Author Topic: Ozhitch or Mchitch?  (Read 17903 times)

Offline bowser

Ozhitch or Mchitch?
« on: October 15, 2012, 11:35:35 AM »
Which one is better out of the two? I'm leaning towards the Mchitch

Re: Ozhitch or Mchitch?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2012, 11:52:12 AM »
Can't speak for the McHitch, but I have an OzHitch and love it. Always easy to connect/disconnect, quiet when towing, articulates well, works well. Not suer what else you want out of an offroad hitch, but ours certainly does the job for us. Camper has never failed to arrive when we've gone anywhere, so seems to be doing it's job! :D

Good luck with your choice!

Offline swoffer

« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2012, 12:26:44 PM »
Same as Matto :cheers:

Offline Smoko

« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2012, 12:31:39 PM »
Yep Ozhitch

Smoko
2009 Vacation Camper 2015 Triton

Offline Fun Police

Ozhitch or Mchitch?
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2012, 01:04:57 PM »
I've got McHitch.
You can't spell 'funeral' without 'fun', nor 'manslaughter' without 'laughter'

Offline Bm0

« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2012, 01:40:03 PM »
I also have an oz hitch and have no experience with the mc hitch.

I can definitely recommend the oz hitch, I fell in love with it the first time I hitched it up!

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2012, 03:02:47 PM »
I,m a mchitch fan ,run on everything now, best thing is take a look at both in the flesh and compare the two .

They both work very differently so it,s a personal choice ,but for me the mchitch is a clearly superior product . Price wise I think very similar but when you compare the 2 you will see the better value for money product based on design and materials used.or at least I did.

But anything beats a ball.

Good luck  :cheers: :cheers:

Jet :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline bowser

« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2012, 07:51:39 PM »
Yeah that what was pushing me towards the Mchitch, at least the uni joints would be replaceable when required.

« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2012, 11:01:36 PM »
They are both very good hitches and I would happily own either but I went for the Mchitch in the end because I likes its tough and simple design. It is very easy to connect.

« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2012, 05:19:45 AM »
      We've got an Ozhitch on our Crossover.
       Very happy with it  ;D

Offline 99disco

Ozhitch or Mchitch?
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2012, 02:16:27 PM »
I've also got the ozhitch and live it. The bushes were a little tight when new (as your expect) but ours has now done about 6000ks and it awesome. We find it really easy I reverse the car into position with the guidance of the wife she then lowers the jockey wheel and she's all done.

Shane

Offline torsion

« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2012, 02:55:53 PM »
Neither - I would not hesitate using another Trigg coupling, no slapping during towing, far better direct connection, the poly block acts as a shock absorber. (thats TRIGG not TREG)
My current camper has a Oz Hitch, sure its a little less fiddly to hitch up, but for me the way a hitch works during travel is the most important factor. The poly's are a far better, tighter, direct connection. The Oz Hitch does slap during towing.
In terms of articulation, lets face it most ya'll will never utilise any off road hitch to their full spectrum, and poly blocks are more than adequate.

Offline swoffer

« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2012, 05:00:00 PM »
The Oz Hitch does slap during towing.

Mine doesnt , its about 6000 k in now and its as new . Would not hesitate to have another .

Offline db

« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2012, 10:27:31 AM »
I've had a poly block and now and ozhitch.  The poly block style is ok, never had a problem with it, but I prefer the ozhitch.  Its a bit easier to hook up and the lower profile makes life a bit easier with the Pajero door.  I've done about 14000 km with it now and its still very quiet with no slap or movement.  Does need a bit of grease or it groans a bit (seems to be the pin binding).

Friends have a mcHitch, it seems to work fine too, didn't seem any easier or harder to hook up than the ozhitch.

I think at the end of the day its going to be whatever you feel better suits your requirements for height etc, or that you find easier to use.  I'd be happy with anything other than a ball coupling really.
Modcon Quattro
NW Pajero GLX-R

Offline landyowner

« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2012, 11:40:08 PM »
Another vote for the Ozhitch, I have it on my Trackabout, love it!!  So easy to use.

Col.
MY LANDROVERS:
1979 Series 3 109 FFR
2000 V8 Discovery- SOLD.
2006 TD5 110 Defender

and now a 2012 Trackabout Safari Extenda!

Offline chriso57

« Reply #15 on: November 17, 2012, 03:10:25 AM »
If you go McHitch be careful with the little ratchet thingy below the T-Handle. One of the first times I used it I discovered (the hard way  :'() there is a definate pinch point if you are not paying attention.....

Other than that I reckon they are brilliant.

Chriso
2012 D4D Prado towing
Custom built 7x4 Soft floor

Offline JustJim

« Reply #16 on: November 17, 2012, 07:41:10 AM »
Also consider an Ezy-Hitch..

Dust proof - water proof - low profile - a large tow load post - self aligning - self latching - lockable - no pins or clips to get misplaced - no finger traps..
Perfect engineering.
www.ezy-hitch.com

Offline steve223

• 4Sprung web development
Ozhitch or Mchitch?
« Reply #17 on: November 17, 2012, 08:17:10 AM »
love the McHitch, have done over 7k with it and can't fault it. added benefit is that people could not just hitch on and take trailer away so added anti theft protection.
---
Disco 3, LLAMS, OL BullBar, Chipped, Transmission Oil Cooler - Great Aussie Camper
--

Offline Shager

• Hi
« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2012, 08:33:23 AM »
What about a DO35 they look like a great piece of kit?
life is a gift best lived boldly

Offline Flightrisk

Ozhitch or Mchitch?
« Reply #19 on: November 17, 2012, 09:30:44 AM »
I've just put the D035 series 2 on my Jayco Eagle. It's a great thing! There's a reason Track Trailer use them as standard equip on their various products.

« Reply #20 on: November 17, 2012, 11:34:13 AM »
I've just put the D035 series 2 on my Jayco Eagle. It's a great thing! There's a reason Track Trailer use them as standard equip on their various products.

Hey Flight risk. If possible can you give me the length of the Do35 from the front bolts that mount to the chassis to the tip of the front of the hitch?

also got any pics?

swannie

nbd73

« Reply #21 on: November 17, 2012, 01:09:54 PM »
What about a DO35 they look like a great piece of kit?
They don't LOOK like a great piece of kit, they ARE.
Have the previous version and reckon its that good I would get it even if I towed with a mini moke.
After growing up with ball hitches, I wish I had seen the light years ago. Then again, they've only been out for 3-4yrs.
McHitch looks good in that you can get a treg adaptor so that may or may not influence your decision.

Offline Flightrisk

Ozhitch or Mchitch?
« Reply #22 on: November 27, 2012, 08:15:34 PM »
Sorry swanny, I havnt been on here for a while. Ill try and measure it for you but may be a few days as I'm away from it at the moment. Jump on vehicle components website, there are some diagrams of the DO35 variants.

« Reply #23 on: November 27, 2012, 08:36:29 PM »
Sorry swanny, I havnt been on here for a while. Ill try and measure it for you but may be a few days as I'm away from it at the moment. Jump on vehicle components website, there are some diagrams of the DO35 variants.

Thnaks mate, been on site but they havent got the measurment i want.  Looks like it would be a close fit for me but damn I like it!!!

Offline Flightrisk

Ozhitch or Mchitch?
« Reply #24 on: November 28, 2012, 09:02:39 AM »
What does it need to fit?