Author Topic: Hi all  (Read 2496 times)

Offline ITSATD

« on: August 07, 2012, 02:50:39 PM »
Been looking around here for a little while now and finally took the time to become a member.

Currently owning a well setup patrol for camping and doing the tuff stuff up the high country, I'm now a lot more interested in doing the big long trips your remember for a life time and can hopefully tell and take my kids on one day when i have a couple.

Even though i have a well setup patrol and there is only me and the misses i think the short wheel base just isn't going to be big enough.
I'm wanting to build a camper trailer / jetski trailer. with tent kitchen etc not having seen one done before Ive got a pretty good picture in my head i need to start getting pictures from my head into some steel.

thinking

4 link triangular or some say A frame suspension setup with disconnect able swaybars 

you might think I'm crazy and can tell me if i am but i don't like the thought of a big 3 seater jetski sitting on some big angles when off road.

want to sit it on 35" mud terrains just because that's what the car will be on for a big trip and can use the spares for car or trailer.

big kitchen on the A frame of the trailer

and a big tent up on top.

any ideas or suggestions will be a great help

here are a few pic of my car just because it feels like the only reason i get out of bed to got to work is to think about where i want to take it next

Just started the first step of mods for those long remote trips

And playing on the dunes when i went over to tassie a year or so ago

Re: Hi all
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2012, 04:06:40 PM »
Welcome mate and the Patrol...

« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2012, 09:07:45 PM »

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2012, 05:26:22 AM »
G'day and welcome.
Good looking patrol there mate. 8)
Look forward to following your camper trailer construction.

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2012, 08:49:14 AM »

I was considering your trailer requirements in my mind, but every permutation was truck down by the thought f you reversing it into the water to retrieve your jetski. For sure you could build a jetski trailer wth 35" wheels, but you might need to make it a tipper so as the get the back lowe enough to pull the ski on without having to back it so far into the drink. You could build a frame over this with a roof topper on it. I had initially though of two long drawers down either side for a kitchen and storage, but sealing them against regular immersion might be hard. Would you reallt travel much offroad with a jetski, maybe an inflatable rib would be easier?

Anyway, welcome and good luck with your build.

Offline ITSATD

« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2012, 12:44:26 PM »

I was considering your trailer requirements in my mind, but every permutation was truck down by the thought f you reversing it into the water to retrieve your jetski. For sure you could build a jetski trailer wth 35" wheels, but you might need to make it a tipper so as the get the back lowe enough to pull the ski on without having to back it so far into the drink. You could build a frame over this with a roof topper on it. I had initially though of two long drawers down either side for a kitchen and storage, but sealing them against regular immersion might be hard. Would you reallt travel much offroad with a jetski, maybe an inflatable rib would be easier?

Anyway, welcome and good luck with your build.

Thanks everyone and I was thinking about the height of the jetski and getting into the water witch had me worried untill I was in america and every 2nd f250 had 40 inch tires and twin jetskis on the rear tubs they just had a simple ramp with rollers and a small winch.

Reason I want a jetski is i love them the speed can use ski tubes off them fish off them and just enjoy them anywhere you travel on the coast up north.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 02:39:38 PM by BigJules »

« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2012, 10:05:58 PM »
G'day ITSATD,

To MySwag,
What you be able to modify something like what is in this thread?
Motorbike trailer come camper, Just a thought. I reckon there is potential to modify this for a few different needs.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2012, 06:35:13 AM by Hairs »

« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2012, 10:29:26 PM »
Hi and welcome to My Swag