Author Topic: Intro from an average family  (Read 5308 times)

Offline oztraveller

• Family of 6
Intro from an average family
« on: November 29, 2011, 10:55:53 AM »
Hi There
I am not new to myswag I have been around for yonks but its time to contribute if I am going to start asking questions ;)

We are a family of 5...mum, dad and 3 kids 10, 15, 17. We have been tent camping for years but it is time to get a camper trailer. We haven't decided what to get yet but in the new year we will start looking seriously and see what our budget will allow us.

We have done a fair amount of travelling around oz in various forms and we are now looking forward to doing some of the more iconic locations before the kids get too old to be seen with mum and dad :)

« Last Edit: November 29, 2011, 10:57:54 AM by oztraveller »

Re: born again
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2011, 11:00:44 AM »
G'day Oztraveller and welcome to Myswag.  Looks like a soft floor camper will suit a tribe such as yours. It may be a big big once the 15 and 17 yr olds move on though. Good luck with the decision process. :cheers:

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2011, 11:10:42 AM »
Quote from: Snow
It may be a big big once the 15 and 17 yr olds move on though.
Welcome .
I agree with the above. Ken and Barbie have a Hardfloor Kimberley, with 2x teenage sons who sleep in tents. They want their own space as apparently it aint cool to sleep with the olds.

Re: Intro from an average family
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2011, 12:17:54 PM »
Hi Oz & Family

Offline Tracey family

« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2011, 12:30:06 PM »
Welcome to my swag!

Our two teenagers used to love camping with us but have both left home in the last 6 months. We now have too much space in our 10ft tent!

Have fun with the research and eventual purchase.

:cheers: Glenyse

« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2011, 02:21:22 PM »
Welcome and have fun deciding what you want.

Offline AJ150

« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2011, 02:53:27 PM »
Welcome  to myswag oztraveller.

AJ150

« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2011, 02:56:18 PM »
Our youngest is 19.  We thought she had left home.

She still books in to camping trips with the "Rents"  (Parents who pay the Rent).

Oh, and welcome.

Offline watto11

• http://www.facebook.com/pages/Watsonfamilycamping/165262510248075
Intro from an average family
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2011, 03:07:09 PM »
Welcome mate enjoy the purchase process then follow up with the mods

« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2011, 04:37:29 PM »
Hi Oztraveller Welcome to My Swag as said tents for the kids maybe a good idea

« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2011, 05:07:13 PM »

All good advice above. My 8yo daughter even likes to sleep in my swag when we let her, thogfh we're keen for her to be inside for a feew more years yet.

« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2011, 07:08:21 PM »
Hi oztraveller and welcome to My Swag

Offline gruesome

• Don't follow me I'm LOST
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2011, 08:10:15 PM »
G'Day Oztraveller welcome to the site ,
cheers Andy
2001 Prado OME coils and springs, bfg 265/75/16, UHF, Warn 9000lb winch
dual batteries, snorkel, draw  system, TJM bar, hella lights
Complete Campsite trailer

« Reply #13 on: November 29, 2011, 08:15:46 PM »
G'day Oztraveller
Welcome to the forum.Good luck with the camper choice.

« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2011, 08:26:02 PM »
Welcome.

What I would do is get the camper to suite what you will need for the next few years and get the older kids a small tent. You can easily get a 4 man tent for not much money and they can set them up themselves ;D If it all gets to much now and then with weather then you can squeeze into the camper but mostly give them a self inflatable mattress, a light and sleeping bag and off they go for the night. You never know, they may even find a boyfriend/girl friend to share it with :angel:

Offline oztraveller

• Family of 6
« Reply #15 on: November 30, 2011, 11:34:35 AM »
Thanks for the welcomes everyone.

Our eldest is 22, she has moved out and the 17yo is already not willing to come camping with us any more locally but we make him come on big family holidays!

Soft floor is for us at this stage, the youngest still have a few more years left before they are too embarrassed to be around mum and dad and they sometimes like to bring friends.

We do have other tents and things they can use if they wish and at times they prefer to be in their own tent rather than in the main family one.

We also like the ability to set up an awning or extra room or two for our own space when we are staying at one place for longer periods so I think a soft floor is the only way we will achieve that.

We are hoping to find a well made second hand camper that has pretty good offroad ability for around 6k or so. It doesnt have to have many mod cons id prefer to mod it myself but I guess we will just see what happens at the time. :)

« Reply #16 on: November 30, 2011, 12:01:45 PM »
Hi oztraveller

You'll find a camper that will suit you.

They want their own space as apparently it aint cool to sleep with the olds.

Hmm, we have the eldest, a 13 year old daughter who needs "Her Space" atm 
So it looks like a tent is on the way. then the middle one will want to join her sister, and then the young bloke(9) will be happy, No girls inside the camper.  :D

Anyway, oztraveller,

« Reply #17 on: November 30, 2011, 10:37:51 PM »
Hi and welcome to the Forum, soft floor sounds the go :D

Offline flamingo

« Reply #18 on: December 06, 2011, 06:47:50 PM »
  Gday Oztraveller! Welcome aboard. Youll get plenty of help here!!
  Amasso57 our Daughter's 30 she loves coming camping with us!!   :cheers: Phil
Go Tigers!
2005 Navara
2011 Jayco Flamingo

Offline POD

• Just get out there!
« Reply #19 on: December 06, 2011, 07:20:18 PM »
Average intro. . .

Sorry, couldn't help myself!

Welcome to the nut-house!
"Never trust an internet quote." - Thomas Jefferson

« Reply #20 on: December 06, 2011, 07:27:03 PM »
We do have other tents and things they can use if they wish and at times they prefer to be in their own tent rather than in the main family one.

Welcome!  The BF's kid has now turned 18 but isn't planning to re-nest anytime soon.  I didn't want him sleeping on the floor of the camper ... I like My Own Space ... so he has a 30 second tent that is his responsibility to put up, make comfy and put down.  He likes to put it at least 2k's from our camper, but always seems to hover around for food no matter the time of day.  He has a guitar that he's self learning, so I insist that if he plays it near the CT, it's gotta be songs I like ...  ;D

Offline ralphedward

« Reply #21 on: December 06, 2011, 08:17:59 PM »
I hear you my friend,

Mine are 20, 16 & 12 and it doesn't matter what I choose - it's wrong. ???

Take my advice and please yourself, as long as it's comming out of your wallet they may complain but they will fit in!!!!

SWMBO made me do it (whatever it was I did)!
VW Amarok & 'Cooper' the Tambo.

Offline Newsman

« Reply #22 on: December 09, 2011, 11:19:57 PM »
We have done a fair amount of travelling around oz in various forms and we are now looking forward to doing some of the more iconic locations before the kids get too old to be seen with mum and dad :) 

Oh the memories oztraveller... Teenage daughters hiding on the floor not wanting to be seen dead going to school in the old Honda Civic delivery vehicle...! Absolutely must have their own serarate tent... etc.

Welcome to the forum... soft floor's the go!  ;D

Offline Robertsons

« Reply #23 on: December 13, 2011, 03:59:36 PM »
kids hey
John and i were talking about when the kids have moved on we might trade the 76 series into a ute then live/work over the west. The eldest lad said that wont be any good i wont fit. Im new to myswag too, have been reading and learning heaps.

:4x4:

Always planning our next trip before the current one is over;-)