Author Topic: About time I posted  (Read 4296 times)

Offline dfcvh

About time I posted
« on: January 30, 2016, 07:02:59 PM »

After reading along in the background for a while thought it was time to post & say hi.

We've recently purchased a Dec 2015 Jayco Outback Hawk after letting go of the soft floor set we had for 8 fun years. All the usual extras fitted by Jayco:
Roof rack
Bed end flys & bag awning
Solar panel
2nd water tank
Hot water system
external shower

First trip was eventful for all the wrong reasons after the winder system failed due to poor workmanship, but that's covered in my other post.
Moving on we're looking forward to getting out there some more & no doubt some mods to get just right. The soft floor took a few trips to get it down pat & user friendly so expect this to be no different but all good fun & worth it.

Keep up the informative posts.

regards

Re: About time I posted
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2016, 07:06:45 PM »
G'day Dave and welcome to myswag.  Congrats on the Jayco  :cup:  Sorry to hear your first trip wasn't perfect.

The following users thanked this post: dfcvh

Offline dfcvh

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2016, 07:12:11 PM »
Cheers mate. To take a positive out of the experience, I now know a lot more about the workings of the thing than I did last week. Nothing like hands on to understand how stuff works!!  :cheers:

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2016, 09:58:15 PM »
Gday and welcome Dave.
Congrats on the setup. :cup:
Got any pics for us ;D

Offline Beefa Toyota

• Just got to love camping
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2016, 10:08:09 PM »
Hi Dave and welcome also, sounds like you now have it worked out, happy camping out there mate

Cheers Beefa.
2017 Toyota Hilux SR5 GUN126R
2017 EzyTrail Parkes 13 Hybrid Caravan

Offline McTavish

« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2016, 11:59:04 AM »
Welcome.  What is it with the wind up system with the latest Jayco?  Sounds like everything I read about the new ones they are all failing. What are they doing wrong?  How did you fix yours?  I have a mate with a 2011 Hawke he bought second hand. Maybe sorted prior to his ownership. Would be good to know just in case.
Looking forward to hearing more stories of your future trips.
McT

Vacation Camper & McTavish surfboard - what more does a guy need??

Offline dfcvh

« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2016, 01:46:56 PM »
Hi McTavish,

Long story short, I'm blaming lack of quality control for my issue. Essentially the guides have not been screwed / bolted to the floor on the side that failed. Ironically there is a sticker with someones signature in the back compartment near the winch saying system was inspected & passed. Must have been a Friday arvo build!!

Was conscious Jayco are built to a price & as some others have said, I anticipate a few more issues to come with things shaking loose, but this has blown me away. It's still to be fixed & is booked in next week with the dealer. Should be an easy fix - 4 bolts & re-tension cable. Certainly a warranty job. Was tempted to do myself when camping, but decided to leave to them so there is no grey line on warranty being voided. If I do myself, at  least I can guarantee the workmanship.

Looking forward to the conversation next week & what excuse will be made. Does also make me wonder if there are any other time bombs built into it though. Would like to give it the benefit of doubt as do like the package.

Would also suggest to all pop top owners to have a bit of a look at how their system works, what may go wrong & what you can do to get by. May help you out one day in the field. I'm certainly wiser for the experience. Probably should start it as a new topic & throw in some other pics later on.

The following users thanked this post: McTavish

« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2016, 09:49:51 AM »
Welcome to the Forum Dave, enjoy your stay and hope the Jayco takes you to some special places

« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2016, 01:56:58 PM »
Welcome aboard to the funny farm. Enjoy your stay

« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2016, 05:30:39 PM »
Welcome to myswag Dave

Hope all goes well with the jayco

CHEERS GRC  :cheers:

Offline Nalicia

« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2016, 09:17:37 PM »
g'day mate we are also new...have fun! :cheers: