General => General Discussion => Topic started by: AKB on August 10, 2010, 11:18:25 AM

Title: Why did you buy your 4wd?
Post by: AKB on August 10, 2010, 11:18:25 AM
Just curious, what made you buy your particular 4wd?  Was is brand loyalty ie Toyota's are all you'd ever buy and you never looked anywhere else?  Was it a compromise? Or was there some particular outstanding feature that made you decide this was it? For me My 4Wd is my daily drive and for this sort of stuff I never do much research just buy it and then deal with it later (I must really stop doing this).

I started with Jeeps and bought my first Cherokee Sport in 94.  I bought it because it was easy to drive like a car, presentable to go see clients in but had the ability to 4wd (back in those days that basically meant a camping trip to Wedge).  I then discovered the Jeep Grand Cherokee and fell in love (all that leather, all those electric buttons)  I bought a ZJ in 1996 and then a V8 WJ in 2000 (a staff member of mine still has the WJ as a daily drive) I loved that car (although I did think a few things of it when the engine seized).  I then bought the WK V8 Hemi - this was the first car I had ever ordered brand new (generally I like to pick them up between 1 to 3 years old so someone else has had the first hit of depreciation and they slip in under the Luxury Car Limit) - I did mention I was an accountant right?  I hated this car with a passion and sold it after 12 months (another reason I discovered for buying second hand - let someone else deal with all the nigglity little things that don't work right.

During those years my husband has always had a sportscar and the 4WD was always my choice, we would always talk about it but at the end of the day I would be the one using it 95% of the time.  In fact two of the 4WDs he only saw once they turned up in the driveway.  Given a choice between a track day and 4wding I'd say he would pick the track day.  He really only drives it go 4WD and really as long as it has some clearance and a low range gear box it doesn't really matter.

Not once during those years did I think to look at another brand, friends of ours would buy Toyota's etc and it never even crossed my mind to buy one. 

Which brings me back to my initial question.  What made you buy your 4wd and would you ever swap to another?
Title: Re: Why did you buy your 4wd?
Post by: Redback on August 10, 2010, 11:36:31 AM
For us the 4WD needed to be driven by all members of the family, so they all needed to like it, the only one we tested that everyone liked was the Disco, it was the most comfortable and less truck like of all the 4WDs we tested.

So the Disco 2 got the nod.

Post by: toad on August 10, 2010, 11:54:12 AM
 I drive company cars, but Deb needed a replacement for her MX5. What better way to make a complete change than to buy a diesel dual cab ute? She loves driving it, and I have just built it up as time goes on.
Post by: CRW on August 10, 2010, 11:58:52 AM
First 4WD purchased was four years age and it was a R51 Nissan Pathfinder, chose this as the price was right at the time, traded a Kluger Grande in on this, whilst it was a TI (top of the PAthfinder range) it was no where near the standard of finsh of the Toyota, Toyota Landcruiser at that stage was a bit out of the price bracket, but have always had a soft spot for them.

Now four years later had the opportunity to get a 200 Series Diesel Cruiser, at the right price and right trade in price so now the cruiser is in the driveway waiting for the mods and the next track.  Couldnt be happier.  

For me the Cruiser ticks all the boxes (only my opioion so Nissan Drivers dont give me a floggin over this)

As they say, "Oh What a Feeling" ;D ;D ;D

Post by: Beachman on August 10, 2010, 12:15:29 PM
I originally bought a dual cab rodeo as back then we didn’t have kids as the ute was great for camping/fishing up the beach. When packing up just throw everything in the back of the ute and when home give the back a quick hose out.

Now we have kids and a camper trailer I wasn’t confident with the Rodeo pulling the trailer up the beach. Both myself and my wife always liked Landcruisers and haven’t regretted the change especially with the extra torque and comfort.

Now don’t feel nervous going through tough patches of soft sand for the fear of getting bogged, plus the Cruiser is a lot more comfortable driving around town.
Post by: Hairs on August 10, 2010, 12:35:35 PM
We've been a 2 car mob since we were teenagers.
I had always had the V8's/Muscle cars, and Chook Chasers, Fysh had the sedate 4 cylinders. Our family grow one by one and the VS Dunny door just wasn't up to scratch, We had a Horse float to pull, my work trailer and we were thinking of buying a camper trailer tent to upgrade from the 8 man tent.
In less than 2 years we had lost over $10K on the Commodore, Payed $17K for it, sold it for $5K
Paid $21K for the Cruiser.
A good mate had just got his hands on a 93 GXL 1HTD, I took it for a drive and I just had to have one.
Spent nearly 12 months looking for the right one.
Haven't looked back since, that was March 95.
Post by: Gunna Do on August 10, 2010, 12:41:05 PM
I had a 60 Series Cruiser for about 10 years, and was fully convinced that I was the preverbial "Toyota Man", however as time rolled on the Cruiser began to require more and more maintanance (which isn't a bad thing, just a sign of its age), and it was at this time the new GU Patrol was released.  I obtained a few prices from Toyota as well as Nissan, and at the time I had a very young family and not a lot of cash, so Nissan came in cheapest by a country mile.  I ordered a new GU (not one test drive taken), and couldn't be happier almost 12 years later.  Now however the Patrol is requiring more and more maintanance, so it looks like a viscious circle may be forming.

Sold the old Cruiser to a mate who had many good years out of it.  Here's a pick of the two together not long after I changed vehicles.
Post by: AKB on August 10, 2010, 12:50:29 PM
Great Photo Gunna Do
Post by: rossow on August 10, 2010, 12:59:28 PM
We bought the Jeep Cherokee KJ because of its size.
We wanted a small 4wd capable of towing a trailer.
I was looking for a Pajero when the wife walked pasted a jeep an said "what about one of these"... the rest is history.

Rossow.
Post by: sablesoft on August 10, 2010, 01:00:05 PM

My first 4WD was a 1994 Suzuki Sierra which I purchased in 1996 and I still have it as a second car.

Around 2004 I was looking to upgrade and was considering a Suzuki Grand Vitara, but it didn't feel right lots of boxes un ticked.

I was at Zupps looking at the Vitara's, when the salesman showed me a Mitsubishi Challenger, It just felt good, was very quite to drive, It was a little lighter than the main line 4WD's, 3 litre V6, real chassis, real 4x4 and easier on the petrol, It ticked all the boxes, I purchased a second hand 2003 Challenger with low K's.

I am very pleased with it, now with Bullbar, 50mm lift and OME shocks, coils, Cooper ATR's (the standard issue bridgestones were rubbish),  Pulls the Cub Escape well.

Ray
Post by: Sharshebelle1 on August 10, 2010, 02:06:58 PM
Ok,  Im a female and Im going to admit something, I bought a new R51 Pathfinder for no other reason than I thought it was sexy, dont ask me why, its just my opinion ;D  . In hindsight, its probably not the best reason to buy a car, but I love it,  it pulls the Jayco well,  does ok on fuel,  the kids and any other tag alongs have plenty of room with 7 seats. I still love the look of it and touch wood, its been very reliable (Im squirming as I just wrote that). I had a landrover for a few years,  sorry to all you die hard fans, but it was the most unreliable piece of crap Id every bought. I honestly got to the point of where I contemplated pushing it off a cliff, and swore I would never buy a European car again.I went to Nissan after that and it would take a lot to make me try something else.
Post by: Kangaron on August 10, 2010, 02:34:57 PM
I as a younger bloke always preferred 2 wheels, having a few Triumphs, BSA's and finally a Norton Commando.
A mate and I bought an old cruiser diesel ute which we used for many years to go pig shooting at every opportunity we got, anywhere from Booligal to Cunumulla  and everywhere in between.
Then came a handbrake and billies, and a morgage.
Now the girls have grown up a tad, one has left home, one in uni and on the verge and only one left we can start to plan and pursue our interests more seriously.
Hence the Prado purchase a few weeks ago.
Now for a few mods and the hire of a few camper trailers, then a purchase and off we go.
I like a bit of stability and a place called home, but if the handbrake had her way we would sell absolutely everything we own and just hit the road.
Post by: BigJules on August 10, 2010, 03:10:13 PM
I grew up in the back of my dad's Datsun Nissan 60/G60. Soft top, hard springs. There were no seats in the back, just the steel wheel arches to sit on.

My mate purchased a 100 series in 1998, I had a sporty Subaru at the time and had a B4 on order, but Subaru could never deliver them. I borrowed his 100 for a onth whilst he went overseas and had to have a 4wby.

At the time I didn't think I could afford a Toyota and was going Mitsubishi. I was driving to order my Pajero when I drove past the Toyota dealer having a sale. Made me an offer I couldn't refuse. Have had several 100s since, they fit my lifestyle, expe3ctations and self image.

Post by: AKB on August 10, 2010, 03:39:54 PM
Ok,  Im a female and Im going to admit something, I bought a new R51 Pathfinder for no other reason than I thought it was sexy, dont ask me why, its just my opinion ;D  . In hindsight, its probably not the best reason to buy a car, but I love it,  it pulls the Jayco well,  does ok on fuel,  the kids and any other tag alongs have plenty of room with 7 seats. I still love the look of it and touch wood, its been very reliable (Im squirming as I just wrote that). I had a landrover for a few years,  sorry to all you die hard fans, but it was the most unreliable piece of crap Id every bought. I honestly got to the point of where I contemplated pushing it off a cliff, and swore I would never buy a European car again.I went to Nissan after that and it would take a lot to make me try something else.

He he..... being another female I sooo get where you are coming from....I originally bought my jeep when they ran the add with the horses d...d....d...dddhhhhaaaa (and there was a sexy guy with a tuxedo on getting out of it.)
Post by: seajay on August 10, 2010, 04:32:48 PM
I have been a Toyota man having owned Troopy and 2 Hilux's but when the time come to upgrading the dual cab to something a bit more roomy for the family. I am now the proud owner of a 2004 gu patrol didnt think that would ever happen but in the end more bang for my buck with the patrol than either the cruiser or prado.
Post by: camdyson on August 10, 2010, 04:37:35 PM
I'm not sure why I bought ANY 4wd to be honest! At the time ('98) I had no need for one, I was just sick of my 330,000km-old Celica  :-[ Was looking at a new drive, and had just done the "tree change", so got a Prado just to fit in.... ;D

260,000 km later, and I LOOOOVE it! It now tows my garden 7x5 trailer, my R/C planes trailer, lugs me and my paragliding buddies up numerous dirt mountain tracks, takes me skiing, and now is also my campertrailer dragger (plus had a 2000kg boat there for a while). I now wouldn't/couldn't be without my 4by!

I am a bit of a "Toyota guy", having put nearly 600,000 km on my last 2 with no real glitches. If I ever have to part with the ol' faithful Prado though, I'd probably go to a dual cab of some sort so I can mess up the back more, and increase towing capacity to 3 tonne (caravan inevitable one day...)

If I win tattslotto, I could be swayed to a Disco or Rangey, otherwise a Jap Diesel most likely.

Cam
Post by: speewa158 on August 10, 2010, 04:44:05 PM
Has the jeep delivered the bloke in the suit yet.Not that jeep thing again  ;D
Post by: AKB on August 10, 2010, 05:44:12 PM
Has the jeep delivered the bloke in the suit yet.Not that jeep thing again  ;D

No No Speewa it hasn't :'( 
Post by: speewa158 on August 10, 2010, 06:23:42 PM
I used to run Toranas ,as my prefered rig . the sad thing was that things fell of  or got bent .The Pajero NA came out followed by the NB highroof . What a wagon it took me diving all along the Vic coast , through the high country , & even Cape York in 89 , Replaced that with a NH 3L wagon , then later a NL 3.5L wagon . Each of these coIIected  about 200K  on the clock then upgrade  Now a NS oiler wagon they just keep getting better . My Paj  go where there pointed evern if they dont want to go . I convince them. Love that car .  Really beats walking    :cheers:
Post by: Bill on August 10, 2010, 06:37:07 PM
We bought our Navara because it is the 3rd one we have owned and the 4th Nissan.
We never had a bit of trouble (outside normal maintenance) with any of them.
We figured why not see if we could keep the streak going.
Oh and it was a factory run out that we got a very good deal on  ;D That didnt hurt the decision making either...
Bill and Morag
Post by: austastar on August 10, 2010, 07:26:39 PM
  Landrover D130 cab chassis did it for me.

Looked at

Needing a vehicle to carry a slide on camper, the numbers made the decision.

Now I just have to put up with landrover jokes.

Post by: Followme1 on August 10, 2010, 07:38:53 PM
Have had a 4wd for about 14 yrs had a GQ modified then a MQ toy over the top modified then the wife has a GU stock and now I have a F 250 for towing
Post by: speewa158 on August 10, 2010, 07:43:52 PM
Austastar Isant Landrover the joke . ?  ;D
Post by: WogsRus on August 10, 2010, 08:45:48 PM
well simple, got in trouble with the R33 a LOT with the law, couldn't drive it without getting into trouble.

So sold that

Got a 2007 Paj for a bargain price, never looked back. It has broght the family together as we tend to do a lot more outdorsy stuff now.

MIND you, still manage to get in trouble with the law. LOL.
Post by: Murray on August 10, 2010, 09:01:37 PM
I just might jump in on this and tell my story. Like everyone here, my wife and love camping and in a past life - pre children - we were camped on North Stradbroke Island at Adder Rock only to see LOTS of 4x4s come and go. Having never been beach driving we wondered about beach camping. Enter 4x4 #1. A Toyota Tercel - it wasn't really a 4x4 and was hard work on the beach. After a trip to Fraser Is we sold it and bought a Mitsubishi L200 ute. The tray back gave us lots of space to load up supplies and go away for weeks. Enter son number 1 and out goes the ute, enters a Subaru. We took that a lot of places we shouldn't have, but still enjoyed it. Great city car, great on the highway and "interesting" in the rough stuff - especially Moreton Island.

When son number 2 was old enough we bought an early model 1990 Jackaroo - the DLX model, with power steer and air con: pure luxury. I jest of course. We bought it to take to the islands knowing it would rust. Couldn't kill it, but it did die of old age. We went 4 years without a 4x4 and constantly talked about the places we couldn't go. A few years ago we bought a 99 Pajero. My wife's stipulations were: air con, power windows and cruise control. You would believe she was a country girl - gone soft I tell her. I buy older, low milage 4x4s so I don't get upset when I scratch them. We both really like the Pajeros. A nice compromise for city driving and does all we expect of it off road. It pulls the camper without complaining and gets fair fuel economy. This one will do for a few more years and then the next one will probably be a diesel Pajero.

My eldest brother, who has been a Toyota man all his life, bought a Kia Sorrento when he retired. Earlier this year he pulled a small caravan up the Gibb River Road and into places I had to see the photos to believe. I am not sure it will still be holding together if he keeps doing that to it, but he did the trip and the only damage was blown rear shocks. Hmmm Kia hey?

Murray
Post by: white Knuckles on August 10, 2010, 09:17:13 PM
I started of with a 1974  Toyota Celica and had 2, then the ski boat came along so then the Celia was down graded to an Eb falcon big mistake and thirsty, mates drove hiluxes so naturally went that way so purchased a 1994 dual cab hilux 2.8D very slow but not thirsty and towed well enough, So now it is about to be retired/rust up he on Thursday island and now i am going threw the motions of our next purchase
It needs to be a wagon for our expanding family, The wife needs to like driving it, Turbo diesel, and have low range. We drove a new patrol last time we were down south and it was to truck like and was a bit concerned about the little engine in such a big truck, the new pajero was nice but firm and we could drive one but the 2008 Prado was nice not firm but comfy so if we can find one with low ks for the right price that is our preference. I would love a 100 series cruiser but SWMBO thinks there to big so the Prado is my compromise.  ;D
Post by: db on August 10, 2010, 09:43:16 PM
We bought our Pajero because:
At the end of the day we are pretty happy with it - good on road, and as our only car thats were it spends 90% of the time, pretty good on fuel and does everything we want from a 4wd.  Would like a bit more space sometimes though, but I think thats just lazy packing  ;D

Richard
Post by: Diksta on August 10, 2010, 09:52:59 PM
my 1st 4by was a 2000 rodeo td, which wasn't that long ago, i always said i wouldn't buy a 4by till i was ready to use it as a 4by, we took that up the birdsville and oodnadatta tracks, we put a canopy on it to give us more room, but we couldn't keep the dust out of it, mind you it had over 250000 on it,  then it started to get hot when we were towing our 1st camper with the AC on, and when you live in the desert (roxby downs) you need AC, so we started to look at upgrading.  we talked to someone with a brand new navara with a factory canopy and he told it leaked dust bad... that ruled out new or near new dual cabs. then we were concerned with the large back doors on the prados and pajeros, (both my brother and father have them and rave about them),and being able to access the boot with camper hooked up. i got talking to the 4wd mech in port augusta about up grading, at that stage i didn't have a preference to what vehicle it just had to do the job. at the time he was pulling down a fairly new patrol engine, (no offence intended to Trol drivers here), he warned me not to buy one he had had a couple of them in with the same problem, something to do with the fly wheel coming apart, so that really just left the cruiser, we picked one up at a gov auction about 18months ago and couldn't be happier with it.

Diksta
Post by: JethroT on August 10, 2010, 09:59:47 PM
We bought our Land Cruiser because it was more comfortable than the Hilux we wanted to buy.

We had heard all the good reports about Land Cruisers but thought the ute would be more practical, anyway we manage to fit everything into the Cruiser and it's effortless offroad performance is fantastic.

It's now 16 years old and we can't find anything to replace it, had some bad experiences with a 200 series on a recent trip more breakdowns and dust leaks than the old girl, so we might have to change camps to the Nissan Patrol next time.   
Post by: Pebble on August 10, 2010, 10:35:12 PM
Ok this might be a long story...

Well when I met my Husband to be he had a Landcruiser Ute (when I was a kid I remember saying I wanted a jeep or toyota troopy "when I grow up", my first car turned out to be a 2 door honda that didn't like the rain much ???).

Anyhow moving on I think it was on our honeymoon we decided we might have a big family so the honeymoon was actually kind of cut short to go car shopping in Perth, we traded in the ute for a Landcruiser Troopie!

Then after the first kid came along reality set in (no longer wanted to have 9 of them Lol) and we promptly traded the Troopie for a 80 Series Landcruiser....much better, don't have to climb over the groceries to get the kid out!

Add another kid a few interstate moves and a flash new camper, now we needed a 2nd car for the first time. So add another Toyota Landcruiser Ute to the family.

Well a change in camper trailers and then again a move interstate (NSW to WA) saw us trading in the 80 series for a Subaru Forrester, that wasn't well researched and basically done to save the hassle of transferring the 80 (before the new laws came in doh, it was a bit porky on the weight). So I think we traded it to the first dealer that wanted it, and figured we'd save on fuel anyway (that was the recession and fuel prices were through the roof, particularly diesel). At that stage good buy camper trailer because we were building and needed the money plus it was a 4x4 model that the suby couldn't tow too well.

Anyway not long after that we figured we really werent softroader types.... I mean the Subi isn't a real 4x4 yet it's not a normal car either, so hello Toyota Hilux (fits the two kids and I can take the bins to the tip). Should have kept that camper now!
In the meantime the ute he had brought in NSW wans't that great as a long term keeper so he upgraded that, same thing expept in top nick and turbo diesel.

Hello a bit of financial hardship (probably thanks to that flash ute as well as building a house etc etc) so goodbye Hilux. That was replaced with a cheap car (my current Daihatsu).

And now we're about to say good bye Landcruiser Ute, can't really bear to have it sitting in the shed for about 10 years until we retire. It really bugs me that the only 4x4 we have we can't all jump in and go camping somewhere or just for an offroad adventure etc, and especially since Landcruiser man brought a cheap car that's cheaper on fuel for him to drive to and from work.
I must say we were actually going to keep it and possibly get another 4x4 good as a daily driver for me and for trips as a family, but that would still mean having three cars two of which are 4x4's. The only saving grace was that we test drove something that Landcruiser man would be happy to trade his beloved for!

Now we thought about Dual Cabs but I think I've finally given in to the fact that for camping we'll have to tow a trailer regardless, and having had the Hilux dual cab albeit an older style I'm still not sure I want to go back there. So now we're looking at buying a Jeep Wrangler...wohooo! Besides Hubby said he could see himself in that after the kids leave home so whatever converts a Landcruiser man I've got to be happy with that! Me well I've always loved jeeps and I was as impressed with the test drive as I was with the looks, and with that regard I had my doubts I thought the Jeep would just be one of those cars that you love from the outside but in reality would probably never really want to own (like the new Mini Cooper for example). And to be fair we test drove the Mitsubishi Triton too, I love that on paper and the looks however after a test drive it just left me really unimpressed, too modern I suppose, the BT 50 was better but nothing like the Jeep, after going for a drive in the Jeep I just couldn't wipe the smile off my face!

So if it all goes well we'll be halfway there, next thing when finances allow will be to think about some sort of trailer set up, probably not a camper trailer as such but we'll see.

Now perhaps we should have kept that Troopy into which we put a Brunswicks Chev and as a result lost a lot of money trading in in a hurry to buy the 80 before moving states! And then perhaps we should have kept that 80, but even so that would have been getting a bit long in the tooth (it was a 91 model I think). I definitely know we shouldn't have brought the Subaru and probably shouldn't have brought the Hilux (considering Hubby's always called them "****luxes"). But at least we came to our senses when we considered converting his Cruiser Ute into a dual cab, that would have been a lot of money down the drain and it's what prompted us to look into just buying a 4x4 instead.

I think there is always a method to ones madness, I don't really regret owning any of the 4x4's, maybe regreat all the money lost during the process though. But things just seem to have their own way of working out in the end, so if it's meant to be it probably will be. But in the end I guess DH will always be a "Cruizer" man at heart. Hmmm well time will tell on that one!

So yeah perhaps we have been loyal to the Toyota brand and even when we buy the Jeep I've been told I'm not to utter the Nissan word in this house, I know that's definitely not on any consideration list (unfortunately). In my opinion it's just too hard to look past value for money these days. Granted most 4x4's seem to be going the same way and prices are incredibly expensive, but you know for $40-$50k we can get a pretty kitted out and capable Wrangler compared to maybe scratching the surface in any Toyota and most definitely having to look at used models. Well we could literally swap a 5yr old ute for a new wrangler (if we were going for the sport model). In my opinion only Toyota was a brand to beat but I think these days the playing field has leveled a lot more except for maybe the price.
Post by: pumice on August 11, 2010, 02:07:10 AM
I bought a Defender purely to fulfill a childhood dream.
So I guess I'm Living The Dream hey.
Post by: Paul and Bern on August 11, 2010, 08:57:54 AM
 ;D Well bought a secondhand 75 series diesel ute (88 model) in 1990 for work (surveying), it did a bit of headland bashing etc but realistically not much.  Got married and thinking of kids(4) and towing near 2t ski boat which meant a larger 4x4 to put in off the side at Tinaroo, so we looked at diesel only Paj, 100 series RV, and Patrol.  Didn't like the Paj as it was the narrow version then in 1998.  The SWMBO tested the 100 and GU and liked the GU better ( 1 for GU).  At the time the ST GU was on road for under $44g with B/bar and T/bar but the 100 was over $55 g for base model and then had the add bars... (2 for GU)(bugger)... anyway the GU ended up home though we thought it was going to have a permanent parking spot outside the dealers (but that's another story).  So we've been, since the bugs were sorted, fairly happy, and comfortable in the old girl, would like at times more grunt though.  SWMBO drives it quite happily when she has to and still reckons it doesn't feel as cumbersome as the 100, but it mainly gets used only for long trips as we have a little Viva for her to run around in.
The ute still goes... probably still costs less to run too, definitely gets better fuel economy....... and only 430k on the clock.
Post by: Garry on August 11, 2010, 09:28:33 AM

That's an easy one considering the one I drive now. A V8 Discovery HSE, Its a fantastic vehicle and even better now I have added a few toys and steel bits to the front and back

However I first bought a series 1 Discovery about 11 years ago, I cant remember why, I must have been sick of our little Astra

I have been progressing up the years and models since

G
Post by: coxy1954 on August 11, 2010, 11:27:01 AM
When we got into the 4x4 camping scene we had a 2002 Disc 2 and Halls off road campertrailer.
As most of my traveling is now solo I prefer to carry my gear rather than dragging it so I have a 2007 Ra Rodeo diesel. It is a very capable and honest tourer and if needed I can still drag my homemade teardrop.

Cheers Dave
Post by: darren on August 11, 2010, 11:51:02 AM

At the time I didn't think I could afford a Toyota and was going Mitsubishi. I was driving to order my Pajero when I drove past the Toyota dealer having a sale. Made me an offer I couldn't refuse. Have had several 100s since, they fit my lifestyle, expe3ctations and self image.

I have had a number of Tercell's because  they fit my lifestyle, expectations and self image 8)
Post by: BigJules on August 11, 2010, 12:04:54 PM
That's definitely you mate, tucked up in front, dragging down the back  ;D
Post by: Snow on August 11, 2010, 12:12:06 PM
I wanted a ute based 4x4 to get me and my gear out to the shooting grounds and moutain bike events. At the time the Rodeo was a proven reliable unit at a decent price. As time has marched on it now has to fulfil a few more roles since Mrs Snow interest in getting out west required us to drag a CT around. When I bought it I had just left the Defence Force so I didn't have a lifestyle, expectations or a self image.
Just goes to show what sort of influence something like a 4by can have. I wonder what a 2" lift can do for my self image. ;D
Post by: MarkGU on August 11, 2010, 12:25:04 PM
we bought our Nissan Navara 04' model just so Hairs had someone to pull his a$$ out of bog holes............bloody hell,the things i do for that bloke  ;D

Post by: Davepatrol on August 11, 2010, 01:05:47 PM
we bought our Nissan Navara 04' model just so Hairs had someone to pull his a$$ out of bog holes............bloody hell,the things i do for that bloke  ;D

ROFLMAO. That is bloody funny (ya had to have been there)
Post by: onions25 on August 11, 2010, 01:06:37 PM
After having two 4.2 Diesel Patrols we bought our NS Pajero DiD.

I couldn't bring myself to buy the 3.0ltr Patrol and the 200 Cruiser was just too expensive.

Prado was a very close 2nd in the end but slightly too narrow on the inside for my teenagers in the back.

Pete.
Post by: Cloud Basher on August 11, 2010, 04:02:06 PM
It is amazing the different thought processes and experiences that bring poeple to the 4WD they currently have.

Myself?  Well I have been 4WDing since I was knee high to a tree stump.  Dads first 4WD with us as a family was an old FJ55.  He then had a MQ then a GQ then I left home.  I had the V8 bombadoors like all good 21 year olds then bought my first 4WD a GQ diesel, it was an awesome truck, especially living in the NT as we did at the time.  Found my wife, we sold that to pay down out debt and I bought a (shock horror!) an old 1976 Rangie that I had for 6 months, 4 of which were in the shop.  We couldn't live without a fourby and from growing up around 4WD's and being in the club scene and seeing what was and was not reliable the only two 4WD's that met everything I wanted to do was either a GU 4.2 Patrol or a Live Axle GXL hunjy.  In 2002 we bought a 1998 Live Axle GXL hunjy and have had that since. 

I have been thinking about upgrading to the twunjy but I firmly believe Toyota has compromised their engineering and quality (no offence to the twunjy owners) in the last five years as proven in the US and the number of issues arising out of a not insubstantial amount of new Toyota vehicles (not just twunjies).  The twunjy has the issue with oil consumption (not all of them) and like the Nissan 3.0L hand grenade I do not think it has really been solved with a new vacuum pump and other supposed "fixes" as I know of a couple of vehicles that have had the mods and they still use oil.  I know a couple is not necessarily representative of the whole population but it is more than enough to give me pause on throwing down 100 large on a vehicle that is simply not as reliable as the hunyjy was/is.  Plus all those confuser things doing the driving does take away from it.  I guess I am lucky in that we have two at work, so I can satisfy my V8 195Kw Twin turbo diesel desires there (and get paid to drive them) then go on family trips knowing I will make it back without having to call for a helicopter extraction!

Post by: Hairs on August 11, 2010, 04:32:37 PM

And where would it be if you didn't have to drag my backside out of the bog? It would be sitting in your driveway rusting slowly, Like all Dato's do  (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing001.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Post by: camdyson on August 11, 2010, 08:58:28 PM
After having two 4.2 Diesel Patrols we bought our NS Pajero DiD.

I couldn't bring myself to buy the 3.0ltr Patrol and the 200 Cruiser was just too expensive.

Prado was a very close 2nd in the end but slightly too narrow on the inside for my teenagers in the back.

Pete.
Shoulda gone for the Prado - then you wouldn't need to tie the front on..... ;D
Post by: AKB on August 24, 2010, 11:45:29 PM
Wow great to read everyone's experiences and I must be honest and say so much better than I was hoping for.  I honestly expected a lot of I bought xxxx because it was the best, so it was really cool to read everyones real thought procesess.
Post by: Pipeliner on August 25, 2010, 07:58:47 AM
In 2003 we were planning a trip into the Flinders ranges with MIL, and since we had a Falcon at the time I arranged to borrow a Disco off a friend for the week.  He reckoned we needed to try it out first so we took it for a weekend on Kangaroo Island, where Liz realised that having a 4wd meant that so many more places were open to us, so we decided to swap the Ford in for a medium sized 4by.

Liz at the time worked for a group which owned a number of car dealerships around Adelaide so we were able to try out many different models.  Because I had always driven diesel manuals (Cruisers and Hiluxes) on the pipeline spreads this is what I was looking for, and we tried out a Prado, Pajero and Jackaroo (Cruisers and Patrols were considered too big - not sure it would have fitted in the garage!) but all of them left Liz with the feeling she was driving a small truck.  Then I found a secondhand 2.5 CRD XJ Cherokee at a dealer and we took it out for a test run - and Liz loved it, it drove like a car.  Almost ready to buy it but the used car manager at the yard where Liz worked told us that the XJ diesel had a bad reputation for engine problems, so that was that.  But one of the Ford dealerships in the group also had a Jeep franchise and we went and tried out the new KJ Cherokee 2.5 CRD manual - and bought one on the spot.  It was everything we needed in a 4wd - just the right size for 2-3 people, easy to drive around town as a daily driver, competent off-roader, comfortable for long trips, and a decent towing capacity.

Now on our second KJ, a 2.8 CRD manual.  This one will have to last, since the KJ is no longer made and quite frankly I think the current KK Cherokee looks downright ugly.  Our first KJ had no modifications at all other than fitting AT tyres, but the current one has been lifted and fitted with bash plates, winch bar, HF & UHF radios, spot lights, etc etc.
Post by: PenUltimate Destinations on August 25, 2010, 09:19:56 AM
I'll share my story.

About 4 years ago my wife and I decided to get a 4WD. Had to get us off the beaten track, and also be able to to a car trailer and be relatively economical while doing so.

We had a look around, and decided that a Disco II TD5 would do the job. Had a look at a few - found a nice ES model with 7 seats, full leather, all the bits and pieces, so we bought that. And we loved it. And hated it. And loved it. And hated it.

(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4078/4804141196_558ff6b469.jpg)

It was a great car, very nice place to be, but gee, it cost us!! Over the past 4 years, perhaps on average about $2000 every 6 months. Finally, only a month or so ago (yes, we're slow learners), we decided enough was enough. Time to flog the LR, and see what we could replace it with for a $0 changeover.

Being a Toyota man since a boy - a 2000 Prado got the nod.

(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4134/4887644422_c0f1a33451.jpg)

Very fortunate to find a low km, VERY clean example (no carpark battle scars or scratches), never been off road etc - so that now is parked in the garage.

Looking forward to modifying a bit and taking off-road to our favourite spots. I'm a little torn though. I can't decide whether to keep this car now for the LONG term, and spend some money in preparation to take it on some 3 month + trips, OR, to just keep this pretty standard, and in a couple of years time get a 200 TDV8 for the long distance hauls.
Post by: Darcy7 on August 25, 2010, 09:46:02 AM
about 15 years ago, a mate of mine took me 4wding for the first time in the Vic high country.  I remember vividly coming to the top of Mt Sterling and seeing Craig's Hut and the incredible view that backdrops this iconic location.  I literally had tears in my eyes thinking that without a 4wd I couldn't get to places like this.  I came away from that trip determined to get a 4wd no matter what it cost.

Our first one was a Diahatsu Feroza.  I loved that little truck.  It wasn't exactly a go anywhere vehicle but boy it had some guts and took some punishment.  The only reason I sold it was we purchased a camper trailer and the poor little engine struggled to pull it up any sort of hill.  I was sad to see it go.

Next we had a Discovery V8.  What a toy that car was...!  Plenty of guts and sweet note from the exhaust, it made the best noise climbing up steep hills.  I would have kept it too only I had left my high paying career and the price of fuel just killed it.

Next was the Discovery TDi.  I've said it before, this was the best vehicle I've ever had.  Comfortable, capable, efficient and despite popular opinion, was totally reliable.  Even if something had broken (mainly due to my lack of maintenance) it just kept going.  11 years of faithful service.

When it came time to trade the old girl, we were keen on another Land Rover.  The new Discovery was just out of the financial question.  SWMBO just couldn't deal with taking an $80k 4WD off road and getting it scratched.  We looked at the Defender and with the latest model, its a VERY nice vehicle.  But at the time there was a 6 month waiting list and the dealers weren't doing any deals.  In fact, they were selling them above retail to people who didn't want to wait in the queue.  We left the dealership feeling very disheartened.  On a bit of a whim, we decided to drop in on Essendon Nissan to see what was available with a Patrol.  I already knew a LandCruiser was out of the question financially.  

Well...we found the best car salesman ever, a really nice bloke who genuinely wanted to help us and obviously wanted our business.  They had a manual Walkabout special ready to go.  This was perfect.  It was a basic DX model but had all the goodies already fitted at no extra cost.  Bull bar, tow bar, cargo barrier, snorkel, cruise control, 6 stack CD, 16" alloys, and $2000 worth of camping gear.  It was an unreal deal.  They also offered us a trade in on the old girl that was well above what I expected and that was sight unseen.  It literally was a deal we couldn't refuse.  A week later we took delivery.

I was still sad to see the old Disco go but hopefully someone has picked her up and is giving her the TLC she deserves.  
Post by: AKB on August 25, 2010, 12:36:04 PM
- and Liz loved it, it drove like a car.  

That's exactly why I use to love the Jeeps
Post by: AKB on August 25, 2010, 12:40:16 PM
I hear you guys it's amazing how sometimes your favourtie car is the one that gives you the most grief financially. 
Post by: spargo on August 25, 2010, 12:42:55 PM
We started with a 1 year old 2006 Suzuki Jimny which we purchased as a bit of a test to see if we'd use a 4x4, and what a test it was! We loved it! Loaded with our tent, tarp, and kitchen gear we took it everywhere we dared to go and it just never stopped.. Infact, I never ever bogged the thing. Perhaps I wasn't trying hard enough!

So, test over, we needed to sell the 2-door Jimny and upgrade to something serious with kids inbound and some grand around-oz travel plans brewing. We didn't want a 4x4 wagon (Prado, Challenger, etc) so we looked around at the 40K utes (didn't waste my time with a Hilux - in my opinion, a rip-off), and chose a 2008 Triton dual-cab ute, which we quickly put a custom alloy tray on to get rid of the tub (I like using a ute as it was intended, as a ute!).. Below are some of our reasons:

- out of all of the utes, it was the one that felt least like a truck and more like a car around town.. very important as at the time it was our only car
- turning circle was smaller than others.
- the rear seat space cannot be beaten.. infact nothing comes close in terms of space, and also seat quality (angle, comfort).
- we liked the proven 3.2L TD engine, as opposed to the smaller sized Diesels that were starting to appear at the time -infact I still like the 3.2L over the new 2.XL which replaced it.
- the 5 year warranty, and 10 year drive-train warranty -again, unbeatable
- The VR model we purchased had inclusions like cruise-crontrol, power-everything, and a powered rear window & demister which nothing at that price point could equal.
- it's just damn sexy. No offence intended if you have one, but line it up next to a boxey BT-50, Colorado, or a Navara and there's no comparison..

So now with a black Lifestyle Extenda on the way, we've got a matching black Triton dual-cab for whatever trips we want to do, be it bitumen, or off-road.
Post by: JCOJ on August 25, 2010, 02:24:51 PM
I always wanted a Jeep Wrangler so in 2004 we bought one and loved it!!

(http://a.imageshack.us/img247/5151/otway052rp8.jpg) (http://img247.imageshack.us/i/otway052rp8.jpg/)

Then when we found out the second kid was coming we had to upgrade and we heard that the 4 door Wrangler in Rubicon spec was coming out - I was the first in Aust to order - 6 months before they even landed in the country!!!

(http://a.imageshack.us/img186/8107/goolwapics10ze0.jpg) (http://img186.imageshack.us/i/goolwapics10ze0.jpg/)

The arrival of the new camper trailer meant a new towing vehicle so after many hours research the Pajero fit the bill perfectly!!

(http://a.imageshack.us/img532/7051/myswag2bendlebys043.jpg) (http://img532.imageshack.us/i/myswag2bendlebys043.jpg/)

Post by: stevo68 on August 25, 2010, 04:44:23 PM
Back in 98 I had brochures etc for a LR Disco...ended up getting a new merc sedan instead. In 2004 I bought a new Territory with 7 seats and it got me thinking about getting more offroad/ camping etc. I knew it wouldnt fit the bill so started looking around. It was at this stage that the D3 came out and was smitten. To be honest have never been a fan of anything japanese sedan or 4WD........but gave all the other brands a look in but kept coming back to the D3. So my first 4wd was an 05 V8 HSE and I loved it. Nothing like taking a $100k+ vehicle off road and through lantana, mud, rocky tracks etc. People thought I was mad...but hey that is what it was built for. As you can see we were very close  :D

(http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc228/hoysie68/LovemyD3.jpg)

(http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc228/hoysie68/02032008.jpg)

But circumstances changed and I had to sell it at 100,000kms.....though it is still in the family. From owning that car, being on a landy forum and in a LR based I could only get another LR. I then bought an 03 Disco TD5 with 89000kms called Smokey...it has now done 165k, countless trips and adventures.

(http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc228/hoysie68/Levuka%20June%202010/gettingthere.jpg)

(http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc228/hoysie68/Levuka%20June%202010/GoSmokey.jpg)

(http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc228/hoysie68/Fraser%20Island%20Oct%2009/066.jpg)

To be honest, couldnt see myself in anything else but a landy.....it really is a LR thing  8). Down the track, Smokey will most likely get handed down to one of the kids and I will look to another D3/D4,

Stevo
Post by: toad on August 25, 2010, 04:50:00 PM

To be honest, couldnt see myself in anything else but a landy.....it really is a LR thing  8).

Stevo

Sounds like you have a terrible addiction. Not related to Matthew Newton by any chance? >:D ;D ;D >:
Post by: Pipeliner on August 26, 2010, 08:24:54 AM
(http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc228/hoysie68/Levuka%20June%202010/GoSmokey.jpg)

Looks familiar - is that at Levuka?
Post by: rabmail on August 27, 2010, 01:07:46 AM
Started out in the 60's in early Land Rovers and spent some time in the Simpson Desert in one, skinny tyres and all.  Then the Toyota Land Cruisers arrived and each model got better and better.  Now have an HDJ78 Troopy Carrier which is probably my last bush vehicle, I will wear out before it does.

Dick
Post by: Pebble on August 31, 2010, 08:57:51 AM
Here is our latest addition.
Having 2 kids means we need 4 doors to all go camping etc and a 4x4 to get to all the good places.
We did look at dual cabs (would have probably gone for a Mazda BT50 or something similar) but since my Husband informed me we were likely to tow a trailer anyway (yes my ideals of camping don't always match reality) we ended up gong for a more "fun" option. Besides I know going from a cruiser ute he would probably never be entirely happy with a dual cab anyway. I think he actually likes the new car, as much as a Landcruiser man can like anything non Landcrusier anyway!

So we've gone from this

(http://i417.photobucket.com/albums/pp253/mtbpebble/IMG_2517.jpg)

to this

(http://i417.photobucket.com/albums/pp253/mtbpebble/IMG_2110.jpg)

Rubicon would have been nice but going with the Sport means we can afford a few of the extra goodies (snorkel etc) sooner. And besides we're never as hardcore as we'd like to think we are  ;D

It seems a little ridiculous that you can sell a 5yr old cruiser and buy a brand new wrangler straight out though!
Post by: AKB on August 31, 2010, 01:44:09 PM
Nice one Pebble
Post by: D4D on August 31, 2010, 02:43:36 PM
I have a thing about the letter P

Pajero NL 1998-2001 (learnt to 4wd)
Patrol GQ 2005-2009 (weekend warrior)
Prado 120 2008-Present (tourer and soon to be baby transporter)

Between 2001 & 2008 I had a midlife crisis and owned several Audis

I can't decide what's next, maybe a 200 TD or an R32
Post by: AKB on August 31, 2010, 06:03:29 PM
Porsche begins with P :laugh:
Post by: Duchess on August 31, 2010, 08:39:09 PM
This thread has been a great read! Reading it, I've felt like I'm sitting round the campfire listening to all your stories.

Whilst there hasn't been a 4by in our family for about 10 years now, prior to the Chev we were Toyota people with a 45 series and then a 65 series once the kid came along. We went 4wding on Fraser Island as part of our honeymoon after getting married and one of our first dates was Mark teaching me how to 4wd at Boat Harbour, near Kurnell!

With the 65 series getting on in age, along with my desire to have a ute to cart horses and horse feed around we started to look for another car. The Chev had been my dream car and I couldn't see the need for a 4wd as we weren't needing one any longer, living in town and not out on black dirt, it just seemed to be unnecessary to have that extra running gear of a 4wd. As one of my mates has said to me, he reckons I've got that Chevy into places that he'd not thought I get it in to anyway! So, for the past 10 years the Chevy has done the job for us.

More recently, I bought the CT and with a newly reignited desire to see some more of this country that a 2wd just can't get me to, I went on the hunt for another car and this time on the list of what I wanted was included 4wd capability. I ended up with a Hilux and I'm looking forward to getting back into 4wding again.

Post by: Silvo on August 31, 2010, 09:12:04 PM
i've owned nissans for most of my 4wds, starting with a Shorty MK, then Shorty GQ (maverick), then a 4.8 GU fuel guzzler to a Navara D40. in the end, one VERY uncomfortable trip back from Taree and a time when the wife blinked slowly and i was signing papers for the Prado. love this thing, and i've done so much more to it than previous 4wd's.

Nissan didn't do the 4.2 and there was no way in hell i was buying the 3ltr, plus the interior is outdated now. Those things till come with a tape player for christ's sake.

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=5109.msg73169#msg73169

Dan
Post by: udderchaos on August 31, 2010, 10:21:52 PM
well list goes like this

currently
4.5 gu patrol on lpg. love the thing except for filling it up all the time.
i cant see myself getting rid of this for a long while.its just ticked over 120,000ks.
i really wanted a diesel, but we don't go anywhere i cant get lpg so it got the nod. and with the $15,000 saving on an equivelent 4.2L im very very happy.
I wouldnt touch a zd30 either, however a very good friend who repairs/supplys heads for nissan and toyota here tells me hes now doing more 1kz prado/hilux heads than nissans

before that
90 series prado in petrol form. 2" lift and 265/75 bfg MT's
was alright but the interior just kept falling to bits??

also had a variety of modified subarus (mainly L series with body lifts) which where good fun but fairly limited in what they can do.

wifes had several foresters as well which i wouldnt call a 4x4 but they have been suprising at where they will get. brilliant "dirt/gravel road" car though
Post by: Moto Moto on September 02, 2010, 08:41:38 AM

Originally had a 98 extra cab hilux 3.0L with a turbo glide strapped on. Sold it with 300,000km on it, never missed a beat.

Great car but when my wife fell pregnant with our first i went looking for an affordable dual cab, and purchased a D22 Navara. At the time i knew nothing about baby/child seats and it wasn't until the baby arrived that we realised there was no child anchor points >:(
No matter we got an after market anchor point fitted, but then realised the D22 dual cab really has no room for  rear facing baby seats behind the driver or passanger, only in the middle. Pity because it was a good car, but it had to double as my work vehicle and family car.

So when baby number two arrived, i when looking for a 4wd wagon. I really wanted a diesel Prado or 100 series or 4.2 GU, but at the time couldn't find a good second hand one on the market, and they were all out of reach in terms of price.

In the end found an 06 GU IV 3.0L Patrol with 30,000km on the clock and less than two years old for a great price (about 20K less than the other models with over 100,00km). It came with alloy bar, window tint, towbar and spotties! Have added UHF, Thumper battery pack, BFG ATs. Often read/hear about reliability issues but i absolutely love the GU and hope the later model ZD30 will last.

It has been great for us so far, very comfortable on long trips and heaps of room for the kids, their stuff, car fridge etc. Tows the Jayco Hawk well but wouldn't want to tow any heavier. Just want a steel bullbar and suspension upgrade and it will be perfect for all our holiday needs  ;D

Post by: Moto Moto on September 02, 2010, 08:52:34 AM
Progression Photos from previous post.

Hilux when using tents

Then Navara and Cavalier Soft Floor

Then Patrol and Jayco Hawk
Post by: aldo on September 02, 2010, 11:57:41 AM
I have a GU 4.2 wagon.

After coming from a much loved Troopy I wanted a live axle vehicle with a 6 cylinder diesel. I'm old fashioned :laugh: but I guess that will have to chnage eventually as I have nothing else to go to. I reckon it will be another Troopy though. Nothing wrong with the Nissan just that for such a big vehicle it could do with a bit more room I reckon.

I am a tinkerer, just can't help myself, so when it comes time for a highly strung 4 cylinder turbo that I won't be able to do a thing on except change the oil I'll have to start eyeing off the mower and whipper snipper for twirling the spanners. Should be the same level of sophistication I am currently used to :laugh:
Post by: chisel on September 02, 2010, 01:18:37 PM
I originally got a 2001 (R50) Pathfinder, brand spankers, to get into beach fishing as I had been out with mates a couple of times and knew that's what I wanted to do.  I was single so could have gone with something smaller but I wanted a bit of size for camping gear and I wanted low-range.  The patfhinder kept me going for about 7 years until I realised I needed something a bit larger - and to be honest I wasn't liking the pathy that much anymore.  The suspension lift that I got meant it was very harsh around town and nvh levels were generally creeping up.  Anyway, with wife and 2 young kids at this stage and a desire to be able to camp without a trailer I had to get something bigger.  Short list was Prado, Pajero and 100 series.  The 200 was just new and a little expensive as well as unknown.  I had heard too many bad things about the R51 Pathfinder so it was never in the hunt.  The Prado and Pajero eventually fell off the list due to size but not before I came very close to buying a 2005 DiD Pajero.  The noisy donk held me back from the deal.

So in the end it was basically a 100 series V8 or TD.  Over 5 years my cost predictions looked very similar for the two but the TD was obviously going to have considerable extra range and I didn't like the prospect of pouring money into the petrol tank of the V8 (even though I had factored that into my estimations I figured it was going to bug me every time I pulled my wallet out).
So I got my 2006 100 TD in 2008.  It has been great.  I love the fact that, even though I probably won't buy many, every aftermarket accessory known to man is readily available for the 100.  I love the fact I can put a big roof rack on it with heaps of gear (Prado roof size and weight limit were an issue) and I love the fact that for such a big, capable 4wd it is both comfortable and economical to drive.  My wife has no problem using it as a daily driver around the city.  One day I will probably love the fact that it can effortlessly tow a large camper trailer .... now I just have to go and buy that camper ... :-)
Oh and I also love the fact that the 100 has held it's value amazingly well (worth as much now as when I bought it).  Gotta thank Toyota for bumping up the price on the 200 for that one!!
Post by: oldblade on September 02, 2010, 03:20:43 PM
Because of the supercharger
I love it
Post by: MattNQ on September 02, 2010, 11:56:18 PM
A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away.........well..actually about 10 years ago, I bought a ’98 4.5l Patrol. Why? because….

1.   It wasn’t a Toyota  >:D
2.   It wasn’t a diesel  >:D

Ok, that was just to stir up 75% of readers.  ;D There was actually a little more substance to the decision at the time.

Why a petrol?
Bought it from a dealer when it was 2 years old. Petrol prices were staring to skyrocket. Dealer had knocked $10k of the price because nobody wanted a petrol.
So, jumping out of a V8 Torana, the Patrol 4.5 was cheaper to register, similar fuel economy, more room for the impending invasion of anklebiters, and $10,000 cheaper than the 2.8 diesel boat anchor alternative.
The only mechanical failures I have had in 10 years – 1 x starter motor and 1x power steering belt.
While the 4.5L will easily get the Mickey's spinning on the bitumen, more power would be nice. Supercharger & exhaust are on my wish list, but unfortunately don't seem to be on my wife's wish list. Have to work on that...!

Why a Nissan?
 I started with no real bias (except against the Ford Exploder perhaps) For work I have had enjoyed the opportunity of gallivanting off-road across Qld with various 4wd’s - troopies, 80 series, 100series, Patrols (GQ & GU) Pajeros, Rollux, even an Xtrail.  We even took a Commodore wagon to Doomadgee the back way via Lawn Hill Station
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/18937-1/IMGP0406.JPG)

My ”field trials” concluded that Pajeros are huge fun on fast dirt, but bottom out a lot in low range stuff – so need good bash plates, unloaded Rolluxs will rattle your fillings out before even trying to fall over, 100 series felt like an overweight cow doing line dancing, and even  tried to throw me several times on the Riversleigh road while maintaining the speed I normally drove the GU at….!
Troopies are damn near unbreakable, but handled like a tractor, Xtrail was fun but flimsy. GU wagon was predictable, capable and a lot of fun when pushed to the limit, but the diesels were very, very, very pedestrian. Also drove a Prado – model at the time felt unstable like it was on bendy stilts. New ones with wider track would be better I imagine.
Only real faults with the 80 series were they were relatively expensive, and reminded me too much of work.

Short list ended up being Pajero, 80 series &  GU.  GU won out as the best overall package compromise of off-road ability, price, handling & load capacity.

My progression photos are not as impressive as some of the ones here as I have only ever owned two vehicles, but anyway, here they are….

Vehicle #1 Factory V8, original interior paint & stripes. No longer with us - unfortunately, as is the way of things....kids come and toys have to go. I would pay anything to get this one back now. I still live in the vain hope that no flannel clad bogans have put a flare kit on it on it....!
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/18929-1/IMGP1139.JPG)

Vehicle #2 Unbreakable, reliable, and a lot of fun sideways in the dirt and mud. Wife says it is too 'trucky' and doesn't like driving it. I'll have to leave some Ford F650 brochures around.....
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/18935-1/DSCF7927_001.jpg)

If I have inadvertently offended anyone or their vehicle  :'( then ..... :-* . Feel better now?... ;D

Post by: udderchaos on September 03, 2010, 07:14:01 AM
should have kept the torana. I should never have sold mine :(
i have the same patrol setup as you, except mines on lpg.

bonus torana pick attached
Post by: fishfinder on September 03, 2010, 04:56:36 PM
the reason why I got a 4wd is that cop cars look funny bogged to the axles  :cheers:
Post by: MattNQ on September 04, 2010, 12:04:23 AM
should have kept the torana. I should never have sold mine :(
i have the same patrol setup as you, except mines on lpg.

bonus torana pick attached

Nice Torana. There are very few around now.  Glad there are more 4.5L  supporters around. It is a very under-rated motor. I constantly get people commenting about the fuel it chews, but I think that once you look at overall costs , including purchase price, fuel, maintenance costs/service intervals etc, it is better value for money.
Have you even tried the Hiclone on this motor? I've been meaning to try, but never got around to it.
I reckon if I even got a Series IV, I'd stick with the petrol.
The Saudis do some scary things to the 4.8's  - try googling ''1000bhp patrol" :police:
Post by: speewa158 on September 04, 2010, 03:26:53 AM
My 77 LX Torana 3 on the tree took me around Aus the first time . It went places that GMH feared & come back with a few more dints . Great car ,  wrong application  ;D   :cheers:
Post by: udderchaos on September 04, 2010, 01:15:16 PM
dont bother with the hiclone.
extractors, exhaust and ecu will liberate a few horsies. the are fairly restricted in the exhaust department.

the way to real power with a 4.5 is with a turbo, however rods need to be changed to something stronger (and lower compression pistons if you want wind the boost up)

i sold my torana in 95 for $4000. being a slr its prob worth a lot more now.
I have a few friends who still have theres. one has a 77 LX SS hatchback 253, 80,000ks and all original with no rust (it come from alice springs)
its been parked in his shed for 15 years now.
Post by: Sixtys Guy on September 04, 2010, 01:54:04 PM
I started off with a 1991 2.6 petrol Ford Courier extra cab. I had it for two years and basically drove it into the ground. Then I bought a brand new 2000 V6 Holden Rodeo single cab. Was ok, but single cab wasn't much good for me. I then bought a HJ60 diesel Cruiser, mainly because that was the family transport when I was a kid. Still got it now and can't imagine selling it! I also have a 2006 Ford Courier 2.5TD dual cab for work and a FJ55 for tinkering. I wouldn't mind getting a 100 series or a 4.2TD GU (if I could ever find one LOL), but that can wait until the house is paid off in about 6 years. Until then I'll use the 60 and the Courier for my adventures.
Post by: codycoaster on September 10, 2010, 07:51:27 PM
Had a couple of HJ60s now. Can't seem to get my hands on the wonderful 12HT engine model, but one day. Maybe by the time I find one and can afford it, I'll be over the 60 and ready for something more comfortable, like a 70 Series!

JC
Post by: crackacoldie on September 10, 2010, 07:59:00 PM
Bought the cruiser to tow the 24ft caravan I have now sold to buy a camper.  Fell in love with the off road touring, all the places the cruiser opened up that I just couldn't take a caravan to.
Post by: Joff on September 11, 2010, 06:52:32 AM
coz it was cheap and it constituted the basis of a build that couldn't be matched by any manufacturer
Post by: Prado BB on September 11, 2010, 07:33:30 AM
Natural progression really....
Started with an MK Patrol shortie in the early 90's
Then bought this (which I still have)
(http://i932.photobucket.com/albums/ad169/thedevilwearsprado/Patrol.jpg)

Sold the wife's Falcon  :'( (I loved it)

(http://i932.photobucket.com/albums/ad169/thedevilwearsprado/falcon.jpg)

and bought this, because we love the freedom and variety of adventures it allows us

(http://i932.photobucket.com/albums/ad169/thedevilwearsprado/boghole1205B5D.jpg)
Post by: jeeps on September 11, 2010, 12:45:29 PM
I bought it almost 10 years ago after owning an old diesel ute. I wanted something with power that didn't overheat while towing & on the beach and had more offroad ability that was also affordable. My old man and i went around looking at toyotas as i was looking for a cruiser or hilux and we took a jeep for a test drive as a joke. After driving it, i couldn't think about anything else! Apart from the disadvantages of lack of space and the short wheelbase choppy ride, it's proved to be fairly economy, extremely cheap to service, capable offroad and in true american build quality irony the most reliable vehicle i've ever owned. It's also proved to be a great hit with kids (particularly mine) and a real conversation starter with complete strangers out on the road/bush. After almost 10 years with the jeep it'll never be sold, i'll just have to add another 4wd to shed if i ever need anything bigger.

Post by: lucky1 on September 11, 2010, 07:07:10 PM
We had to have a dual cab ute for 2 dogs and doing"stuff" around the house. Also having two little ones in car seats it had to be a Triton or Hilux and the Triton was a better deal at the time. Have had 2 Cruiser utes both diesels and a Petrol 80 series and an extra cab hilux before buying an MK Triton to change the Toyota theme  ;D Very happy with it so far
Post by: Hairs on September 18, 2010, 05:13:24 PM
Hmm, Interesting numbers to come out of the poll in this thread  http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=1237.new;topicseen so far.
27.3% own a Nissan
42.0% own a Toyota
12.2% own a Mitsubishi
4.4% own a Holden
And all other makes are spread out and 15 members don't have a 4WD, which is cool.(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-cool01.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Maybe an addition to the poll could be, Purchased New, Secondhand.
I also understand that this isn't an across the board poll. It's a poll taken of those that tow a camper of varied configurations. If it was taken from a group of 4wders that only use their vehicle for recreation or work, Maybe these figure would change, I don't know (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-confused013.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Anyway,
What is it that makes Toyota have the most vehicles represented here?
Is it Brand marketing, Reliability, serviceability or have people bought their vehicle because they have always had that brand name or their father has or their mates.
I realize price plays a part in this decision also, but so does many other factors.
I guess I'm just curious as to why Toyota is so well represented here.
I purchased my 80 for a few reasons, I couldn't afford new, so second hand was the option, Reliability fore most with Reputation and I was prepared to pay for the right vehicle after a long search. Availability of parts played a part as well.
As I said, Just curious, By the way, I don't want to start a brand war. (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-sw018.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Post by: bommy on September 19, 2010, 12:47:11 AM
Just curious, what made you buy your particular 4wd? 

Hmm good question... I went from a Pathfinder to a Hilux dual cab SR5 & that was simply because Jase had the Hilux when we started "dating" & in all honesty it out performed the Pathfinder so it was natural attrition,now buying the '76 series wAS a work of art. we both wanted a 4wd we could takeout & play with & that would also perform on the highway, it took us over 6 months of trialling

We drove mates vehicles covering all the majors & some not so major & the '76 series gave us what we wanted at a price where I wouldnt cry if we hit a roo or got it scratched & that would perform whilst towing or climbing.. :D

I love the '76 he isnt overtly stupidly luxurious BUT he gives us luxury whilst doing what its built to do.
Post by: bert56 on September 19, 2010, 06:29:51 AM
I bought my BT50 in 2007 after it won ute of the year. If I had my time again I would buy just a ute and not a dual cab. The kids won't come 4wding or camping unless their made, and that takes the fun away.
BERT
Post by: cruisindub on September 20, 2010, 01:19:24 AM
Dont yet have the 4wd !  >:( >:( >:(
Still on the look out for our next travel car.
Really want a troopy, but prob cant afford it.
Our next best choice is a 'extracab/space cab' ute with a ali canopy to store all our crap we take but dont need.

Never had a new car, and not sure if we would be happy with one.
In Australia have had a 78 XC Falcon panel van, 79 XD Falson Sedan,  then in Europe I had a Citroen BX, (dont remember the year) now have a 85 Ford Sierra 1.8 sedan hatch with 60k genuine km's and a 1983 VW T3 van with home made camping interior genuine 160k km's.
Was my mother in laws car and been in family for over 18 yrs.

Gotta love the Dub !!!!  
Post by: mystq on December 11, 2010, 01:28:14 AM
88 GQ with all the mods done just needed a paint job, but as it turns out every week its up on jack stands and I’m replacing something with the in laws, but it's good fun get to learn how to do everything and in the end it will be a good bus.
Post by: Malcur on December 11, 2010, 06:54:52 AM
I don't believe I have any car bias. I have owned 4 fords, 6 holdens and 2 toyotas in my time. About 7 years ago I owned a falcon which was turning 7 and in need of a rest. I was looking for something to get me offroad and decided on a Subaru Forester. It was a realy nice car, and got us started in off-roading. However, it is made a bit light (I tripped and fell against it one day and dented the rear panel  :'(), and it struggled to tow our CT which we had purchased. We started looking for a "real" 4wd. Had a brief flirtation with a 3ltr patrol, but eventually decided on a Prado. Decision was based on the number of Toyotas out in the scrub, and went for the smaller Prado rather than the 'cruiser as I could not see the need for such a large vehicle - kids had left home and didn't see holidaying with mum & dad as high on their list of priorities. Test drove a 2005 GXL V6 and fell in love. It already had bullbar, cargo barrier, towbar & AT tyres so didn't need to add anything immediately. Since then have added snorkel, coil rites, roof bars & rear drawers. I love the Prado. It is my daily driver as well as weekend warrier, plus does the job towing the camper on longer trips. I have also used it to teach 2 sons to drive (2 x 120 hours  >:().

Mal
Post by: cancan on December 11, 2010, 08:06:44 AM
We don't have a 4wd as such but I wanted a cheap hatchback as a daily runner to go work in but couldn't get a park at the dealer so parked next to Audi (same dealership). When I got back from test driving mine I found that my wife walked into Audi to get out of the rain, saw the Q5, decided she liked it and bought it. So much for my cunning plan to buy a cheap hatch.
Post by: speewa158 on December 11, 2010, 08:12:30 AM
cancan  Self Exclusion from the planning deptment please . Do they let you out alone ? ;D
Post by: AKB on December 11, 2010, 09:16:10 AM
We don't have a 4wd as such but I wanted a cheap hatchback as a daily runner to go work in but couldn't get a park at the dealer so parked next to Audi (same dealership). When I got back from test driving mine I found that my wife walked into Audi to get out of the rain, saw the Q5, decided she liked it and bought it. So much for my cunning plan to buy a cheap hatch.

I like your wife's style Cancan
Post by: Astro on December 11, 2010, 09:32:02 AM
I needed a 4wd for my business. Didn't have to be anything fancy, just a cheapie.

1st = Suzuki Sierra soft-top.
Kept it a few years, but as a family of 5 and the Zuk only having 4 seatbelts, it eventually had to go.

2nd = Holden Rodeo dual cab diesel.
Love the diesel. It serves the family better, takes the dog in the back for quick trips to the beach.
It rides a bit rough, and as the 4wd-bug has definitely bitten, we're now looking for a comfortable tourer.

(http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii184/Astro_56_dub/4WD/pic009.jpg)

3rd = either
Disco 3,
Landcruiser HDJ100
Patrol
Landcruiser 76 series
Post by: schmik on December 11, 2010, 09:53:45 AM
We've owned a few in our time:

First one ever was a shorty patrol. It was an impulse buy. $4000 i think. It was on 33's and the ride was so rough that it almost shook your teeth out out.

Then came hilux surf. It was actually a pretty good 4wd. It had a 2.5L turbo diesel and was cheap to run. Insurance was a problem though. Insurance company doesn't like the 'word turbo and import'.

The Mrs then got a 2008 grand vitarra. Sure it's a soft roader but it has low range and will get to places it probably shouldn't have. Great fun to drive too. Handles great and due to the 2.7L v6 it goes hard.

As I kept taking her car on harder tracks she told me to get my own. I got a 2006 model. This was part time 4wd and didn't handle any where near as well but was an awsome beach car. Great fun to drive. 6months into owning that one we found out child number 3 was coming.  The little 2006 GV had to go.

But what to replace it with? It's got to be bigger. And wide (forget the utes then). So i went from one extreme to the other. From a tiny little GV to a 100 series (with rigid front axle and 4.5L petrol).  Geez! What shock it was driving it at first. It is HUGE!

I got the petrol 105 for a few reasons. I could not afford the 100 (v8 or turbo deisel). The diesel 105 was also expensive and the 1HZ motor is quite slow.  A petrol 105 is approx $10k cheaper than a diesel. The economy gains of a diesel just don't add up and the petrol has more go anyway. Having only a 10km drive to work each day the fuel cost didn't matter too much.

It's got the usual mods, cargo barrier, 2" lift, cooper rubber, bar, lights. I am happy as Larry driving it around!  It tows the CT easily and fits the 3 kids easily (and their stuff). It is really is KING OF THE ROAD!

mike
Post by: Yoda42 on December 11, 2010, 10:48:07 AM
Yoda has had a couple of Hiluxes, Mrs Yoda had a  1993 4Runner (that she foolishly rolled about 70km out from Nhulunbuy :-[) and replaced with a 1997 Pajero GLX.

We currently have a 2005 Navara D22 dual cab and have been stoked with it. It was the last model built in Japan before they went to Thailand, and what we saved instead of buying a new stock Hilux we could spend on accessories. It's only recently hit 100,000km, and we were seriously considering offloading it to upgrade. At 5 years old, average mileage and meticulously serviced, we were at the crossroads of - sell it to upgrade, or hang on to it until it dies.

If we were going to upgrade it was to be a novated lease on a Disco 4. The reason being - we do an awful lot of driving to get anywhere, and comfort is up there. Bang for buck, yes, it's xy, but the build quality and features for about $10k more than the best model Prado is WAY more than $10k.

We didn't consider Land Cruiser as they are over priced for what you get (in our opinion), the Patrol engine is outdated (not counting the newie that has yet to arrive in Aust). Jeep Grand Cherokee could have been a goer if the local dealer bothered to have one in stock to test drive. The sales eejit tried to tell us that it is more common for people to buy without test driving, so it didn't matter that they didn't have one available! Well, fella, no sale!

On balance, we decided that we're better off keeping the Nav with all its mods, as even with a private sale we wouldn't come close to recouping what we've spent on it. Mr Yoda has TBWITW (The Best Wife In The World) as he doesn't have to ask Mrs Yoda permission to add stuff :cup:

Guess who wrote this? :cup: