Author Topic: Do you remember when  (Read 36775 times)

Re: Do you remember when
« Reply #25 on: December 15, 2015, 09:41:45 AM »
The Rawleighs man?
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 09:45:22 AM by Steffo1 »

« Reply #26 on: December 15, 2015, 09:50:07 AM »
Panelvans and an evening at the drive in.  ;D

Offline RobM

« Reply #27 on: December 15, 2015, 09:52:15 AM »
When you could leave your home open for weeks while away on holidays and it was the way you left it when you got home and you could leave milk money on the front steps every night and nobody stole it.

« Reply #28 on: December 15, 2015, 09:53:51 AM »
There weren't fun police everywhere..

Standard sized blocks of land were close to an acre..

Bread and milk getting delivered...

Offline Redcherokee

« Reply #29 on: December 15, 2015, 09:59:37 AM »
The fruit and veg man would sell stuff from big rattan baskets on the back of his truck.  If we ran out, it was a big responsibility to run down His house and knock on his back door and get "two pound of carrots and a cauliflower" in paper bags to carefully carry home.

Jeep Rubicon SWB 2013. Outback Campers Sturt 2011
4.2L Patrol and Billabong Grove 16 hard roofed camper.

« Reply #30 on: December 15, 2015, 10:10:00 AM »
Or if you didnt have a van at the time, fitting lay flat reclining bucket seats into you car from a Jap job and a custom center console to eerr um make things a bit more comfortable . ;D

« Reply #31 on: December 15, 2015, 10:18:57 AM »
Buyin Sunnyboy or razz and looking inside to see if you got a free one

Can still buy them....

« Reply #32 on: December 15, 2015, 10:30:17 AM »
What about when late night trading didn't exist; and the shops closed for the weekend at 11:30am on Saturday morning ....

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #33 on: December 15, 2015, 10:33:16 AM »
And while I think of it. ...

In brisbane in the early 1980s THE ONLY THING open for food on any Sunday enening was McDonalds Hoyts...  (Elizabeth street in the CBD )

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
« Reply #34 on: December 15, 2015, 10:47:20 AM »
you could drive unregistered vehicles on the beach.

ride in the tray of the old ute.
Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

Offline GFM449

« Reply #35 on: December 15, 2015, 10:51:24 AM »
Staying at my Grandparents house as a kid and having to go outside to use the pit dunny......

Offline Julian Kaye

« Reply #36 on: December 15, 2015, 11:42:19 AM »
Part 2:
    Noel Kelly was the toughest man alive, StGeorge won the comp every year, Shintaro was really cool and you could make star knives out of old bottle tops, trucks had those mechanical hands that made hand signals, coffee came out of a bottle, making your own ginger beer, buying a newspaper in the morning AND afternoon, wearing black rimmed sun glasses so you looked like Roy Orbison, the fanciest thing in a cake shop was a cream bun, Lakemba was a nice suburb and only rich people ate Chinese food.

Offline scblack

« Reply #37 on: December 15, 2015, 12:01:54 PM »
What about when late night trading didn't exist; and the shops closed for the weekend at 11:30am on Saturday morning ....

Isn't that W.A. even now?

I don't know if they changed trading times the last couple of years, but that was WA trading times very recently (or very close to it). Except for the large national retailers.
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015

A man must believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer.

« Reply #38 on: December 15, 2015, 12:44:56 PM »
Do you remember when you got a foot up the ar*e for doing something wrong....and it made you stop and think about what you did....and you thought twice about doing it again....and you didn't suffer from any mental scars ......but it did make you think about consequences ...

Offline Moggy

« Reply #39 on: December 15, 2015, 02:01:12 PM »
The pub was only open from 11 - 1 & 5-7 on Sundays.
A 6 pack of beer was $2.50

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #40 on: December 15, 2015, 02:17:15 PM »
Passion Pop (aka Leg opener) was the choice of drink on a Friday and Saturday night, I still remember as a kid working in the drive in bottlo and dad yelling out for 3 bottles of leg opener. I had no idea what he was on about  >:D

« Reply #41 on: December 15, 2015, 02:23:52 PM »
Isn't that W.A. even now?
Gympie does I think

Offline stabicraft

« Reply #42 on: December 15, 2015, 02:51:25 PM »
As a boy scout I was required to carry a knife.
And we went bush walking without GPS and didn't get lost.
We camped in national parks and didn't need triplicate forms signed by god himself and we even cooked over open fires.

The police walked the beat and even stopped for a chat with my parents to see if there was anything going on in the street that required their attention. This was called policing, back when police were not just revenue collectors.

I could take the girlfriend out for a movie, popcorn and ice cream for less than $5.00.
I complained when petrol was 22 cents a liter at the snowy mountains, when it was only 12 cents a litre everywhere else.

The closest thing we had to mobile phones was a phone box at the end of our street.

Oh for the good old days

« Reply #43 on: December 15, 2015, 03:09:30 PM »
Sadly enough I do remember just about everything here  :'(

Another one - when the families together & there's more than 5 people in the wagon, all the kids sat in the back (& we're all still here!).

Similar thing - driving on holidays & Mum would put pillows on the floor of the back seat so we kids could lie down & have a proper sleep.

« Reply #44 on: December 15, 2015, 03:22:37 PM »
My mum used to take us to soccer in the Peugeot 203.....the whole team bar one !!

Used to go to the pictures, and even though my aunty was the lighthouse and we had to behave, we'd roll jaffas down the aisle ( remember when buildings had timber floors ! )

Remember when Santa Claus was real ???  ;D ;D         50 yrs ago for me !!  ;D

« Reply #45 on: December 15, 2015, 03:28:21 PM »
Remember when Santa Claus was real ??? 

You aren't trying to say he's not real, are you ???

Hey, we watched "Miracle on 34th Street" just last night & I can tell you that Santa is real!

(& always remember, that if you think Santa's not real, then he won't come to your place!)  >:D

« Reply #46 on: December 15, 2015, 03:58:55 PM »
Coin pumps for after hours fuel.

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #47 on: December 15, 2015, 04:34:39 PM »
6 o'clock closing at the pub. Dad was a barman so we go to pick him up and do behind the bar to get a sasparilla.
Our bread was delivered by horse and cart - used to hitch a ride to school. (1964)
First job was in a servo and you could get 5 gallons of regular for $2.25 (10c a litre)

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

Offline aussie9

Do you remember when
« Reply #48 on: December 15, 2015, 05:39:53 PM »
6 pack XXXX. $1.50.  Drive in   .30 cents.     Driver kept the 20c for fuel which was 35c / gallon.   
My wage as a first year apprentice was $43 a fortnight.    Take home pay

« Reply #49 on: December 15, 2015, 05:48:16 PM »
These were in fashion?

No me neither