Author Topic: Howdy  (Read 4953 times)

Offline 6traveloz

Howdy
« on: January 05, 2011, 03:24:22 PM »
Hi everyone,
We are a family with 4 kids who are in the process of packing up, renting our house out and putting all our worldly possessions into a shipping container so that we can take a year off and travel oz. We have just purchased our first real camper trailer from Cooee Camper trailers in  Brisbane and are getting our rig set up as a distraction in between painting the house. The camper is already a brilliant set up with a place for nearly everything important. We will be heading from Brisbane to the NT and north WA first and see where the wind blows us after that. I am a teacher and so will be homeschooling the kids (8yrs, 6yrs, 4yrs and 2 yrs) on the road. Here is our set up so far. Any one experienced with travelling with kids or withour kids we would love your input on our set up.

Accommodation:
Off road campertrailer with tent (see old ad on here from Cooee campers) and oz trail ultramesh shadecloth for annex floor.

Bedding: King size innerspring with 3 single self inflating  mattresses (easy to clean up accidents)for the 4 kids to share.

Clothing storage management for 6: Full trailer width lockable, lined and sealed pullout drifta drawer with dividers and baskets to separate items.

Showering: A Coleman instant hotwater unit with a large flexible tub to bath the kids in. Shower tent for privacy.

Toilet: Porta potti with biomagic treatment (as well as a good shovel).

Water: 80 L water tank with a twin filter (and waterpure treatment) and 20L Jerry can for backup.

Clothes washing: Old (aluminium) Bamix presawash washing machine and retractable clothes line.

Cooking: 3 burner smev cooker with Coleman foldout oven for making bread. Also a dreampot for making an enormous range of scrumptious meals.

Crockery/cutlery/utensils/pots storage: Oates drawers fitted to kitchen.

Pantry storage: large sealed, pullout drifta drawer fitted into trailer.
Fridge: 40L waeco cool freeze. We are not sure if this will be sufficient and are pondering a 25L to use as a freezer.

Power: 130amph wetcell Trojan and 100 amph AGM (both deepcycle) with Andersen plugs for charging while driving  and 100W of solar panels while stationary. We have yet to try this setup independently for an extended period of time and may need to add additional solar panels. We prefer not to depend on a generator.

Lighting: 1 col light soon to purchase LED strip lights for additional lighting.

Furniture: The usual chair and tables.

Anything we have overlooked? Any experienced ideas are apprectiated.

Offline outback jack

Re: Howdy
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2011, 03:36:41 PM »
gday mate hope you have a great trip. its just me and the missus now (kids have flown the coop) sometimes we struggle with just a 40l fridge, so an extra one as a freezer i reckon would be a good move.
one thing extra i would take is a camp oven (i know they are heavy) but getting the kids involved with cooking a roast, dampers, cakes etc etc, adds to the fun of a trip for them

cheers, jack

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2011, 04:33:24 PM »
Jack, best of British to you.  4 children that age - you deserve a medal. 

I am heading from here, Mackay, to the NT and WA in about April (roads permitting) and I expect to be away for a few months at least.  Send me a pm when you are thinking of going.  I would be very happy to shout you a Gold on the road.

Graham
The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2011, 04:56:30 PM »
Welcome to Myswag, hope you have a good trip & hope to see lots of pictures. :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2011, 06:52:27 PM »
G'day & Welcome and good on you guys!

« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2011, 07:59:25 PM »
6traveloz Welcome to Myswag . Your off to great start your out there , happening & doing it .
You have taken the 1st step . You will go in to mods for your CT to make your CT. Ask & therte will be an answer  :cheers:

Offline 6traveloz

« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2011, 09:15:22 PM »
Thanks for the warm welcome. We are so excited!  ;D

« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2011, 02:55:19 PM »
G'day and welcome to Myswag. I hope you have a fantastic trip and remember to tell us all about it. ;D :cheers:

« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2011, 04:59:59 PM »
Gday 6traveloz

Welcome to my swag, hope you guys have great trip.

Offline chrisroche

« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2011, 08:43:45 PM »
keep the stories coming as thinking of doing the same for a shorter period and would lave to hear the progress.

Chris
Are we there yet?

2011 Pathfinder...Lifestyle Camper

« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2011, 09:04:18 PM »
Enjoy every minute and the kids will luv it. Get them to right a diary on the trip at the end of each day, In years to come they will look back with great memories. They then can add pics these days a lap top does all this with their own usb key.

Well done you will adapt and change as you travel dont worry.

« Reply #11 on: January 09, 2011, 01:47:55 AM »
Welcome to MySwag!

I hope you enjoy your new camper... it certainly has all the bells and whistles!

« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2011, 07:32:50 AM »
Welcome to the Forum and good luck on your journey

Offline Tezza1974