Author Topic: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.  (Read 310758 times)

Re: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.
« Reply #2250 on: July 18, 2021, 01:43:47 PM »
I’m thinking like a retired dope rather than an expert, but for those that have reactions to the vaccine may be the ones who would have had really bad reactions to the virus itself….so a win for those people to have the vaccine.

My understanding is those who have quick/large reactions actually have a good immune system. Once you get the jab, the immune system says WTF is that in me and starts the immune response to build up the antibodies.

« Reply #2251 on: July 18, 2021, 01:57:04 PM »
All i know is, whether i'm dead next week, next year or whenever, it'll be no good me being a donor of any sort.

My ol body is pretty much rooted now..... so good luck getting any spare parts out of it.

I'm determined i get my monies worth.
back in paper license days, in the consent section or donating bits said "whatevers left"

The following users thanked this post: Jeepers Creepers

« Reply #2252 on: July 18, 2021, 01:58:18 PM »
My understanding is those who have quick/large reactions actually have a good immune system. Once you get the jab, the immune system says WTF is that in me and starts the immune response to build up the antibodies.

I don’t know ?  The missus had her 1st jab 2 weeks ago and got a large rash around the jab spot….went to the drs and they said it was a good sign because of what you just said.
As for large reactions, does that mean 90% of people who have had the jab HAVEN’T got a good immune system ??

« Reply #2253 on: July 18, 2021, 02:12:37 PM »
Interestingly had my Az shot in late May, no reaction other than some soreness at jab site, 5 weeks later had my flu shot and within 24 hours crook throat, congestion and cough, still got the cough and due for surgery Wednesday, hoping it won’t be cancelled.
Not sure what that says about my immune system.

« Reply #2254 on: July 18, 2021, 03:59:06 PM »

Opposite to my understanding.   As the Vaccine is giving you a dose of Coronavirus and your body is fighting the virus.   The larger the reaction you get the more Covid would have affected you if you got the full Coronavirus.   

Offline DandyD

« Reply #2255 on: July 18, 2021, 07:10:15 PM »
None of that explains why more people experience stronger side effects after their first jab if they have  AZ and nothing after their second but with Pfizer/Moderna, it’s the other way round.

« Reply #2256 on: July 18, 2021, 07:26:34 PM »
None of that explains why more people experience stronger side effects after their first jab if they have  AZ and nothing after their second but with Pfizer/Moderna, it’s the other way round.

I believe that's due to the way the vaccines work, AZ and Pfizer work differently.

Offline DandyD

« Reply #2257 on: July 18, 2021, 08:53:48 PM »
Apparently, I’m getting a third jab in September/October.

My arm will probably fall off this time.

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #2258 on: July 18, 2021, 09:40:20 PM »
What vaccine did you have? What was the wait between jabs that you need a booster in 3 months?

Sent from me

Offline DandyD

« Reply #2259 on: July 18, 2021, 10:02:06 PM »
I had AZ with a 12 week gap. Second shot at the start of June.

I think they are expecting a surge in cases (by UK standards) in the winter, so are going to offer flu and CV boosters to over 50s in the Autumn from now on.

« Reply #2260 on: July 18, 2021, 10:35:16 PM »
 Covid vaccine risks: Doctor puts AstraZeneca, Pfizer risks into perspective
Interesting article that should get a bit more exposure

https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/health/health-problems/covid-vaccine-risks-doctor-puts-astrazeneca-pfizer-risks-into-perspective/news-story/60b4abc289ba7cabaf1e932afa71e35d

« Reply #2261 on: July 18, 2021, 10:53:27 PM »
I had AZ with a 12 week gap. Second shot at the start of June.

I think they are expecting a surge in cases (by UK standards) in the winter, so are going to offer flu and CV boosters to over 50s in the Autumn from now on.

Boosters…….hell, 3/4 of Australia haven’t even had their 1st jab yet !!  By the time we all get fully vaccinated, covid may have disappeared !!   ;D

Offline DandyD

« Reply #2262 on: July 18, 2021, 11:37:32 PM »
Boosters…….hell, 3/4 of Australia haven’t even had their 1st jab yet !!  By the time we all get fully vaccinated, covid may have disappeared !!   ;D

Some interesting vaccination statistics here…

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-55274833

London has the lowest vaccination rate. I suspect demographics plays a part there.

« Reply #2263 on: July 19, 2021, 03:15:48 AM »

Yep..... got me beat.

« Reply #2264 on: July 19, 2021, 10:36:22 AM »
Quote from: DandyD
I suspect demographics plays a part there.
that and so many mixed messages about everything to do with the disease, variants, vaccines, side effects, manure being spread thick and fast round the world by different companies/governments/drug manufacturers etc as part of the cause...

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #2265 on: July 19, 2021, 11:44:17 AM »
yep... my wife is a pre-school teacher.

diabetic, asthmatic, front line... high risk.

Just got her first jab last Thursday.

She had to taker the day off work as her employer wouldn't allow her the time off.
Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=58855.msg1064705#msg1064705
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.

« Reply #2266 on: July 19, 2021, 12:28:15 PM »
Quote from: wakychapmans
She had to taker the day off work as her employer wouldn't allow her the time off.
actually everyone who has AZ here takes the following day off expecting the bad side effects. :(

Offline lukeycat

« Reply #2267 on: July 19, 2021, 12:34:59 PM »
yep... my wife is a pre-school teacher.

diabetic, asthmatic, front line... high risk.

Just got her first jab last Thursday.

That sucks mate she should have been able to get it much sooner with diabetes considered a high risk factor.

« Reply #2268 on: July 19, 2021, 12:45:34 PM »
... the Victorian Government has confirmed that the current Melbourne lockdown will not be lifted on Tuesday night and will be extended for a further time period, yet to be announced.

I am shocked
/s

Online MarkGU

« Reply #2269 on: July 19, 2021, 01:25:55 PM »
FFS !!

Now it looks like the virus is now in coffs harbour  >:(

FFS, cant these brain dead morons just stay at home  ??? ???

I say instant jail time for the ones who intentionally spread this thing.

« Reply #2270 on: July 19, 2021, 01:47:08 PM »
NSW needs to go into a hard lockdown, not the pretend lockdown there have atm.

« Reply #2271 on: July 19, 2021, 01:53:06 PM »
NSW needs to go into a hard lockdown, not the pretend lockdown there have atm.

What’s a hard lockdown ?

« Reply #2272 on: July 19, 2021, 02:11:37 PM »
What’s a hard lockdown ?

Similar to Melbourne, 5km limited distance to travel away from home, at one point we had a curfew to keep people at home. Masks are mandantory except in your own home.

« Reply #2273 on: July 19, 2021, 02:37:36 PM »
SA now has a case where an Argentinian man returned to NSW and served mandatory quarantine for 14 days  and tested negative, he then travelled to SA and showed symptoms, went to hospital and has now tested positive throwing a major hospital emergency dept into chaos.
This Delta strain is a bastard, I think as a nation we are in for a tough time with constant outbreaks and lockdowns becoming the norm rather than the exception

« Reply #2274 on: July 19, 2021, 03:08:25 PM »
What’s a hard lockdown ?

As per GGV8, and for the entire greater Sydney metro area for a start. No one can leave home except exempted health care, emergency services workers and the like.   Its most likely too late for that now.