Author Topic: My Chainsaw Died--- advice needed urgently  (Read 11816 times)

Re: My Chainsaw Died--- advice needed urgently
« Reply #25 on: May 02, 2014, 05:55:13 AM »
My Stihl 009 has been hard to start, so I took it to a Stihl dealer who has told me it has no spark ( but I was able to get it to fire with "aero start", just not keep going) and needs a new ignition thingo that will cost me  about $250-00  ??? ??? ??? ??? so I said forget it I'll just pick up the saw.

Now I'm hopefully going away Sunday week and I need a new temporary chainsaw to tide me over untill I can fix the Stihl  :-[ when I get back.
So what to buy, a Bunnings, Masters or Ebay special. Personal experiences please, not rumour, here say etc
 :cheers: :cheers:

Just because it doesn't run, doesn't mean it won't work, just needs a bit more effort on your part, ya Nancy boy.

« Reply #26 on: May 02, 2014, 07:59:56 AM »
Just because it doesn't run, doesn't mean it won't work, just needs a bit more effort on your part, ya Nancy boy.
I need advice from an expert, so just how hard should I pull, and for how long  :angel:

« Reply #27 on: May 02, 2014, 08:28:02 AM »
No need to pull it, just slide it back and forth, back and forth until you get the desired result.... whatever that me be.

Umm, now getting serious for a moment, the chainsaw does have fuel in it, does it.

« Reply #28 on: May 02, 2014, 08:52:00 AM »
Umm, now getting serious for a moment, the chainsaw does have fuel in it, does it.

??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???

« Reply #29 on: May 02, 2014, 09:18:23 AM »
A new stihl 231 cost me $650. Trying it out at Scarpsy Sunday ;D

Your not going up there knocking off our Knockwood wood are you, where are the bloody  coppers when you need them C:-)C:-)C:-)C:-)

macca

My Chainsaw Died--- advice needed urgently
« Reply #30 on: May 02, 2014, 09:34:38 AM »
Your not going up there knocking off our Knockwood wood are you, where are the bloody  coppers when you need them C:-)C:-)C:-)C:-)

macca
I have it secured under chain, lock and key, but if a paddy wagon turns up with a warrant to remove it as evidence (of some sort), not so sure.

You have to remember I am 'known to police' :-)
« Last Edit: May 02, 2014, 09:36:39 AM by scarps »

Offline Mrs smith

« Reply #31 on: May 02, 2014, 09:51:19 AM »
I'd be making 100% sure it's not the slide switch playing up before replacing the coil, I know of several that played up.

« Reply #32 on: May 02, 2014, 09:52:03 AM »
I have it secured under chain, lock and key, but if a paddy wagon turns up with a warrant to remove it as evidence (of some sort), not so sure.

You have to remember I am 'known to police' :-)

In that case, said paddy wagon driver better bring a brand new Sthil to Knockwood so we can get more, BTW bloody fast paddy wagon he drives

macca

« Reply #33 on: May 02, 2014, 10:40:34 AM »
I'd be making 100% sure it's not the slide switch playing up before replacing the coil, I know of several that played up.
I'd take lost up on his offer of a 6 pack for it...

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #34 on: May 02, 2014, 10:41:09 AM »
A new stihl 231 cost me $650. Trying it out at Scarpsy Sunday ;D

All I can say is I hope scarps's chainsaw is full of fuel and sharp. I know fuji and know he hates to get anything he owns dirty so I reckon scarps will be doing all the cutting!

Back to OP - mate if you can borrow a saw the money you can save on purchasing a temp job you can spend on your saw and the money left over can be used to compensate the person you borrowed the saw off. I hear Lost likes a goo tear arse!
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #35 on: May 02, 2014, 12:22:34 PM »
All I can say is I hope scarps's chainsaw is full of fuel and sharp. I know fuji and know he hates to get anything he owns dirty so I reckon scarps will be doing all the cutting!

I like running in new chainsaws:-)

We might be ok, I do brush and wipe mine down each time before I pack it away, but it definitely has a used look about it.  Love my wood fire and as you know was planning the recce for this weekend, so with the weather working against us, don't mind taking fuji up to show him the wood collection area.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2014, 05:54:50 PM by scarps »

« Reply #36 on: May 02, 2014, 03:45:46 PM »
Bring it with you tomorrow and l will check it out
I have a special hammer  >:D

« Reply #37 on: May 02, 2014, 04:34:39 PM »
Bring it with you tomorrow and l will check it out
I have a special hammer  >:D
Oooooooo..... its harsh week already!

« Reply #38 on: May 02, 2014, 04:50:37 PM »
Oooooooo..... its harsh week already!

Promise l will hit it gently  :cheers:

« Reply #39 on: May 02, 2014, 04:52:33 PM »
Promise l will hit it gently  :cheers:

Whats that mean? I only know one way to hit things and if that dont work get a bigger hammer

« Reply #40 on: May 02, 2014, 04:56:05 PM »
Whats that mean? I only know one way to hit things and if that dont work get a bigger hammer

Gently at first then the big one  >:D

« Reply #41 on: May 02, 2014, 05:01:20 PM »
what time is he heading up to your joint tomorrow Brett?

« Reply #42 on: May 02, 2014, 05:04:07 PM »
what time is he heading up to your joint tomorrow Brett?

At my joint about 9:30/10:00

« Reply #43 on: May 02, 2014, 05:05:09 PM »
Quote from: Brett B
At my joint about 9:30/10:00
ok, was going to get him to bring that swag gig up but I'll only just be finishing my overnighter xbox comp by then.

« Reply #44 on: May 02, 2014, 05:07:33 PM »
ok, was going to get him to bring that swag gig up but I'll only just be finishing my overnighter xbox comp by then.

No probs
What are you killin?

« Reply #45 on: May 02, 2014, 05:15:24 PM »
Quote from: Brett B
No probs
What are you killin?
COD Ghost

joined a new clan, these dudes are insanely good.. one is top 5 in the world...

might not have ya shirts n Shit for knockers either, runnin low on cabbage.

« Reply #46 on: May 02, 2014, 05:21:22 PM »
COD Ghost

joined a new clan, these dudes are insanely good.. one is top 5 in the world...

COOL

« Reply #47 on: May 02, 2014, 09:52:24 PM »

« Reply #48 on: May 03, 2014, 07:27:21 PM »
It's Fixed ;D ;D with the little hammer with the flat end