Author Topic: The Eagle has landed  (Read 5341 times)

The Eagle has landed
« on: February 08, 2015, 07:49:04 PM »
Picked up our new Jayco Eagle Outback over the weekend. I've currently got it setup in the garage with the roof raised a bit and the fridge running on 240V.  Not sure if i need the roof up thought because the vents are all on the outside and the fridge is directly under both the countertop and bed base. What do other people do?

Hopefully the FNQ weather gods will be nice and we'll take it for a shakedown trip next weekend, either to Charters Towers or maybe Kurrimine.

So far I have picked up a couple of issues that I'll get the dealer to check out including one of the ALKO drop down legs is not square and I think I can see a few cracks in the skylight frame.

The only other thing is the drop down cupboard seems to be out of level but I think it is simply because Jayco have installed rubber stops on the back edge. Has anyone else noticed this with their camper?

Re: The Eagle has landed
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2015, 07:50:33 PM »
Nice camper.  Enjoy

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2015, 08:00:52 PM »
Congrats mate. I hope the weather gets better here for you. It's pouring down here in Tully at the moment. Kurrimine is just up the road.

Offline V8ute

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2015, 08:03:29 PM »
Great camper, you will really enjoy it.
Be careful of running the fridge on 240 for to long while the camper is down, the benchtop will get real hot and I transfers thru to the bed base. My cousin had his burn down in his shed from this exact thing.
       V8ute.
08 Cruiser ute, 10 Outback Eagle.
Loaded ready to roll

« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2015, 08:27:38 PM »
Great camper, you will really enjoy it.
Be careful of running the fridge on 240 for to long while the camper is down, the benchtop will get real hot and I transfers thru to the bed base. My cousin had his burn down in his shed from this exact thing.
       V8ute.

:o :o

Really?? How do they roll them out the door with a problem like that?

Offline Woodsie

• Off the beaten track in this Great Country of Ours
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2015, 09:47:03 PM »
Friend of ours borrowed their parents one and left the roof light on. When they got home they plugged the camper into power, leaving the roof down and the heat of the light on the mattress burnt it to the ground.
Tony Woods 06 HZJ105 Turbo/IC
2012 Eureka Hard Floor Camper

Offline V8ute

« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2015, 07:52:18 PM »
:o :o

Really?? How do they roll them out the door with a problem like that

It was a 2007 model swan with the vent in the kitchen benchtop, there pretty certain that a part of there cotton bed sheet was hanging over the side of the bed, as they pushed it in it folded under the bed base and up she went, they had arrived home late from a weekend camp, backed it in the shed, plugged the power in, turned the fridge to power and went inside to shower and went to bed. By the morning it was all gone, camper, shed and his dirt bikes.
I am not certain but I think they have eliminated the benchtop vent.
I never ran my fridge with the lid down in the 3 yrs we had it, a lot of people do and get away with it.
          V8ute
08 Cruiser ute, 10 Outback Eagle.
Loaded ready to roll

Offline mheloy

« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2015, 06:10:11 AM »
Does this mean you cannot run the fridge while pulling the trailer going to your camping site?

Offline BrindiCruiser

« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2015, 08:53:16 AM »
I reckon the risk depends on the year model. Eg bench top vent or not, halogen or led light.

2010 Kia Sorrento, 2013 Outback Swan

Offline ianola

« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2015, 06:24:40 PM »
Welcome from another far northerner and newby to Myswag.  Be careful where you venture in the north during the coming days.Weather looks like its going to be a bit horrid. 
All the best
Ecomate  RF hard floor camper
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

You have as much right to be wrong as you have to be right

Offline millzzy

« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2015, 06:33:38 PM »
Does this mean you cannot run the fridge while pulling the trailer going to your camping site?
It runs off the 12v from vehicle while travelling, via 12 pin plug

« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2015, 07:36:32 PM »
Welcome from another far northerner and newby to Myswag.  Be careful where you venture in the north during the coming days.Weather looks like its going to be a bit horrid. 
All the best
Thanks mate. Haven't booked anything yet, but  I am leaning towards heading to either Charters Towers or down Airlie Beach way, possibly Bowen or Conway Beach.