General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2012 MySwag Members Trip "Fraser Island" => Topic started by: yogi on May 17, 2012, 08:41:45 AM

Title: Fraser "Bush Pig"
Post by: yogi on May 17, 2012, 08:41:45 AM
Well one more session in the shed and it will be ready for it's first use and a coat of pot belly black. Just need to finish the chimney, door handle / latch and the air regulator ........ ahhh can't wait to sit around it on the beach at Fraser having a beer or 3 :cheers:

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/38924-2/IMG_038.jpg)

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/38928-2/IMG_378.jpg)

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/38932-2/IMG_382.jpg)

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/38936-2/IMG_387.jpg)

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/38940-2/IMG_390.jpg)

Title: Re: Fraser "Bush Pig"
Post by: DAZnBEC on May 17, 2012, 11:17:47 AM
Do you have a pet name for him/her?

Looks good by the way!
Post by: jk on May 17, 2012, 12:08:12 PM
When I first saw it I thought '' now why does yogi need a cannon ''  but then it all became clear  ;D , looks interesting to say the least, will give you a ring mate and might stop over this weekend for a look and drop off some dollars  :cheers:
Post by: nick 08 on May 17, 2012, 03:00:20 PM
yogi,
With the amount of pigs and burners coming we'll run out of fire wood the first weekend  ;D, oh well there's always your disco lights  :cheers:

Nick
Post by: Chippy76 on May 17, 2012, 03:15:13 PM
Yogi,

make sure you fit some form of spark arrestor to the top of the flue, otherwise the NPWS rangers might get cranky ..... I used some of that stainless gauze like on gas stove toasters, but have also seen perforated mesh used.

Looks the goods tho!

Cheers Chippy :D
Post by: BigJules on May 17, 2012, 03:17:44 PM
Can you fit a pizza in that?
Post by: outback jack on May 17, 2012, 03:27:32 PM

good job yogi  :cheers:
Post by: yogi on May 17, 2012, 03:32:51 PM
Thanks guy's :cheers:

Chippy .... I was planing on making something up just wondering where can you get the stainless gauze from easily ?

Post by: griz066 on May 17, 2012, 04:13:40 PM
Thanks guy's :cheers:

Chippy .... I was planing on making something up just wondering where can you get the stainless gauze from easily ?

I think this is what you are looking for (http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Gauze-Toaster-Refill.aspx?pid=310387&menuFrom=330402#Description)
Post by: Blueroo on May 17, 2012, 05:52:33 PM
       Cripes shouldnt it have a curly tail.  Looks awesome. :cup:
Cant wait to sit around it with a beer or three at Fraser.  :cheers:
Stue
Post by: Chippy76 on May 17, 2012, 08:03:17 PM
I bought mine from BigW of all places!

Post by: Nomad on May 17, 2012, 08:13:14 PM
Do you have a pet name for him/her?

Looks good by the way!

Yogi's Kwik-Pig.

Post by: UTE 701 on May 17, 2012, 09:18:06 PM
Nice Work , but I know that photography can sometimes play tricks on how big things look and how big they really are ....

For the sake of us all sitting around it , I'm hoping you have used one of those massive gas tanks you see over in the far corner at the Servo , or one like on the gas truck that drives around ....   :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: yogi on May 18, 2012, 10:23:11 AM
BigJules ....... heater is step 1 ..... cooking is step 2 :D

griz066 ....... thanks .... I could also use a gauze mantel for a light :cup:

Post by: griz066 on May 18, 2012, 02:56:13 PM
BigJules ....... heater is step 1 ..... cooking is step 2 :D

griz066 ....... thanks .... I could also use a gauze mantel for a light :cup:

No problem have a look here (http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/camping/gas-fuel-appliances/lantern-glasses-ma.aspx?id=330504)
Post by: Frostd on May 18, 2012, 07:19:01 PM
Great job Yogi.  Looks impressive. Cant wait to try out its heat, sitting on Fraser with a beer in my hand!!
Post by: Boo Boo on May 20, 2012, 05:22:55 PM
I'm planning on having prime position  :angel:

Don't forget everyone if you want to enjoy the warmth of the 'Pigs' don't forget to bring some milled wood, heat beads or fire logs (Red Head in one manufacturer)   ;D

Amanda
Post by: yogi on May 23, 2012, 07:44:54 PM
The PIG is almost ready ..... just need a flue .... 8)

Pic's to follow 8)

Post by: Frostd on May 23, 2012, 09:03:53 PM
You said you need a flue >:D, hold on you can have Deb's :D. She has the flu. :D :D
Post by: yogi on May 24, 2012, 10:37:53 AM
Tell Deb thanks but no thanks ...... 8) Hope your felling better though Deb :-*

We have a PIG .... it's needs a fire up and coat of paint. Now to get cracking on a smoke stack :cheers:

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/39099-2/IMG_047.jpg)

Post by: Chippy76 on May 24, 2012, 11:00:36 AM
whats the chain for Yogi ?

Post by: yogi on May 24, 2012, 12:00:48 PM
So you can secure it to the ground with a couple of pegs if need be .... as I want to use it under my awning on the camper and I don't want it moving and burning the canvas .... lol

Post by: jk on May 24, 2012, 01:54:11 PM
He needs a name  :laugh:
Post by: christofurry on May 24, 2012, 04:24:45 PM
I love the design...

Now all I need is two gas bottles.....

What did you do the cutting with? Angle grinder or Jig saw?
Post by: yogi on May 24, 2012, 06:56:19 PM
JK .... Got any suggestions ?

Chris .... Bit of both ..... Jigsaw on the curved bits and grinder on the flat bits ;)

Post by: Nomad on May 24, 2012, 06:59:07 PM
He needs a name   :D

(http://static.tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pub/images/scream.jpg)
The screaming pig.
Post by: edz on May 24, 2012, 07:55:58 PM
 Surely it would have to be " Crackling " ...the Hot Pig ...
Post by: jk on May 24, 2012, 08:47:03 PM
Porky   ;D
Post by: yogi on May 25, 2012, 08:09:29 AM
Some good names there guy's ........ :cup:

Post by: cancan on May 25, 2012, 05:53:36 PM
Fraziled ... sorry try after a few beers
Post by: crocbait on May 25, 2012, 06:02:26 PM
Yogi
Luv your style
All you need now is a beer dispensor
This is a pic of mine

Post by: crocbait on May 25, 2012, 06:04:33 PM
Luv Your Stye

Go well with my trailers

Post by: yogi on May 25, 2012, 09:04:19 PM
Crocbait .... Sender me some details  ...... I think I need one ;)

Post by: Boo Boo on May 26, 2012, 03:55:00 PM
Well Yogi is currently in the backyard testing out the 'Bush Pig' to burn off the paint etc. before getting a coat of pot belly black, all is working well  :cup:

Once again Yogi and BugOne has done a great job.

Amanda
Post by: edz on May 27, 2012, 12:37:32 AM
Ahh one of the best feelings there is, the sense of satisfaction and achievement of using something that you built yourself.
Post by: jetcrew on May 27, 2012, 08:20:32 PM
Tell Deb thanks but no thanks ...... 8) Hope your felling better though Deb :-*

We have a PIG .... it's needs a fire up and coat of paint. Now to get cracking on a smoke stack :cheers:

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/39099-2/IMG_047.jpg)

Is she single mate...cause she has nice eyes ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Jet :D :D
Post by: Eamonn on May 27, 2012, 08:34:48 PM
That's tops, good job dude :cup: ;....I'm inspired.....  ;D
Post by: yogi on May 28, 2012, 11:48:35 AM
It lives ........

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/39182-2/IMG_408.jpg)

All I have to do now is seal the pot belly black paint and finish off the flue ........ worked a treat once you get some coals in the bottom throw in a log or two and sit back, close the door and slow burn them for a couple of hours worth of heat ;D

Post by: jk on May 28, 2012, 11:53:13 AM
A pig should be pink not black  ;D  , she looks good mate, job well done  :cup:
Post by: yogi on May 28, 2012, 07:07:21 PM
Pretty in PINK  ...... lol

Remind me to keep it away from Jetcrew ......... lol

Post by: yogi on June 29, 2012, 12:12:50 PM
Ok so the PIG had a coat of pot belly back put on and was fired once again a few weeks ago but there seems to be some residue still left on the metal. So the old girl has been out in the yard seasoning ..... and will be recoated and fired again shortly. The Flue is also in the process of being made ....... pic's to follow.

Post by: yogi on July 02, 2012, 10:13:58 AM
Well here are some pic's

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/39974-2/IMG_464.jpg)
Not sure the flue is tall enough ;D

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/39978-2/IMG_466.jpg)
It all fit's into the pig believe it or not :cheers:

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/39982-2/IMG_470.jpg)
You can even space it out to fit under your awning 8)

Post by: Smoko on July 02, 2012, 10:17:16 AM
Now that pig has one mighty long tail

Smoko
Post by: Nomad on July 02, 2012, 10:38:13 AM
Love how you have to chain it to the ground to stop it from flying away............ :cup:
Post by: yogi on July 02, 2012, 10:42:16 AM
It sounds like a turbine engine when you close the door .... the long flue draws read good :cup:

Post by: DAZnBEC on July 02, 2012, 11:47:17 AM
Gees mate are you trying to compensate for anything? That flue is huge!
Post by: Frostd on July 02, 2012, 03:17:48 PM
Gee Yogi, it wont be just the tallest flag pole we have to compete with, it will be the tallest flue.  What will be next, the longest rod, beach that is >:D
Post by: yogi on July 16, 2012, 12:55:52 PM
All finished.

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/40573-2/IMG_513.jpg)

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/40565-2/IMG_506.jpg)

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/40569-2/IMG_512.jpg)

Though the "Pot Belly Black" paint don't seem to last long ..... any one got any ideas ?

Post by: nick 08 on July 16, 2012, 01:04:10 PM
Yogi,
I got the highest temp 700deg I think exhaust paint from stooper cheap worked good so far but I had used mine for 18 months before I painted it so what ever was on the outside was no more. I also wire wheeled the whole thing back to clean metal before spraying.

Nick
Post by: yogi on July 16, 2012, 01:18:00 PM
Yeah I was thinking the same .... get some thing more high temp :cheers:

Post by: yogi on August 10, 2012, 03:19:09 PM
Well the PIG worked a treat on the Fraser Trip .... I think it will be coming away with us more often. Rangers loved it as said it was the best one he had ever seen :cheers: Had it going every night several times while Rangers were there no issues as long as you burn heat beads or eco logs ect.

Did anyone get a pic of the PIG glowing red ?

Post by: chisel on August 10, 2012, 04:19:13 PM
How many people could the pig keep warm at once? :)
Post by: SteveandViv on August 11, 2012, 12:41:42 PM
Are you bringing it on the Canning, could be nice on those cold desert nights ;D
Post by: yogi on August 12, 2012, 02:59:31 PM
chisel .... I would say 6 - 8 easy if you keep it stoked up .... it is twice the side of an OzPig (Though I think we had up to 30+ on the Fraser trip .... lol)

Steve ..... I could though I thought an open fire would be the go ........ let me know ?

Post by: Symon on August 18, 2012, 05:51:42 PM
That has got to be the most awesome thing I've seen this week - any pics of it in action?
Post by: SteveandViv on August 18, 2012, 06:44:55 PM
chisel .... I would say 6 - 8 easy if you keep it stoked up .... it is twice the side of an OzPig (Though I think we had up to 30+ on the Fraser trip .... lol)

Steve ..... I could though I thought an open fire would be the go ........ let me know ?

Yea the open fire will be easier. There is plenty of wood if we stash some as we see it. Same as the simpson etc, not so much at the camp sites but enough fr a good feed and a few bad stories.