Author Topic: Need some help picking a new camper  (Read 6577 times)

Offline yumpet

Need some help picking a new camper
« on: April 23, 2013, 10:05:13 PM »
Hey all, first post here only found this site last night by accident and am glad I did! At the moment we have an old obrien camper and it has been GREAT! However the time has come to upgrade, I need some advice on what camper will beat suit my needs, I need a camper that will fit the wife, me and 4 kids ranging from 18 months to 12, what are the best options, bearing in mind I need something I can take anywhere and I am on a budget of around 10k new or second hand doesn't bother me so fire away with some ideas please

Chris
04 Patrol dragging a lifestyle platinum on coils

Offline Socks

• New to all this ........
Re: Need some help picking a new camper
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2013, 10:49:45 PM »
Where are you located? If you're in Sydney go to the caravan and camping show and check them all out. I was surprised at how many different types there are and had a great time checking them all out at the show on the weekend.
Weso's SWMBO
3 munchkins

Nissan Navara 2008 D22 & Leisure Matters hard floor Ranger

Offline Smithyworld

« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2013, 10:58:15 PM »
I second the recommendation of going to the Caravan and Camping show. We also went there last Sunday looking for a camper up to $10k however we couldn't go past the Jayco Outback. So beware you may spend more than you plan too! ;-)

Chris

Ford Ranger Wildtrak and Jayco Outback Eagle 2013

www.chrissmithphotography.com.au

« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2013, 11:03:54 PM »
Search the show, find what ideas you like, then go and buy second hand.. some $30k trailers are $8-15k cheaper than new and only 2yrs old.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2013, 11:11:26 PM by Lost »

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2013, 11:10:02 PM »
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=28175.0 (A heck of allot of camper for 10k!!!!!)
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29276.0 (great budget camper)
http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Automotive/Caravans/Caravans/AdNumber=TP005527877 (a little over budget but is negotiable, will go anywhere, gives you allot of room and TWO full size beds)
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29162.0 (Nothing to do)
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29069.0 ( Drifta is a great bit of kit and it has it ALL)
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=28817.0 ( Trackabout, great bit of kit)
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=28482.0 (Tambos are great too)
http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Automotive/Caravans/AdNumber=TP005548743 (Nearly new)

Seriously This is about a 5 min search on just the first page of the trader here on myswag. All of these campers could suit you with what you have said. And all of these are incredible value for money.
The down side to campers at the moment is it is a buyers market, so camper trailers have dropped in price for used trailers. The upside is you get FAR more for your money on a used trailer for much less cash.
Some of the campers listed there are well in excess of 20k new and also have extras fitted that you would not have to do.

If you provide a bit more info on what you are chasing then we can try to help point you in the right direction.
but with what you have already said I think the trackshak could easily cope with all the people and go anywhere you want to go. They are built like the proverbial.
Hope that helped in some way mate,

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2013, 11:11:07 PM »
Quote from: evolution
Seriously This is about a 5 min search on just the first page of the trader here on myswag. All of these campers could suit you with what you have said. And all of these are incredible value for money.
the issue is he probably doesn't know model from model... so $10k maybe a bargain, or it maybe an Ebay-double-retail bargain. :)

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2013, 11:17:11 PM »
the issue is he probably doesn't know model from model... so $10k maybe a bargain, or it maybe an Ebay-double-retail bargain. :)

True, mybad I didn't think of that.
If any of those suited my needs I would certainly be able to sleep soundly after purchasing though.
Not wanting to sound bias, but out of those I think either the first or 3rd would be the ones I would be hitting up first.
but in saying that all are either great brands or in Reols case built to last and then some.

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2013, 08:40:07 AM »
Certainly need more info.
Onroad / off road.   What are you towing it with. Where would you take it.
Where do you live will make a difference. No good driving to the other side of Australia to save few dollars. Also if you buy new locally it will be easier to go back if there is an issue.

Definitely the shows are the best place to start. Look at everything up to 25k. To see the difference in what you get for $
Also look at the workmanship of the display model. This should give you an idea if their quality. For example I quickly ruled out a few when I saw different tech screws holding each corner if a sink or holes where they had a second attempt at fitting something. Weld quality. Speak to the salesman. I found that the ones who built them and were passionate about theirs had the better quality. The ones that were more like used car salesman had the lesser quality.

Don't forget not all makers display at the shows as it costs a fair few$ for a spot.  I went with an Aussue Jays who don't go to the shows. The were local and when I went there they were great and passionate about it.  $10,500 for everything I needed.

Offline Jjw1234

« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2013, 09:06:31 AM »
Another vote for aussie jays. Hopefully picking ours up within the week

Offline MDSimpson

• 2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 Prado
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2013, 09:32:07 AM »
Welcome Chris...
I second the recommendation of going to the Caravan and Camping show. We also went there last Sunday looking for a camper up to $10k however we couldn't go past the Jayco Outback. So beware you may spend more than you plan too! ;-)

Yumpet, make the trip to a camper show, if your not in Sydney or cannot get to the Sydney one, there are others.
Nothing beats a hands on touchy feelly look at these things.

I have a Jayco Flamingo, and we love it. There are 5 of us, youngest is 12, eldest is 18. My two boys will either sleep in swags or camp stretchers in the annex, my 'Princess' daughter is in the double bed and wife and I in the queen.  Works for us...
2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 D4D Prado. Lets get out there...

Offline Lori

« Reply #10 on: April 24, 2013, 05:15:56 PM »
A little info on how you camp or some features you would really like.

When I was searching I wanted a walk up camper, so that quickly cut out quite a few campers.

My 12 yr old daughter much prefers to sleep in her own tent (that she is responsible for erecting and packing)

I wasn't too fussed on the kitchen because I was planning on replacing it with a drifta kitchen, so the more basic the better.

Didn't need to pay extra for a 12v system, we could do that cheaper ourselves.

Our 12foot tent holds three stretchers with plenty of spare room.

If you make a list of must haves and a list of wants, we can help you out a little better.

Offline yumpet

« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2013, 10:36:46 PM »
Ok guys that's for the replys, I intend to take it right off the beater track, just done a trip to Cameron's corner and that was a warm up. It's being towed by a 04 patrol 3.0L and m located in orange NSW, I spose I'm just looking for a few ideas on models I might have missed

« Reply #12 on: April 26, 2013, 12:31:08 PM »
G'day Yumpet........... welcome to Myswag.

I'd be looking for a well cared for 2nd hand Aussie Made CT......... You'll do well with $10,000, I'd be seriously chasing anything with the name Trackabout on it!. I really wouldn't be looking for a huge tent, with regards to having the kids in tow....... even a Tracky with a 9' tent I reckon will do.... 2 x bunk beds, and u have 4 kids up off the ground.... I've never owned one of the big tents, but they just look like a whole lot of canvas, that in my view is not necessary....... just my opinion.....

Happy hunting.

Barrabart.

« Reply #13 on: April 26, 2013, 05:29:54 PM »
There's a few of us camping at Rydall at the end of May, come along and see what you like in some of those campers.

Sounds like you need another soft floor to cater for the family, and a full off road camper to get you all there and back.

Offline Terry W4

• Retired - loving every minute of it
« Reply #14 on: April 26, 2013, 08:20:59 PM »
I have been going through the same exercise. Budget $16,000 - cosidered hard floor - can get imported type for that but quality Oz builds more expensive. So have convinced my self to but an ex-hire Johnnos off road premium. Happy to spend the money on a quality one of theirs - the finsish is stunning and they are strong.

Terry - Canberra ACT
2008 Prado 120 D4D and 2009 Swan Outback
Blog Travels with Terry: https://terrywalls.wordpress.com

« Reply #15 on: April 26, 2013, 08:46:05 PM »
I have been going through the same exercise. Budget $16,000 - cosidered hard floor - can get imported type for that but quality Oz builds more expensive. So have convinced my self to but an ex-hire Johnnos off road premium. Happy to spend the money on a quality one of theirs - the finsish is stunning and they are strong.

Terry W4,

Mate you can get a Trackabout Kakadu with upgrades for those sort of $$............ Brand new!.......... Just saying.

Offline V8CRSA

• Just waiting to hit the open road again......
« Reply #16 on: April 27, 2013, 07:45:11 PM »
Hi Chris,

We are selling a mountain trailer camper that would suit what you are looking for.
Please have a look at the link http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29449.0
Fully Australian built with Australian canvas, very large 10' tent,33" inch mud tyres and ready to go any where your 4wd can tow it.
Just a bit over your 10k mark, but we have ordered a new camper and need to sell......so would be happy to deal.

Give us a call or an email if your interested.

cheers, Matt
2013 GXL TTD 200 SERIES CRUISER
Not quite "ATS" but working on it

« Reply #17 on: April 28, 2013, 08:41:50 AM »
Hi Chris,

We are selling a mountain trailer camper that would suit what you are looking for.
Please have a look at the link http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29449.0
Fully Australian built with Australian canvas, very large 10' tent,33" inch mud tyres and ready to go any where your 4wd can tow it.
Just a bit over your 10k mark, but we have ordered a new camper and need to sell......so would be happy to deal.

Give us a call or an email if your interested.

cheers, Matt

THATS A BARGAIN RIGHT THERE WAITING FOR SOMEONE!! :cheers:

« Reply #18 on: April 28, 2013, 09:02:01 AM »
yumpet Welcome to MySwag  .  l have my CT up 4 sale . Chech it out in CT classified section here . lf you want info PM me .
The Black Pearl  has been to Birdsville then home through Camerons ,, followed me where ever we went or wanted to go . ldeal base camp with 180 AMP hour battery , Trig hitch , big spring pack, 5 storage compartments & under 5 K
 l have decided to upgrade & want the Pearl to go to a good home to continue the adventuers . As seen in CT Austraila a double prize winner in the "Good ldea  Section "  Worth a good look  Priced to go  :cheers:
« Last Edit: April 28, 2013, 01:33:48 PM by speewa158 »

Offline V8CRSA

« Reply #19 on: April 28, 2013, 12:50:49 PM »
THATS A BARGAIN RIGHT THERE WAITING FOR SOMEONE!! :cheers:

:cheers: the chq is in the mail

cheers  Matt

Offline yumpet

« Reply #21 on: May 01, 2013, 10:37:16 AM »
Quote from: yumpet
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29449.0

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=28175.0

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29458.0
Any of them will do the job. They are all goo d units

Ask the sellers for more photos if thats what you need. Go adn look at them get a feel for what they are about.

I'd create a spreadsheet with options you WANT, NEED and what the trailers have...

Offline V8CRSA

« Reply #22 on: May 01, 2013, 06:46:14 PM »
OK guys narrowing it down slightly

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29449.0

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=28175.0

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29458.0

or the wildcard

http://bluetonguecampers.com.au/products-page/camper-trailers/off-road-trekka-camper

Help me please..........

As the owner of one of the ones your interested in, I can say that any of the first 3 you would be very happy with.
If you need anymore info or pictures or just want a chat please feel free to contact us.

cheers  matt

Offline yumpet

« Reply #23 on: May 01, 2013, 09:15:00 PM »
Well things have changed slightly now I have a couple of grand less to play with :-( absolute max of 9k