Author Topic: Hi from Sydney.....Tent user & hopefully CT owner soon  (Read 10067 times)

Hi from Sydney.....Tent user & hopefully CT owner soon
« on: April 29, 2011, 10:14:19 PM »
After a few months of being a guest on this forum, thought it would be better if I joined, especially as there seems to be lots of useful info on the site. Have owned a Black Wolf Turbo Lite twin 300 tent for a few years but am now in the process of upgrading to my first CT. Wife & 2 young kids enjoy camping but we are all sick of the time to set up a full camp (tent is quite quick to put up but also takes up a lot of room in the Pathfinder). Hopefully will be able to make a decision after either the Sydney or Maitland Caravan/Camping show.

Re: Hi from Sydney.....Tent user & hopefully CT owner soon
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2011, 10:21:27 PM »
Hi Pete

Glad you also came over from the Pathfinder site.  Lot of good info here.  As previously said I you have questions just ask and you will certainly get some good replies.  Also have a few good characters on the site so sit back and enjoy.  Don't forget the pics

Offline ausmarvin

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2011, 10:24:35 PM »
Welcome...

As you would know its a friendly place and heaps of people with lots of knowledge
2007 VRX Pajero, ARB Bullbar, Thule Roofracks-Hullavator-JBar
Lifestyle Icon - Independent suspension, DO35 hitch

« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2011, 10:25:43 PM »
Thanks guys. Have tried putting up a signature/profile photo but have read that I can only do after a certain number of posts by myself - correct me if I am wrong

« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2011, 10:34:00 PM »
I think it's about 25 post Pete, I could be wrong but

« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2011, 10:41:39 PM »
G'day Pete and welcome to Myswag. After racking up 25 post you will be able to put up an avatar.  :cheers:

Online D4D

« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2011, 07:13:37 AM »
Welcome to myswag Peter, great to hear the tin lids like camping!

« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2011, 07:19:22 AM »
Welcome to MySwag Peter  & the Family .Good looking in your CT search , lots & lots of looking  :cheers:

« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2011, 07:30:31 AM »
Hi Pete & welcome to Myswag, alot of good info on here to help you.  :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2011, 08:23:53 AM »
Hi Pete plenty of ct,s at the show hope you find one you like

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #10 on: April 30, 2011, 09:00:47 AM »
Hey Pete
Welcome aboard. I wouldn't bother with the Maitland show. Go to the one in Sydney at Rosehill. There are more vendors there and it is much more user friendly esp if it rains. Maitland showground can get very muddy as we found out when we went there one year. If you are looking to buy, don't rush it. Take your time to have a good look at the show and then see if you can hire a camper that you like for a trip. This will give you a hands on feel for setting that one up and how useful it may be for you. Also ask a seller to show you how to do a basic set up. Some will, others wont (either because their set up is too slow and difficult or they couldn't be bothered or both). Remember they get a fair few requests to do this at the shows. My advise, take it for what it is worth, is don't buy Chinese. Yes it is cheaper but not built nearly as well and the canvas..... lets just say buy quality aussie canvas. There are quite a few good aussie campers out there. Work out a budget and then post a thread and I am sure you will get many replies on brands. Remember people here own, use and modify campers and will have an honest appraisal of them. you can then work out which one suits your family the best and zero in on them at the shows. Just my 2 bobs worth

« Reply #11 on: April 30, 2011, 10:10:28 AM »
Hi Pete and welcome to My Swag :cheers:

« Reply #12 on: April 30, 2011, 01:16:50 PM »
Welcome to the Forum Pete, enjoy your stay and good luck with the camper

« Reply #13 on: April 30, 2011, 02:37:53 PM »
G'day mate and welcome to the forum :cheers:

The camping and four wheel drive shows are the place to start, often the "show special" price can be a deal clincher! Good luck.

Disco.

« Reply #14 on: April 30, 2011, 04:37:37 PM »
Gday Pete, welcome to Myswag mate :cheers:

You will get some great ideas from here, going to the camping show is a good thing and help you decide what your after. Make sure you post up when you make your decision and dont forget the pics ;D

Look forward to it  :cheers:

cheers BD

« Reply #15 on: May 01, 2011, 08:29:40 AM »
Hi Pete,
I hope yoy enjoy your time here.

« Reply #16 on: May 01, 2011, 12:24:43 PM »
Welcome to MySwag  :D

« Reply #17 on: May 02, 2011, 03:59:44 PM »
G'day & Welcome Pete

The show is good for ideas, but don't discount a quality second hand unit either.

« Reply #18 on: May 02, 2011, 07:51:13 PM »
hi Pete Welcome to My Swag good luck on making a choice on a camper there are heaps to choose from thats for sure

Offline making tracks

• Whats around the corner
« Reply #19 on: May 05, 2011, 06:00:25 PM »
 :cheers: and welcome to Myswag,tough times ahead and with lots of choices re: camper trailer.You have come to the right site for all your answers,Enjoy!

Offline carinya

• Nothing $30 million wouldn't fix
« Reply #20 on: May 07, 2011, 12:05:08 AM »
Welcome, Pete.  You'll find something that gets your attention before long.  Plenty here and all the info to go with it. Good hunting, and let us know how you go, we love to see progress.
MK Triton Dual Cab.
Cheap gal trailer with some stuff added.

Offline rescue1

• D40 Navara [HIS] T31 X-Trail [HERS]
« Reply #21 on: May 07, 2011, 12:17:51 AM »
Welcome Pete The biggest problem you'll have with getting a CT, if our experience is anything to go by, is if you decide that you want to match wheels with your tow vehicle and then the funny Pathfinder / Navara wheels come into play....

« Reply #22 on: May 07, 2011, 08:57:00 PM »
Welcome Pete The biggest problem you'll have with getting a CT, if our experience is anything to go by, is if you decide that you want to match wheels with your tow vehicle and then the funny Pathfinder / Navara wheels come into play....

Thanks, certainly agree with you there. Why Nissan went with a strange PCD, we will never know so we will not be changing the rims/hubs that the new CT comes with

Offline rescue1

• D40 Navara [HIS] T31 X-Trail [HERS]
« Reply #23 on: May 07, 2011, 09:25:32 PM »
There are hubs out there and the lack of choice helped us work out exactly what we wanted first and we ere lucky to find what we wanted that we could have the Navara rims on. Next month we travel up to the factory to drop off the wheels and get production started.

« Reply #24 on: May 07, 2011, 09:56:00 PM »
When I had the naval I thought about getting wheels on t,he camper to match, but it just wasn't worth the effort.. Now, with the complete I didn't even think about it.. I don't really think it matter if they match or not.

I've done plenty of long touring and haven't had any troubles carrying just one spare for each. I use a TPMS and highly recommend it to anyone. As soon as a pressure changes I know about it.

Dan