Author Topic: New to us 2009 Goldstream Storm Offroad  (Read 19344 times)

Offline landbarge

New to us 2009 Goldstream Storm Offroad
« on: November 23, 2015, 10:33:54 AM »
Roughly........

5300kms

91 hours away, comprising;

60 hours driving.
18 hours sleeping.
3 hours at bloke's house inspecting and purchasing.
8 hours setting up/packing up camps, cooking dinner, cleaning and eating, few coldies.
2 hours exploring caves, lookouts, watching protest at Ceduna.

A trip from Perth to Adelaide return with my best mate.

Pics to follow when I can work out how to reduce file size of attachments from phone.

There is a lot to do, ( the van is untouched from new) starting with dust proofing.  Ffs what a terrible effort from factory.

I will be scouring MySwag for hints and tips for young players...

Re: New to us 2009 Goldstream Storm Offroad
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2015, 11:13:25 AM »
Well done, looks great. Hope she serves you well!

Offline landbarge

« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2015, 03:14:34 PM »
Thanks D4D. It will be with us for a while.

Offline Muckinhell

• 2014 Ecomate traveller forward fold.
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2015, 05:13:35 PM »
as of this sun i will be in the market for a goldstream as well, so watching with interest. nice camper.
2005 HDJ100r Sahara
Better to look at it, than for it!

« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2015, 06:21:27 PM »
Welcome to myswag Landbarge
Must off done a deal to drive that far to pick a camper

CHEERS GRC   :cheers:

Offline landbarge

« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2015, 08:44:30 PM »
as of this sun i will be in the market for a goldstream as well, so watching with interest. nice camper.
I think I have studied all and sundry in the market. Hard to sort the wheat from the chaff.
Some are stand out bargains, others modded and want way above market prices (probably how I will end up wanting to sell mine in future lol).

Offline landbarge

« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2015, 08:47:37 PM »
Welcome to myswag Landbarge
Must off done a deal to drive that far to pick a camper

CHEERS GRC   :cheers:
Thanks grc.
The planets aligned for the timing to get the camper.
I love a road trip.

Offline landbarge

« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2015, 09:05:00 PM »
Roughly........

5300kms

91 hours away, comprising;

60 hours driving.
18 hours sleeping.
3 hours at bloke's house inspecting and purchasing.
8 hours setting up/packing up camps, cooking dinner, cleaning and eating, few coldies.
2 hours exploring caves, lookouts, watching protest at Ceduna.

A trip from Perth to Adelaide return with my best mate.

Pics to follow when I can work out how to reduce file size of attachments from phone.

There is a lot to do, ( the van is untouched from new) starting with dust proofing.  Ffs what a terrible effort from factory.

I will be scouring MySwag for hints and tips for young players...

Also...

There are 4 of us.
Me, the Minister of Fun and Finance, Miss 6 and Miss 5.
We started looking for different versions of what camper would suit us as a growing family. We settled on what camper would get my wife truly enthused about being outside and getting amongst it again.

Offline axle

« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2015, 10:00:49 PM »
Welcome to the Goldstream Club mate. You wont regret it. We love ours and have done heaps of free camping and caravan parks.  :cup:
« Last Edit: November 23, 2015, 11:13:16 PM by axle »
2009 PK Ranger and 2011 Goldstream Storm RL

Offline landbarge

« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2015, 10:08:50 PM »
Well to the Goldstream Club mate. You wont regret it. We love ours and have done heaps of free camping and caravan parks.  :cup:
Thanks for the kind words.

Offline landbarge

« Reply #10 on: November 23, 2015, 10:31:41 PM »
Thanks for the kind words.

Hi Axle.

How have you managed to keep the dust out? We got a filthy film over most surfaces and 1/2 a cup near the door.

Offline axle

« Reply #11 on: November 23, 2015, 11:17:52 PM »
Hi Axle.

How have you managed to keep the dust out? We got a filthy film over most surfaces and 1/2 a cup near the door.

We haven't had a major problem, but haven't done extended drives on very dusty roads as yet. Any camper that has vents (ie gas vent in door, fridge vents) will have some dust problems. Does yours have a small spring-loaded rectangular vent in the roof? You can pop this open before you embark on dusty roads, it keeps positive air pressure inside the van and pushes air out the vents. Stopping dust coming in. (well that's the theory, we haven't really tested ours).

Something a little like this

Offline landbarge

« Reply #12 on: November 23, 2015, 11:34:19 PM »
Ah the old pressure plate in roof trick. Yes it has one but it is not as good as that. The factory one is hinged so that when opened the air isn't rammed in to the camper. The version you posted is very much like what is in ute canopies and an option for us as an upgrade. That or a snorkel head. These big fkrs did not help.
I was expecting dust but not as much as we got.

Offline axle

« Reply #13 on: November 23, 2015, 11:52:40 PM »
Ah the old pressure plate in roof trick. Yes it has one but it is not as good as that. The factory one is hinged so that when opened the air isn't rammed in to the camper. The version you posted is very much like what is in ute canopies and an option for us as an upgrade.

I'll have a look at mine and let you know.......ok I'm back.
This is the best I could do in the dark standing on my rubbish bin with an iPhone.

« Last Edit: November 23, 2015, 11:54:38 PM by axle »

« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2015, 07:23:21 AM »
Welcome Landbarge,

Well done with your pick up. You can now put your mark on it with the many Mods you will do.
All the best,

Offline landbarge

« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2015, 06:31:22 PM »
Thanks Rob C. The bank balance is first????

Offline landbarge

« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2015, 06:35:49 PM »
I'll have a look at mine and let you know.......ok I'm back.
This is the best I could do in the dark standing on my rubbish bin with an iPhone.
I am pretty certain that is the same. When open it stands vertical with a gap between the lowest edge and the roof. This lets air go through rather than being rammed in.

Offline PenUltimate Destinations

• PenUltimate Destinations
« Reply #17 on: November 24, 2015, 09:28:40 PM »
Welcome! Gotta love a road trip!

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Dave Youl

2015 Ultimate Xterra
2006 Lexus LX470
Our blog - http://youl.id.au

Offline landbarge

« Reply #18 on: November 24, 2015, 09:43:09 PM »
I am pretty certain that is the same. When open it stands vertical with a gap between the lowest edge and the roof. This lets air go through rather than being rammed in.

You were generous enough to boldly go into the night for a pic and I had nothing to compare.

Offline landbarge

« Reply #19 on: November 24, 2015, 10:00:28 PM »
Welcome! Gotta love a road trip!

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk
Yes indeed. LOVE a road trip

Offline axle

« Reply #20 on: November 24, 2015, 10:21:56 PM »

You were generous enough to boldly go into the night for a pic and I had nothing to compare.

Looks the same. Haven't used mine but if it does sit up straight it wouldn't b so useful.

Offline landbarge

« Reply #21 on: November 24, 2015, 11:33:16 PM »
Yep. That pic of the road train I posted was on the Hyden-Norseman rd.
 Regardless of the ram air effect of fresh air, (making a positive pressure zone in the camper) with that amount of dust to drive through a filtered snorkel head would possibly be best.
TBD

Offline landbarge

« Reply #22 on: November 25, 2015, 11:23:32 PM »
Go for it. The Minister of Effin and Fightin loves it. She is planning trips for the first time since for ever...
Where are you Muckinhell?

Offline landbarge

« Reply #23 on: November 25, 2015, 11:31:49 PM »
Welcome Landbarge,

Well done with your pick up. You can now put your mark on it with the many Mods you will do.
All the best,

Umm well Bunnings is on the way home. I just went in to have a look...80 bucks down on sealant tape. I have issues

Offline Muckinhell

• 2014 Ecomate traveller forward fold.
« Reply #24 on: November 26, 2015, 04:39:06 PM »
im in Hervey Bay, just across from fraser island.
2005 HDJ100r Sahara
Better to look at it, than for it!