Matson
DownUnder
Gasmate
Companion
BushBoy
Aldi, the wonder fridge
Techni Ice
Kings

Author Topic: What Fridge do you use Poll.  (Read 265642 times)

Offline toad

Re: What Fridge do you use Poll.
« Reply #50 on: October 13, 2009, 10:57:50 AM »
 ABR Sidewinder 55L (beer fridge) ;D ;D in the ute and a 60L Everkool in the CT.
Heck! I think mrs toad (aka froggy) is helping herself to my beer in the piccie below!
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

« Reply #51 on: October 13, 2009, 06:15:41 PM »
Toad I hope your EvaKool in the camper is still going strong and not blowing any more fuses.  Hope it was a one off.

Offline Followme1

• Follow Me Campers
« Reply #52 on: October 14, 2009, 08:44:53 AM »
I use Everkool tough as nails.
The new fridges use a circuit breaker so you don't have to worry about fuse
http://www.followmecampers.com.au

Offline toad

« Reply #53 on: October 14, 2009, 10:54:23 AM »
Hi Gunnado, last time I checked the Everkool is going OK! I bought some 10A fuses, but the 5A  you gave me is going strong so I'll leave it in.
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

Offline Duchess

• "Its not as hard as you think, you know."
« Reply #54 on: October 14, 2009, 06:03:35 PM »
I've voted for the Waeco and the good old trusty ice box...

The Waeco was chosen because I really detested the latch system on the Engel, and the Waeco is awesome because it has an internal LIGHT!  ;D

"I've got one job on this ship. It's stupid but I'm going to do it!"

www.duchessandthedukeontour.blogspot.com.au

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #55 on: October 14, 2009, 06:10:25 PM »
I've voted for the Waeco and the good old trusty ice box...

The Waeco was chosen because I really detested the latch system on the Engel, and the Waeco is awesome because it has an internal LIGHT!  ;D

It's always interesting to read differing opinions.  I had a Waeco and I hated their latch system and in comparison I love the way that ARB have made a similar style of fridge and really improved the latch system.  I now have an Engel and whilst I admit the latch system could be better I like it alot more then the Waeco.  Thank God we all have differing ideas because it keeps the world a lot more interesting.... ;D  :cheers:

Offline Duchess

« Reply #56 on: October 14, 2009, 06:16:47 PM »
I guess I neglected to say, NCKnight, that I don't think that the Waeco is all that big an improvement on the Engel latch (but I still thought it better) and in general think that all these fridges we pay exxy dollars for should really have something as simple as this figured out better.

The Engel's I've seen over the years seem to have an issue with the lid moving on the hinges over time and so would end up slightly off side on the latch. (if you know what I mean here.)

I do agree with you on it making life interesting that we can have differing opinions! yay!  :cheers:

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #57 on: October 14, 2009, 06:28:49 PM »
I agree Duchess, I was not having a go just pointing out how we all perceive things differently.  I know what you mean about the hinges moving mine does it but not too bad.  Have you seen the ARB Fridge?  I reckon they have the best lid system out of the lot them.

Offline cranky

• Live the Dream
« Reply #58 on: October 14, 2009, 06:39:25 PM »
I use a 39 Litre Engel as a freezer had it since 1988 still going strong & recently purchased an 80 Litre engel to use as a fridge.

Offline Duchess

« Reply #59 on: October 14, 2009, 06:42:52 PM »
No that's ok, NCKnight, didn't think you were having a go, just wanted to explain myself a bit better!

Now that you've mentioned the ARB fridges, no I don't think I have ever seen them but I'll be sure to keep my eye out for them. I'll be interested to see their latch system for sure.

« Reply #60 on: December 08, 2009, 07:11:40 PM »
Moderators, would it be possible for this Poll to be modified to stay at the top of the General Discussion Topics similar to the way the "How did you find out about MySwag.org - Poll" remains up there.  To me it is a good reference for anyone considering buying a fridge, just to see what most Myswaggers are using to cool their essentials.  Hope this request receives a favourable responce.

Offline Footloose

• Bush or Beach what a choice
« Reply #61 on: December 08, 2009, 09:22:02 PM »
Standard 90l dometic in the Jayco.50l dometic as a second fridge because I didn't have 12 volt in my customline camper.
Might enventually buy an Engel or Waeco for a longer trip.dometic is a great fridge on gas.  :D

Miles 
2013 Isuzu DMax LSM
2014 Jayco Journey Outback pop-top
17.55 ready to tour

« Reply #62 on: December 09, 2009, 05:04:35 AM »
Footloose, I have added Dometic to the poll for you to complete your vote.  Thanks for taking the time.

Thanks also Moderators, which ever one helped me out with the sticky bit.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2009, 05:06:15 AM by Gunna Do »

Offline bigcol

• living the life
« Reply #63 on: December 24, 2009, 11:31:25 PM »
Just found this post..... so I will add my "thoughts"
I have an old 60L engel (with obligitory bent hinges) for long trips in the back of the car
a 27L for in the shorter trips in the car
a Dometic in the Flamingo
and Ive just scored one of those silly little Waeco XX can holder coolers for on the seat (dunno how many cans it holds, havent filled it up yet)- to stop having to stop the car to get a cool drink out while on the move
GQ 4.2 tow vehicle
100 series Kakadu cruise machine
Member: Western Patrol Club ( http://westernpatrolclub.com )
Member Patrol WA Forum      ( www.patrol4x4wa.com )

Offline morgue

« Reply #64 on: December 25, 2009, 01:21:18 PM »
You will get all sorts of opinions when it comes to portable fridges as this poll has shown. Kevin Rudd gave me $900.00 to spend, bless his heart, "go forth and spend it for Australia", the government said,so I did, went straight to the Brisbane C&C show and bought myself a Bushman.
So far the fridge has been great, goes from 40 to 52Ltr and all combinations in between, draws 16A/H per day and was good value.

Offline stooge

« Reply #65 on: January 07, 2010, 12:21:15 PM »
Just a question on firdges... I dont have one at the moment, looking into them now.  The thing is, what size is best for 2 adults, a teenager (adult) and a child?  Need to be big enough to store for all as we only have an ice box to support it.

Looking at the Trailblaza brand (as they are now used in the service) so must be good!?

Hobart, Tasmania

« Reply #66 on: January 07, 2010, 01:14:23 PM »
My family consist of two adults and two almost teenage kids.  We currently have a 47ltr ARB fridge in the Patrol and a 65 ltr Isotherm fridge in the camper, which leaves us a bit spoilt for fridge space, therefore I can load all my drinks in the ARB fridge for the entire weekend away and keep the Isotherm fridge in the camper exclusively for food.

Before buying the camper we had a camp trailer which had a 60ltr Trailblazer fridge in it, which we used to use just for food and then also took an EvaKool esky (about 49 ltr) for the drinks.

I have also owned an Autofridge (39 ltr ?) which I found soon filled up and was only just big enough for our needs, hense the reason I started looking at the slightly bigger ARB one.  I also considered the Waeco fridge of a similar size.

We had a great run out of our Trailblazer fridge, however found it a little rugged in its construction for keeping in the rear of the Patrol (bit sharp around the edges as well as a bit bulky).

60 ltrs of fridge space will be more than enough space for your family, especially with the ice box, and perhaps a smaller fridge (39 - 40 ltr) would also serve you well.  I think too much space is better than not enough, and once you have made the expensive outlay for the fridge it is too late to say it's not big enough, but better to say it's a bit too big and can throw in a few more drinks.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2010, 01:16:13 PM by Gunna Do »

« Reply #67 on: January 07, 2010, 08:48:39 PM »
I am one of the Autofridge entries in the poll.  39 litre model, purchased 2nd hand recently for $850.

My priority is maximum period of use from any given battery capacity.  Ideally I want to be able to pitch under a tree for up to a week.  The Autofridge is the best option for me because it can run in 'eutectic' mode for just 5 hours / day and keep stuff frozen.  (Have just purchased a 12volt timer switch to achieve this!)

However, if I was purchasing a new fridge for more general use I would not hesitate to get the 'Bushman'.  $1195 for fridge, collar, high lid, thermal bag and multiple baskets.  It is a well thought out, flexible package and, for Victorians like me, is distributed from Melbourne, so convenient for any parts and warranty.

If (when ;D) I get a 2nd fridge I'm pretty sure it will be a Bushman.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2010, 07:03:23 PM by barry1956 »

Offline Ricey

• It is what it is
« Reply #68 on: January 07, 2010, 09:22:43 PM »
How do you see the results of the Poll?

Maybe I am missing something obvious but I can't see it.

Lifes Like That

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
« Reply #69 on: January 07, 2010, 10:06:10 PM »
You have to vote then you will be able to see the results!

Offline Ricey

• It is what it is
« Reply #70 on: January 07, 2010, 10:15:25 PM »

Maybe this is something for the Moderator.

My Liemack soon to be upgraded is not listed and I would like to see what is the most popular brand.

Yes I could just vote and see the results but a running total would be good and I assume its 1 vote per member.

Lifes Like That

« Reply #71 on: January 07, 2010, 10:49:45 PM »
Here you go rodeo2002.

Ice Box/Esky  47 (13.9%)
Waeco  86 (25.5%)
Engel  126 (37.4%)
EvaKool  36 (10.7%)
Explorer  3 (0.9%)
Autofridge  6 (1.8%)
Isotherm  2 (0.6%)
Trailblaza  6 (1.8%)
Bushman  8 (2.4%)
ABR Sidewinder  3 (0.9%)
ARB  9 (2.7%)
Dometic  5 (1.5%)

Total Voters: 273

P.S.  I voted Evakool ;)

Offline Ricey

• It is what it is
« Reply #72 on: January 07, 2010, 10:55:44 PM »
Thanks kylarama

The Evakool is leading for me but I am interested in the explorer just need to find a dealer for prices etc. then decide.

Rodeo2002

Lifes Like That

Offline 95cruza

« Reply #73 on: January 08, 2010, 03:19:59 AM »
40 l engel with 21 litre twozone for us, got the ARB insulation cover for it also, the beauty of this is the ability to add the extra litres only when needed (usually the longer trips).  My lad has 40 l engel also.  Very happy so far (about 4-5 years I guess).
Cheers Phil & Wendy
2013 Hilux D/C & 2013 Ultimate XTRK
Have fun, your here for a good time not a long time.

« Reply #74 on: January 08, 2010, 07:56:17 AM »

I assume its 1 vote per member.

I think when this poll was set up you could place three votes, as most of us have at least two fridges and then some an esky as well.