Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 518200 times)

Offline Moggy

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #2925 on: June 02, 2022, 04:57:23 AM »
WELL MOGGY?

Is fukkin home yet and if not, WHY NOT.

Don't you fukkin make me come up up there.
Friday is negotiation day.

I'll post some more pics when on desktop, Tapatalk will only let me post 1 at a time

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

Offline Moggy

« Reply #2926 on: June 02, 2022, 04:58:59 AM »

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #2927 on: June 02, 2022, 05:08:56 AM »
The trim has been redone at some point and looks pretty good.... nice in fact.

Just leave the little Windsor in to begin with.

Prep the next engine as you move along and change at your leisure.

THE BIG REASON.... so many cars never get completed, is because folks get overwhelmed by the amount of time and money involved.

Really looking forward to you getting this.

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #2928 on: June 02, 2022, 06:39:01 AM »
WELL MOGGY?

Is fukkin home yet and if not, WHY NOT.

Don't you fukkin make me come up up there.

Or I'll have it in a container and on it's way to NZ in a flash
I'm sure we have an old 351 from one of the race cars kicking around under a bench somewhere  :laugh: :laugh:
What are you waiting for  8)
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #2929 on: June 02, 2022, 06:45:29 AM »
Or I'll have it in a container and on it's way to NZ in a flash
I'm sure we have an old 351 from one of the race cars kicking around under a bench somewhere  :laugh: :laugh:
What are you waiting for  8)

Get onto it Moggy, the sharks are circling. ha ha ha ha  ;D

I reckon i could be at your place by 8:00 tonight with a car trailer in tow.

The following users thanked this post: NZMarkb

« Reply #2930 on: June 02, 2022, 10:14:05 AM »
Quote from: Moggy
Friday is negotiation day.
easy for me to say but I'd walk in with cash and walk out with a bargain car and a boner.

Offline rossm

« Reply #2931 on: June 02, 2022, 01:00:29 PM »
When I was a young bloke working in a smallish town in WA’s south west in the 70s there were a group of up and coming businessmen in town, maybe five or six of them, who all had Fairlanes with 351 engines.
Oh how I hoped that one day I could be like them.
Never managed it sadly.

Offline Moggy

« Reply #2932 on: June 02, 2022, 05:18:48 PM »
easy for me to say but I'd walk in with cash and walk out with a bargain car and a boner.
Have a couple of jobs to complete 1st up, which will considerably bolster that position

And no, I'm not getting paid in little blue pills

T.E. Lawrence

Offline Moggy

« Reply #2933 on: June 03, 2022, 07:31:43 PM »
Just an update for those interested,  went to basically buy car, negotiated acceptable price, I had cash, seller says just as easy to bank transfer, so I say fine can do that. Would do it when collecting car, but happy to pay cash for holding, no just transfer full amount. Shake on deal, I leave, start making arrangements to collect car, yada, yada.

Then at 4.45 I get a txt msg, no I've reconsidered not selling

No integrity some people

T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #2934 on: June 03, 2022, 08:03:07 PM »
Quote from: Moggy
Then at 4.45 I get a txt msg, no I've reconsidered not selling
translated : I had a better offer.

« Reply #2935 on: June 04, 2022, 04:13:48 AM »
Told a family member/mate/neighbour who either wants it or blurted out...... thats worth $50,000 every day. 

« Reply #2936 on: June 05, 2022, 04:42:42 PM »
Nice car.... havent seen one in years

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1652252048396589/user/100011588831819/
Genuine Silver Monarch
This car was one of only 250 made. Built by Ford Australia to commemorate Queen Elizabeth’s 25th anniversary of becoming Queen, her silver jubilee.

` The Silver Monarch is based on the ZH Fairlane which was released in May 1976, Ford did a “cut and shut” in the factory to make them 4 inches longer.

There was an extra strip added to the roof above the front seats and another strip added to the rear floor. Longer rear doors completed the upgrade. All real Silver Monarchs have Stardust metallic paint, padded silver vinyl roof, burgundy velvet upholstery and burgundy headlining.

This was Ford’s flagship vehicle, it was the best one they could build. It had the biggest and best of everything; the same strong running gear as the Falcon GS coupe. Power windows, rear demister, intermittent wipers and an 8 track stereo player. It even has 3 cigarette lighters and 5 ash trays!

At the time a base model XC Falcon cost $5700. A GS Coupe that Allan Moffat would push around Bathurst was $$7700. The Silver Monarch Was $16100. Most of these vehicles were bought by government. This one was a funeral car for the first part of it’s life
351 V8 matching numbers car with books

« Last Edit: June 05, 2022, 04:44:46 PM by Bird »

« Reply #2937 on: June 05, 2022, 05:26:34 PM »
they were a trick bit of gear in their day for sure.

A bloke not far from here, has Joh's old P6 LTD he's restoring.

« Reply #2938 on: June 10, 2022, 02:07:33 PM »
After doing some stuff this morning, i uncovered the Fleetwood for the first time in a while.

I swear, the headlights blinked when they were exposed to light.

It started first go and tomorrow, if the tyres aren't stuck to the concrete, its getting a much deserved run.

Ya gotta love old cars..... Shit they're good.

The following users thanked this post: Foo

« Reply #2940 on: June 11, 2022, 04:04:48 AM »
Nah.... it runs.... don't need to push it around.

At 4,872lbs or 2,210kg, those things would have their work cut out.

« Reply #2941 on: October 07, 2022, 08:59:12 AM »
Spotted this yesterday

By the rego, a 64 Falcon Coupe.

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #2942 on: October 07, 2022, 10:24:53 AM »
I was at the St Andrew's pub last Sunday watching a band and a friend of my dad's rolled up in his newly finished classic rod.
Based on a shortened A ford chassis with 37 front and rear ends and a 49 flathead V8.

Sent from my WP6 using Tapatalk

MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595
The following users thanked this post: DandyD

« Reply #2943 on: October 07, 2022, 10:35:49 AM »
I was at the St Andrew's pub last Sunday watching a band and a friend of my dad's rolled up in his newly finished classic rod.
Based on a shortened A ford chassis with 37 front and rear ends and a 49 flathead V8.

love the sound and look of a flathead V8!

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #2944 on: October 07, 2022, 12:39:35 PM »
love the sound and look of a flathead V8!

Sounded great as he fanged it uphill .
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan

« Reply #2945 on: October 10, 2022, 10:31:01 AM »
Strange....

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #2946 on: October 13, 2022, 09:58:09 AM »
Strange....

Waste of an LSE Monaro, cant believe i just typed that  :laugh:
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan

« Reply #2947 on: October 13, 2022, 11:00:40 AM »
Few recent ones.

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #2948 on: October 16, 2022, 03:22:43 PM »
I am bemused by the price madness around even fairly ordinary Holden's lately. I don't understand.
$47k for the RHD 68 Impala.... not too bad a price these days.
$90k for the 68 Brougham.....madness

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: October 16, 2022, 03:25:40 PM by MattNQ »

« Reply #2949 on: October 16, 2022, 09:21:48 PM »
I am bemused by the price madness around even fairly ordinary Holden's lately. I don't understand.
$47k for the RHD 68 Impala.... not too bad a price these days.
$90k for the 68 Brougham.....madness

as a mate says they can ask anything they like.. getting it is another question... but Broughams are gettin thin due to being used for RHD conversions over last few decades.