums

CT looks like a very practical setup... Looks like a great trip
2007 VRX Pajero, ARB Bullbar, Thule Roofracks-Hullavator-JBar
Lifestyle Icon - Independent suspension, DO35 hitch

Offline reads90

« Reply #15 on: May 08, 2011, 06:00:07 AM »
Thank you all for you  and warm welcome

Just to answer a few questions ,

We did this trip about 5 years ago now I took us 8 months in total

But have two young kids these days . So the trailer did not get used for a little bit . But now as the kids are getting older, we have been on  local camping trips. We live at Cleveland in Brissy so we are across the water from Stradbroke Island , so rude not to go camping there

But as the boys get even older , I am already planning some more trips around Aus. Can't wait to do the Simpson. And want to get back to North NT. Also on our trip around Aus we never did Tassie

Ali