Author Topic: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.  (Read 310999 times)

Re: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.
« Reply #1700 on: January 06, 2021, 08:07:49 PM »
I guess you could pick specific states in the US and say it will be fine, or just look at world figures in general...

Anyway, I thought everyone learned at primary school... all you have to do is touch a girl, or touch something a girl has touched, to get girl germs.. Just think of it the same way

That's why some know not to touch the 'girl' while others don't want to learn. 

« Reply #1701 on: January 06, 2021, 08:22:04 PM »

I thought everyone learned at primary school... all you have to do is touch a girl, or touch something a girl has touched, to get girl germs..

I thought that was a story perpetrated by the girls parents to keep the boys mitts off her ??   :angel: :angel:
The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

« Reply #1702 on: January 08, 2021, 08:38:26 AM »
Masks mandatory in Brisbane until Monday

Masks are now mandatory in Brisbane and surrounding councils for three days, from today to Monday. The Premier says her advice from the Queensland Chief Health Officer is that a three-day lockdown could prevent a 30-day lockdown.

« Reply #1703 on: January 08, 2021, 08:42:01 AM »

Masks are now mandatory in Brisbane and surrounding councils for three days, from today to Monday. The Premier says her advice from the Queensland Chief Health Officer is that a three-day lockdown could prevent a 30-day lockdown.
I saw that as well.  Do it tough for a few days, instead of draggimg it out over weeks and months

« Reply #1704 on: January 08, 2021, 08:45:31 AM »
Sitting in a waiting room waiting for X rays.  The counter has a rope barrier to keep people back from the counter.  Every second person leans hard up against so they can be next to the counter? Or they lean over it and put their face up to the little hole in the screen

« Reply #1705 on: January 08, 2021, 08:49:16 AM »
I saw that as well.  Do it tough for a few days, instead of draggimg it out over weeks and months
Be our turn again soon to go hard core :(

Quote from: #jonesy
Sitting in a waiting room waiting for X rays.  The counter has a rope barrier to keep people back from the counter.  Every second person leans hard up against so they can be next to the counter? Or they lean over it and put their face up to the little hole in the screen
at Vicroads other day - they had the rope up - bloke got called up, and jumped under the rope... place nearly went into meltdown....

« Reply #1706 on: January 08, 2021, 09:24:50 AM »

It was only a matter of time. At least they are acting fast.

« Reply #1707 on: January 08, 2021, 09:53:15 AM »
It was only a matter of time. At least they are acting fast.

Yep, and I believe the vast majority will agree with the measures - short term pain to try and prevent long term major problem. No doubt there will be plenty of people being selfish and ignorant about it though?

9 new cases reported this morning, but all of them in hotel quarantine. They've confirmed the 1 case (hotel cleaner) that has been out and about has the pommy version, so shut up shop for 3 days to try and work out if it has spread any further.

No doubt the headlines tonight will be "the great Brisbane bogg roll rush" as people go batcrap crazy at having to stay at home for the week-end  ::)

« Reply #1708 on: January 08, 2021, 10:58:29 AM »
Quote from: Spada
No doubt the headlines tonight will be "the great Brisbane bogg roll rush" as people go batcrap crazy at having to stay at home for the week-end  ::)
its begun

« Reply #1709 on: January 08, 2021, 11:11:25 AM »
I'm off to self isolate on Moreton Island, for a week or so. On the 1630 ferry so just missed the 'Curfew'.  I'm taking a few extra cartons, just in case it drags on longer.  :cheers:

« Reply #1710 on: January 08, 2021, 11:16:44 AM »
Quote from: Steffo1
I'm off to self isolate on Moreton Island, for a week or so. On the 1630 ferry so just missed the 'Curfew'.  I'm taking a few extra cartons, just in case it drags on longer.  :cheers:

lucky basket!!!!

« Reply #1711 on: January 08, 2021, 12:44:08 PM »
Bribie Island was a madhouse this morning. Every bloody shopping centre was grid locked but there was still plenty of dunny paper. Called into my local bakery for some of their yummay sesame seed topped bread and there was not a loaf of bread or bread roll, to be seen anywhere! WTF.  >:( Even my butcher was packed out, talk about panic mode.  ::)

« Reply #1712 on: January 08, 2021, 12:57:50 PM »
I did a shop on Wednesday..... we have everything to survive the great bog roll rush for weeks.

Besides, if get too short on food, we can always eat each other.

Doesn't stop ya being hungry, but sure takes ya mind of it.

« Reply #1713 on: January 08, 2021, 03:39:02 PM »

Besides, if get too short on food, we can always eat each other.

Doesn't stop ya being hungry, but sure takes ya mind of it.

Ha ha, it's better after a few beers, but if you've run out of that as well, you can make do !!   ;D ;D

« Reply #1714 on: January 08, 2021, 04:06:08 PM »
Awesome, spook the masses and now they flee south.
Well done.
FM, it will never stop.
:(

Sent from my SM-T515 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1715 on: January 08, 2021, 04:20:36 PM »
Ha ha, it's better after a few beers, but if you've run out of that as well, you can make do !!   ;D ;D

I can't afford alcohol..... I have classic cars to support, build or maintain.  ;D

« Reply #1718 on: January 08, 2021, 04:48:40 PM »

Hopefully they let you off the ferry, given Moreton Island falls under the Brisbane City Council LGA.

We were due to head up to Woodgate Beach on Sunday but on hold now until we work out what happens post Monday 6.00pm.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2021, 04:52:15 PM by rags »

« Reply #1719 on: January 08, 2021, 05:02:09 PM »

« Reply #1720 on: January 08, 2021, 05:04:54 PM »
And there lies a problem, you live in an area with active Covid, lockdown begins tonight, so you flee the area and become a spreader!
Just brilliant hey.

« Reply #1721 on: January 08, 2021, 05:47:11 PM »
And there lies a problem, you live in an area with active Covid, lockdown begins tonight, so you flee the area and become a spreader!
Just brilliant hey.

Many reasons why this is happening.

For us we are fortunate to have 2 places and live between both, one in Brisbane and another on the coast and can lawfully until 6.00pm head up the coast, so long as we isolate there on arrival. I decided to stay here in Brisbane after cancelling a trip away in the van, so will now stay put and do some mowing in Brisbane and work on the 4wd.

My daughter did go up this afternoon after finishing her day job, as she works a second role  in a youth hostel providing emergency overnight accommodation for vulnerable youth and which is considered an essential service.

Many people work in Brisbane and travel daily to and from the coast so also will be caught up in the regular Friday arvo traffic bottleneck that SE Qlders know as the Bruce Hwy.

So we can’t always judge things on a photo in the press and should not quickly jump to conclusions which is often the case on this forum.
The following users thanked this post: wilson79

« Reply #1722 on: January 08, 2021, 06:55:59 PM »
Just spoke to a mate at Rochedale South, he had only just knocked off work from the city, said the road was full of dickheads going south.
He was in the supermarket just down the road from him.
The shelves are just about empty, it was his evening to do his & his mum's shopping.

So people have sh1t3 themselves, panicked.

« Reply #1723 on: January 08, 2021, 07:32:48 PM »
Just spoke to a mate at Rochedale South, he had only just knocked off work from the city, said the road was full of dickheads going south.
He was in the supermarket just down the road from him.
The shelves are just about empty, it was his evening to do his & his mum's shopping.

So people have sh1t3 themselves, panicked.

The road to Rochdale would be full of all sorts of people at peak hour, people also need to get home from work, they all aren’t dickheads. It is normal Brisbane peak hour traffic.

« Reply #1724 on: January 08, 2021, 07:38:49 PM »
The road to Rochdale would be full of all sorts of people at peak hour, people also need to get home from work, they all aren’t dickheads. It is normal Brisbane peak hour traffic.
Me mates lived there for 30 odd years, never seen it like it.
Fair piont about those that work in Brisbane and live on the Gody, but isn't all part of Brisvagas ;)