Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506938 times)

Online GeoffA

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1925 on: October 05, 2019, 07:01:43 AM »

Car is the wrong colour for me anyway.

Silver Fox in the XW.   Yellow Ochre for an XY.

I doubt I'd be fussy about the colour....

Years ago, my brother picked up an XR Fairmont sedan with XR GT dash and steering wheel, and 351c 4v (open port closed chamber).
Paid $500 for it, and he parted it out to get the engine for his XY panel van.... ::) ::)
It would have been a great keeper. XR's are still my favourite of that series. I love the simpler styling.
Another of life's "what-if's"....

« Reply #1926 on: October 05, 2019, 08:12:41 AM »

I doubt I'd be fussy about the colour....

Unless I win Tattslotto it's a dream and I want my dreams to be perfect......

Years ago, my brother picked up an XR Fairmont sedan with XR GT dash and steering wheel, and 351c 4v (open port closed chamber).
Paid $500 for it, and he parted it out to get the engine for his XY panel van.... ::) ::)
It would have been a great keeper. XR's are still my favourite of that series. I love the simpler styling.
Another of life's "what-if's"....

I'd love an XR Fairmont.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing.

I stripped a mint, deceased estate 1 owner 180,000km ZH Fairlane Marque for it's 351 running gear. To go in a failed XY Ute project.

Stripped and parted out a XD Fairmont Ghia 302 for some extra cash.

Knocked back a survivor XA Fairmont coupe for $3500, cause it only had a 2V 250 6 in it....

I sold my first car (HK wagon) to an old bloke down the road for $900.  During negotiations he wanted to do a straight swap for his 302 XY panel van.

An XB 302 coupe for $400.  No thanks, it's got rust in the boot and needs rings.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Offline raider

« Reply #1927 on: October 05, 2019, 09:00:57 AM »

Unless I win Tattslotto it's a dream and I want my dreams to be perfect......

I'd love an XR Fairmont.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing.

I stripped a mint, deceased estate 1 owner 180,000km ZH Fairlane Marque for it's 351 running gear. To go in a failed XY Ute project.

Stripped and parted out a XD Fairmont Ghia 302 for some extra cash.

Knocked back a survivor XA Fairmont coupe for $3500, cause it only had a 2V 250 6 in it....

I sold my first car (HK wagon) to an old bloke down the road for $900.  During negotiations he wanted to do a straight swap for his 302 XY panel van.

An XB 302 coupe for $400.  No thanks, it's got rust in the boot and needs rings.

Bugger !
Don't live a life of going-to-do's and die with nothing done

« Reply #1928 on: October 05, 2019, 05:48:13 PM »
Haha hindsight is a wonderful thing!!

In saying that, unless you had the space to store it for 20+ years, rego, insurance and maintenance would eat up most of the value increase anyway so unless you had something super rare, original and in excellent condition you wouldn’t be that far in front $$$-wise. Just having a 302 4speed GS XB coupe would be bloody nice though!!!!

« Reply #1929 on: October 06, 2019, 04:47:43 AM »
I put an offer in on a 72 XA Futura sedan yesterday.
2 owner car, fairly tired paint, but bloody solid body.
Rego'd, still being driven.... I want this, haven't seen an XA on the road for ages.

Its a bloody oddball, 200 cube six, three on the tree..... figgin Futura and the real deal.

Going back this week...... I've got the neighbour (nice guy) sitting in on the whole thing.
When dealing with an 86 year old, is always nice to a neutral 3rd party to assure everything is above board.

I also put an offer on a 1959 MK2 Zephyr sedan on Friday.
Never thought i'd see the day when I would offer $8,000 on a MK2 and want to flip it.

The last MK2 I had was a terrific car, 250, C4, repainted, trimmed, won best car for the Zephyr, Zodiac, Consul car club in 85.
Sold it in 88 for $3,250.

This is the XA (bad pic) I had in the 80's.
302 T Bar Fairmont, yellow glow (arh, 70's colours) debadged, lowered, genuine centerlines, cam carb and stuff.
The XA's were always a bit of a favourite for me.

« Last Edit: October 06, 2019, 04:58:39 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #1930 on: October 06, 2019, 09:01:12 AM »
Since I've been doing my new Job, I have had the privilage to cart about some impressive rides.
Such as:

This Torry almost earned me $50 on the side from some old blokes at the rest area nth of Gin gin when I offered to start her up for $50, when a bloke reached for his wallet his wife went NUTS.....

And

Also a LJ GTR XUI, that sounded sweet as, keep in mind I am blue on the inside...  ;D
Plus
A 53 Thunderbird with a 460
63 Impalla 2 door with full Air Bag suspension.
A Lincon something or other.
Good thing is, I got to meet the owners and learned some wonderful stories about the different cars. Sadly, I will only share them around a camp fire as I wish to not reveal private info etc etc.

« Reply #1931 on: October 06, 2019, 11:10:47 AM »
Haha hindsight is a wonderful thing!!

In saying that, unless you had the space to store it for 20+ years, rego, insurance and maintenance would eat up most of the value increase anyway so unless you had something super rare, original and in excellent condition you wouldn’t be that far in front $$$-wise. Just having a 302 4speed GS XB coupe would be bloody nice though!!!!
Never about the dollars.  Although the $400 coupe would been easy money if I had a dry place to keep it.

While a ZH Fairlane Marquis will never be a highly desirable car. I do regret striping that one.  Low kay, one owner, 351 with every option ticked.  It didn't deserve to have it's driveline plucked and the rest sent to the crusher.  The XD too, a bit run down, but an easy restorer by today's standards.

The XA coupe is a big regret, even just to own that beast for a few years would have been nice.

The one I lose sleep over is my nan and Pa's CM Chrysler Regal.  Back in 02, we got nan a new car (Pa passed away 10 years before). Nan really wanted me to have the CM, but I was in the middle of buying a house.
Took 3 months to sell it and got $1200.....
220,000km, 265 hemi, T bar auto, AC, metallic green, green vinyl roof and green velour interior, owned from new.  Pretty gawdy back then, but I miss it like hell.

« Reply #1932 on: October 06, 2019, 02:58:45 PM »
WOULD BRING GOOD MONEY THESE days..... sorry, bumped the caps lock.

« Reply #1933 on: October 06, 2019, 05:03:02 PM »
Anyone in Vic going to https://motorclassica.com.au/
Friday 11th October – 9am to 9pm
Saturday 12th October – 9am to 9pm
Sunday 13th October – 9am to 5pm

« Reply #1934 on: October 06, 2019, 08:08:16 PM »
WOULD BRING GOOD MONEY THESE days..... sorry, bumped the caps lock.
I know. I've 1 or 2 in similar condition with $20K price tags.  17 years ago it still had the 'wogbox' tag.

Brilliant to drive, like a big comfy armchair in the hwy.  Did a mad single pegger on the crusty old Uniroyals.....

Online GeoffA

« Reply #1935 on: October 06, 2019, 09:07:57 PM »
I know. I've 1 or 2 in similar condition with $20K price tags.  17 years ago it still had the 'wogbox' tag.

Brilliant to drive, like a big comfy armchair in the hwy.  Did a mad single pegger on the crusty old Uniroyals.....

Yeah, we had a CM wagon for 12 years.
Bought it with 100k on it. 1 owner, 265 ELB, auto, factory ps.
Fitted la cucaracha horns to make the most of the wogbox thing.
Went very well for what it was. Threw everything at it, and it never flinched.
Sold it at the Central Highlands car show. Had 2 buyers haggling for it (may have been a clue there... ::))
Another of my automotive regrets....

« Reply #1936 on: October 07, 2019, 03:19:17 PM »
Oh bugger, my XA Falcon seller is back in Hospital after a fall.

Poor ol guy, at 86, ya don't need that.
I think i'll have an XA soon, as i can't see him driving it ever again.

« Reply #1937 on: October 07, 2019, 03:55:51 PM »
Just popped up on mates stalker.... seems cheap to me. But those rims... FFS burn them with fire!!!

1972 VH CHARGER
$12,000
Withcott
1972 VH Charger Coupe Project
Complete car with lots of spare parts.
Suit full restoration.
265 motor, floor shift manual, front bucket seats.
I have never driven it or heard the motor run.

« Reply #1938 on: October 07, 2019, 04:08:27 PM »
hahahaha..... the wheels make the car.

Probably not a bad buy really. In fact, its about 40 minutes from me.

But I really want the XA and Zephyr, so i gotta hold off for a tad.

« Reply #1939 on: October 07, 2019, 04:20:11 PM »
Oh bugger, my XA Falcon seller is back in Hospital after a fall.

Poor ol guy, at 86, ya don't need that.
I think i'll have an XA soon, as i can't see him driving it ever again.

Did he fall or was he pushed? ;D

« Reply #1940 on: October 07, 2019, 04:47:15 PM »
Oh, you bastard.....  ;D

It wasn't me..... but I like the way you think.

« Reply #1941 on: October 07, 2019, 05:30:10 PM »
Oh, you bastard.....  ;D

It wasn't me..... but I like the way you think.

A Sherlock Holmes deduction my dear Watson, further reading points to you desiring a XA or Zephyr!

« Reply #1942 on: October 18, 2019, 04:46:26 PM »
These two are always parked next to the local camping store, thought Jeepers might appreciate the white Caddy.

« Reply #1943 on: October 18, 2019, 05:22:43 PM »
yep, 1960.... good year

« Reply #1944 on: October 18, 2019, 06:47:18 PM »
Quote from: tryagain
These two are always parked next to the local camping store, thought Jeepers might appreciate the white Caddy.

he can have it, I'll take the 57 anyday!

i drool over this everytime I turn the PC on :'(
Street-driven 540-cube 1957 Chevrolet Sports Coupe

https://www.whichcar.com.au/features/1957-chevrolet-sports-coupe-540-cube-street-driven

This joint does some mad restos http://www.seven82motors.com.au/
« Last Edit: October 18, 2019, 06:50:28 PM by Bird »

« Reply #1945 on: October 18, 2019, 07:24:32 PM »
Just popped up on mates stalker.... seems cheap to me. But those rims... FFS burn them with fire!!!

1972 VH CHARGER
$12,000

Geez, I sold my one owner VK V8 134 pack 100,000K's Commodore too cheap for $15,000 5 yrs ago !!

« Reply #1946 on: October 18, 2019, 08:03:09 PM »
Quote from: gronk
Geez, I sold my one owner VK V8 134 pack 100,000K's Commodore too cheap for $15,000 5 yrs ago !!

you got robbed :(

« Reply #1947 on: October 18, 2019, 10:37:32 PM »
struth

« Reply #1948 on: October 18, 2019, 11:21:44 PM »

« Reply #1949 on: October 19, 2019, 01:11:16 PM »