Author Topic: Chainsaw Safety - Should the use of PPE be legislated?  (Read 40665 times)

Re: Chainsaw Safety - Should the use of PPE be legislated?
« Reply #100 on: November 08, 2011, 11:00:24 AM »
do you guys mean this this  :cup:
Small | Large

:angel:

Offline Alloy C/T

« Reply #101 on: November 08, 2011, 11:47:43 AM »
The point being that you can legislate all you like, its another thing to be able to enforce the legislation , of the 8 people killed on Qlds roads this past weekend 7 were NOT wearing seatbelts , ,, legislate all you like , bring in more stupid OH+S rules  such as the SES requirement that before you can climb a ladder you must complete a 3day ,yes 3day course even though you may be using a ladder all day every day in your employment ,and have to renew your 'ladder certificate ' for the SES every 12mths ,,, STUPIDITTY will out be it a chainsaw user /car driver or any other activity ,,

« Reply #102 on: November 08, 2011, 11:58:49 AM »
The point being that you can legislate all you like, its another thing to be able to enforce the legislation

bingo.

I reckon we all give chainsaw racing a go
http://www.camdenshow.com.au/wp-content/upload/chainsaw-2011.pdf

« Reply #103 on: November 08, 2011, 12:05:12 PM »
so what sort of PPE gear will one need for this saw?

helmet,backbrace?

Small | Large

« Reply #104 on: November 08, 2011, 05:26:38 PM »
I didn't see helmet, earmuffs, chaps or glasses ???

But, I don't think they were going to get any kickback.....but if the chain came off at 200mph....well that might be a bit different !!

« Reply #105 on: November 08, 2011, 05:35:52 PM »
Well, after 7 pages I figured I should fess up, Guilty
« Last Edit: November 08, 2011, 05:41:03 PM by Burnsy »

Offline Pauly

• Whats This?
« Reply #106 on: November 15, 2011, 08:13:11 PM »
7 pages, sorry im too ;azy to read them all :-[

Ive been using chainsaws for 20 yrs without incident, I use em in thongs, I use em half cut, I normally have my sunnies on when using them but Im very particular about those around me. I tell those around dont touch the timber im cutting and dont stand in front of my saw. I might not be OHS standard but I believe in the Darwin solution, Darwin takes out fools  :laugh:  Im from the tradies era that said put your ladder up correctly or you will fall, respect your knives and saws or you will get cut.

Unfortunately theres plenty of Darwinites with PPE

No it shouldnt be legislated, you cant protect those without common sense.

Cheers Pauly

New ride 2005 Landcruiser Sahara, Mickey T,s, dual batts Arb Sahara Bar, HID lights :)

Self made camper

Offline outback jack

« Reply #107 on: November 15, 2011, 08:36:22 PM »
Fark i better start now than ive got a few excess kilo's to work off  ;D

bd, i saw you yesterday, "a few kilos ???" keep counting  mate  :cheers:

slender outback jack

« Reply #108 on: November 15, 2011, 08:37:18 PM »
bd, i saw you yesterday, "a few kilos ???" keep counting  mate  :cheers:

slender outback jack

:-*  :-*  :-*

Offline bobwhale

« Reply #109 on: November 15, 2011, 09:19:18 PM »
 ???bought a new hammer today,came with (safety warning use safety goggles=glasses)What about ear, finger ,wrist forearm,bicept,strain,(councelling for nail)Oh gimmy a break let common sence prevail cheers bob whale..

« Reply #110 on: November 15, 2011, 10:13:22 PM »
Quote from: Pauly
Unfortunately theres plenty of Darwinites with PPE
Extremely good point!!!!
Some people get bullet proof and very complacent when they get their suit of armour on.

Offline koshari

« Reply #111 on: November 16, 2011, 07:47:27 AM »
many people are bullet proof and complacent without PPE it as well,

i fail to see the point.

if you have PPE and dont wear it your a fool,

and as for using a chainsaw wearing thongs and while being p$$ed! i just hope that poster was taking the pi$$.

« Last Edit: November 16, 2011, 07:50:15 AM by koshari »
Code: [Select]
5M strips SMD3528x150 SMD3528x300 SMD5050*150 SMD5050x300 
LED Qty 150 pcs 300 pcs 150 pcs 300 pcs
Voltage DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V
Current(A) 1Amp 2Amp 3Amp 6Amp
Pwr 12 watt 24 watt 36 watt 72 watt

« Reply #112 on: November 16, 2011, 10:12:00 AM »
   a glimpse back to the working practices of the 1960s in the Florentine Valley behind Maydena (Tas)

« Reply #113 on: November 16, 2011, 10:18:54 AM »
   a glimpse back to the working practices of the 1960s in the Florentine Valley behind Maydena (Tas)

I'm sure the hat would provide sufficient protection from a tree that size!!lol

« Reply #114 on: November 16, 2011, 10:52:55 AM »
I'm sure the hat would provide sufficient protection from a tree that size!!lol

I remember back to  about 1977, during my first season on the FCV Summer Crew.

We were out the back of Mt  Sterling just of the Circuit Road.  The job for the day was seed havesting adjacent to an Alpine Ash logging coupe.

About 5 of us "raw recruits" settled down at lunch time with the leading hand adjacent to an Old Alpine Ash.  As it was hot (middle of February) some took their hard hats of.  Old Joe (the Leading Hand) commented "thats not a really good idea - remember the widow maker".  Most of us - except 1, put their hats back on - begrudgingly, as is was pretty sweaty under them.

Right on cue, 5 minutes later -sure enough, woosh - plunk.

A small branch came whistling downwards and embedded itself to a depth of 5 inches into the ground not 20 feet from where we sat.  It may have been only 2 or three inches diameter, but it would have made mince meat of any skull.  The remaining person without a Hard hat on made a rush for his!!

Ive never gone into Alpine Ash country without a hard hat since, at work or play.

Another incident:

In 1993 we were supervising Pine logging at Delatite Arm.  We left the logging crew mid afternoon.

Just entering Mansfield we passed the ambulance going the other way. The usuall "where's he off to in a rush".  We soon found out.

One of the loggingcrew team was sharpening his saw on a stump out in the open.  He was found deceased after a Pine snapped of at the base (it had been hit by a harvester some time previously and damaged) and fell directly on top of him.  He would have been about 20 metres from the tree, the last 5 metres of the trunk got him).

He would not have known what hit him, and no hard hat would have saved him.

its the old storey - what you can see usually wont hurt you - its what you dont that is the killer.
if you work  or play in this type of environment i believe  in maximizing your return home potential.

« Reply #115 on: November 16, 2011, 11:49:56 AM »
Well, after 7 pages I figured I should fess up, Guilty

Lucas Mill?  Good bit of gear, my cousin had one for years and cut squillions of super feet.

It looks as if the career change is working out pretty good.

« Reply #116 on: November 16, 2011, 12:27:02 PM »
Lucas Mill?  Good bit of gear, my cousin had one for years and cut squillions of super feet.

It looks as if the career change is working out pretty good.

Yep it was great bit of gear but to much capital sitting around and not enough time to dedicate to it so it got sold last year.  I am still getting calls for milling though, plenty of people wanting it done and in Perth and not many doing it.  Heaps cheaper than having trunks removed as well.  From memory, the tuart in the pictures above was cut for around $650 and the client had been quoted $1500 to have it removed by tree loppers.  Managed to save nearly a grand and get enough timber for all his kitchen benches and a nice big dining table. :cup:

Offline Pauly

• Whats This?
« Reply #117 on: November 16, 2011, 09:30:30 PM »

if you have PPE and dont wear it your a fool,

and as for using a chainsaw wearing thongs and while being p$$ed! i just hope that poster was taking the pi$$.

Lol I drink beer and bourban and use all sorts of power tools, Sorry but im 46 yrs old and have been using power tools since I was 12. On the piss or at 7 am I'll still back my commonsense and tool safety against somebody with all the ppe and no idea. A few here have seen me swing a chainsaw and I go alright in me thongs.
Dont get me wrong im not a fool, ill wear ppe when I deam it necessary but I hate to tell ya if you are wearing steel towed boots and im wearing thongs if the chainsaw hits our feet at full noise then we are both limping for a long time.

Cheers Pauly

New ride 2005 Landcruiser Sahara, Mickey T,s, dual batts Arb Sahara Bar, HID lights :)

Self made camper

Offline GLC

• Give Life Center
« Reply #118 on: November 16, 2011, 09:44:17 PM »
why does the old poster of the electrician come to mind. Pliers in hand standing at the pearly gates, "but I never had an accident in my life... except that last one" yep a smoker can go their entire life and never get cancer, the mentality of 'she'll be right' never ceases to amaze me, after all when it does happen it might be way too late.
I wonder if all the people here saying all this legislation is crap, still believe asbestos is safe and should never have been legislated out of existence?
First aid training and supplies.
First aid is NOT a bandaid solution.

Offline Tezza1974

• Hilux SR5 D4D & Lifestlye Podium CT
« Reply #119 on: November 16, 2011, 10:02:19 PM »
Champion....the way it should be......
PPE?
 I use DPT (double plugger thongs) MOS (me old sunnies) and KEFA  ( Keep every F$%^er away)  ;D

Looking for that perfect place somewhere between Peace & Quiet

Offline koshari

« Reply #120 on: November 17, 2011, 08:03:58 AM »
Lol I drink beer and bourban and use all sorts of power tools, Sorry but im 46 yrs old and have been using power tools since I was 12. On the piss or at 7 am I'll still back my commonsense and tool safety against somebody with all the ppe and no idea. A few here have seen me swing a chainsaw and I go alright in me thongs.
Dont get me wrong im not a fool, ill wear ppe when I deam it necessary but I hate to tell ya if you are wearing steel towed boots and im wearing thongs if the chainsaw hits our feet at full noise then we are both limping for a long time.

i personally dont agree with legalising PPE for to individual outside of the workplace, i believe its up to the individual to be educated well enough to make the decision themselves,

if you choose to use power tools while drunk is your buisness but trying to justify using thongs rather than boots is pure laziness, of so your example of a saw at full revs hitting the ankles may hold true to a curtain degree, glancing a toe the differences will be night and day, not to mention limbing and a brach drops down and lands on a toe,

given it takes me all of about 10 seconds to slip on my elastic sided boots its plain bone laziness at best to wear thongs.

not to mention your setting a fine example to kids who dont have the benifit of your 30 odd years of experiance.

Code: [Select]
5M strips SMD3528x150 SMD3528x300 SMD5050*150 SMD5050x300 
LED Qty 150 pcs 300 pcs 150 pcs 300 pcs
Voltage DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V
Current(A) 1Amp 2Amp 3Amp 6Amp
Pwr 12 watt 24 watt 36 watt 72 watt

Offline Pauly

• Whats This?
« Reply #121 on: November 17, 2011, 04:11:22 PM »
Funny you say about the setting of examples for kids.

I have 2 girls 13 and 15, the youngest one didnt want a go of the chainsaw but the 15 year old did. I made her put on a hat full face safety sheild, shoes, gloves and ear plugs. Im also teaching them to use lots of power tools including welding and always make them wear the appropriate safety gear, even mowing the lawn. I always get, why do we have to wear this stuff and you dont. My answer is I care more about your eyes than mine.

I seen a guy splitting wood, he had his boots on, all the safety gear etc and he commented about me collecting wood in thongs, its ok mate im keeping an eye out for snakes ;D not long after I see him swinging the axe over his head with the block of wood still on the axe, go figure.

Ps theres a big difference between being on the piss and being pissed.

Seems this forums become very touchy whilst ive been away lol.

Cheers Pauly

Self made camper

Offline outback jack

« Reply #122 on: November 17, 2011, 06:43:55 PM »

Ps theres a big difference between being on the piss and being pissed.

Seems this forums become very touchy whilst ive been away lol.

Spot on pauly, too many drama queens around

« Reply #123 on: November 17, 2011, 06:49:17 PM »
Spot on pauly, too many drama queens around
I'll  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: to that

bubba :cheers:

Offline mnemonix

« Reply #124 on: November 17, 2011, 07:41:30 PM »
Why do we need legislation against common sense?
If I wish to use a chainsaw without PPE, I expect the RIGHT to do so without law intervening. I don't see why a 3rd party needs to interfere.
Same as if a bloke wants to marry another guy, so be it. More power to him. Why do we need a law to make/prevent it, or people to involve themselves.

Too many namby pamby types have lost the use of common sense, trying to cotton wool wrap everything or interfere with the freedom of others.