General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Jeepers Creepers on February 27, 2015, 04:23:34 PM

Title: V8 SuperCars 2015
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 27, 2015, 04:23:34 PM
It looks as though Jamie Whincup is on the boil already. 2 Poles in todays two shootouts.

He will never have the following that Brock had, but I thinks as good a driver as Brock or better.

OH, I don't like him either, I'd rather it was Craig Loundes doing it this good.
Title: Re: V8 SuperCars 2015
Post by: Robbo on February 27, 2015, 05:10:29 PM
Yep, Jamie certainly has talent and ability so it's a shame that he doesn't have the same popularity that Craig Lowndes has. I guess it's the way he comes across when being interviewed that seem to rub some people up the wrong way. Lowndsy was off the pace again today and sadly I don't think he will have many more seasons in the V8 supercars. He will probably move over to the GT Series where he has had some good results. Young Scotty McLachlan reminds me a lot of Lowndsy in his earlier days with his bright and cheerful personality along with his ability. The Clipsal 500 should be good this year.  :cup:
Post by: swanny on February 27, 2015, 05:18:45 PM
Hey Jeepers im not sure about that mate, Brocky was awesome that's for sure, but a lot of his reputation was built around Bathurst, which BTW was very justified he was a great driver, I loved watching him as a kid.

At Bathurst last year I met Whincup and was very impressed with him, I better add that ive always supported Holden, and I found him to be great person, very humble, and was charged down by the gazzilions of people who wanted a pic or signature, and he was to happy to stand there and do his bit. ( I know hes paid to do it....blah blah blah)

As a driver, his record speaks for itself I think, and to see what he did at Bathurst last year, and nearly pull it off, was truly amazing, only for half a litre of more fuel he goes from last on the grid, a lap and half down at the half way mark of the race, and with half a lap to go hes leading the race........that's some pretty good driving I reckon.

Watching him today only confirms how good he is, done nothing during practice, and then puts the 2 fastest laps in during qualifying when the pressure is on, a tad under half a second faster then his nearest opponent. Which is pretty good given the cars and teams. I think the bottom line is, he doesn't make mistakes, or should I say he makes less mistakes then the others.....maybe.

Not saying Brocky wasn't great, he certainly was, and not saying Whincup will be better, but hes putting a good argument forward to be our best touring/V8 supercar driver of all time.....and hes not done yet.....

Swanny

Post by: GeoffA on February 27, 2015, 05:51:18 PM
As a driver, his record speaks for itself I think, and to see what he did at Bathurst last year, and nearly pull it off, was truly amazing, only for half a litre of more fuel he goes from last on the grid, a lap and half down at the half way mark of the race, and with half a lap to go hes leading the race........that's some pretty good driving I reckon........

Hey Luke, sorry to spoil your party, but he actually started second last on the grid.
He was beaten by the bloke that started from dead last.... :P

Post by: Artie01 on February 27, 2015, 05:55:25 PM
Hey Luke, sorry to spoil your party, but he actually started second last on the grid.

That was an amazing result...... god I love Bathurst.....  :cup:
Post by: kylarama on February 27, 2015, 06:12:18 PM

Correct and poor old Chaz also had to overcome Paul 'slower than a wet week' Morris as a co-driver, who also walled the car.
Chaz had to work twice as hard as Whincup.  All Whincup had to do was listen to his team when they told him to back off a bit to conserve fuel.
Post by: swanny on February 27, 2015, 06:24:46 PM

That maybe so Geoff, but as I said to go a lap and half down and to do what he did was an awesome effort, in fact comparable to what Brocky used to do ....and ur right Mostart did a Bradbury..... ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: swanny on February 27, 2015, 06:36:02 PM
Correct and poor old Chaz also had to overcome Paul 'slower than a wet week' Morris as a co-driver, who also walled the car.
Chaz had to work twice as hard as Whincup.  All Whincup had to do was listen to his team when they told him to back off a bit to conserve fuel.

How do work that out, cause he had a crap co driver or because he crashed, either way its not the fault of RBRA......whincup was way behind (lap and half) and got in front, that tells me he did all the hard work....unless im missing something....perhaps ur right about team orders....at the end of the day, go hard or go home.......this time it didn't work, but other times (majority) hes blown them all away.....

:cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Artie01 on February 27, 2015, 06:39:49 PM
....and ur right Mostart did a Bradbury.....

Yeah, starting last and being in second AND not stuffing up the fuel usage..... a Bradbury? I don't think so.....  :cheers:
Post by: swanny on February 27, 2015, 06:43:36 PM
Yeah, starting last and being in second AND not stuffing up the fuel usage..... a Bradbury? I don't think so.....  :cheers:

Lets face it he only won because the leader ran out of fuel, not because he was faster etc, etc, etc..... ;D ;D ;D

Ford lovers there everywhere......

All good....
Post by: Mallory Black on February 27, 2015, 06:53:02 PM
Comparing Brocky & JW are very hard due to the eras that they drive in. Brocky was probably better looking that's all.

This 'don't like JW'... why I don't get it. like he doesn't get about like a pumped up walking hard-on like many of other race drivers out there.

The thing about JW is he works super hard at his craft, fights hard but fair (in my eyes) and I like him for his dedication to racing and winning

(thumbing nose at all the haters)
Post by: Elky on February 27, 2015, 07:12:34 PM
Seems alot have forgotten where JW came from......he really struggled in the early days and Gary Rogers was on the verge of letting him go, he very nearly exited v8 super cars until he got a lifeline.....

Lots of hard work since
Post by: kylarama on February 27, 2015, 07:44:00 PM
How do work that out, cause he had a crap co driver or because he crashed, either way its not the fault of RBRA......whincup was way behind (lap and half) and got in front, that tells me he did all the hard work....unless im missing something....perhaps ur right about team orders....at the end of the day, go hard or go home.......this time it didn't work, but other times (majority) hes blown them all away.....

:cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Morris was on average 2-3 seconds a lap slower than Chaz and it was Morris who crashed, Chaz never made a mistake.  Whincup made 2 big mistakes.  The first was a spin (his fault) resulting in a blown tyre putting him a lap down.  The second wasn't team orders, it was not ignoring to his team after the final safety car who repeatedly said drive to fuel number.  Had he listened I think he would have won with Chaz on his rear bumper.

Ford lovers there everywhere......

All good....

no where near as many as the 888 lovers that appeared post 2009...
Pre 2009 they were cheats and Lowndes a traitor...

Just a bit of fun  :cheers:  Hopefully the red V's blue passion doesn't die off after 2017.

Such a shame Whincup has re-signed with 888 for a few more years.  Would have loved to see him head overseas.  In a top NASCAR team he could achieve great things.

Seems alot have forgotten where JW came from......he really struggled in the early days and Gary Rogers was on the verge of letting him go, he very nearly exited v8 super cars until he got a lifeline.....

Lots of hard work since

Rogers did sack him at the end of 2003.  Jamie might have struggled a bit in his first year, but the car GRM gave him was a complete bucket of bolts.  Old car full of used (Tander hand me downs) parts, the car Tander had was chalk and cheese.

Can't argue with the hard work part.  He works twice as hard as the rest of the grid.
Post by: GeoffA on February 27, 2015, 07:56:05 PM
......whincup was way behind (lap and half) and got in front, that tells me he did all the hard work....

It tells me that the pace car played a big role in the result.

He's a very good driver, but it's the team that gives him every opportunity to excel.
Post by: JCOJ on February 27, 2015, 08:02:36 PM
I was at the Clipsal today and had a great spot just on the other side of the bend after the long straight and leading into the next left hander.

I pointed out to my boys how much later Whincup's brake lights were coming on going into that corner than all the others and even they could see the marked difference.

I'm not a huge fan of him, but his skill today compared to the others on that corner was obvious to see.
Post by: Garfish on February 28, 2015, 06:49:02 AM
I am a blue oval fan, but in v8s favourite drivers Brock and lowndesy   

Post by: Artie01 on February 28, 2015, 08:02:53 AM
Im a Peter Perfect fan, I did get a bit deluded during his 'Polariser' years though, but I am also a Craig fan and a Jamie fan, I don't see him as the bad boy at all, he's quite a gentleman (by reports).

What I don't like is domination, I like to be surprised occasionally (like running out of juice on the last lap... ;D) Even when Brocky was winning Bathurst by multiple laps I wasn't too impressed (don't get me started on jumping into the second car).

So if JW dominates I will most likely turn off a bit, but I do like watching CL slide that thing around... I just love roaring engines and rubber smoke...... 8)
Post by: terravista on February 28, 2015, 08:20:28 AM
I don't see that any comparison between Brock or Whincup has much merit. Brock drove in a time where he could qualify in multiple cars, and jump into the best placed one for a better finish.
The number of wins in the car you started in might give a better idea of the better driver. Who knows, Brock might still win that one.
I liked Brock in the early days and remember him screaming around the track at Hume Weir in a little Austin??. The car ate the straights but handled the corners like a Toyota Troopy with 30 backpackers gear strapped on top.
Whincup suffers the results of how the media portrays him.  I have a brother who has track martialled all over the East coast, and he claims there a many top drivers are ignorant bastards, but Whincup is not one of them. Much of the good he does just does not get reported.
Hopefully this year Channel 10 get smart and show more live V8's
Post by: gronk on February 28, 2015, 08:21:13 AM

Such a shame Whincup has re-signed with 888 for a few more years.  Would have loved to see him head overseas.  In a top NASCAR team he could achieve great things.

Could he ??   I think Ambrose went over thinking the same thing ??

But he is the best driver I think since Brock........some will say better....but when it counts, he has that extra 5% which makes him a champion.
Post by: gronk on February 28, 2015, 08:28:28 AM
I don't see that any comparison between Brock or Whincup has much merit. Brock drove in a time where he could qualify in multiple cars, and jump into the best placed one for a better finish.

Did that happen only the once ??

Not his fault at the time...like all teams ( nowadays as well ), you get away with whatever rules are in force !!

Some say Brock had the best equipment ??   Are they not saying the same about Whincup ??.....everyone knows you can't win if you drive a dog, but the best comparison is always your team mate ( IF he has exactly the same gear )
Post by: swanny on February 28, 2015, 09:17:52 AM
So if JW dominates I will most likely turn off a bit

I think most people who like the sport feel the same way ATM, I to like competition, which really hasn't/isn't there lately......but TBH I just like watching him drive, he's bloody good at it, and if he wins its a bonus.....

Post by: edz on February 28, 2015, 09:48:07 AM
Take away the techno BS back room controlled and adjustable everything, put them in a basic spec car that you have to be kind to or break / run out of,  Not the over engineered  almost unbreakable  everything thrash it because we can  of todays silhouette machines ..
 Bring back Group C and the other classes ..
Thats when you would be able to tell the drivers from the steerers
Post by: gronk on February 28, 2015, 10:22:57 AM
Take away the techno BS back room controlled and adjustable everything, put them in a basic spec car that you have to be kind to or break / run out of,  Not the over engineered  almost unbreakable  everything thrash it because we can  of todays silhouette machines ..
 Bring back Group C and the other classes ..
Thats when you would be able to tell the drivers from the steerers

Makes no difference...a driver is a driver...a good driver can adapt to anything..

Class C was good to watch, but no matter what peoples opinions are, things aren't going to go back to the old days !!
Post by: edz on February 28, 2015, 11:00:36 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UMWo5QFilBc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UMWo5QFilBc)
Bit of nostalgia, good series this super 100mph on Utube .
Post by: Black Diamond on February 28, 2015, 01:17:40 PM
It's all happenng before the race even starts ;D pretty unfortunate for McLachlan   :cheers:
Post by: D4D on February 28, 2015, 01:36:26 PM
Is it just me or is the V8 Supercar logo this year lame...
Post by: Black Diamond on February 28, 2015, 01:46:33 PM
Is it just me or is the V8 Supercar logo this year lame...
Agree I quiet liked the old one :cheers:
Post by: JohnT on February 28, 2015, 01:47:27 PM
Is that what that logo is? WOW I didn't realise.

Channel 10 better sharpen up the coverage. Who throws to an Ad during the V8 Utes and those super-imposed signs are rank.

Its all starting to look very American IMHO
Post by: tracker on February 28, 2015, 01:56:16 PM

well...i gotta say...watching v 8's is about as interesting as watching paint dry.....But that is only my opinion....Just passing through !

:angel: ;D Tracker.
Post by: Black Diamond on February 28, 2015, 05:06:35 PM
  well...i gotta say...watching v 8's is about as interesting as watching paint dry.....But that is only my opinion....Just passing through !

:angel: ;D Tracker.
You suck balls ;D thats unAustralian :cheers:

;D ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 28, 2015, 05:15:10 PM
Now, I really like young Scotty Mc but geez, a Volvo on fire before the race even starts.......

That just proves, there really is a God.  :cup:
Post by: kylarama on February 28, 2015, 05:18:42 PM
Well done to Brad Jones Racings.  Great win by a great team who always punch above their weight.

Could he ??   I think Ambrose went over thinking the same thing ??

I was referring to a consistent winning top team.
Ambrose could never crack it into a top team like Joe Gibbs, Richard Childress, Roush or Penske.  Woods, Waltrip and Petty teams were top 10 at best on speedways.

Post by: tracker on February 28, 2015, 07:23:10 PM
You suck balls ;D thats unAustralian :cheers:

;D ;D

No....Don't suck balls......Just my opinion......I did not challenge your choice of sport....i only stated my opinion..and I'm very Australian :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on February 28, 2015, 07:34:37 PM
No....Don't suck balls......Just my opinion......I did not challenge your choice of sport....i only stated my opinion..and I'm very Australian :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Dude lighten up it was tongue in cheek ;D
Post by: tracker on February 28, 2015, 07:57:50 PM
Dude lighten up it was tongue in cheek ;D

No wuckers........Never meant anything .....Just saying........Vroooommmmmmm.....lol
Post by: Mace on February 28, 2015, 08:11:23 PM
Well done to Brad Jones Racings.  Great win by a great team who always punch above their weight.

I was referring to a consistent winning top team.
Ambrose could never crack it into a top team like Joe Gibbs, Richard Childress, Roush or Penske.  Woods, Waltrip and Petty teams were top 10 at best on speedways.

Frankly, I think Ambrose should have started out in the Dunlop Series. Any talk of  him finishing in the top  10 consistently this year is in dreamland.  8)

I may stand corrected later  in the series, I hope so, but I just can't see it.
Post by: oldmate on February 28, 2015, 08:14:00 PM
Frankly, I think Ambrose should have started out in the Dunlop Series. Any talk of  him finishing in the top  10 consistently this year is in dreamland.  8)

yeah got to agree, i mean lets face it, its still djr he is driving for, just with a bit more money now
Post by: Mace on February 28, 2015, 08:14:23 PM
Oh, and totally agree, BJR deserve all the accolades they get, great little team.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 01, 2015, 05:18:23 AM
Watch Mark Weber, I've seen anyone blink so much in all my life.
His eyelids are up and down more than a brides nightie. :o :o :o
Post by: kylarama on March 01, 2015, 09:23:23 AM
Frankly, I think Ambrose should have started out in the Dunlop Series.

Really?  For what benefit?  He knows the tracks already and the Dunlop cars are the previous generation FG's and VE's, which are very close in specification to the BA he last drove.  The current COTF is very different, so in my opinion he's better off relearning in a current spec car against all the main game teams and drivers.

You could name 10 main game drivers before Ambrose who should be in the Dunlop series.
Post by: Mace on March 01, 2015, 01:35:12 PM
You missed my  8) in your quote!

Purely a wind up in my behalf!  Good to see him inside the Ten for today's race,

Post by: gronk on March 01, 2015, 02:45:01 PM

What....Penske comes out and plonks a lot of money on a Dunlop series ride !!!

Number 8 on the grid today......nah, this bloke hasn't got it anymore !!!!    :-* :-*

Don't know about standing corrected.......I think you may be eating your words !!!   ;D
Post by: slcs78 on March 01, 2015, 05:38:14 PM
What a fantastic race today. Those last 20 laps with gizz and Courtney on the limit was fantastic to watch. Not ashamed to say I've always been a massive HRT fan so was awesome to see both car now No 1 & 2 on the table
Post by: D4D on March 01, 2015, 05:54:48 PM
Whingecup is going to be in trouble for his last lap punt...
Post by: slcs78 on March 01, 2015, 06:08:19 PM

Agreed, think both him and Mostert should have played that smarter. Shame for Moffat. Would have been three Nissans in top 10
Post by: oldmate on March 01, 2015, 06:59:36 PM
What a fantastic race today. Those last 20 laps with gizz and Courtney on the limit was fantastic to watch. Not ashamed to say I've always been a massive HRT fan so was awesome to see both car now No 1 & 2 on the table

Me too, just not that keen in Tander, but well done JC. Great finish to the race. I think the car 1/6 incident was 50/50. They are both smarter than that.  Poor old Moffat is the big loser out of that, and both 1/6 should get penalty just for that.  :cheers:
Post by: Mallory Black on March 01, 2015, 07:17:40 PM
I'd like to see less aero and more rubber to make passing and dicing a better proposition
Post by: Mace on March 01, 2015, 07:38:23 PM
Chaz  didn't know he was there and moved over on him. He said he couldn't see anything coz his side mirror was gone, but he thought he was clear of Whincup.

Well, his mirror wasn't gone, but it certainly looks useless in the pic above.
Post by: alnjan on March 01, 2015, 08:24:46 PM

No, he did nothing wrong

http://www.v8supercars.com.au/news/championship/last-lap-crash-explained (http://www.v8supercars.com.au/news/championship/last-lap-crash-explained)
Post by: slcs78 on March 17, 2015, 02:48:09 PM
All too much for Ambrose apparently. Stepped down from driving and Scott pye taking over !!!!
Post by: edz on March 17, 2015, 03:37:31 PM
All too much for Ambrose apparently. Stepped down from driving and Scott pye taking over !!!!
Guess he woke up  that he is getting old and way to out of touch and unfit for  Oz racing ..
Post by: oldmate on March 17, 2015, 06:28:04 PM
Guess he woke up  that he is getting old and way to out of touch and unfit for  Oz racing ..

Yeah, wondered how long he would last, are the people that said he would come back and be winning.  ;D ;D ;D. The game has moved on a bit since he was winning races, let's face it, skaife, murphy, Ingall, larkham, have all retired from driving or team duties since ambrose left. The pack is way ahead of him now.  Won't be long till lowndes goes either,you wait. My tip 2017 he will retire. At best
Post by: kylarama on March 18, 2015, 09:12:27 AM
Huge news regarding Ambrose, but I reckon there's more to the story.  Talk in a few places says it might be family related, his kids are homesick (they were both born in the US) and a move back overseas might be on the cards.
Post by: D4D on March 18, 2015, 09:23:06 AM
Huge news regarding Ambrose, but I reckon there's more to the story.  Talk in a few places says it might be family related, his kids are homesick (they were both born in the US) and a move back overseas might be on the cards.

That's why he moved back to Tassie, his home town, so his kids can grow up Aussies...
Post by: alnjan on March 18, 2015, 01:30:20 PM
Scotty Pye has more potential and doing good things on the track and deserves the seat. 
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 18, 2015, 03:34:32 PM
Scotty Pye has more potential and doing good things on the track and deserves the seat.

I reckon he deserves the whole car, not much you can do with just a seat.
Post by: oldmate on March 18, 2015, 05:14:04 PM
Not a bad prediction   >:D

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=19780.msg660638#msg660638 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=19780.msg660638#msg660638)
Post by: Hairs on June 21, 2015, 09:10:00 AM
This is a good way to stream the V8's.
I have copied this from a FB group I have just joined.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/BoycottFoxteland10/ (https://www.facebook.com/groups/BoycottFoxteland10/)

1 Download VLC player here
http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-windows.html (http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-windows.html)
Click on the first one

2 After downloaded, open it, click on Media tab up the top of the player.

3 Then click on Open network stream then copy and paste this >> http://motorsport-au.hopto.org:8080/ (http://motorsport-au.hopto.org:8080/)

4 Press play and it should work

If you close vlc and want to open it up to watch again, just click media tab and then go down to Open recent media and it will play again.
Hope this is of some help to those that would like to watch it.

Edit,
This uses about 1Gig an hour of download.
Post by: Rumpig on June 21, 2015, 09:20:47 AM
This is a good way to stream the V8's.
I have copied this from a FB group I have just joined.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/BoycottFoxteland10/ (https://www.facebook.com/groups/BoycottFoxteland10/)

1 Download VLC player here
http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-windows.html (http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-windows.html)
Click on the first one

2 After downloaded, open it, click on Media tab up the top of the player.

3 Then click on Open network stream then copy and paste this >> http://motorsport-au.hopto.org:8080/ (http://motorsport-au.hopto.org:8080/)

4 Press play and it should work

If you close vlc and want to open it up to watch again, just click media tab and then go down to Open recent media and it will play again.
Hope this is of some help to those that would like to watch it.
cheers for that info....would like to watch it but can't be arsed doing that even if it is a simple process....V8's have lost me now they have gone pay TV. Will watch Bathurst, but that'll likely be it for me now.
Post by: Hairs on June 21, 2015, 09:29:42 AM
It would appear Pay Tv is getting bigger.
Seems to be the way things are going.
Post by: kylarama on June 21, 2015, 10:48:59 AM
I caved on Friday and got Foxtel.  Not just for V8's, but the lure of all the other sports too got me in the end.

$50 a month in the scheme of things is 4 take out coffees a week which ive given up in return.

International Roast is okay?

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Post by: Kangaron on June 21, 2015, 11:01:59 AM
For free live streaming of any sporting event around the world.
http://cricfree.sx/ (http://cricfree.sx/)
Post by: Rumpig on June 21, 2015, 11:20:25 AM
It would appear Pay Tv is getting bigger.
Seems to be the way things are going.
i'm actually watching a lot less telly these days then I used to do, much of that is on 7mate or 1HD when I actually do so, or the odd footy game on 9....so free to air is all we'll ever have here at our place.
Post by: gronk on June 21, 2015, 11:42:39 AM
I caved on Friday and got Foxtel.  Not just for V8's, but the lure of all the other sports too got me in the end.

$50 a month in the scheme of things is 4 take out coffees a week which ive given up in return.

International Roast is okay?

I did the same, although I was very vocal about them selling out to pay TV, I could see no other way of catching it, plus the extra footy games is a bonus..
I rearranged a couple of bills, ( health insurance and phone plan ) and after Foxtel install, I'm still $50/mth ahead..
Post by: oldmate on June 21, 2015, 04:25:39 PM
i'm actually watching a lot less telly these days then I used to do, much of that is on 7mate or 1HD when I actually do so, or the odd footy game on 9....so free to air is all we'll ever have here at our place.

Same here mate. I'm liking that v8s have gone to Foxtel, it means I don't waste complete weekends like I used to every 3 or 4 weeks or whenever they are on. I'll be honest as a v8 fan for a long time, I haven't missed it.
Post by: gronk on June 21, 2015, 05:15:30 PM
I'll still go camping or whatever, but at least I can now tape it (all )...and being unemployed, I've got plenty of time during the week to watch it !
Post by: Rumpig on June 21, 2015, 06:00:06 PM
I'll be honest as a v8 fan for a long time, I haven't missed it.
much the same myself mate, used to love watching it but life seems to have gone on nicely without it now
Post by: Hairs on June 21, 2015, 06:17:19 PM
much the same myself mate, used to love watching it but life seems to have gone on nicely without it now
Agree, but I like to every now and then on a Sunday while doing computer/web site stuff, have the V8's on.
And a few  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: of cause.

Post by: shanegtr on June 21, 2015, 08:31:46 PM
I'd want the V8's on every weekend to justify foxtel. You'd only get fox for the sports nowdays anyway, I dont watch any sport apart from motorsport so it'd be mostly wasted on me. I'll make do with the highlights program - just wish they'd put it on a decent timeslot - theres enough free to air channels nowdays to do it.......
Post by: oldmate on June 21, 2015, 08:39:14 PM
I'd want the V8's on every weekend to justify foxtel. You'd only get fox for the sports nowdays anyway, I dont watch any sport apart from motorsport so it'd be mostly wasted on me. I'll make do with the highlights program - just wish they'd put it on a decent timeslot - theres enough free to air channels nowdays to do it.......

X2. Although I do enjoy league, but not enough to watch every game anymore. And the rest of Foxtel is just repeated crap, with some other new crap programs to fill the void.
Post by: shanegtr on June 21, 2015, 09:29:30 PM
X2. Although I do enjoy league, but not enough to watch every game anymore. And the rest of Foxtel is just repeated crap, with some other new crap programs to fill the void.
You mean the rest of foxtel is just ad with some programs to fill the voids ;D
Post by: gronk on June 21, 2015, 09:40:56 PM
Only had Foxtel for a week and only intend to watch sports and some nat geo programs, but just finding something to watch is a nightmare....44,000 channels to surf thru...but after the 1st mth they will cut most out ( I'm on $50/mth ) so I can setup a favorite list..

I only did a 6 mth contract , so if I gets the sh**s with it, I'll pi** it off...
Post by: kylarama on June 21, 2015, 10:17:39 PM
Same here gronk, you also lose the HD too.  Got ours connected on Friday. Loving the footy replays and full F1 and V8 coverage. The turbo channel with all the car shows seems okay, also have recorded NHRA Top Fuel and Nitro FC.

Post by: gronk on June 21, 2015, 10:58:14 PM
HD is not a prob as my "old" plasma doesn't have it....

The missus has already got the sh**s with all the car racing...but hey, we've got another telly out the back !!
Post by: Rumpig on June 22, 2015, 10:19:02 AM
HD is not a prob as my "old" plasma doesn't have it....

The missus has already got the sh**s with all the car racing...but hey, we've got another telly out the back !!
get a telly in the kitchen, that way she can multi task  ;D ;D
Post by: gronk on June 22, 2015, 10:35:50 AM

At the mere suggestion of that, the reply was unprintable !!  >:D >:D
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on June 22, 2015, 11:18:20 AM
also have recorded NHRA Top Fuel and Nitro FC.

I had it a few years ago just for this reason. Recorded 3/4 of season and gave up. Never found the time to watch a single Round  >:(
Post by: Hairs on June 22, 2015, 05:44:17 PM

You're a
(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/pot%20stiring.gif)

8)
Post by: Bird on September 16, 2015, 01:06:44 PM
General Motors' Asia-Pacific boss has confirmed the news Aussie sports sedan fans have long been dreading: the V8 is on its last legs.

Despite sustained demand for V8 versions of the Holden Commodore in Australia, GM executive Stefan Jacoby told Australian journalists in Frankfurt overnight that an affordable V8 was not in the company's product plans beyond the current SS model's exit in 2017.

"The brand cannot be the same anymore because the brand would die," Jacoby said of Holden continuing its long lineage of V8s.

"We lost half of our market share over the last 12 years. How can we continue that just to fulfil the demands of a couple of [buyers]."

Instead, General Motors will likely ask Aussie buyers to fork out in excess of $100,000 for the next-generation Corvette as a go-to V8. The sports coupe is widely tipped to become the company's future halo performance car, with Jacoby confirming earlier this year that such a model would eventually join Holden's portfolio. The cheaper alternative V8 option, Chevrolet's Camaro, is not set for right-hand drive – ruling it out of the equation.

As for the Commodore, Jacoby moved to assure Aussie enthusiasts that a viable sporty-flavoured alternative would exist beyond the current iteration.

"They will get exactly what they want, but in a different technology," he said.

Jacoby added about a turbocharged alternative: "I think so, I think technically that's definitely possible with a modern turbocharged technology, downsized technology.

http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/gm-sounds-death-knell-for-aussie-v8-20150916-gjnngf.html (http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/gm-sounds-death-knell-for-aussie-v8-20150916-gjnngf.html)
Post by: alnjan on September 16, 2015, 05:09:23 PM
We all know Holden is dead and if anyone believes the vehicles running around the V8 Supercars are anything like the production car you can buy from the dealer they are in for a sad day.   
Post by: gronk on September 16, 2015, 05:45:44 PM
"They will get exactly what they want, but in a different technology "

General Motors Asia Pacific boss quoted eh .......he wouldn't know diddly squat !!

He should of said, we think whatever crap we give them, they will hopefully buy it !!
Post by: D4D on September 16, 2015, 05:59:41 PM
I dunno, I get a little excited when I hear the exhaust note :)
http://www.holden.com.au/new-vf2-coming-soon (http://www.holden.com.au/new-vf2-coming-soon)
Post by: gronk on September 16, 2015, 08:13:25 PM
I've heard some nice sounding Porsches, screaming Ferraris and BMW's, but the sound of a big low revving V8 is something else !!   :cup:

RIP.... :'( :'(
Post by: edz on September 16, 2015, 08:45:14 PM
Factory built / backed product does  nothing much more than to provide the race cars we have now  a silhouette of a body shape / size and a badge and $$$... So it doesnt matter if they run V8's in production cars or not ..
Post by: oldmate on September 17, 2015, 06:25:31 AM
Factory built / backed product does  nothing much more than to provide the race cars we have now  a silhouette of a body shape / size and a badge and $$$... So it doesnt matter if they run V8's in production cars or not ..

Not even size. The holden race car is shorter then the road version.
Post by: speewa158 on September 17, 2015, 06:43:22 AM
We all know Holden is dead and if anyone believes the vehicles running around the V8 Supercars are anything like the production car you can buy from the dealer they are in for a sad day.

Soooo Just when has there been anything the same on both cars ,, except for the badge that is    :cheers:
Post by: macca on September 17, 2015, 06:53:41 AM
The V8's they have been running in them for years resemble nothing the have used on the road cars, except  for the fact they have eight cylinders
Post by: oldmate on September 17, 2015, 07:04:19 AM

Soooo Just when has there been anything the same on both cars ,, except for the badge that is    :cheers:

About 1982.  ;D
Post by: Swannie on September 17, 2015, 07:18:26 AM
I dunno, I get a little excited when I hear the exhaust note :)
http://www.holden.com.au/new-vf2-coming-soon (http://www.holden.com.au/new-vf2-coming-soon)

Sounds a ripper, it's even better when yove driven one :)

Depending on what Hsv do I may need to add one to the stable
Post by: Black Diamond on October 24, 2015, 03:05:31 PM
How awesome are these stadium trucks! :cheers:

(http://i455.photobucket.com/albums/qq272/jsouvas/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsug7d01eg.png) (http://s455.photobucket.com/user/jsouvas/media/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsug7d01eg.png.html)

(http://i455.photobucket.com/albums/qq272/jsouvas/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zps5eoe75wg.png) (http://s455.photobucket.com/user/jsouvas/media/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zps5eoe75wg.png.html)
Great backup :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on October 24, 2015, 06:20:45 PM
I enjoyed that  :cup:

Good value there  :cheers:
Post by: DannyG on October 24, 2015, 07:34:04 PM
How awesome are these stadium trucks! :

Yep good spectacle. Almost as good as an angry feild of sprint cars :)
Post by: oldmate on October 25, 2015, 07:41:50 AM
Yep good spectacle. Almost as good as an angry feild of sprint cars :)

Love sprint cars.. I took my pommy mate last year, he laughed when I turned up with clear safety glasses to watch it ;D ;D. Wasn't laughing for long. Hahahahaha

Stadium trucks are awesome to, we just spent the day yesterday at the GC600, watching them fly through the air and lifting wheels powering out of corners, just awesome.
Post by: D4D on November 07, 2015, 08:27:04 PM
Anybody see Lowndes' tyre let go today at 250 clicks  :o
Post by: oldmate on November 07, 2015, 08:51:55 PM

Crazy stuff hey.
Post by: D4D on November 07, 2015, 09:07:46 PM
Crazy stuff hey.

He was surprisingly calm on the radio
Post by: oldmate on November 07, 2015, 09:19:04 PM
He was surprisingly calm on the radio

Another day in the office..

Just watched the in car again n 10, and he was just like, yep, ok I'm going to hit the wall, about about now.
Post by: StrvnMrvn on November 08, 2015, 09:12:29 AM

Because of that, he has now dropped to third in the title run!
Post by: GeoffA on November 08, 2015, 09:14:44 AM

...the words "tyre degradation" had just left Dane's mouth when it popped.... :cup: :cup:
Post by: archer63 on November 08, 2015, 10:58:57 AM
let me say first that I like the bloke.

Having said that, and from someone who has watched the touring car championship since 1977 and  him for twenty years, he can be too greedy with the kurbs, wears his tyres out because he chases too hard/over drives and I believe this has cost him a few championships.
I also believe that 888 knew they had to take some risks this weekend to get closer to Frosty and they may well have also been too greedy with car setup that may also have caused extreme tyre stress.

Just my opinion guys.

Post by: duggie on November 08, 2015, 02:45:34 PM
let me say first that I like the bloke.

Having said that, and from someone who has watched the touring car championship since 1977 and  him for twenty years, he can be too greedy with the kurbs, wears his tyres out because he chases too hard/over drives and I believe this has cost him a few championships.
I also believe that 888 knew they had to take some risks this weekend to get closer to Frosty and they may well have also been too greedy with car setup that may also have caused extreme tyre stress.

Just my opinion guys.

Craig done pretty for a curb loving guy on worn out tyres. ???
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 08, 2015, 02:47:22 PM
Always liked Craig.....

Nice guy and a good ambassador for the sport.
Post by: GeoffA on November 08, 2015, 02:50:28 PM
Always liked Craig.....

Me too, and yes he is, but I'm a bit over the cheezy grin and thumbs-up......

Post by: archer63 on November 08, 2015, 03:47:54 PM
Craig done pretty for a curb loving guy on worn out tyres. ???

He drove a bit smarter today and was a lot smoother....too bad he got beaten by his team mate again >:(
Also noted that ALL of the teams today were ordered to start the race on soft tyres and to have them at a minimum of 18psi.
Post by: oldmate on November 08, 2015, 03:56:58 PM
Me too, and yes he is, but I'm a bit over the cheezy grin and thumbs-up......

Yep me too
Post by: kylarama on November 08, 2015, 03:57:24 PM
Always liked Craig.....

Yes. He puts on a great facade...

At least he's stopped doing the "I'd just like to say hi to Levi and Chilli"  50 times a race weekend.

Post by: Robbo on November 08, 2015, 03:59:31 PM
Always liked Craig.....

Yep x2, He's had a great career in the V8's, am wondering though, how next year will go for him as he will be sharing the pit garage with Teckno.
Post by: gronk on November 08, 2015, 04:43:51 PM
Won't make any difference, he is still in the 888....only with Caltex signage..
Post by: kylarama on November 08, 2015, 06:53:06 PM

how next year will go for him as he will be sharing the pit garage with Teckno.

Instead of double stacking behind Whincup, he'll be double stacking behind Will (team no. 6) Davison.

Post by: archer63 on November 08, 2015, 07:13:05 PM
Time stands still for nobody and with any sport there comes a time to give it away.
Moffat started to loose his speed around the mid eighties, Brock around the late eighties, Johnson in the mid nineties, Skaife around the early 2000's and the list goes on and on.
Not trying to be a smart arse ...just stating facts.
Lowndes has had a brilliant career who started in V8's around 1994...21 years in V8's is quite a long time and retirement is not far away as there are always up and comers who are faster.
That is another reason why Roland Dane is looking at the Giz for fresh young blood.....and running a third car for Lowndes which is what the other two top teams are doing.
Just saying...time stands still for no one.
No offence intended ok...but stats don't lie !!

Post by: gronk on November 08, 2015, 08:21:03 PM
But a 2nd today, 1st at Bathurst means he isn't ready just yet !!

But a few others are ready....Jason Bright, the 2 Kelleys and a couple others that shouldn't have been there in the 1st place !!
Post by: archer63 on November 09, 2015, 06:30:42 AM
Yes...Bathurst is certainly a contradiction and a sixth win can't be ignored....neither can coming second to the best most consistent racer for the last six years.
Skaife even came out of retirement a few years ago and won Bathurst with Lowndes, so it would seem that Bathurst is a place where raw speed may or may not win you the race.
Murphy was good at Bathurst, but for whatever reason was never consistent enough to win the championship.
I thought Scott Pye did a fantastic job yesterday and I am very much looking forward to seeing how DJR Team Penske go next year.
Was also good to see him and Dave Reynolds show some knackers and not let themselves be bullied out of the way by Whincup or the others.

No such thing as Holden v Ford any more ...it's more about teams.

For me ....next year I am hopping on the DJR/Team Penske rollercoaster ride to the top.

Oh ...and agree with the Kelly's & Bright....time to get out and give two young fast chargers a go.

Post by: Spada on November 09, 2015, 06:54:42 AM
Cant wait to see Scott McLaughlin in a competitive car.
Post by: archer63 on November 09, 2015, 10:17:03 AM
Yes...after last year I think a lot of people expected he would have a cracker of a season.
But when the big teams make a leap forward with new cars etc and you are in one of the smaller funded teams..it can be really tough to catch up again.
Problem is when your car is a tad slower than some of the others, you have to try and make up some time somewhere....and that's where risks are greater and it can all come unstuck.

I'm not sure what I think of Coulthard going to DJR/Penske ?
Good for Pye and Coulthard going to a well funded team that means business though...and that second seat would have been very attractive.

Wonder if they will still be called DJR/Team Penske next season or just Team Penske  ??

Shame about Marcos not going back ( very disappointed he didn't stick it out ), but he has been around V8's since 2001 and then raced in the US for nearly ten years...almost every weekend..that is a lot of racing and maybe he also senses that he is not as quick as he once was ?

Can't wait for the new season !!

Post by: Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback on November 09, 2015, 12:05:31 PM
Time stands still for nobody and with any sport there comes a time to give it away.
Moffat started to loose his speed around the mid eighties, Brock around the late eighties, Johnson in the mid nineties, Skaife around the early 2000's and the list goes on and on.
Not trying to be a smart arse ...just stating facts.
Lowndes has had a brilliant career who started in V8's around 1994...21 years in V8's is quite a long time and retirement is not far away as there are always up and comers who are faster.
That is another reason why Roland Dane is looking at the Giz for fresh young blood.....and running a third car for Lowndes which is what the other two top teams are doing.
Just saying...time stands still for no one.
No offence intended ok...but stats don't lie !!

From what I have read its more of a money situation. Lowndes brings in big sponsorship dollars as he is a huge household name. By moving him to a standalone car they can take further advantage of this. Redbull the product targets the youth market and bringing Van Gisbergen into the team who is a young and a up and coming driver who likes his drifting, burnouts etc will further help them tap into that market.

I made the mistake of saying Lowndes was getting a bit past it early on in the Bathurst race. Certainly proved me wrong. Plus he has been in the mix for every championship in recent memory. Yes his time will come. I don't think its arrived just yet though.
Post by: shanegtr on November 09, 2015, 06:23:13 PM
He drove a bit smarter today and was a lot smoother....too bad he got beaten by his team mate again >:(
Also noted that ALL of the teams today were ordered to start the race on soft tyres and to have them at a minimum of 18psi.
I found it kinda amusing how one car has a tyre issue and the entire rest of the grid has to cope a change because of it
Post by: archer63 on November 09, 2015, 06:44:21 PM
I found it kinda amusing how one car has a tyre issue and the entire rest of the grid has to cope a change because of it

Me too...think they were a bit too greedy with rear settings.
Post by: gronk on November 09, 2015, 07:58:05 PM
Me too...think they were a bit too greedy with rear settings.

No one knows....he could have picked up a stone ??  But because it was a high speed crash and they didn't know why, they had to act.
Post by: archer63 on November 09, 2015, 08:19:07 PM
No one knows....he could have picked up a stone ??  But because it was a high speed crash and they didn't know why, they had to act.
Yes..could well have been a stone he picked up as he was going a bit wide in places in the Saturday race and kicking up a bit of dirt.
But he wasn't the only one either...so who knows.
Team said that the tyre was at normal pressure just before it blew ??
Post by: gronk on November 09, 2015, 09:18:05 PM

Team said that the tyre was at normal pressure just before it blew ??

And zero pressure 1 second later !!
Post by: kylarama on December 05, 2015, 08:59:41 PM
(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/05/02a9516b4ce52bd7f5db645f377a2051.jpg)

A very worthy champion. 12 years to get here, but well done.

Post by: GeoffA on December 05, 2015, 09:06:37 PM
A very worthy champion. 12 years to get here, but well done.

...and he did it without pushing anyone...a proper driver... :cup: :cup:
Post by: archer63 on December 06, 2015, 04:52:01 AM
AT LAST !!!!!!!
Post by: D4D on December 06, 2015, 05:30:54 AM
Look at all the Ford fans come out of the wood work ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 06, 2015, 05:49:43 AM
Geez, talk about winning while wrapped in bubble wrap.

Bung the indicator on, put a "please pass, trying to win" sign in the back window..... fffttttt....  ;D
Post by: kylarama on December 06, 2015, 06:00:06 AM
Geez, talk about winning while wrapped in bubble wrap.

Bung the indicator on, put a "please pass, trying to win" sign in the back window..... fffttttt....  ;D
Don't really blame him when you've got SVG and Courtney wiping out title contenders and their own teammates.

Post by: archer63 on December 06, 2015, 09:03:23 AM
All he needs now is to let the inner mongrel come out more and stop leaving passing gaps a mile wide  :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on December 06, 2015, 11:12:48 AM

Look at all the Ford fans come out of the wood work ;D
We have to give them something just to keep their chins up ;D
Post by: alnjan on December 06, 2015, 11:31:57 AM
Just watched an interview with Frosty on the V8s and he is just a nice bloke, well done
Post by: shanegtr on December 06, 2015, 08:37:43 PM
Good for the fans overall to see someone other than Whincup take out the championship
Post by: oldmate on December 06, 2015, 08:43:56 PM
Yep good on him.
My prediction
Van giz next year and Lowndes will retire end of 2016 or 2017