Author Topic: The Clean Up  (Read 7421 times)

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
The Clean Up
« on: August 05, 2012, 03:10:39 PM »
We arrived home on friday night and hit the ground running on Saturday morning, after an early start to get one of the daughters to soccer. First was the camper, put it up with all the walls and gave it a wash down, next was to get inside for a bit of swoosh woosh, to clean out the cob webs and an early spring clean.  Its looking brand new now.

After we got off the island on Friday :'( , I wasnt going to put my vehicle and camper over the under body wash at Rainbow Beach, but after talking to Jetcrew and seeing his vehicle, I was convinced to do it.  I''m glad I did 8).  After crawling under my vehicle today, I was surprised with the lack of sand ;D.  Gave the old girl a wash and a soak to get the salt off.  All packed up and ready for the next weekend/week adventure ;D ;D.

Offline Blueroo

Re: The Clean Up
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2012, 04:06:59 PM »
Yep, We were glad of the auto wash as well. We just finished putting the camper away. I'm glad we gave ourselves 2 days to clean the sand out of the 4WD and trailer. I spent most of yesterday cleaning the Landcruiser. Pulled the front mudflaps off to access the pile of sand still stuck behind the front guard lining just behind the front wheels and spent a fair while hosing underneath and cleaning out the chassis rails etc etc. I was glad to have all that done.
Set the camper up over night to let it air and get everything ready for the next trip. Now for a beer or too while thinking about heading back to work tomorrow  :'( when we could still be on Fraser.  ;D
Stue

The Clean Up
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2012, 05:25:35 PM »
I unpacked quickly and gave my Cruiser a huge wash down but am still to clean the sand out of the interior.

Stue, once you've cleaned area out you can maintain it by simply poking the hose into the space created by opening the front doors.

Offline Blueroo

« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2012, 05:58:23 PM »
Great idea Jules. Thanks for that, it'll save a lot of mucking around next time.
stue

« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2012, 06:03:15 PM »
What about one of these

Karcher_chassis_ cleaner movie_Aquaspray_01925-444464.wmv

« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2012, 06:44:30 PM »
Great idea but looks flimsy.

« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2012, 07:37:08 PM »
May look flimsy but I have dropped, stood on and generally abused my Karcher (why isn't there any water coming out, oh that's right turn the tap on) and it comes back for more.

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2012, 07:47:36 PM »
Great idea. Are they in Australia??

« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2012, 07:55:05 PM »
Soon I believe

« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2012, 08:15:05 PM »
I prefer to leave the mud at the car wash......

« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2012, 06:51:04 AM »
It must have been messy when you finished after the cape clean up  ;D

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
« Reply #11 on: August 06, 2012, 10:00:20 AM »
, next was to get inside for a bit of swoosh woosh, to clean out the cob webs and an early spring clean.  Its looking brand new now.

Eeewwwww. Swoosh whoosh. And cob webs please explain?

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
« Reply #12 on: August 06, 2012, 10:03:53 AM »
Well we have cleaned the car and camper, washed all the bedding, but have to pack everything back in it.

Half the house has been struck down with the man flu so didn't get as much done as I would of liked. Oh well.

Daz

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #13 on: August 06, 2012, 04:52:48 PM »
I did the wash at Rainbow and it got off about 80% I reckon , I hit the hose this afternoon , only problem I had was , I got home at 7.00 pm Friday , and then left at 4.00 am Saturday for an Off Road race at Goondiwindi , so I had a mix of sand and dirt to get out ....

" OWZITGAARN ? "

« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2012, 05:26:48 PM »
We ended up having lunch at the Rainbow Hotel and drove down the beach to Tewantin.................I reckon I picked more sand up on that leg than down Fraser. I parked at a mates shed and spent a good hour and a half with a fire hose..............I still havent cleaned the inside of the car yet...............yuk.

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #15 on: August 06, 2012, 07:24:36 PM »
Eeewwwww. Swoosh whoosh. And cob webs please explain?

You know all about it Daz :laugh:, your the one who told me ;D. Gave the entire camper a good spring clean ready for the next adventure 8)

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #16 on: August 06, 2012, 08:01:16 PM »
Well we did the big clean up day on Sat but I was interupted by coey (Ian & Kylie) from vic who we met on the cape trip, surfice to say the cleaning stopped and my drinking arm got another workout, then we ended up over at gregnleannes place for more drinking.... :cheers: :cheers:

man was i tired on sunday when i finished the clean up and repack. :'( :'(

So big thanks to everyone we had a ball guys and gals.

Jet ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline ehsc

• FIRE EARTH MOON STARS THATS LIVING
  • JUST DO IT
« Reply #17 on: August 06, 2012, 08:17:51 PM »
I knew there must have been a good reason why work getting in the road of this trip was a good thing? i dont have any mess to clean as car and camper havnt left the shed for ages :cheers: ehsc
2017 Isuxu D-max
2003 Jayco Freedom Outback

The Clean Up
« Reply #18 on: August 08, 2012, 09:18:55 AM »
I have reminder of the trip every time I walk out to my driveway

« Reply #19 on: August 08, 2012, 09:30:48 AM »
Hey Jules ..... was that just out of Laiths swag ?

« Reply #20 on: August 08, 2012, 10:16:14 AM »
Hey Jules ..... was that just out of Laiths swag ?

Mate, that was just out of his jocks!

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #21 on: August 09, 2012, 07:12:54 PM »
You guys laugh but I'm still passing sand!

« Reply #22 on: August 09, 2012, 07:36:05 PM »
Laith ...... the rangers said you shouldn't do that with Dingos .... it's unnatural ;D

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #23 on: August 09, 2012, 07:57:53 PM »
Un-natural?  :-)

I'd never heard a dingo say "no means no" before!