Author Topic: Hello All! (Another Newbie...)  (Read 7430 times)

Re: Hello All! (Another Newbie...)
« Reply #25 on: February 27, 2012, 05:44:53 PM »
Hi and Welcome to My Swag

Offline Mil Hanna

• I am a noob - go easy....
« Reply #26 on: February 28, 2012, 04:09:09 PM »
Is it a purple GT V6 at a bargain base price?  Im not a ford man, but they were a stylish unit.
I Remember Moff running about with his Cologne V2 during the late  70's.  Hey, thats not a bad idea for a thread, best touring car you eva saw? (Must have period pic).

Nah, unfortunately not.

It's a 1600XL (essentially a 1600GT engine and auto trans) in Vermillion Fire, however I converted it to a 2Lt Pinto engine (Escort, Cortina engine) and 4-speed manual about 10 years ago. I have owned the car for 15 years and it needs to go to a better home as it just sits in the garage all the time and never gets driven. Paying the rego every year is not a popular topic with the wife!  :-[

I have just installed new interior and rubber kit and had the engine tuned after I rebuilt the carby. The body has hardly any rust at all and the paint still looks great even though it's about 11 years old as it has been garaged so long. I'm hoping to get around $7K for it, so if you know anyone looking for one let them know..... It's a great car for someone who has the time to spend on getting it 100%.

I love the Capri, but unfortunately it's gotta go to free up garage space for the new camper trailer.  :'( :'( :'(
WJ Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7lt V8 Sequential LPG Injection. (3" lift, bigger rubber and other goodies to be installed shortly!)

Aussie Jay's "Big Red" Camper Trailer.

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #27 on: February 28, 2012, 04:26:33 PM »
G'day Mil. From one happy Aussie Jays owner to (nearly) another, welcome to MySwag mate. You've chosen a pretty good camper there. Jay and rebekah do an outstanding job. Interested to know, did you get one of the new tents, or go with the Austrak? Be keen to see pics if you did go with the new one.
There's a few of us here with Aussie Jays now, all happy campers! Hopefully your wait isn't too long, then let the mods and trips begin.

Offline Mil Hanna

• I am a noob - go easy....
« Reply #28 on: February 28, 2012, 05:29:40 PM »
G'day Mil. From one happy Aussie Jays owner to (nearly) another, welcome to MySwag mate. You've chosen a pretty good camper there. Jay and rebekah do an outstanding job. Interested to know, did you get one of the new tents, or go with the Austrak? Be keen to see pics if you did go with the new one.
There's a few of us here with Aussie Jays now, all happy campers! Hopefully your wait isn't too long, then let the mods and trips begin.

G'day Matt,

Thanks for the welcome!

Yeah, I've ordered my Big Red with the new 9ft tent as I found it suited our needs best. I suppose time will tell whether the new tents are as reliable as the Austracks, but from what I can tell, they are a step up in a couple of areas. I have thread here with some photos and a video: http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=20149.0

Jay and Rebekah are great people to deal with and made our choice pretty easy.

My neighbour Jim just picked up his with the blue Austrack tent like yours and it looks the goods! It was his research and threads like yours that pointed us in the right direction which was handy for us being new to the camper trailer world.

Ours won't be ready til May, but at least that gives me plenty of time to plan mods before we start heading out and about.

Can't wait to get out there!!

Mil
WJ Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7lt V8 Sequential LPG Injection. (3" lift, bigger rubber and other goodies to be installed shortly!)

Aussie Jay's "Big Red" Camper Trailer.

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #29 on: February 28, 2012, 05:42:16 PM »
Looking forward to the pics Mil. Btw, don't forget to enter your camper make in the "what make is your camper" poll. Boost Aussie jays numbers up!

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=1231.0

« Last Edit: February 28, 2012, 08:26:26 PM by brickiematt »