Author Topic: WHAT'S MAKING NEWS TODAY? 2012 edition  (Read 383165 times)

Re: WHAT'S MAKING NEWS TODAY?
« Reply #350 on: October 09, 2012, 03:00:21 PM »
From a US Website and email currently doing the rounds:

There are no scratches on the outside of this car, but the vehicle is total write off.

A man in Waterton, (Calgary), came out to find the inside of his 18 month old Toyota
Sequoia trashed.

A grizzly bear had somehow got a door open (easy considering the way the handles are constructed) and
once inside got trapped when the door shut behind him. Probably by the wind.
The Toyota was the Platinum edition, all the door panels were ripped off, the headliner torn to
pieces, all headrests, the leather seats, the dash shredded. The steering column was twisted
sideways. Two of the six airbags went off, the other four the bear ripped to pieces.
(...You can imagine a trapped grizzly being hit with an airbag in an enclosed space! He must
have figured he was in for the fight of his life ..and by the looks of this car, he won the fight.

When the bear ripped off the door panels he also clawed all the wiring harnesses out.
Toyota figures every wire he pulled or clawed at resulted in alarm bells, voices or sparks.

The head mechanic at Calgary Toyota doubted if they had the expertise to put this vehicle back
together, even if they had enough parts to do it. And, to add insult to injury, the bear took a big
dump in the back of the SUV  . . .   and then broke out the rear window.

Fish and wildlife officers have inspected the damage and figure it was a 3 year old Griz.

The vehicle has been written off by the insurance company. The cost of this fully optioned  vehicle new was over $70,000, and they stopped counting repair costs at $60,000+.

« Reply #351 on: October 10, 2012, 01:42:24 AM »
Could have been worse have you seen the damage kids with a bag of Twisties & a can of drink can do to the back of the truck  >:D

« Reply #353 on: October 11, 2012, 08:46:03 AM »

« Reply #354 on: October 11, 2012, 08:59:47 AM »
http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/fighting-edelstens-wrestled-court-told-20121010-27dlo.html

and Is this a branch of Telstra AU?
Hello, it's your telephone company. You owe us €11,721,000,000,000,000
In Australian dollars, that equates to $14.8 quadrillion."There were so many zeroes I couldn't even work out how much it was," she said.

Read more: Telstra... we are moving you.

« Reply #355 on: October 11, 2012, 03:25:28 PM »

« Reply #356 on: October 12, 2012, 09:00:42 AM »
****in storm in a T cup or slow news day?

http://www.theage.com.au/national/uproar-as-students-dress-as-traditional-aboriginal-people-20121011-27f0e.html

FFS...

Wasn't it traditional for the aboriginal women to be topless???
And I don't see any complaints about our youth (black & white) walking around "dressed up" as yanks!  ???  ;D

« Reply #357 on: October 12, 2012, 02:17:29 PM »
Must have been a great party!!

Drunk partygoer finds car - two years later

http://theage.drive.com.au/motor-news/drunk-partygoer-finds-car--two-years-later-20121012-27hi4.html

« Reply #358 on: October 13, 2012, 06:52:46 AM »

« Reply #359 on: October 15, 2012, 04:47:56 PM »
This doesn't look good...

Ambulance Victoria insiders have been systematically siphoning off a powerful and highly addictive liquid pain killer and replacing it with water to avoid detection, prompting a state-wide investigation.

http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/probe-into-ambulance-drug-thefts-20121015-27mqv.html

« Reply #360 on: October 17, 2012, 11:48:07 AM »
The interwebs is a very big scary place now... you can hide nowhere... Photos. screenshots and all..

Hacker activist group Anonymous has exposed the identity of a man they say is responsible for the online bullying which culminated in Amanda Todd's suicide.
The 15-year-old Canadian committed suicide on October 10, weeks after posting a moving video detailing her plight with online bullying on YouTube.
In a post on Pastebin, Anonymous has named the alleged bully as a man who lives in British Columbia, Canada.

Read more: http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/technology/technology-news/hacktivists-out-amandas-tormentor-20121017-27qaq.html#ixzz29W6Os2mH

« Reply #361 on: October 18, 2012, 08:52:59 AM »
How do schools rack up debt like this?
Another school goes toes up... Maybe payin all that hush money kills them off. I dont get it.

http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/parents-in-shock-as-news-spread-20121018-27sfd.html

"Students and parents of a private Mernda school set to close at the end of the year have taken to social media to vent their anger over the decision"

OOooooooooooooooooooooooooo they gone to social media to vent their anger... that'll learn em, I bet they are Shittin bricks now! hahahhahahahahhahhahahahahhahhaa as if anyone would take it seriously!
« Last Edit: October 18, 2012, 09:27:10 AM by Lost »

Marschy

« Reply #362 on: October 18, 2012, 09:13:02 AM »
My son went to a Uniting Church school here in Adelaide for his first 5 years of school. If the fees were anything like my wife and I were paying, you'd consider selling one of your children just to pay the fees. They are outrageous.

« Reply #363 on: October 19, 2012, 05:13:50 AM »
Well the mouth has been at it again.
Anthony Mundine dismisses world champion Daniel Geale's indigenous heritage
I hope Daniel Geale gives him a whoopin.

« Reply #365 on: October 19, 2012, 10:01:33 PM »

« Reply #366 on: October 20, 2012, 05:36:14 AM »
and we HAVE to share the road with stoners like this

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/god-the-driver-licences-and-the-court-case-20121019-27veg.html

Mate that's nothing compared to what we had a few years ago. She was the biggest pain in the a%#s. similar scenario and it didn't go to VCAT but to County Court and as expected we won etc etc etc. we had to use digital recorders as she would make the most outrageous complaints against us. Gawd it was funny. Some religious nuphy.

« Reply #367 on: October 20, 2012, 05:38:37 AM »
My son went to a Uniting Church school here in Adelaide for his first 5 years of school. If the fees were anything like my wife and I were paying, you'd consider selling one of your children just to pay the fees. They are outrageous.

Some people I know who are quite good friends pay around 20k which includes before and after school care. That's for a preppy.

« Reply #368 on: October 20, 2012, 09:28:39 AM »
Quote from: Fuji
Some people I know who are quite good friends pay around 20k which includes before and after school care. That's for a preppy.
I'd expect you to shoot me if I ever
- paid that much for prep
- let a priest anywhere near my kids.

« Reply #369 on: October 20, 2012, 02:09:25 PM »
What a Tool,
PLAGUES. Australia cops them bad.
Rabbits, mice, prickly pear, cane toads, lantana, crown-of-thorns starfish, privet, locusts, bogans.
And here and now, the 4WD, AWD, SUV or whatever you want to call it.

A plague on all 4WD outhouses on wheels
ya gotta love the uneducated twats that publish crap like this.  >:D

« Reply #370 on: October 23, 2012, 09:33:57 AM »
That would have been a hard life.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/breaking-news/oldest-auschwitz-survivor-dies-at-108/story-e6frf7k6-1226501164348

THE oldest known survivor of the Nazi German death camp of Auschwitz-Birkenau, Antoni Dobrowolski, has died at the age of 108, one of the site's official historians has announced.

Struth!!!!!!!
« Reply #371 on: October 25, 2012, 11:30:49 AM »
Wow!!!!!!!!

TOKYO: A North Korean army minister was reportedly executed with a mortar round for drinking and carousing during the official mourning period after the death of Kim Jong-il.

Kim Chol, the vice-minister of the army, was taken into custody earlier this year on the orders of Kim Jong-un, who assumed the leadership after his father died in December. On the orders of Mr Kim to leave "no trace of him behind, down to his hair", Kim Chol was forced to stand on a spot that had been zeroed in for a mortar round and was "obliterated", South Korean media reported.

The execution is just one example of a purge of members of the North Korean military or party who threatened the fledgling regime of Mr Kim.

So far this year, 14 senior officials have fallen victim to the purges, according to intelligence data provided to Yoon Sang-hyun, a member of the South Korean foreign affairs, trade and unification committee.

Those that have fallen from favour include Ri Yong-ho, the head of the army, and Ri Kwang-gon, the governor of the North Korean central bank.

Analysts suggest Mr Kim is acting to consolidate his power base and deter any criticism of his youthfulness and inexperience. He is believed to be either 28 or 29.

"When Kim Jong-un became North Korean leader following the mourning period for his father in late December, high-ranking military officers started disappearing," a source told the Chosun Ilbo newspaper.

"From information compiled over the last month, we have concluded that dozens of military officers were purged."

It also appears that Mr Kim told officials to use the excuse of misbehaviour during the mourning period to remove any potential opponents.

Other officials have been executed by firing squads.

Since being elevated to second-in-command by his father in 2010, Mr Kim has reportedly been behind the dismissal of at least 31 senior officials.
http://www.theage.com.au/world/north-korean-minister-obliterated-20121025-286os.html

« Reply #372 on: October 26, 2012, 07:59:13 AM »
What a Tool,

PLAGUES. Australia cops them bad.
Rabbits, mice, prickly pear, cane toads, lantana, crown-of-thorns starfish, privet, locusts, bogans.
And here and now, the 4WD, AWD, SUV or whatever you want to call it.

A plague on all 4WD outhouses on wheels
ya gotta love the uneducated twats that publish crap like this.  >:D

AND...an apology...of sorts   :4x4:

Wonder what humble pie tastes like???  ;D

But in a respect, he does have a point. I have a X-Trail which is a pretend 4x4, but I'll wager I'm out in the bush and on the dirt MUCH more than the majority of 4x4 in this country!
« Last Edit: October 26, 2012, 08:12:48 AM by bobnrob »

« Reply #373 on: October 26, 2012, 10:23:48 AM »
That's a backhanded an apology if I've every saw one, I guess he could probably see himself down at the dole cue soon if he hadn't written that.
I would guess he still holds these views.

« Reply #374 on: October 26, 2012, 10:26:42 AM »
That's a backhanded an apology if I've every saw one, I guess he could probably see himself down at the dole cue soon if he hadn't written that.
I would guess he still holds these views.
yea< I dont seem to read any apology in it at all..

thought this was interesting, but at $100k+ I doubt he will be selling many!

http://www.canberratimes.com.au/act-news/be-a-star--but-be-prepared-to-pay-for-these-shiny-vans-20121025-288sp.html