Author Topic: Gday from the Mornington Peninsula  (Read 3119 times)

Offline McDonald

Gday from the Mornington Peninsula
« on: August 02, 2012, 02:08:46 PM »
G'day all,

I'm new to the ct world only recently sort of discovering them after my trusty tent died, a innocent victim of tree vs tent.
Been doing the odd weekend camp trips here and there, with the two dirt magnets, and with the new(ish) 4x4 Triton I have been able to get to more isolated camp spots across Victoria.
I've come across this site while I've been doing research on ct's and have found some informative advice.
As budget is a big player in which camper trailer the missus and I decided on (you know "happy wife, happy life"). So in saying that I would love to hear some advice on ct. as we are planning of doing the big lap in 5-6yrs
I'm also a yak fisherman so I'll be happy to share my stories with you all

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Re: Gday from the Mornington Peninsula
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2012, 03:03:14 PM »
Welcome aboard Mac, heaps of info here if you dig a bit, and very helpfull people from all over. I have a3 week old virgin ct in my back yard (seasoning the canvas) that is just itching to get away when the weather gets better. The hunt for the 1 that suits you can be very confusing so good luck with that  :D
Hope no-one was in the tent at the time,
cheers Keith

« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2012, 03:46:43 PM »
Welcome Rob.

A bit of scottish ancestry by the sound of it!!!  Stookie is a bit far away to meet up with at the moment!

Beware of those other swaggers down that way!   ;D

:cheers:  Al.

« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2012, 05:42:26 PM »
G'day Rob and welcome to Myswag from an old Mounties boy. Nice spot down there on the Penisula and my folks are still in Mt Eliza.  :cheers:

efjay

« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2012, 06:08:32 PM »
G'Day mate and welcome.  I spent a big chunk of my life down there at  Balnarring a truly magnificent place.

« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2012, 07:48:04 PM »
Welcome to The Show Rob, nice part of the world you live in but can be a bit cold & windy. I'm sure you will get all the help you want/need here.

« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2012, 08:09:14 PM »
Welcome to the best forum going Rob, enjoy your stay

« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2012, 08:15:56 PM »
G'day Rob and welcome.
Heaps of great members here to help you out ;D
Good luck with the camper search mate.

« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2012, 12:01:29 AM »
Hi Rob and welcome to My Swag

Offline Desert lover

• Challenge Meridian Offroad camper, GU Patrol.
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2012, 04:48:20 AM »
Gidday Rob. Nice to welcome another Victorian. Good choice lurking about on this forum... lots of info for the good wife too.  Enjoy!
Sue
aka Desert Lover
Desert Lover

« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2012, 07:08:21 AM »
Welcome Aboard . The CT question ,,, have a poke about in the preloved adds here , more bang for your buck . When it comes time to do the lap you will be better informed on what works for you .
If you want to know ask  :cheers:

« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2012, 09:11:59 AM »

I too recommend having a look at the second hand market, there are some real bargains to be had, especially if you're comfortable to take on some mods or upgrades yourself.

Offline McDonald

« Reply #12 on: August 08, 2012, 11:49:54 AM »
Thank you for the warm welcome everyone.

unfortunately the missus car just kicked the bucket and in doing so has put a damper on buying a camper any time soon

might give a custom build a go that way i can claim most materials through business

Does any know where i can buy plans for a hard floor camper, I search through Google and have had no luck so far

Cheer