Author Topic: Confined to barracks - what are we all planning for the next 6+ months?  (Read 10348 times)

Offline Wazza999

Canberrans were told by the CM to stay home, don't go to the coast and only go out if you need to, so for the retired without the necessity of work and the entire south of the territory burnt to a cinder what to do? Should have taken off a month ago!
Made a last run to Bunnings today to buy some 12mm ply for a rear shelf I'm building, not even sure if they will be deemed an essential business but presumably hardware stores have to be open  for tradies.
On the list:
1. Plane several doors that have needed fixing for ages
2. Paint the bathroom ceiling
3. Build a rear shelf for the Pajero
4. Service the camper
5. Hope for some more rain to make the ground soft enough for some garden renovations
6. Sneak across the border into the Brindabellas for an overnight camp if NPs aren't closed (almost everything closebyhas been incinerated)
7. Do a lot of walking to remove the fat buildup from a Xmas cruise around NZ  (remember them) and being housebound from the choking smoke
8. Get together with a few mates at long range to chew the fat
9. Lots of reading
10. Avoid too much Netflix
11. Replace the battery tray in the Pajero and run some wires into the cab for the driving lights and finally
12. Keep the beloved of 40 years company and stay healthy and sane.
It's going to be a wild ride, dystopia on your doorstep, just missing the Zombies.
Wazza

NT Pajero/2007 Goldstream Crown

Offline Agent009

I'm building a Western Saloon pub in my backyard - 9x6 metres
The following users thanked this post: Gandalf the White

Might dig a bloody big tunnel  to China and do what my Grandfather helped do to  the Germans in WW1  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uYOpCJCl5L4  Or see how much tea they have over there ..   >:D >:(

Seems The Chinks and "  Its all about me, I can do what ever I want "  Ignorant Attitude @$^%## Wankers in this country have cost me and my family and 10's of thousands of others an income  for god knows how long ..
« Last Edit: March 23, 2020, 01:07:21 AM by edz »

Offline moeite

Well...um...

It's looking like the car's autobox needs a valve block job. I've done 2 of them in the past (BMW ZF 4HP22) and it's a long winded fiddly job. I want to put the air suspension back into the D2. The camper needs a few mods to the electrics and a diesel heater installed. That lot, for a while at least, should keep me away from doing the back yard gardens which are an overgrown mess of grass (it looks neat and tidy but really isn't).

Then of course there's "The List" that my wife is armed with....
Mark F...
VK3KW
2002 Discovery 2 Td5 auto
2004 Outback Sturt rear fold soft floor
Http://jandmf.com

Canberrans were told by the CM to stay home, don't go to the coast and only go out if you need to, so for the retired without the necessity of work and the entire south of the territory burnt to a cinder what to do? Should have taken off a month ago!
Made a last run to Bunnings today to buy some 12mm ply for a rear shelf I'm building, not even sure if they will be deemed an essential business but presumably hardware stores have to be open  for tradies.
On the list:
1. Plane several doors that have needed fixing for ages
2. Paint the bathroom ceiling
3. Build a rear shelf for the Pajero
4. Service the camper
5. Hope for some more rain to make the ground soft enough for some garden renovations
6. Sneak across the border into the Brindabellas for an overnight camp if NPs aren't closed (almost everything closebyhas been incinerated)
7. Do a lot of walking to remove the fat buildup from a Xmas cruise around NZ  (remember them) and being housebound from the choking smoke
8. Get together with a few mates at long range to chew the fat
9. Lots of reading
10. Avoid too much Netflix
11. Replace the battery tray in the Pajero and run some wires into the cab for the driving lights and finally
12. Keep the beloved of 40 years company and stay healthy and sane.
It's going to be a wild ride, dystopia on your doorstep, just missing the Zombies.
Wazza

You might have to rethink 6,7 & 8  ?  Leaving the house for non essential stuff may get enforced if this virus doesn't slow down.

Offline KeithB

We were planning to leave for our Big Lap on Thursday of nest week. But now that's  out.
If the other States follow suit and have mandatory self isolation at the borders, we would have spent 12 weeks doing exactly that before we got back home.
Keith
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

Offline tedota

Have been in the thinking stage of making my own maxtrax holders that sit across the back of the roofrack for a while as the ones available don't seem to suit what I want. Have a rooftop tent, Bundatec awning and rear roof stop-tail lights to work around or reposition as well. I think 6 months should cover it.  8) Made a holder for the spare wheel carrier years ago with an under body ally box on it that rotates using an old jockey wheel pivot section, but it partially blocks vision when it was upright.
The following users thanked this post: Marmaduke

Online Fizzie

Quoting from the internet thread

but what about after all this finishes in a year or so?

That's going to be the interesting one, & not just for the internet ???

After "12" months of working from home, will people have / want to go back to commuting into the city every day ???

Will they just then half Newstart again after lot's of people have been living on 2 x $ for some time ???

Lot's of things may never be the same again!

Quote from: Fizzie
Quoting from the internet thread

That's going to be the interesting one, & not just for the internet ???

After "12" months of working from home, will people have / want to go back to commuting into the city every day ???

Will they just then half Newstart again after lot's of people have been living on 2 x $ for some time ???

Lot's of things may never be the same again!
Agree - lots of things will never be the same...

Also the other way around - will companies realise they dont need so many staff and offices, and those left can work from home... Will be Shit loads of empty office buildings...

Agree - lots of things will never be the same...

Also the other way around - will companies realise they dont need so many staff and offices, and those left can work from home... Will be Shit loads of empty office buildings...

Definitely. It will be a big game changer.

Online Fizzie

Re: Confined to barracks - what are we all planning for the next 6+ months?
« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2020, 01:04:21 PM »
Went into the BGS this morning to grab a couple of things.

Much busier than a normal Monday, but nobody seemed to be panic-buying huge amounts of anything.

Noticed though, that there were hardly any (only 3 - 4) tradie utes in the carpark - usually at that time of day, half the cars there are tradies!

« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2020, 01:06:38 PM »
Went into the BGS this morning to grab a couple of things.

Much busier than a normal Monday, but nobody seemed to be panic-buying huge amounts of anything.

Noticed though, that there were hardly any (only 3 - 4) tradie utes in the carpark - usually at that time of day, half the cars there are tradies!

https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/retail/bunnings-diy-garden-shopping-frenzy-as-virus-lockdown-takes-hold/news-story/413857a8c40b44af21eb90a1f88a594f

« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2020, 05:06:06 PM »
https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/retail/bunnings-diy-garden-shopping-frenzy-as-virus-lockdown-takes-hold/news-story/413857a8c40b44af21eb90a1f88a594f

Waiting on a cll from there for an order of gardening pavers.  Have a big list of other items as well.  Will take the trailer and get enough supplies for other jobs that I can do....There is only so much tv a man can take!! :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2020, 12:53:36 PM »
Confined to barracks

Mate working in town has heard that Vic is going full lockdown from weekend....

havnt seen anything on the news feeds yet....

Offline OldPaj

« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2020, 05:26:41 PM »
Confined to barracks

Mate working in town has heard that Vic is going full lockdown from weekend....

havnt seen anything on the news feeds yet....

Hope not.

I was thinking of periodically dragging the motorbike out of the shed and practicing some social distancing with big from to home non stop loops around the country side (assuming that I will still be able to fill with fuel regularly).

« Reply #15 on: March 26, 2020, 06:11:48 PM »

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk

« Reply #16 on: March 28, 2020, 04:50:24 PM »
Sprayed the yard for lawn grubs
sprayed the yard for bind's
Pressure cleaned the deck ready for a coat of oil
played a game of monopoly with the family
had some beers and chatted to the neighbor over the fence

Thats day 1 taken care of............ :'(

Tomorrow will be oil the deck, fix a shelf in the wardrobe, got a pile of timber to de-nail................... how many weeks is there to go  ???

« Reply #17 on: March 28, 2020, 05:03:03 PM »
Same, I dismantled, fixed and put back together my outside scrap wood/random crap shelves, that were water damaged and full of crap. It's been accumulating for over 10 years. Also fitted some brackets to the joists in the carport to store long timber off the ground.

« Reply #18 on: March 28, 2020, 05:36:00 PM »
Its ok for us messy grubs. Weve got plenty of time to clean up, sort out and generally organise our sheds and yards.
Just spare a thought for those poor OCD bastards. Everything is already done. They must be going stir crazy already.
The following users thanked this post: Spada, Gandalf the White, Ultimate Adventures Podcast

« Reply #19 on: March 28, 2020, 05:46:44 PM »
Sprayed the yard for lawn grubs
sprayed the yard for bind's
Pressure cleaned the deck ready for a coat of oil
played a game of monopoly with the family
had some beers and chatted to the neighbor over the fence

Thats day 1 taken care of............ :'(

Tomorrow will be oil the deck, fix a shelf in the wardrobe, got a pile of timber to de-nail................... how many weeks is there to go  ???

Spada you prompted me to quiz you on spraying lawn for grubs
Have you got a grub killing the grass?
I’m thinking I may have something killing the grass and suspect maybe a grub but they are not obvious.
What did you spray with?
The following users thanked this post: Spada

« Reply #20 on: March 28, 2020, 05:48:52 PM »
Just spare a thought for those poor OCD bastards. Everything is already done. They must be going stir crazy already.

Glenn, you obviously don't understand.... ;D

For the poor OCD bastards, everything is NEVER done....

« Reply #21 on: March 28, 2020, 05:54:40 PM »

:cup: :cup: :cup:

« Reply #22 on: March 28, 2020, 05:57:10 PM »
Glenn, you obviously don't understand.... ;D

Thats even worse. :cheers:

« Reply #23 on: March 28, 2020, 06:18:13 PM »
I’m thinking I may have something killing the grass and suspect maybe a grub but they are not obvious.
What did you spray with?

You can get Lawn grub and Black beetle killer from a hardware or nursery. Telltale signs are patcy, brown grass areas, small, white moths and 'Ponytail' wasps. They're wasps with a long, black, thin tail.
Don't use anything if you have flowers with bees foraging during the day. Do it at night, careful to avoid flower contact with the spray.
Another way to tell is to lay a wet hessian bag on your grass overnight and have a bo peep under it in the morning.
I have used and found the 'Eco Friendly' stuff available to be just that. It wouldn't kill an ant. As a matter of fact any 'Eco Friendly' stuff I've used for different applications i.e weeds etc have not worked too well.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2020, 06:21:30 PM by Steffo1 »

The following users thanked this post: Spada

Offline Mitch92

« Reply #24 on: March 28, 2020, 06:59:05 PM »
What did you spray with?

Get a bucket. Squirt some dishwashing liquid, fill it up. Pour it onto the yard in a few different spots (do a full bucket each spot).

It is amazing what comes out. Army worm is bad along the whole east coast at the moment.

Acelepryn GR comes in a 10kg bag and gives 6 month protection. To kill now try baythroid advance from Bunnings or better yet see what your local turf supplier has.
The following users thanked this post: Steffo1, Spada