Author Topic: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.  (Read 311099 times)

Offline wakychapmans

Re: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.
« Reply #2575 on: August 20, 2021, 12:06:16 PM »
I reckon your not alone with this.
he's not.

I'm now at the point where I listen to the latest updates, adjust my life (such as it is) to suit the latest rules and watch a hell of a lot of YouTube of people traveling and camping to keep me sane. (much of it either in WA, or before Covid)

these two keep me sane...
Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=58855.msg1064705#msg1064705
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.

« Reply #2576 on: August 20, 2021, 12:18:27 PM »
Quote from: wakychapmans
...  and watch a hell of a lot of YouTube of people traveling and camping to keep me sane.
I reckon Im over seeing other people holidaying too :(
« Last Edit: August 20, 2021, 12:25:49 PM by Bird »

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #2577 on: August 20, 2021, 12:21:51 PM »
I reckon Im over seeing other people holidaying too :(

I need something to hang onto...

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=58855.msg1064705#msg1064705
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.

« Reply #2578 on: August 20, 2021, 12:28:54 PM »
Sydney lockdown just extended to end of September and permits to go to work introduced ... curfews being implemented ... sound familiar ???

9pm-5am curfew ... only in the hot zone LGAs

But not starting until Monday. 

« Reply #2579 on: August 20, 2021, 12:49:03 PM »
Quote from: #jonesy
But not starting until Monday.

the weather forecast must be nice for the weekend.... need the beaches to be packed again

« Reply #2580 on: August 20, 2021, 04:10:25 PM »
Quote from: wakychapmans
I need something to hang onto...
Redoing the Malcolm Douglas vids.

« Reply #2581 on: August 20, 2021, 05:12:52 PM »
Redoing the Malcolm Douglas vids.

Always good. I watched a lot of you tube in our latest two week quarantine at home ( ended last weekend). Did lots of jobs around the house but not being able to leave meant some things just couldn’t be done.

« Reply #2582 on: August 20, 2021, 05:22:53 PM »
l Bunnings stores across Sydney will will only be open for trade customers with retail customers able to access online and contactless click and collect services from Monday.

« Reply #2583 on: August 21, 2021, 11:24:31 AM »
Victoria’s daily coronavirus numbers are in.

The state has recorded 61 new, locally acquired cases of COVID-19 and none in hotel quarantine.

But the Health Department also says there are an additional local 16 cases which were recorded using rapid PCR tests and will be included in tomorrow’s numbers - an announcement we’ve not seen before.

All Vic in Lockdown...

https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/victoria-records-61-new-covid-19-cases-as-statewide-lockdown-looms-20210821-p58kou.html
« Last Edit: August 21, 2021, 11:29:11 AM by Bird »

« Reply #2584 on: August 21, 2021, 11:29:11 AM »
Great time not to be in NSW.

A record breaking 825 new cases of Covid-19 have been recorded in NSW, and three more people have died.

The 825 additional infections brings the total number of active cases in NSW to 9803.

« Reply #2585 on: August 21, 2021, 11:53:49 AM »

A record breaking 825 new cases of Covid-19 have been recorded in NSW, and three more people have died.

The 825 additional infections brings the total number of active cases in NSW to 9803.
I reckon it’s time to not be so focussed on the case numbers but in the vaccination numbers. This is the tangible challenge. The case numbers continue to rise regardless of lockdown, highlighting a minority  community reluctance to put community first. Most Folks will eventually get a bout of covid19, like they do the flu, but the vaccines will keep the vast majority of them out of hospital and this is what we need to focus on. For the folks who refuse or can’t have a vaccine well, unfortunately they will have to be uber careful to try and avoid covid.

Offline DandyD

« Reply #2586 on: August 21, 2021, 12:13:01 PM »
For the folks who refuse or can’t have a vaccine well, unfortunately they will have to be uber careful to try and avoid covid.

I know it's a Daily Fail article, but if anyone has doubts about getting the vaccine, perhaps read this...

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9913203/ICU-doctor-reveals-90-cent-Covid-patients-ward-vaccine-refuseniks.html

Offline Brij

« Reply #2587 on: August 21, 2021, 12:58:07 PM »
Victoria’s daily coronavirus numbers are in.

The state has recorded 61 new, locally acquired cases of COVID-19 and none in hotel quarantine.

But the Health Department also says there are an additional local 16 cases which were recorded using rapid PCR tests and will be included in tomorrow’s numbers - an announcement we’ve not seen before.

All Vic in Lockdown...

https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/victoria-records-61-new-covid-19-cases-as-statewide-lockdown-looms-20210821-p58kou.html

Lockdown gearing up for regional Vic again, but try to get a covid test!

What a battle. You would think it would be easy in this day and age.
Wednesday I had a bit of a sniffle, which I usually get just as spring starts due to pretty bad hay fever. Worked from home on Thursday just in case. Started to get a tickle in throat on Thursday, which is not unusual when I'm all blocked up with hay fever. Thought I would try to get a covid test just in case. Check on internet Thursday night and a local spot does walk ins (with appointment). Plenty available on Friday. Now worries. Open up website to book on Friday. No times available. Try to call them, about 10ish, but no good. Recorded message to say call back during business hours ???
Try a couple more times, but still no good.
Try the local pathology place, but website says need doctors referral. So call clinic. A doctor will call me back for a phone consultation. A few hours later get the doctor's call. Blah blah blah......he will send pathology request to testing clinic and testing clinic will contact me.
3pm I am on phone for work and miss an in coming call. No message left. Try to call the number but just get message about it not accessible for incoming calls or something.
OK. They will ring back. I stay off phone so I don't miss their call again. Just before 5pm I decide to see if their website says anything about opening hours. Monday to Friday 9am to 3:30pm. Well there goes that idea of getting tested today!
Look up the website for the clinic that does the walkin's as they still had heaps of openings for Saturday.
Nup. All bookings for Saturday have now dissappeared.

So basically the only avenue for me to get tested outside of banking hours is to drive the 120km to the metro region.

First world problems, but we are in a first world country last I recall.

Pretty sure I don't have Covid. Double vaxed and haven't been anywhere to catch it. Just a case of old fashioned man flu.
NX Pajero
NJ Pajero (semi retired  to firewood harvesting duties)
Home made camper

« Reply #2588 on: August 21, 2021, 01:28:44 PM »

the soon it goes through the State the better, we can get on with out lives.   You can stay in your self imposed lock in. 

« Reply #2589 on: August 21, 2021, 01:32:09 PM »
Quote from: Brij
Lockdown gearing up for regional Vic again, but try to get a covid test.
My son made a call yesterday adn got done 2 hours later (astra)... that shows how much of a lottery it is - but shouldnt be.

There were 6 slots free in the place he went to in Frankston

Offline Raym

« Reply #2590 on: August 21, 2021, 02:03:30 PM »
Good to see the system works.

GP advises me, despite being an old fart, to get Pfizer due to a disorder that has caused me to have a couple of DVTs.

He told me where to book in. Tried that on the health system. Sorry mate we will let you know when you can make an appointment some time in October.

Mate turns up & says local practice is doing them. He just walked in an got an appointment for Pfizer.

So I ducked down this morning & I had an appointment booked, within 5 minutes, for Pfizer no questions asked.

Go figure.

Wednesday had first jab & booked for second.

Just got an email from health saying lucky you, you can now book for vaccine.

I am wondering how they collect the data on numbers of those vaccinated.

Maybe they just record numbers of vaccines used.

« Reply #2592 on: August 21, 2021, 02:18:46 PM »
rubber bullets might move a few on.

« Reply #2593 on: August 21, 2021, 02:45:16 PM »
rubber bullets might move a few on.
spray em with red cordial....
or cyanide.

Offline Gazza00

« Reply #2594 on: August 21, 2021, 03:31:24 PM »
  " spray em with red cordial.... "   Fuk that  ... they need to use this stuff in watercannons

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skunk_(weapon)

« Reply #2595 on: August 21, 2021, 03:49:22 PM »
the soon it goes through the State the better, we can get on with out lives.   You can stay in your self imposed lock in.
It's still going through Europe USA ... and they still aren't getting on with their lives. 

« Reply #2596 on: August 21, 2021, 03:51:55 PM »

« Reply #2597 on: August 21, 2021, 05:46:12 PM »
Always have a few of these - Hornet Spray -
from Bunnings.
https://youtu.be/p7QqfuN2jVA

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #2598 on: August 21, 2021, 06:06:56 PM »
A couple of interesting Youtube flicks by JC.

Part 1
https://youtu.be/3Ga3Lgjvu0c

Part 2
https://youtu.be/hWw0P1XcX4E

Can’t argue with his logic, or sentiments🙂
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #2599 on: August 21, 2021, 07:31:44 PM »
It's still going through Europe USA ... and they still aren't getting on with their lives.

In the US it largely depends which State you are in.   Same with Europe.