Author Topic: Dog Owners - You are Warned.  (Read 13987 times)

Re: Dog Owners - You are Warned.
« Reply #25 on: November 16, 2014, 06:04:37 PM »

If i considered that either my dogs show any form of aggression towards my kids , they would be shot , I would not tolerate a savage dog .

Sometimes it's after the fact though !!

I have seen how kids treat dogs...and mostly, the dogs are very tolerant, but it only takes that one time !!

« Reply #26 on: November 16, 2014, 06:07:33 PM »
There's always an exception to the rule, but.....

A trained soldier does not go around shooting innocent people. Nor does a trained dog attack innocent people.

Usually it's an out of control person with a gun that shoots people, and an out of control dog that mauls people.

Just my thoughts,

Shane.

« Reply #27 on: November 16, 2014, 06:24:29 PM »
My comment was in general not aimed at any particular dog or owner.

I managed a council regulatory unit and we investigated all dog attacks that were reported.  There seemed to be two types of dogs.  The obvious cranky dangerous ones that were just off there nut and then the ones that were loved caring trained beautiful animals that one day just bit one of their family.  Very strange.

Hell, my border collie bit my hand and it was so well trained i could make him walk over to me just by glancing to my side. A whistle and a shake of the head would have him stop and come back.  Still bit me though one night shift morning when I put his food bowl down and then remembered I had to put his worming tablet in the food and picked it up while he was eating. 

Dog was smarter than me I think.....

Dont ever trust em. 

« Reply #28 on: November 16, 2014, 06:41:41 PM »
Thats true but i'd rather be bitten by a lapdog than a ridgeback or similar, if you have a dog that is trained as a guard dog then it shouldnt be in public spaces muzzled or otherwise.
you'd be unlucky to get bitten by a Ridgeback if the 3 my oldies have had are anything to go by...the biggest sooks you'd ever meet...lol...all in the way people bring their dogs up I guess.

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #29 on: November 16, 2014, 06:46:04 PM »
you'd be unlucky to get bitten by a Ridgeback if the 3 my oldies have had are anything to go by...the biggest sooks you'd ever meet...lol...all in the way people bring their dogs up I guess.

True, my brothers rotti was the biggest sook too and so gentle but if a large dog turns they can do a lot of damage.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #30 on: November 16, 2014, 06:48:00 PM »
WRONG

properly trained guard dogs won't indiscriminately bite, they are trained to assess a threat and react accordingly.

-they've probably had more time socialising in public spaces and are less of a threat than your usual backyard dog.

Hi Steve, i dont mean properly trained dogs, more the bogan/ feral owned dogs used as suedo guard dogs.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline berlitza

« Reply #31 on: November 16, 2014, 07:02:00 PM »
I remember as a kid the police academy Mt Waverly Vic ran open days (nfi if they still do it) for the general public to go along and have a behind the scenes looksie. There were a few demonstrations self defence etc etc and k9 handling. long story short the handler gave to command to the guy in the padded suit, the dog took off after guy in suit,the dog then  turned and went after the handler attacking his arm and leg.Not 100% sure how much damage there was but it did make the news..

If the conditions/chemistry/stars in alignment is out of balance ANY dog will bite, also saw a 12yo dog that had never bit anyone or thing (apparently) attack a smaller fur ball at the knoxfield  off leash park,, small dog ended up with 2 puncture wounds and spending 4 nights at the vets..

pretty sure dogs don't  have the ability to "assess a threat" they don't rationalise, there commanded then they react

« Reply #32 on: November 16, 2014, 07:24:29 PM »
Big difference between a Guard dog and properly trained dog.  Either way the owner of the dog should be doing the right thing. 

Offline rockman

• Live ... then don't
« Reply #33 on: November 16, 2014, 07:35:39 PM »
Big difference between a Guard dog and properly trained dog.  Either way the owner of the dog should be doing the right thing. 

with you on this one , if the dog has attacked before , put it down , nothing is going to change it now , but charge the owners heavily , dog should only get one chance of a unprovoked attack , difference between running out of a property and biting someone to someone entering your property illeagly and the dog doing its job of guarding your property , though the property should have signs to notify of a guard dog without it being an admission on the owners part that the dog may bite .

if you come threw my gate with a sign on it or over my 1200mm high fence with a sign on it warning you to stay out , you deserve the action that you will recieve ..

be a keen person to come and tell me that they are taking my dog away to be put down because someone entered my property illeagly

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #34 on: November 17, 2014, 08:44:49 AM »
Back to op,

I think that this case is different to most, the owner .....

Was aware of the dogs aggression
Had been issued orders to protect others
Failed to comply with these orders
Knowingly endangered the public

So I guess one could say that their behaviour was "reckless"

That being a very important fact legally speaking . Hence the heavy punishment.

As an owner of any animal you should control the environment not the animal itself .

Courts look at all the factors and I hazard a guess that the heavy sentence was a result of the reckless conduct rather than the severity of the bite. As it should be.

Good precedent I say ...

I know my dog attacks other dogs so I would be reckless to take him to a off leash dog park , if another dog entered my yard and got attacked I would not have been reckless.  So same Result - dog attacked ....but my actions and culpability are very different in the 2 scenarios .

Jet :D

RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #35 on: November 17, 2014, 08:54:13 AM »
Just look out for this one  :D

Offline berlitza

« Reply #36 on: November 17, 2014, 10:24:54 AM »

dog looks like a bloody dangerous menace to society, he could drown you with that tounge  ;D   :cheers:

« Reply #37 on: November 17, 2014, 05:32:33 PM »

Next door neighbor had one of those "cockers".....dumbest dog I ever saw !!

« Reply #38 on: November 17, 2014, 10:08:05 PM »
Next door neighbor had one of those "cockers".....dumbest dog I ever saw !!
Yep you get that, the dogs iq gradually degenerates to the average level of the neighbourhood  :angel: :angel:

« Reply #39 on: November 17, 2014, 10:40:25 PM »
Yep you get that, the dogs iq gradually degenerates to the average level of the neighbourhood  :angel: :angel:

;D ;D  or the owner !!

bentnose

« Reply #40 on: November 18, 2014, 10:09:29 AM »
Why own such a dog. I will never understand why people don't want friendly dogs. Why have a dog that needs to be restrained if it was a person they would be locked up.
Owner needs a smack over the head. I feel sorry for the shepherd.
I have 3 dogs and they all bite. If anyone comes near me, my missus, my ute, our home with bad attitude watch out because they will ark up. Can they be soft absolutely gentle, yes. For instance we have three cats they eat from the dogs bowls cuddle up and will sleep with each other etc.
Having said that I am very aware of what they are capable of so go to lengths to protect them from situations that could get out of hand. Most of my neighbours have had theft and break ins over the years, Not Me!. The drunken, drugged up colored flickwits responsible for most of the crime go out of their way to avoid my house and that's why I have dogs that bite!

Offline berlitza

« Reply #41 on: November 18, 2014, 09:07:18 PM »
to prove my point somewhere in this thread, this highly trained russian military k9 gets it very very wrong
(watch till the end  ;D ) theres no blood or guts involved

Russian Border dogs Vicious Attack [GRAPHIC WARNING]

« Reply #42 on: November 18, 2014, 09:19:00 PM »
to prove my point somewhere in this thread, this highly trained russian military k9 gets it very very wrong
(watch till the end  ;D ) theres no blood or guts involved

Russian Border dogs Vicious Attack [GRAPHIC WARNING]

Nothing quite like a bit of "Barry White" for background music  :cheers:

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #43 on: November 19, 2014, 08:44:38 AM »
Thats gold :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

J

RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline sschmez

• sschmez's "Huts" photos on flickr
« Reply #44 on: November 19, 2014, 07:27:02 PM »
there ya go
"assess the threat"
react accordingly....

seriously though, there's some highly trained dogs out there and they're not the problem.
It's the untrained and unsocialised involved every time. (dogs and owners).

Stevo

Offline JU5T1N

Dog Owners - You are Warned.
« Reply #45 on: November 19, 2014, 09:03:40 PM »
What this man did to his dangerous dog...
http://youtu.be/lRobtKX6glw

Nissan whore:
Nissan Patrol GUramax (Stripped by ADC)
Nissan Skyline R33 GTR V-spec 480awkw
Nissan Skyline R34 GTR M-spec 830awkw (NOW SOLD)