Author Topic: Carlisle needs your help  (Read 34594 times)

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
Carlisle needs your help
« on: October 22, 2011, 11:33:41 AM »

Fellow travellers,

I write to you with an entreaty and a promise, as someone who loves his job.  8)

If you only buy one issue of Camper Trailer Australia this year, make it issue 46, on sale October 26th. It concludes our big Kimberley Expedition, and has a DVD of the whole trip on the cover.

This is more of a call to arms than an advertisement, so no apologies for posting it in the General Discussions. One of my greatest passions is filmmaking, and that’s under threat. ???

You see, the bean counters at Camper Trailer Australia have given me a bit of an ultimatum. It went something like, “Carlisle, either your Kimberley DVD sells a few extra copies of the magazine, or there will be no more DVDs for the magazine.”
“Are you crazy?” I said, arms in the air. “I have a few friends whose kids have watched that Cape York DVD we did last year so many times, it’s become a form of torture for mom and dad.” Yet, my protestations fell on deaf ears.

So please, help me to do what I love. Help me to convince these old buggers that it’s worth everyone’s time to keep doing these things. Like I said at the top, if you don’t even usually buy the magazine, pick this one up. Have a look at what we’ve done with a couple of cameras and a month in the bush.

It’s now or never. Thanks everyone!

And as for the promise – if you catch up with me in the bush, remind me that you looked after me and I’ll have a cold beer in a CTA stubby cooler in your hand before you can say ‘Strewth!’  :cheers:

Carlisle
Living the Dream

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
Re: Carlisle needs your help
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2011, 11:41:34 AM »
I hope it works out for you. Personally I enjoyed the style of your Cape DVD.

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

Offline kiwimark

« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2011, 11:52:36 AM »
Who needs bean counters. Just trying to justify a job behind a desk and jealous. Love your work.

« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2011, 11:57:11 AM »
Hi Carlisle,
Best of luck mate.We always buy the mag anyway.
Top quality read!

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2011, 12:06:35 PM »
Hi Carlisle,
Best of luck mate.We always buy the mag anyway.
Top quality read!

Guess I owe you a few beers...

Carlisle
Living the Dream

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2011, 12:06:52 PM »
I have to say that I dont normally buy your mag, would grab one occasionally if I needed a read but not to often.
I bought the last issue and boy, loved it. In fact was tempted to subscribe. Ill definately buy the lastest issue and more than likely subscribe. Keep up the great mag.
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2011, 12:27:24 PM »
Sorry Carlisle, but I believe I won't be much help.
We subscribe, and thoroughly enjoy every anticipated issue.

Good luck. The Cape video was excellent!! :cup:

Geoff

Offline Duchess

• "Its not as hard as you think, you know."
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2011, 12:39:56 PM »
What the...!? No more DVDs because they don't sell magazines!? Rubbish!

I thought you guys were planning on a few more DVDs than you have done and have been surprised to not have seen as many with the mag.

+1 for getting this issue with the Kimberley trip.

"I've got one job on this ship. It's stupid but I'm going to do it!"

www.duchessandthedukeontour.blogspot.com.au

« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2011, 12:48:03 PM »
Ok then I will, about that Beer,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ;D

Offline morgue

« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2011, 01:06:32 PM »
I'll throw a couple of scheckles over the counter for a mag to help out....

You could come at it from a different angle....convince the bean counters to create a tablet app (andriod or iOS) for the CT Mag...then with the app you can throw in a few videos....

« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2011, 01:23:50 PM »
What $$$ driven BS............

My kids, mates and fellow travellers love the DVD's,

I'm going to buy a couple to help out and spread the word as best I can.
My little fella loves nothing more than watching his "outback" dvd collection.

beats the hell out of simpsons and all that other rot.

Cheers, and I'll shout the beers when we do catch up!

« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2011, 01:55:15 PM »
Carlisle, how about shouting any Myswag member a CTA stubbie cooler when they post up a pic in this thread of themselves holding Issue #46 of Camper Trailer Australia and the Kimberley DVD.

Come on, we'll help you out if you help us out.

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2011, 02:13:37 PM »
^
Quid pro quo Carlisle ;D
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

« Reply #13 on: October 22, 2011, 02:17:27 PM »
whats a Mom?

« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2011, 02:17:45 PM »
Hang on, isn't issue 46 the one that has the Myswag Cape Trip in it?  All you need to do is say that and everyone on this forum will buy one.

« Reply #15 on: October 22, 2011, 02:22:08 PM »
Hang on, isn't issue 46 the one that has the Myswag Cape Trip in it?  All you need to do is say that and everyone on this forum will buy one.

No need to buy the magazine Symon, we've all seen the comprehensive trip report already and also seen the video. 

Oh that's right the so called video is still coming isn't it?

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #16 on: October 22, 2011, 02:23:06 PM »
No need to buy the magazine Symon, we've all seen the comprehensive trip report already and also seen the video. 

And poor Troy is still holding his breath!

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

« Reply #17 on: October 22, 2011, 02:26:04 PM »
Carlisle, how about shouting any Myswag member a CTA stubbie cooler when they post up a pic in this thread of themselves holding Issue #46 of Camper Trailer Australia and the Kimberley DVD.

Come on, we'll help you out if you help us out.

Great idea :D

« Reply #18 on: October 22, 2011, 02:27:42 PM »

Yes I know, it is coming.... had a few issues that I am still sorting out.

« Reply #19 on: October 22, 2011, 02:37:41 PM »
Quote from bigjules July 06, 2010
"Commercial operators who participate on the forum are welcome,.................However, that welcome does not extend to  blatant self promotion in any area other than Showroom Floor."

We can probably overlook your slight breach of the Rules for the Showroom Floor vendors if the stubbie coolers are forthcoming.

EDIT:  or a fridge would be even better.

« Last Edit: October 22, 2011, 02:55:20 PM by Gunna Do »

« Reply #20 on: October 22, 2011, 02:41:18 PM »
And poor Troy is still holding his breath!
HA  ;D

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
« Reply #21 on: October 22, 2011, 02:43:23 PM »

Symon,

Indeed, mate. My personal favourite shot from the article is a Mazda towing an Aussie Swag down what has to be Gunshot (that's what I wrote in the caption!). The drop looks fun, but what really makes the shot is the bloke holding a can of XXXX Gold checking out the clearance on the stone guard.

Mom is seppo for Muther.

And a stubby cooler for everyone, eh. I have a better idea. Post a pic of you with issue 46/ DVD and I will randomly pick one winner. I think I should be able to get a fridge to put up on the block. Question TBA.

Carlisle
Living the Dream

« Reply #22 on: October 22, 2011, 02:48:52 PM »
Top effort Carlisle :cheers:

« Reply #23 on: October 22, 2011, 03:01:01 PM »
My personal favourite shot from the article is a Mazda towing an Aussie Swag down what has to be Gunshot (that's what I wrote in the caption!). The drop looks fun, but what really makes the shot is the bloke holding a can of XXXX Gold checking out the clearance on the stone guard.

That would be this one?  ;D

26th October you say? I'll be on the look out for it.

« Reply #24 on: October 22, 2011, 05:17:04 PM »
I subscribe - and have done so for a few years now.