Author Topic: Ray's Outdoors......No More Discounts  (Read 33302 times)

Ray's Outdoors......No More Discounts
« on: July 08, 2013, 03:28:31 PM »
Just got this in my email, I would prefer to get the discount off of the product there and then than be getting points and never redeeming them  :'(

Dear Keith,

As a valued Ray’s Outdoors VIP member, we’d like to take this opportunity to welcome you to Ray’s Rewards, it’s our loyalty program that’s even more rewarding.

As a Ray’s Rewards member, you’ll continue to receive exclusive rewards and benefits. But now, rather than receiving a 6.5%* discount, you’ll now earn a generous 10%* credit on purchases you make directly to your Rewards account.

Our motto for Ray’s Rewards is to make the outdoors more rewarding, so we thought it was time to review the VIP program and find ways that we can provide greater value for those like us that enjoy the incredible Australian Outdoors.

On top of your 10% credit on full priced purchases, you’ll receive

·        Exclusive offers via our Ray’s Rewards e-mail
·        Catalogue sneak previews
·        Exclusive competitions
·        Hints and Tips on all things outdoors related
·        Receipt-free warranty

And the great news is you don’t have to do anything. Your existing Ray’s Outdoors VIP membership will automatically be upgraded to a Ray’s Rewards membership for free.

On Tuesday the 9th of July 2013, we will be changing over our system to the new credit program. Until then your current 6.5% discount will still be available. For full terms and conditions of the Ray’s Rewards program please click here.

Make the outdoors more rewarding!

Kind Regards,
Ray’s Outdoors Rewards Team

*Former discount and new credit apply to full priced product purchases only.
How long before the email from BCF ?
 >:(

« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2013, 03:30:32 PM »
Yep, got the same...

Offline letsgo

• Happy and safe travels, Chris & Kate
    • Let's Go Travel Australia
Re: Ray's Outdoors......No More Discounts
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2013, 04:00:37 PM »
Got the same, it sucks  :-[

2011 Holden Colorado Twin Cab Ute with Metalink canopy
2011 Ultra E Aussie Swag Camper Trailer
Let’s Go Travel Australia

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2013, 04:03:00 PM »
Same here - looks like it is very similar to parent company Super Cheap. It would be ok if they run it the same as Super Cheap - if you buy something and it comes on special within two weeks (I think) you get credited the difference.

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2013, 06:45:21 PM »
Yep got the same not sure I like that the points expire every 90 days would be good if they were a bit longer so that you did still get benefits from them with the system didn't matter if you didn't have any points you still got something off the purchase with your card.  Will see how it goes

Offline Socks

• New to all this ........
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2013, 06:50:19 PM »
Notice it also says the 10% is on full priced items only. So if you get something on special then no points (& lets face it how often do any of us but stuff at full price)
Weso's SWMBO
3 munchkins

Nissan Navara 2008 D22 & Leisure Matters hard floor Ranger

« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2013, 06:55:12 PM »
Basically it now means you write a list and then only buy your stuff when they have a 20% off sale.

Can't see how this 'makes the outdoors more rewarding'

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2013, 06:55:58 PM »
Notice it also says the 10% is on full priced items only. So if you get something on special then no points (& lets face it how often do any of us but stuff at full price)

True

« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2013, 06:56:09 PM »
Got the same email

« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2013, 08:19:10 PM »
Looks like I will be purchasing elsewhere now

« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2013, 08:23:31 PM »
Do you reckon that we are getting the ruff end of the pineapple ,,,,again . After all it most of us that payed the way for them to think up this rort anyway .  >:D Or am getting syndical in my old age  >:D    :cheers:

« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2013, 08:33:24 PM »
Do you reckon that we are getting the ruff end of the pineapple ,,,,again . After all it most of us that payed the way for them to think up this rort anyway .  >:D Or am getting syndical in my old age  >:D    :cheers:
Just vote with your wallet mate  >:D

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2013, 08:43:58 PM »
We only have a couple of stores to choose from and had a lyal eales here close down last month, they had an ok range but the store was small and hard to get around and see what they really had there to offer. So it's Ray's or BCF and Aussie disposals which is better than no stores, they are half hour away from home anyway so looks like more trips half hour different town to a locally owned store that has a reasonably good range.

Offline geopaj

« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2013, 08:59:54 PM »
The other thing to be aware of is the points must be used within 90days (or they are forfeited)  >:(
NT Pajero VRX (My build - https://www2.pajeroclub.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=47893 )

Sar Major Camper Trailer (My Build - http://www.myswag )

« Reply #14 on: July 08, 2013, 09:07:50 PM »
We should all use the Contact Us section on the email & tell them (nicely) what we think of their new discount scheme & ask how it is supposed to be "more rewarding"

Offline Socks

• New to all this ........
« Reply #15 on: July 08, 2013, 09:15:00 PM »
We should all use the Contact Us section on the email & tell them (nicely) what we think of their new discount scheme & ask how it is supposed to be "more rewarding"

Great idea. We were just talking about doing that. Ill get onto it now

Weso's SWMBO
3 munchkins

Nissan Navara 2008 D22 & Leisure Matters hard floor Ranger

« Reply #16 on: July 08, 2013, 09:16:19 PM »
We only have a couple of stores to choose from and had a lyal eales here close down last month, they had an ok range but the store was small and hard to get around and see what they really had there to offer. So it's Ray's or BCF and Aussie disposals which is better than no stores, they are half hour away from home anyway so looks like more trips half hour different town to a locally owned store that has a reasonably good range.

Remember but, Ray's and BCF are owned by the same company, also Supercheap....   SRG Leisure Retail Pty Ltd

But it is interesting that you will get different prices in each store?  Don't figure hey, but I suppose they cannot loose.  >:D Kevin

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #17 on: July 08, 2013, 09:25:21 PM »
Remember but, Ray's and BCF are owned by the same company, also Supercheap....   SRG Leisure Retail Pty Ltd

But it is interesting that you will get different prices in each store?  Don't figure hey, but I suppose they cannot loose.  >:D Kevin

Yep that is why we don't have huge choice Ray's and Super cheap are next door to each other and BCF just up the road from them so easy to check all prices but rare that they are heaps different and the Aussie disposals is not a huge store either and is usually dearer

« Reply #18 on: July 08, 2013, 09:30:52 PM »
We should set up a MySwag account and get the rewards points really pumping along ;D

It will be fun to work out who gets to use them though

Offline berlitza

« Reply #19 on: July 08, 2013, 09:31:59 PM »
More rewarding for them than anything else

« Reply #20 on: July 08, 2013, 09:49:27 PM »
Just posted this in their Contact Us section:

Thank you for you email regarding the new "more rewarding" loyalty program. I'm quite confused how it can be more rewarding compared to the current 6.5% discount (on all items) when points will only available on full priced items. Furthermore, points then expire after only 90 days.
From reading some camping & 4wd forums today, there are quite a few disappointed Rays shoppers due to your new policy. I hope you reconsider this new loyalty program.

Offline Paul (SA)

« Reply #21 on: July 08, 2013, 10:00:28 PM »
Does it specifically say that this is the end of their 20% sales they often have?

Couldn't see that bit anywhere.....

I bet the annual caravan and camping shows are happier now too.
2014 NW Pajero
2012 Jayco Swift OB

« Reply #22 on: July 08, 2013, 10:16:11 PM »
Quote from: Pete_R
I hope you reconsider this new loyalty program.
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahhha

Offline staghornflat

« Reply #23 on: July 08, 2013, 10:50:02 PM »
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahhha
Whats's that, You dont think they will listen. >:D
2017 200 Cruiser
2010 KK limited edition

« Reply #24 on: July 08, 2013, 10:50:58 PM »
Just posted this in their Contact Us section:

Thank you for you email regarding the new "more rewarding" loyalty program. I'm quite confused how it can be more rewarding compared to the current 6.5% discount (on all items) when points will only available on full priced items. Furthermore, points then expire after only 90 days.
From reading some camping & 4wd forums today, there are quite a few disappointed Rays shoppers due to your new policy. I hope you reconsider this new loyalty program.

Thanks Pete,

I just quoted you ... word for word ... Let's see if they do reply to the contact and what they have to say.