General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Wazza999 on March 22, 2020, 09:54:41 PM

Title: Confined to barracks - what are we all planning for the next 6+ months?
Post by: Wazza999 on March 22, 2020, 09:54:41 PM
Canberrans were told by the CM to stay home, don't go to the coast and only go out if you need to, so for the retired without the necessity of work and the entire south of the territory burnt to a cinder what to do? Should have taken off a month ago!
Made a last run to Bunnings today to buy some 12mm ply for a rear shelf I'm building, not even sure if they will be deemed an essential business but presumably hardware stores have to be open  for tradies.
On the list:
1. Plane several doors that have needed fixing for ages
2. Paint the bathroom ceiling
3. Build a rear shelf for the Pajero
4. Service the camper
5. Hope for some more rain to make the ground soft enough for some garden renovations
6. Sneak across the border into the Brindabellas for an overnight camp if NPs aren't closed (almost everything closebyhas been incinerated)
7. Do a lot of walking to remove the fat buildup from a Xmas cruise around NZ  (remember them) and being housebound from the choking smoke
8. Get together with a few mates at long range to chew the fat
9. Lots of reading
10. Avoid too much Netflix
11. Replace the battery tray in the Pajero and run some wires into the cab for the driving lights and finally
12. Keep the beloved of 40 years company and stay healthy and sane.
It's going to be a wild ride, dystopia on your doorstep, just missing the Zombies.
Wazza

Title: Re: Confined to barracks - what are we all planning for the next 6+ months?
Post by: Agent009 on March 22, 2020, 10:50:52 PM
I'm building a Western Saloon pub in my backyard - 9x6 metres
Title: Re: Confined to barracks - what are we all planning for the next 6+ months?
Post by: edz on March 22, 2020, 11:41:14 PM
Might dig a bloody big tunnel  to China and do what my Grandfather helped do to  the Germans in WW1  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uYOpCJCl5L4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uYOpCJCl5L4)  Or see how much tea they have over there ..   >:D >:(

Seems The Chinks and "  Its all about me, I can do what ever I want "  Ignorant Attitude @$^%## Wankers in this country have cost me and my family and 10's of thousands of others an income  for god knows how long ..
Post by: moeite on March 23, 2020, 12:42:42 AM
Well...um...

It's looking like the car's autobox needs a valve block job. I've done 2 of them in the past (BMW ZF 4HP22) and it's a long winded fiddly job. I want to put the air suspension back into the D2. The camper needs a few mods to the electrics and a diesel heater installed. That lot, for a while at least, should keep me away from doing the back yard gardens which are an overgrown mess of grass (it looks neat and tidy but really isn't).

Then of course there's "The List" that my wife is armed with....
Post by: gronk on March 23, 2020, 05:44:07 AM
Canberrans were told by the CM to stay home, don't go to the coast and only go out if you need to, so for the retired without the necessity of work and the entire south of the territory burnt to a cinder what to do? Should have taken off a month ago!
Made a last run to Bunnings today to buy some 12mm ply for a rear shelf I'm building, not even sure if they will be deemed an essential business but presumably hardware stores have to be open  for tradies.
On the list:
1. Plane several doors that have needed fixing for ages
2. Paint the bathroom ceiling
3. Build a rear shelf for the Pajero
4. Service the camper
5. Hope for some more rain to make the ground soft enough for some garden renovations
6. Sneak across the border into the Brindabellas for an overnight camp if NPs aren't closed (almost everything closebyhas been incinerated)
7. Do a lot of walking to remove the fat buildup from a Xmas cruise around NZ  (remember them) and being housebound from the choking smoke
8. Get together with a few mates at long range to chew the fat
9. Lots of reading
10. Avoid too much Netflix
11. Replace the battery tray in the Pajero and run some wires into the cab for the driving lights and finally
12. Keep the beloved of 40 years company and stay healthy and sane.
It's going to be a wild ride, dystopia on your doorstep, just missing the Zombies.
Wazza

You might have to rethink 6,7 & 8  ?  Leaving the house for non essential stuff may get enforced if this virus doesn't slow down.
Post by: KeithB on March 23, 2020, 06:32:15 AM
We were planning to leave for our Big Lap on Thursday of nest week. But now that's  out.
If the other States follow suit and have mandatory self isolation at the borders, we would have spent 12 weeks doing exactly that before we got back home.
Keith
Post by: tedota on March 23, 2020, 09:17:01 AM
Have been in the thinking stage of making my own maxtrax holders that sit across the back of the roofrack for a while as the ones available don't seem to suit what I want. Have a rooftop tent, Bundatec awning and rear roof stop-tail lights to work around or reposition as well. I think 6 months should cover it.  8) Made a holder for the spare wheel carrier years ago with an under body ally box on it that rotates using an old jockey wheel pivot section, but it partially blocks vision when it was upright.
Post by: Fizzie on March 23, 2020, 09:45:41 AM
Quoting from the internet thread

but what about after all this finishes in a year or so?

That's going to be the interesting one, & not just for the internet ???

After "12" months of working from home, will people have / want to go back to commuting into the city every day ???

Will they just then half Newstart again after lot's of people have been living on 2 x $ for some time ???

Lot's of things may never be the same again!
Post by: Bird on March 23, 2020, 09:48:19 AM
Quote from: Fizzie
Quoting from the internet thread

That's going to be the interesting one, & not just for the internet ???

After "12" months of working from home, will people have / want to go back to commuting into the city every day ???

Will they just then half Newstart again after lot's of people have been living on 2 x $ for some time ???

Lot's of things may never be the same again!
Agree - lots of things will never be the same...

Also the other way around - will companies realise they dont need so many staff and offices, and those left can work from home... Will be Shit loads of empty office buildings...
Post by: plusnq on March 23, 2020, 09:52:28 AM
Agree - lots of things will never be the same...

Also the other way around - will companies realise they dont need so many staff and offices, and those left can work from home... Will be Shit loads of empty office buildings...

Definitely. It will be a big game changer.
Post by: Fizzie on March 23, 2020, 01:04:21 PM
Went into the BGS this morning to grab a couple of things.

Much busier than a normal Monday, but nobody seemed to be panic-buying huge amounts of anything.

Noticed though, that there were hardly any (only 3 - 4) tradie utes in the carpark - usually at that time of day, half the cars there are tradies!
Post by: D4D on March 23, 2020, 01:06:38 PM
Went into the BGS this morning to grab a couple of things.

Much busier than a normal Monday, but nobody seemed to be panic-buying huge amounts of anything.

Noticed though, that there were hardly any (only 3 - 4) tradie utes in the carpark - usually at that time of day, half the cars there are tradies!

https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/retail/bunnings-diy-garden-shopping-frenzy-as-virus-lockdown-takes-hold/news-story/413857a8c40b44af21eb90a1f88a594f (https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/retail/bunnings-diy-garden-shopping-frenzy-as-virus-lockdown-takes-hold/news-story/413857a8c40b44af21eb90a1f88a594f)
Post by: Bigfish on March 23, 2020, 05:06:06 PM
https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/retail/bunnings-diy-garden-shopping-frenzy-as-virus-lockdown-takes-hold/news-story/413857a8c40b44af21eb90a1f88a594f (https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/retail/bunnings-diy-garden-shopping-frenzy-as-virus-lockdown-takes-hold/news-story/413857a8c40b44af21eb90a1f88a594f)

Waiting on a cll from there for an order of gardening pavers.  Have a big list of other items as well.  Will take the trailer and get enough supplies for other jobs that I can do....There is only so much tv a man can take!! :cheers:
Post by: Bird on March 26, 2020, 12:53:36 PM
Confined to barracks

Mate working in town has heard that Vic is going full lockdown from weekend....

havnt seen anything on the news feeds yet....
Post by: OldPaj on March 26, 2020, 05:26:41 PM
Confined to barracks

Mate working in town has heard that Vic is going full lockdown from weekend....

havnt seen anything on the news feeds yet....

Hope not.

I was thinking of periodically dragging the motorbike out of the shed and practicing some social distancing with big from to home non stop loops around the country side (assuming that I will still be able to fill with fuel regularly).
Post by: Robbo on March 26, 2020, 06:11:48 PM

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200326/b7c6cc42a271b816014aab6481f6dece.jpg)

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk

Post by: Spada on March 28, 2020, 04:50:24 PM
Sprayed the yard for lawn grubs
sprayed the yard for bind's
Pressure cleaned the deck ready for a coat of oil
played a game of monopoly with the family
had some beers and chatted to the neighbor over the fence

Thats day 1 taken care of............ :'(

Tomorrow will be oil the deck, fix a shelf in the wardrobe, got a pile of timber to de-nail................... how many weeks is there to go  ???
Post by: D4D on March 28, 2020, 05:03:03 PM
Same, I dismantled, fixed and put back together my outside scrap wood/random crap shelves, that were water damaged and full of crap. It's been accumulating for over 10 years. Also fitted some brackets to the joists in the carport to store long timber off the ground.
Post by: glenm64 on March 28, 2020, 05:36:00 PM
Its ok for us messy grubs. Weve got plenty of time to clean up, sort out and generally organise our sheds and yards.
Just spare a thought for those poor OCD bastards. Everything is already done. They must be going stir crazy already.
Post by: rags on March 28, 2020, 05:46:44 PM

Tomorrow will be oil the deck, fix a shelf in the wardrobe, got a pile of timber to de-nail................... how many weeks is there to go  ???

Spada you prompted me to quiz you on spraying lawn for grubs
Have you got a grub killing the grass?
I’m thinking I may have something killing the grass and suspect maybe a grub but they are not obvious.
What did you spray with?
Post by: GeoffA on March 28, 2020, 05:48:52 PM
Just spare a thought for those poor OCD bastards. Everything is already done. They must be going stir crazy already.

Glenn, you obviously don't understand.... ;D

For the poor OCD bastards, everything is NEVER done....

Post by: D4D on March 28, 2020, 05:54:40 PM

:cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: glenm64 on March 28, 2020, 05:57:10 PM
Glenn, you obviously don't understand.... ;D

Thats even worse. :cheers:
Post by: Steffo1 on March 28, 2020, 06:18:13 PM
I’m thinking I may have something killing the grass and suspect maybe a grub but they are not obvious.
What did you spray with?

You can get Lawn grub and Black beetle killer from a hardware or nursery. Telltale signs are patcy, brown grass areas, small, white moths and 'Ponytail' wasps. They're wasps with a long, black, thin tail.
Don't use anything if you have flowers with bees foraging during the day. Do it at night, careful to avoid flower contact with the spray.
Another way to tell is to lay a wet hessian bag on your grass overnight and have a bo peep under it in the morning.
I have used and found the 'Eco Friendly' stuff available to be just that. It wouldn't kill an ant. As a matter of fact any 'Eco Friendly' stuff I've used for different applications i.e weeds etc have not worked too well.
Post by: Mitch92 on March 28, 2020, 06:59:05 PM
What did you spray with?

Get a bucket. Squirt some dishwashing liquid, fill it up. Pour it onto the yard in a few different spots (do a full bucket each spot).

It is amazing what comes out. Army worm is bad along the whole east coast at the moment.

Acelepryn GR comes in a 10kg bag and gives 6 month protection. To kill now try baythroid advance from Bunnings or better yet see what your local turf supplier has.
Post by: tryagain on March 28, 2020, 07:13:57 PM

I've got a spare room/space in the backyard for your camper and a list of jobs that will keep you going for a few months.  ;D
Post by: Bird on March 28, 2020, 07:19:35 PM
Good opportunity to go through the house nad shed and clean them all out while I have the chance.
Post by: D4D on March 28, 2020, 07:22:09 PM
Good opportunity to go through the house nad shed and clean them all out while I have the chance.

Yup, problem is the tip is closed. I've got one hard rubbish collection left until July 1, I'm going to make it count :)
Post by: jwb on March 28, 2020, 07:22:40 PM
Copy that Bird!

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Post by: GeoffA on March 28, 2020, 07:29:20 PM
Yup, problem is the tip is closed.......

Not on the proper side of town, it isn't.... ;D ;D

Probably go 2-morra. Got some tickets to use....

Post by: Spada on March 29, 2020, 06:29:19 AM
What did you spray with?

Yeah mate, exactly what steffo said. Patchy brown spots (spreading every day) and all the leaf stripped off the runners. I sprayed the yard with Baythroid. If you go for a walk on dusk and a gazillion white moths come out of the ground, you've got a lawn grub infestation. Need to back it up in a fortnight to break the cycle.

Acelepryn GR comes in a 10kg bag and gives 6 month protection.

Thanks Mitch, hadn't heard of that one and I'd prefer not to use an insectacide spray (kills too many good bugs). Just ordered 2 bags  ;D

I've got a spare room/space in the backyard for your camper and a list of jobs that will keep you going for a few months.  ;D
Sounds like fun, but that would involve "unnecessary travel"  ;) besides, I've got enough s#1t to do already, byproduct of too much time spent camping I guess?
Post by: Gandalf the White on March 29, 2020, 07:01:53 AM
Its ok for us messy grubs. Weve got plenty of time to clean up, sort out and generally organise our sheds and yards.
I know a few of those people, several that are on here😁
Post by: Steffo1 on March 29, 2020, 08:32:16 AM

Acelepryn GR comes in a 10kg bag and gives 6 month protection.

My thanks too, Mitch. We'd never seen this product. As we're rura,l we take a lot of things into account such as native bees, birds and critters.

Post by: Bird on March 29, 2020, 09:18:16 AM
I'd forgotten how painful it is selling on ebay with the dumb questions and stupid offers..

even doing the ads is ****in painful now.
Post by: Spada on March 29, 2020, 11:01:58 AM
My thanks too, Mitch. We'd never seen this product. As we're rura,l we take a lot of things into account such as native bees, birds and critters.

Found a place at Yandina yhat has it for $109 a bag, everyone else seems to be around $140'ish  - https://fernland.com.au/syngenta-acelepryn-gr-granular-insecticide-10kg.html (https://fernland.com.au/syngenta-acelepryn-gr-granular-insecticide-10kg.html)
Post by: Harbourmaster on March 29, 2020, 04:59:57 PM
wondered about going camping. We have property between the road & beach could set up down there and walk back to the house for a shower each day. If I set up in sight of the road I could see if I get any enquiries as to what I doing there  :D
Lucky to see anyone on the beach best described as the last frontier.
Post by: rockrat on March 29, 2020, 05:13:45 PM
I'm going to be working from home, full time, for the foreseeable future.  Missus has been stood down for at least the next 4 weeks.  Told her I could write up a list of chores for her.   >:D

I'm sure the swelling will go down in a day or two.  :'(
Post by: briann532 on March 29, 2020, 05:16:19 PM
I'm going to be working from home, full time, for the foreseeable future.  Missus has been stood down for at least the next 4 weeks.  Told her I could write up a list of chores for her.   >:D

I'm sure the swelling will go down in a day or two.  :'(

;D ;D ;D
Post by: Steffo1 on March 30, 2020, 08:59:04 AM
Found a place at Yandina yhat has it for $109 a bag, everyone else seems to be around $140'ish  - https://fernland.com.au/syngenta-acelepryn-gr-granular-insecticide-10kg.html (https://fernland.com.au/syngenta-acelepryn-gr-granular-insecticide-10kg.html)

Thanks, have ordered some, albeit a little too late :'(
I hope delivery isn't delayed.
Post by: Steffo1 on April 05, 2020, 01:38:20 PM
Thanks, have ordered some, albeit a little too late :'(
I hope delivery isn't delayed.

Well, delivery was delayed but I can say that this stuff works. I left it on for 24 hours before watering in yesterday arvo.

Have seen several dead/dying grubs on the grass surface. In hindsight, I probably wasted a ¼ of it on already affected grass.
Post by: loanrangie on April 05, 2020, 04:20:51 PM
Brewing lots of beer to get my stock back up, nearly finished building a trailer. Fixed my mig feed issues so now i can repair the small rust patches on the kombi, cleaning up the shed and under the deck and house. Might get a chance to work on my FC Holden.
Post by: ADTradie on April 05, 2020, 06:32:20 PM
Like many I've got a backlog of jobs about home to keep me busy over the next few months, given that an extended holiday is not possible.
These include vehicle maintenance jobs for both the 4X4 and the Falcon; house painting (back verandah and garage extension-undercover area); a front door to paint and hang; finish rainwater tank plumbing after buying a new tank last week; + other about the home chores (joys of moving into a 'fixer-upper'er' house :))
There will be plenty of dog walking and cycling to keep fit.
Then there will be shopping as little as possible to minimize the chance of catching Covid-19.
I will probably find time to start wading through a life-time of photos and scanning favourites with a view to starting the family history.
And if I get really desperate for something to do I've got the second box of the complete X-Files television series to watch, having taken most of 2019 to get through the first box/half :)
Post by: Moggy on April 05, 2020, 06:40:32 PM
I just plan on either getting fatter & becoming an alcoholic, or losing weight & becoming a happy clapper, not sure at this moment

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Post by: D4D on April 05, 2020, 06:48:07 PM
I will probably find time to start wading through a life-time of photos and scanning favourites with a view to starting the family history.

My dad is 80+ and has been a photographer since he was a teenager. He has a garage full of negatives and has now got the time to sort and scan them :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on April 05, 2020, 07:37:05 PM
I just plan on either getting fatter & becoming an alcoholic, or losing weight & becoming a happy clapper, not sure at this moment

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
At lest ya honest :)
Post by: Hairs on April 06, 2020, 05:28:38 PM
It's a plan.
:)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200406/415f6753037bdd24e84ea3a974daea56.jpg)
Post by: moeite on April 06, 2020, 06:01:31 PM
Nope. Can't do that. We moved back in Sept and had a MONSTER cleanup then.
So far the car and camper have both been cleaned, inside and out, and serivced to within an inch of their lives. Every nut and bolt on the camper has been retensioned. We've done the back yard and sprayed the weeds in the front. We've rearranged the furniture and cleaned and polished the floors. We've even gone so far as to wash the walls down.

What we WERE planning was a trip to SA and NT departing here on 06/04 and by now (6.00pm 06/04) we should be sitting down to a meal in Sea Lake. But that's all firmly off the menu. Take aways from the local RSL and a decent bottle of plonk is the new order of the day.
It's only been several days and already we're bored spitless... Might just replace the injector loom and clean out the intercooler on the car just for something to do...:-)
Post by: Steffo1 on April 06, 2020, 06:14:32 PM
Nope. Can't do that. We moved back in Sept and had a MONSTER cleanup then.
So far the car and camper have both been cleaned, inside and out, and serivced to within an inch of their lives. Every nut and bolt on the camper has been retensioned. We've done the back yard and sprayed the weeds in the front. We've rearranged the furniture and cleaned and polished the floors. We've even gone so far as to wash the walls down.

What we WERE planning was a trip to SA and NT departing here on 06/04 and by now (6.00pm 06/04) we should be sitting down to a meal in Sea Lake. But that's all firmly off the menu. Take aways from the local RSL and a decent bottle of plonk is the new order of the day.
It's only been several days and already we're bored spitless... Might just replace the injector loom and clean out the intercooler on the car just for something to do...:-)

Do you have a CDL stick. If not, maybe a good time to install. If so, I can't help too much.
Post by: Hairs on April 06, 2020, 08:51:44 PM
:((https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200406/3990152bf7ddca8c13a0053a3487e27d.jpg)
Post by: Bird on April 06, 2020, 10:58:04 PM
Dunno about confined to barracks.
I dont think Ive ever seen so many families walking/bike riding/groups of people out for a stroll in 40 years.
Post by: moeite on April 07, 2020, 12:15:03 AM
Do you have a CDL stick. If not, maybe a good time to install. If so, I can't help too much.

When our last car blew up ( http://jandmf.com/index.php/2020/02/07/car-is-dead/ (http://jandmf.com/index.php/2020/02/07/car-is-dead/) ) one of the new car "must have's" was a fitted and working CDL and we found one so that doesn't need doing. Besides, that's a job that nobody should ever have to do more than once.
Post by: Hairs on April 07, 2020, 06:24:39 AM
Dunno about confined to barracks.
I dont think Ive ever seen so many families walking/bike riding/groups of people out for a stroll in 40 years.
While picking materails today, the amount of people walking the main street of Maclean with masks on, coffee in hand peering into closed shop windows.
Whst's that about?
Post by: Bird on April 07, 2020, 10:05:34 AM
While picking materails today, the amount of people walking the main street of Maclean with masks on, coffee in hand peering into closed shop windows.
Whst's that about?
no masks, well the box hill people been wearing masks for 10 yrs or more..
but just people out and about.. even one of the blokes on radio mentioned it today.. fleets of people out running/walking etc.
Post by: Bird on April 07, 2020, 10:15:11 AM
Now heres a barracks to be confined too

8905 Warburton-Woods Point Road, Matlock, Vic 3723

Bedroom  4
Bathrooms 2
Carparks 4

10.12 ha
Cropping

https://www.realestate.com.au/property-cropping-vic-matlock-700082242 (https://www.realestate.com.au/property-cropping-vic-matlock-700082242)

(https://i2.au.reastatic.net/1563x882-resize,extend,r=33,g=40,b=46/4d1fc68e7226f0caa7093115d47f72518f78bb2ea8a3afd59f6d2bb697fb27aa/image.jpg)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 07, 2020, 10:25:02 AM
After being a mower man for 8 or 9 years and now, 18 months out here playing with cars, not much has changed in the main game.

My biggest beef, is having a car that burns 25l per 100, fuel at a $1.00 and trying to find a reason to drive it.  ???

The wife has been cut to 30 hours and some of that from home..... but overall.... pretty easy peasy.
I'll be finishing off and engine rebuild in a few days, I have 12 acres to mow and I've decided to re-open and refurb the inground pool I buried 10 years ago.

So heaps to do.

Whenever we camped, unless as a group, we always looked for the secluded spot.
Same deal when we would go the beach.'
Same deal when we would go boating.

I've been building up for this for ages.

Interesting though, to see people loosing their Shit over the isolation deal.

I only found out today, its Easter on Friday.
I told Astrid I would duck up to Shane's (sunny coast) to pick up the modded head on Friday.
I guess it will be Thursday now.
Post by: Bird on April 07, 2020, 10:44:27 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
I told Astrid I would duck up to Shane's (sunny coast) to pick up the modded head on Friday.

is that an essential trip ? :P :D :D :P
Post by: Fizzie on April 07, 2020, 10:47:06 AM
I would duck up to Shane's (sunny coast) to pick up the modded head on Friday.

Is that Footy Shorts Shane ???

Is he still doing his GPS trackers ???
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 07, 2020, 11:37:53 AM
Yeah, its for work.... i'm building a little hottie for an FB Holden for a client/mate.  ;D

Yeah Fizzie, he still makes 'em.

Just spend 20 minutes on the phone debating how he hasn't charged enough for his work.
I'll sort it on pick up.... the Nimrod.

Just contact HPEngines for his number.
Post by: Spada on April 07, 2020, 12:36:17 PM

I've seen his head.... I'd say yes  ;)
Post by: Bird on April 07, 2020, 01:48:10 PM
I've seen his head.... I'd say yes  ;)
(https://media.giphy.com/media/l3q2XhfQ8oCkm1Ts4/giphy.gif)
Post by: 2Strokeit on April 07, 2020, 08:55:03 PM

There's a 'data recording' ute on the highway  hanging around the moby dick servos that doesn't seem to be recording koala data more targeting number plate data. Maybe take the scenic route past aussie zoo.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Post by: MB TD42 on April 07, 2020, 09:28:08 PM
Setting up to clean out the shed and have a crack at some more work on the camper trailer.
More than likely be banished to the shed if my test comes back positive.
Getting ready for the fall out...
Arrange room for swag, latrine area and cooking area in the shed first I spose.

Take care all...

We're all ere coz we ain't all there.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 08, 2020, 03:07:40 AM
There's a 'data recording' ute on the highway  hanging around the moby dick servos that doesn't seem to be recording koala data more targeting number plate data. Maybe take the scenic route past aussie zoo.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

I go via the Brisbane Valley hwy, Kiljoy, Beerwah and join at the Caloundra interchange thingy.
Not much data info they will get, they haven't already got anyways.
Post by: Bird on April 08, 2020, 10:43:43 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Not much data info they will get, they haven't already got anyways.
So true these days...

with so many security cameras around now - cops can follow you from home to ya girlfriends to work and home to the missus before you realise it.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 09, 2020, 03:26:30 PM
So true these days...

with so many security cameras around now - cops can follow you from home to ya girlfriends to work and home to the missus before you realise it.

And.... dob on ya.
Post by: Kangaron on April 09, 2020, 03:56:38 PM
And.... dob on ya.
No need for the coppers, plenty of dibber dobbers around these days.
Post by: alnjan on April 09, 2020, 04:25:11 PM
so much for softly softly in Australia just use gang violence to enforce lockdown.

https://www.9news.com.au/national/coronavirus-lockdown-in-el-salvador-enforced-with-baseball-bats/626021e0-d07c-42d8-8ef5-68bc7391fe4f (https://www.9news.com.au/national/coronavirus-lockdown-in-el-salvador-enforced-with-baseball-bats/626021e0-d07c-42d8-8ef5-68bc7391fe4f)

"While Australians face steep fines for breaking social distancing measures introduced to stem the spread of coronavirus, the residents of one Central American nation are being kept indoors through more brutal means.
Baseball bats are among the weapons of choice for the organised crime gangs in El Salvador, who have been enforcing the government's lockdown with ruthless force.
Other tactics employed by the gangs include circulating recordings on messaging applications threatening people who break the rules and producing videos showing masked gang members hitting people for breaking quarantine rules.
A mass outbreak of COVID-19 would be especially devastating in the small nation of six million people, due to widespread poverty and low investment in public health.
"
Post by: Bird on April 09, 2020, 04:58:09 PM
so much for softly softly in Australia just use gang violence to enforce lockdown.

https://www.9news.com.au/national/coronavirus-lockdown-in-el-salvador-enforced-with-baseball-bats/626021e0-d07c-42d8-8ef5-68bc7391fe4f (https://www.9news.com.au/national/coronavirus-lockdown-in-el-salvador-enforced-with-baseball-bats/626021e0-d07c-42d8-8ef5-68bc7391fe4f)

"While Australians face steep fines for breaking social distancing measures introduced to stem the spread of coronavirus, the residents of one Central American nation are being kept indoors through more brutal means.
Baseball bats are among the weapons of choice for the organised crime gangs in El Salvador, who have been enforcing the government's lockdown with ruthless force.
Other tactics employed by the gangs include circulating recordings on messaging applications threatening people who break the rules and producing videos showing masked gang members hitting people for breaking quarantine rules.
A mass outbreak of COVID-19 would be especially devastating in the small nation of six million people, due to widespread poverty and low investment in public health.
"
from a mate

when i was going to Brazil it was the same thing the government was doing **** all
and what i was reading was the gangs came out at 8am and flogged you if you were out and about their own self imposed curfew as the govt was not doing enough

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: alnjan on April 09, 2020, 05:04:12 PM
from a mate

when i was going to Brazil it was the same thing the government was doing **** all
and what i was reading was the gangs came out at 8am and flogged you if you were out and about their own self imposed curfew as the govt was not doing enough

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!

For al the whinging and whining about current attempts to keep people inside and people comparing it to a prison, this would give them something to whinge and whine and cry about.  I am quite happy sitting where I am
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 10, 2020, 04:59:55 PM
Topic is rested for a while, lets cool our heals and spend some time with family. At these time the Mods have decided to close threads that are causing a lot of unbalance to the forum.

While we recognise that at these times there are items that need to be discussed the amount of off track comments and attack to members is not needed.

Please stay safe and use the report to mod button if you find something that is not per the forums normal attitudes

Garrick