Author Topic: What am I Grateful for today.  (Read 59832 times)

Re: What am I Grateful for today.
« Reply #175 on: July 12, 2020, 12:10:35 PM »
I'm grateful my hangover isn't too bad this morning.....  :-[  :cheers:
Yep,
Feeling a little dusty myself :(

« Reply #176 on: July 13, 2020, 08:18:59 PM »
Sheeeesh,
I have helped a retired couple for a few years now,  I haven't under cut myself, felt a bit guilty for charging them a few times, considering it was for something minor
I have learnt a lot from them, and enjoyed their friendship.
I finished a few jobs for them, a few Grab rails about the house/showers, toilets, from and rear steps, overhead cupboards, replace a dishwasher, modify a cabnet for a new oven.
Erect a 6x6 Carport.
We have never discussed payment, they have always  to leave an envelope in my vehicle without me knowing.
Got home this arvo, went to recharge the batteries(18V Makita gear), and bugger me there is an envelope.
That will help out heaps, they have found time to print off a copy of what they have deposited to my account.
So very thankful, hmmm
I am humbled.
:)

« Reply #177 on: July 15, 2020, 04:33:15 PM »
Still not entirely certain :-\, but yeah, sort of grateful (& I'm sure I will be later!).

Had a visit to the orthopod this morning to check out my hip, which has been bugging me for a couple of years now, despite lots of things being tried on it, & which has been getting worse these last several months :'(

He twisted it round a bit :'(, had a look at the various scans & so on, asked about how well the last cortisone shot worked, then said "Hmmm, looks like you're up for a new hip - when would you like it done?" :o

So we're away for a week from tomorrow, then into hospital the following Monday for a hip replacement!

At least I'll hae a good excuse to sit round a campfire with people bringing me a constant supply of cold beer! ;D

« Reply #178 on: July 15, 2020, 04:36:32 PM »
That's great news mate.
Happy days.
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #179 on: July 15, 2020, 05:04:29 PM »

So we're away for a week from tomorrow, then into hospital the following Monday for a hip replacement!

Geeze, thats quick. obviously not public  >:D

Here's to a speedy recovery.

« Reply #180 on: July 15, 2020, 05:16:32 PM »
Still not entirely certain :-\, but yeah, sort of grateful (& I'm sure I will be later!).

Had a visit to the orthopod this morning to check out my hip, which has been bugging me for a couple of years now, despite lots of things being tried on it, & which has been getting worse these last several months :'(

He twisted it round a bit :'(, had a look at the various scans & so on, asked about how well the last cortisone shot worked, then said "Hmmm, looks like you're up for a new hip - when would you like it done?" :o

At least I'll hae a good excuse to sit round a campfire with people bringing me a constant supply of cold beer! ;D

Dare I say it Hip, Hip Hooray!

Good Luck Fizzie.

Offline tedota

« Reply #181 on: July 15, 2020, 07:42:54 PM »
You won't know yourself.
 I suffered for 5 years with a buggered hip and couldn't swing my right leg past verticle when walking. Sold the ducati and jetski as I kept cramping up after sitting for long periods. Saw my doctor and he said you're to young but after another 3 months went back and got a referral. Went to the specialist and he said "You should have had it done years ago. I do them on people from 20 to 90 years old."
It's a whole new world for me now.
You'll be up and about before you know it.
And they'll give you good drugs as well  ;D ;D

« Reply #182 on: July 16, 2020, 06:09:01 AM »
Thanks, fellas!

Geeze, thats quick. obviously not public  >:D

Could have been quicker!

He said this is what we've got to do, opened his diary, then said no, can't do it this week, how about next ??? :o

Explained that we're away for the week, back next Thursday. Oh, OK, turned another page - how about Monday 27 ???

OK!

Must admit I was a bit surprised, as even with Private, I expected a month or so ???, but I guess that's what you pay the $ for!

Oh, & the cost for a hip is $35k! :o

Still not certain of what I'll be out of pocket but looks like ~$2000, but we'll find out for sure.

« Reply #183 on: July 16, 2020, 06:19:26 PM »
Still not certain of what I'll be out of pocket but looks like ~$2000, but we'll find out for sure.
That'll be the hip pocket, too.

Good luck with it all.

Offline Ozsnowman

• "Missus wants an Avan"
  • Travelling with Shirley the van!
« Reply #184 on: July 22, 2020, 11:35:00 AM »
Immensely grateful for the public health system in this country. I know it has a lot of things wrong with it, but it's there when you need it - even in this massive outbreak time!
Had the Mrs rushed to the hospital as she wasn't travelling well mentally last Friday, and I can't say enough good things about the staff, hospital and the system. Love them all.

Important message people, for god's sake look after your mental health and don't be afraid to seek help. She did, and it saved her  :'(
We've swapped from the camper to a van yay! :)

« Reply #185 on: July 22, 2020, 12:07:18 PM »

Important message people, for god's sake look after your mental health and don't be afraid to seek help. She did, and it saved her  :'(
Well said & yes  seek help.

The following users thanked this post: Ozsnowman

« Reply #186 on: August 04, 2020, 06:12:18 PM »
I am grateful that I live where we do.
The Lawrence communitty is an awesome part of the world.
A nieghbour had a delivery of stones, bark fir the garden.
Access is through the back lane(grassed), everyone's storm water flows across the lane to our 2 acres, which we don't have a problem with.
Anyway, the tipper got bogged, as a true Australian, I rock up in thongs & a Tallie to see if I can help.
There is a few digging, jambing  timber under the wheels.
She isn't going anywhere.
Make a phone call and within ten a 4wd tractor is on the job.
A lot of the lane needs a Bobcat to fix it, but that is sorted.
Tipper is out, the guys can get home, have a coldie.
Nothing was a hassle or problem.
Love it when people come together and a problem is sorted.
The following users thanked this post: plusnq

Offline Champin

« Reply #187 on: August 04, 2020, 06:43:52 PM »
Keeping the community spirit alive. Good on ya mate.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

« Reply #188 on: August 04, 2020, 08:33:02 PM »
Keeping the community spirit alive. Good on ya mate.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk
That is what the effort is for.
All of our kids attended daycare, preshool, primary school here.
Fysh & myself have in someway been involved in our communitty for nearly 20 years.
It just feels right to keep giving.
Thanks mate.

« Reply #189 on: August 05, 2020, 06:32:57 AM »
Your community needs to get with the times. They're supposed to standing around filming it on the phone and abusing the driver...   ;D

« Reply #190 on: August 05, 2020, 07:26:42 AM »
Complaining that the Council haven't put in a 4-lane bitumen road to allow for one heavy vehicle a year, abusing the sod that owns that 2 acres of grassland because he hasn't sorted out proper storm-water drainage yet ... ;D

« Reply #191 on: August 05, 2020, 08:32:21 PM »
What a world we live in these days.
So much pain, uncertainty, but
We have each other, talk to ya mates, talk to strangers, connect.
Take care.
https://youtu.be/LezoMi3yftM
« Last Edit: August 05, 2020, 08:33:58 PM by Hairs »

« Reply #192 on: August 09, 2020, 06:39:57 PM »
I am grateful for so much.
I have a soul mate, Love ya Fysh.
We have kids that are doing great.
We have mates/friends that care.

Hope all Swaggers are well, safe and doing the best they you can.
Just shout out if things are not going well, you feel it it's dragging you down.

The reason for this post is,
In the last couple of weeks, I have had a few life long mates that have had some pretty bad cards dealt to them.
Two are going through a marriage break ups, they never saw it coming, young children involved.
One has lost his business.
Another has had their brother take their life.
A life long friend is dealing with her father living 400k's away, he has dementia.

If we all threw our problems into a pile and could see theirs,
I reckon I would grab mine back.

Take care Swaggers.

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, plusnq, NZMarkb

« Reply #193 on: August 10, 2020, 09:15:33 AM »
Just shout out if things are not going well, you feel it it's dragging you down.

Jeez, Jon, with all that going on around you, you need to take care of yourself! :'(

R U OK ???

You know where to find us if you need a chat!

Take care, mate.

« Reply #194 on: August 10, 2020, 01:30:45 PM »
Jeez, Jon, with all that going on around you, you need to take care of yourself! :'(

R U OK ???

You know where to find us if you need a chat!

Take care, mate.

Hey mate,
Yes, I am doing good, cheers
I am so very fortunate to have a loving family,  I work with some wonderful people, I meet every day some amazing people who inspire me to keep me grounded, just as I am so grateful to people around me who care.
Having just joined the RFS, they are a very supportive group who have your back.
Last meeting, the Captain & deputy, both approached me and asked how things are.
They genuinely are concerned for all members mental health.

Thanks heapsfor asking mate.

« Reply #195 on: August 19, 2020, 01:56:58 PM »
I am grafteful for,
Our middle child, turned 20 yesterday.
She has grown into a beautiful young woman.
Has a job that she loves, a boyfriend who deeply cares for her and respects her.
She has found her feet.
We love her to bits.
So proud of how far she has come.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2020, 05:33:39 PM by Hairs »
The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #196 on: September 10, 2020, 09:24:06 PM »
Hey Fizzie,
I'm going ok, like a lot these days, I sometimes struggle to get motivated, but I find that spark that fires me up.
Thanks for asking.

Today I'm a grateful for a couple of phone calls from mates I have known since we played footy, Byron Bay U17's
1983, how good is that  :cheers:

« Reply #197 on: September 11, 2020, 05:48:12 PM »
Today I grateful for being able to lend a hand to a stranger, unexpected.
Most that witnessed her predicament, just walked away, some had their phones out.
Another can up to me afterwards, thanked me.
After chatting for a bit,
Their own a few properties, they would like me to manage their up keep.

Enjoy your day Swaggers.
The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

« Reply #198 on: September 11, 2020, 06:06:43 PM »
 :cup: :cup:

Paying it forward Jon.

Nice to see someone appreciated your caring attitude.

:cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #199 on: September 11, 2020, 06:20:57 PM »
:cup: :cup:

Paying it forward Jon.

Nice to see someone appreciated your caring attitude.

:cheers: :cheers:
Hi mate,
It doesn't cost anything to be a good person.
Just be kind, it will come back.

You guys take care.
 :)