General => General Discussion => Topic started by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 11:23:20 AM

Title: Show us your Dual Cab/Wagon Touring set up
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 11:23:20 AM
Planning to turn the BT50 into a tourer over the next twelve months in preparation and anticipation for our 5 week tour of Tasmania in Dec-Jan 15/16...

We have decided to tent it around tassie out of the back of the 50... there are some great set ups out there and some even better ideas for camping out of the back of a dual cab or wagon... Show us your set up and ideas/solutions.... storage, cooking, sleeping, shelter, power, etc etc .. would love to get some ideas and feedback  :cheers: in advance
Title: Re: Show us your Dual Cab/Wagon Touring set up
Post by: FNQBunyip on January 04, 2015, 11:45:29 AM
Hahaha what a great topic .. I've been thinking of this same thing since we got home from our NYE camp .. Had the topic heading open but had not posted it ... ( Show me your chopped wagon setup)

I'll be following with great interest ..

I went camping last year with my neighbor in his 50 , we pulled the back seat and put the 2 engels on a sheet of ply...

My chopped 105 wagon i'll be setting up the same , I've pulled the seat and am now looking around the net for ideas on what to build / setup back there ..I've got a 40lt engel that I want in the middle.  We need places for metal detectors , bows, fishing rods and guns ..
If I put a sheet of ply in my recovery bag fits one side on the floor and tool bag on the other with room in the center for less used stuff..

Lets see what the myswag collective brain trust comes up with..
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 12:33:00 PM
We need a like button!!...lol
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 12:37:30 PM
Nothing Flash 3.0L Navara intercoolered/lifted/chipped

Custom made Canopy
200W solar ontop
110l Waeco (11years old)
2 x 150ah (massive batteries in underbody carrier)
Had a invertor til it blew up  :D
Can just sleep in the back usually swag it

Well set mate... looks great  :cheers:
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 12:43:35 PM
We will be traveling with two teenagers 13/15.. plan on doing the back out with draws (brand recommendations would be great), Canopy....power setup (dual battery) in the rear.. looking at maybe a water tank in the space in front of the draws........
Post by: StrvnMrvn on January 04, 2015, 12:46:33 PM
Great thread! Will be watching this with interest!

I just got a new Hilux. Waiting to get the canopy and tub liner from there the list will be:

1. Install draws from Drifta with the kitchen and single draw. Will have a drop down fridge for a 47 lt ARB, battery storage area and 55 lt water tank.

2. Install a fox wing canopy, getting an RV 5 tent from Swanny, and already have an oztent bunker.

3. Lift the ute, bull bar, tow bar and side steps.

Me and the SWMBO want to do a trip around OZ with just the ute. The canopy tho maybe an issues if we stay for a few nights somewhere , so we are looking at a tarp setup Ove the top if we decide to stay for a few more nights.
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 12:51:56 PM

I just got a new Hilux. Waiting to get the canopy and tub liner from there the list will be:

1. Install draws from Drifta with the kitchen and single draw. Will have a drop down fridge for a 47 lt ARB, battery storage area and 55 lt water tank.

2. Install a fox wing canopy, getting an RV 5 tent from Swanny, and already have an oztent bunker.

Me and the SWMBO want to do a trip around OZ with just the ute. The canopy tho maybe an issues if we stay for a few nights somewhere , so we are looking at a tarp setup Ove the top if we decide to stay for a few more nights.

Sounds great mate.. yes we are looking a similar ... thinking #oztent5 at the rear.. but will there be enough room to sleep four adults comfortably ?... #foxwing would be great if only it covered the rear of the truck more sufficiently..... so the tarp idea sounds like the go ..but we will also want ease of set up for one nighters ..
Post by: StrvnMrvn on January 04, 2015, 01:02:09 PM
Sounds great mate.. yes we are looking a similar ... thinking #oztent5 at the rear.. but will there be enough room to sleep four adults comfortably ?... #foxwign would be great if only it covered the rear of the truck more sufficiently..... so the tarp idea sounds like the go ..but we will also want ease of set up for one nighters ..

The fox wing for us will be for over nighters and the tarp for more than one night.

An RV5 tent is quite large, and maybe get an RV3 for the kids or 2 x oztent bunkers. Then they have their own area to retreat to. How about swags for them? There is also a tag along tent that oztent make. Little smaller than the RV5.

Have a look at the Oztent web sight. Some stuff is expensive, but you will be able to sell it when the trip is done.

My water tank and draws are being designed so that it is a flat surface. I'm also looking at getting extra tie down points put in so that I can make a dog cage and I can secure it in the back.
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 01:07:28 PM
The fox wing for us will be for over nighters and the tarp for more than one night.

An RV5 tent is quite large, and maybe get an RV3 for the kids or 2 x oztent bunkers. Then they have their own area to retreat to. How about swags for them? There is also a tag along tent that oztent make. Little smaller than the RV5.

Have a look at the Oztent web sight. Some stuff is expensive, but you will be able to sell it when the trip is done.

My water tank and draws are being designed so that it is a flat surface. I'm also looking at getting extra tie down points put in so that I can make a dog cage and I can secure it in the back.

Sounds great Strvn.... oztent5 will be the go...we too have the idea for the trap.. just trying to configure an idea for ease of set up.. also so we can set without too much poling (for want of a better word..lol)   ....
Post by: Nay-DMAX on January 04, 2015, 01:58:00 PM
We will be traveling with two teenagers 13/15.. plan on doing the back out with draws (brand recommendations would be great), Canopy....power setup (dual battery) in the rear.. looking at maybe a water tank in the space in front of the draws........

Drifta for your draws and if you are looking at awnings have a look at supapeg
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 02:05:47 PM
Drifta for your draws and if you are looking at awnings have a look at supapeg

Are you using drfta Nay?... they look great.. just worried about the weight ?...
Post by: Nay-DMAX on January 04, 2015, 02:20:30 PM
Are you using drfta Nay?... they look great.. just worried about the weight ?...

Don't have drifta drawers as I don't want drawers in the dual cab and we don't have a set up as you are talking about so could only comment for dealings we have had with the company we have a tailgate kitchen in our trailer and we also have the bedhead with reading lights (can not see this on website anymore) and the table that goes over the end of the bed the table is really handy for the portable fan when it is hot and storing keys phone torch bottle water etc. All quality made products there are others on the forum who do have the drawers I think perhaps put drifta in the search part.   I see bunnings sell drawers now not sure on weight or quality.
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 02:21:59 PM
Don't have drifta drawers as I don't want drawers in the dual cab and we don't have a set up as you are talking about so could only comment for dealings we have had with the company we have a tailgate kitchen in our trailer and we also have the bedhead with reading lights (can not see this on website anymore) and the table that goes over the end of the bed the table is really handy for the portable fan when it is hot and storing keys phone torch bottle water etc. All quality made products there are others on the forum who do have the drawers I think perhaps put drifta in the search part.   I see bunnings sell drawers now not sure on weight or quality.

cheers for the feedback mate  ;)
Post by: Kangaron on January 04, 2015, 03:00:44 PM
I had a look at a "carry me camper" a while back and the
walk up model looks the ducks guts.
http://www.carrymecamper.com.au/ (http://www.carrymecamper.com.au/)

The tailgate model for dual cabs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lOVmchQtpvk (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lOVmchQtpvk)
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 03:07:15 PM
I had a look at a "carry me camper" a while back and the
walk up model looks the ducks guts.
http://www.carrymecamper.com.au/ (http://www.carrymecamper.com.au/)

They look the bomb kanga... but ill be keeping my tub...;)
Post by: jetcrew on January 04, 2015, 03:09:11 PM
I too like the vehicle based touring set ups..

someone mentioned above about the fridges in the back of wagons here how I did the 100 series as its just gunna be me the Mrs and little guy.

a ply board fits in with 2 40ltr engles side by side .

We are deciding on a tassie trip also for dec/jan 2015-2016 and thinking of the awning set up I am leaning towards having some sail track rivereted onto the roof rack and some custom made canvas pieces that simply pull through it.

I watched a guy set up in minuts and he had plenty of space under cover without a massive awning on the side of car. He said and I agree that the wing awnings are great ..just not quite big enough to give shelter in rain ect. he said he spen $100 on the track and fixtures also got it powder coated to suit roof rack colour and $450 at a trimmers for the awnings. he had a rear one and a side one which also has a trinagle piece that zipped in for bad weather ..I wish i had taken a picture.

This is what I am thinking of doing .. it did require 6 poles to be put up but he was done in no time and had a bloody massive area. It also packs away separate from the car ..he just pulled it back out of the track folded it up and popped in a bag and he was done.

I aslo recommend the boab 42ltr foot well tank..ours has been around the traps and is still going fine and I stack full cartons on top of it.

Jet ;D 

Jet ;D 
Post by: Kangaron on January 04, 2015, 03:09:34 PM
The most important thing I liked about them is when the Holiday / camping trip is over, you leave them on stilts and you get your ute back.
Post by: jetcrew on January 04, 2015, 03:12:48 PM
The most important thing I liked about them is when the Holiday / camping trip is over, you leave them on stilts and you get your ute back.

and no extra rego and insurance  :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Bill on January 04, 2015, 03:26:14 PM

I have a dual cab Navara with canopy and rear drawers.
I personally would not bother with the tub liner, just gets in the way of the drawers...
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 03:26:24 PM

someone mentioned above about the fridges in the back of wagons here how I did the 100 series as its just gunna be me the Mrs and little guy.

We are deciding on a tassie trip also for dec/jan 2015-2016 and thinking of the awning set up I am leaning towards having some sail track rivereted onto the roof rack and some custom made canvas pieces that simply pull through it.

I watched a guy set up in minuts and he had plenty of space under cover without a massive awning on the side of car. He said and I agree that the wing awnings are great ..just not quite big enough to give shelter in rain ect. he said he spen $100 on the track and fixtures also got it powder coated to suit roof rack colour and $450 at a trimmers for the awnings. he had a rear one and a side one which also has a trinagle piece that zipped in for bad weather ..I wish i had taken a picture.

This is what I am thinking of doing .. it did require 6 poles to be put up but he was done in no time and had a bloody massive area. It also packs away separate from the car ..he just pulled it back out of the track folded it up and popped in a bag and he was done.

I aslo recommend the boab 42ltr foot well tank..ours has been around the traps and is still going fine and I stack full cartons on top of it.

Jet ;D 

Jet ;D

"LIKE"  :cheers:
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 03:29:10 PM

They're a great idea...if i had a ute tray.. would be ideal. "LIKE"  :cheers:
Post by: StrvnMrvn on January 04, 2015, 03:30:39 PM

Jet ;D 

Jet ;D

I do like the idea of that set up! Got me thinking now!!
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 03:33:48 PM
I do like the idea of that set up! Got me thinking now!!

My brother had the same idea.. maybe an awning the folds away over the rack and straps down as a cover?.. I guess the issue I'm thinking of is as Strvn has mentioned.. is the fact that a fox-wing doesn't effectively cover the rear of the truck in bad weather .. granted it won't entirely cover in real bad weather given water will run off the roof.. but you get the point ..

(http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/cucinadio/6h60qw9_zpsdbd183c4.jpg) (http://s269.photobucket.com/user/cucinadio/media/6h60qw9_zpsdbd183c4.jpg.html)

Some thing like this would be great.. although it doesn't solve the problem of covering for runoff on the roof sporting a roof rack..rather than a solid tray top  ???

(http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/cucinadio/IMG_0126-1_zps8b0dc19e.jpg) (http://s269.photobucket.com/user/cucinadio/media/IMG_0126-1_zps8b0dc19e.jpg.html)

A supa wing might do the trick if its situated on rails over the front cab than the canopy??..But bloody $$$

(http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/cucinadio/SWA21-2T_zps23ed7e70.jpg) (http://s269.photobucket.com/user/cucinadio/media/SWA21-2T_zps23ed7e70.jpg.html)
Post by: jetcrew on January 04, 2015, 04:41:28 PM
thats a great set up... i guess the issue with most tarps etc is having to get ppl to hold one side. While you pull tension on the other.

with the car as the first big pole and peg, I was surprised how easy it was to pull a tarp/canvass through the sail track  and then set the outer poles up.

I think the foxwing and supa wing are great and the $$$ is not the issue i just don't think they offer enough cover in the rain. I understand why as they cant really make it much bigger.

I am just playing with drawings and i reckon you could get away with 1 piece of canvass that feeds into the side and rear sail track then pull it out . Starting with the 45 degree pole first.

Jet ;D
Post by: FNQBunyip on January 04, 2015, 04:47:41 PM
Nice fridge set up Jet , My plan is for the 40lt in the middle and the 80lt will go in the back when I build a tray in a few months time ..

Sail track sounds like a good idea , and as you say could work out 1/2 the price of a brand name awning that doesn't really tick all the boxes..

Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 04:49:35 PM
thats a great set up... i guess the issue with most tarps etc is having to get ppl to hold one side. While you pull tension on the other.

with the car as the first big pole and peg, I was surprised how easy it was to pull a tarp/canvass through the sail track  and then set the outer poles up.

I think the foxwing and supa wing are great and the $$$ is not the issue i just don't think they offer enough cover in the rain. I understand why as they cant really make it much bigger.

I am just playing with drawings and i reckon you could get away with 1 piece of canvass that feeds into the side and rear sail track then pull it out . Starting with the 45 degree pole first.

Jet ;D

True.. Money isn't really the issue.. the above facts are... I'm looking at value for that money.. whilst these awnings are great for anywhere (when there isn't a hail of rain) .... is money better spent coming up with something as you've suggested (admitted..not as sexy) but practical ... What about if you' were to run a sail track along the front of edge of a roof rack or rhino rail on the front of the vehicle that runs over the truck and out of over the back and then poled out the sides and the rear over the front of the tent ??...
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 04:50:59 PM
Nice fridge set up Jet , My plan is for the 40lt in the middle and the 80lt will go in the back when I build a tray in a few months time ..

Sail track sounds like a good idea , and as you say could work out 1/2 the price of a brand name awning that doesn't really tick all the boxes..

What are you running mate.. and any ideas of how you're running the 40 in the middle?
Post by: jetcrew on January 04, 2015, 04:51:37 PM
heres my rough sketch. 
Post by: Nay-DMAX on January 04, 2015, 04:55:19 PM

Jet ;D

The thing I find that I would like with the dual cab is something off one side and the back of the canopy if we are just doing a full day somewhere or a trip with the swags, we have a side awning but this doesn't give any shade to the fridge and not a lot to sit under etc.  I wonder if a sail track along the rails on there at the moment could have something worked out.  The thing I think about say a rear awning is then we would have to put something on the canopy door so it didn't open all the way probably.  At the moment we have rails that run front to back of canopy so still would not be sure how we would run a track across the back.  My boss has recently told me that one of his mates does canvas stitching and repairs etc so maybe seeing if he could make something like that up and getting eyelets put in and a set of poles for it.
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 05:09:41 PM
Something like this??

(http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj61/cucinadio/Awningsetup_zps833c3761.jpg) (http://s269.photobucket.com/user/cucinadio/media/Awningsetup_zps833c3761.jpg.html)
Post by: Nay-DMAX on January 04, 2015, 05:12:23 PM
Something like this??

/Users/admin/Desktop/Awning set up.pdf

link didn't work
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 05:13:29 PM
link didn't work

Fixed now ;)
Post by: Nay-DMAX on January 04, 2015, 05:17:10 PM
Fixed now ;)

Um nah just thinking something off the same side as current awning and around that corner to cover the back of the ute a bit I guess similar to the one Jet had drawn but not as far along the side of the vehicle. I don't know how to draw the picture or I would do one.
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 05:20:59 PM
Um nah just thinking something off the same side as current awning and around that corner to cover the back of the ute a bit I guess similar to the one Jet had drawn but not as far along the side of the vehicle. I don't know how to draw the picture or I would do one.

Thats cool.. i understand what you mean .. jets is a great idea... I'm just thinking how to reduce the chance of rain down the rear of the canopy.. just envisioning out loud... ;)
Post by: FNQBunyip on January 04, 2015, 05:22:04 PM
What are you running mate.. and any ideas of how you're running the 40 in the middle?

I recently brought a 105 wagon cut down to a dual cab .. Can be found in the 4wd section ..
I ran an engel socket to that back wall from the second battery ..
Plan on a solar panel , I all so have a 12v solar circuit  at home that I can plug into when we are home so the fridge runs all the time ..

Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 05:23:35 PM
I recently brought a 105 wagon cut down to a dual cab .. Can be found in the 4wd section ..
I ran an engel socket to that back wall from the second battery ..
Plan on a solar panel , I all so have a 12v solar circuit  at home that I can plug into when we are home so the fridge runs all the time ..

Post by: Nay-DMAX on January 04, 2015, 05:29:48 PM
Thats cool.. i understand what you mean .. jets is a great idea... I'm just thinking how to reduce the chance of rain down the rear of the canopy.. just envisioning out loud... ;)

Could you have an option of a sail track that faces inwards on the roof with a pull cord to run the tarp through and just have it go longer off one side instead of both keeps rain out and the sail track gives you the tension you need on one side to put the rest of it up.  I could just be making up crap that would never work but anyway.
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 05:31:33 PM
Could you have an option of a sail track that faces inwards on the roof with a pull cord to run the tarp through and just have it go longer off one side instead of both keeps rain out and the sail track gives you the tension you need on one side to put the rest of it up.  I could just be making up crap that would never work but anyway.

"LIKE"   :cheers:
Post by: jetcrew on January 04, 2015, 05:37:50 PM
Along the lines of "what about if you just want the side awning up" I think this is a good point to make and I think I might make the rear part fold under the side part and secure with Velcro so it is tucked up out of the way like the KK quick awning works. Fold out if you want it or leave it velcroed up..

Jet ;D
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 05:40:16 PM
Along the lines of "what about if you just want the side awning up" I think this is a good point to make and I think I might make the rear part fold under the side part and secure with Velcro so it is tucked up out of the way like the KK quick awning works. Fold out if you want it or leave it velcroed up..

Jet ;D

:LIKE"    :cheers:
Post by: dazzler on January 04, 2015, 05:57:42 PM
A foxwing awning are a great accessory for this type of touring I reckon;

http://img-2011-12.tapatalk.com/d/12/09/05/veda2eqy.jpg (http://img-2011-12.tapatalk.com/d/12/09/05/veda2eqy.jpg)
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 05:59:40 PM
A foxwing awning are a great accessory for this type of touring I reckon;

http://img-2011-12.tapatalk.com/d/12/09/05/veda2eqy.jpg (http://img-2011-12.tapatalk.com/d/12/09/05/veda2eqy.jpg)

True.. but how do they fare in the rain?....
Post by: Kangaron on January 04, 2015, 06:08:19 PM
better choices there, no awning needed
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 06:30:02 PM
better choices there, no awning needed

Shade??...lol
Post by: Gazza00 on January 04, 2015, 07:39:58 PM
With a dual cab, you just got to think of it as backpacking on 4 wheels - keep everything minimal. With the old Hilux, it was a Flyer battery pack in the rear tub running a 40lt Engel, tool box & spares, 4 man tent, 2x camp stretchers, 2x swags, 2x 20lt water containers, Coleman fuel stove , a couple containers with cooking gear and tucker, tarp and a couple tent poles to make an A frame shelter if needed. If the dog came with us, it usually had the whole back seat to itself, other wise we would use the back seat for a couple clothes bags and bitz n pieces. The rear floor was for whatever fitted there.   Now,  with the Troopy we (she) seem to take the whole bloody house.
Post by: Nomad on January 04, 2015, 07:46:59 PM
We did 3 weeks to Uluru and Back in September in the Prado. I looked at a heap of setups and decided that to use the KISS principle.
So the basic set up was:

Small roof basket with rooftop bag. The rooftop held our 2 small 2 man dome tents, chairs, sleeping bags, mattresses, small table, 2 burner stove and recovery gear / tools. Maxtrax things were cable tied under the roof rack.

We also had an ARB awning on the passenger side of the roof, 3 metres long x 2 metres out and we slept on a tarp on the ground under this on a couple of nights.On the drivers side was a long handled shovel attached with Quick Fists.

Inside we had a 105 litre vinyl water tank on the floor behind the front seats, our kids are young so it didn't impede their leg room. Going where we were I probably over did the size but better safe than sorry. The brand I bought was Fleximake, I think, and they were very good to deal with, no afflliation.

In the rear we have a large single draw that we filled up with dry food and anything we wanted easy access to and a 40 litre Engel for cold / frozen stuff. Between the engel and the rear seat is a convenient spot that holds a 2 cubes of beer. We allowed a Coles insulated bag each for clothing (so 4) plus another for toiletries and those microfibre towel, 1 for cooking gear and utensils, and another for kids books and stuff. There is also a fold down bench inside the back door of the Prado that we used for food prep etc.

Finally the spare wheel had the Binbag / Dirty storage and this was used for rubbish / dirty tarps etc etc.

As we were doing fairly high k's when we were driving we were setting up camp about 3pm in the afternoon and leaving by about 8am or 9am the next morning. So were looking for shade trees, and found them most places we stayed and stopped for lunch.

From my point of view the best thing about our setup was the time to setup and pack up and ability to travel much faster than those towing . The worst thing was making sure everything stayed organised. If you don't stay organised then your whole system can fall apart fairly quickly.

Have a ball, sounds like a great trip.

Cheers Nomad.  :cheers:

Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 07:48:14 PM
With a dual cab, you just got to think of it as backpacking on 4 wheels - keep everything minimal. With the old Hilux, it was a Flyer battery pack in the rear tub running a 40lt Engel, tool box & spares, 4 man tent, 2x camp stretchers, 2x swags, 2x 20lt water containers, Coleman fuel stove , a couple containers with cooking gear and tucker, tarp and a couple tent poles to make an A frame shelter if needed. If the dog came with us, it usually had the whole back seat to itself, other wise we would use the back seat for a couple clothes bags and bitz n pieces. The rear floor was for whatever fitted there.   :cheers:

Now,  with the Troopy we (she) seem to take the whole bloody house.....lol
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 07:58:06 PM
We did 3 weeks to Uluru and Back in September in the Prado. I looked at a heap of setups and decided that to use the KISS principle.
So the basic set up was:

Small roof basket with rooftop bag. The rooftop held our 2 small 2 man dome tents, chairs, sleeping bags, mattresses, small table, 2 burner stove and recovery gear / tools. Maxtrax things were cable tied under the roof rack.

We also had an ARB awning on the passenger side of the roof, 3 metres long x 2 metres out and we slept on a tarp on the ground under this on a couple of nights.On the drivers side was a long handled shovel attached with Quick Fists.

Inside we had a 105 litre vinyl water tank on the floor behind the front seats, our kids are young so it didn't impede their leg room. Going where we were I probably over did the size but better safe than sorry. The brand I bought was Fleximake, I think, and they were very good to deal with, no afflliation.

In the rear we have a large single draw that we filled up with dry food and anything we wanted easy access to and a 40 litre Engel for cold / frozen stuff. Between the engel and the rear seat is a convenient spot that holds a 2 cubes of beer. We allowed a Coles insulated bag each for clothing (so 4) plus another for toiletries and those microfibre towel, 1 for cooking gear and utensils, and another for kids books and stuff. There is also a fold down bench inside the back door of the Prado that we used for food prep etc.

Finally the spare wheel had the Binbag / Dirty storage and this was used for rubbish / dirty tarps etc etc.

As we were doing fairly high k's when we were driving we were setting up camp about 3pm in the afternoon and leaving by about 8am or 9am the next morning. So were looking for shade trees, and found them most places we stayed and stopped for lunch.

From my point of view the best thing about our setup was the time to setup and pack up and ability to travel much faster than those towing . The worst thing was making sure everything stayed organised. If you don't stay organised then your whole system can fall apart fairly quickly.

Have a ball, sounds like a great trip.

Cheers Nomad.  :cheers:

:cheers: mate.. yea we will use the K.I.S.S .... and the 6 p's ;). taste won't be to much of a trauma..plenty of stops to refuel ... we want to travel light (might take some doing with two teenagers ..lol) and with two teenagers with a avid tech conscience ..power is going to be challenge ;)
Post by: Nomad on January 04, 2015, 08:11:11 PM
As for power usage we had 2 iphones, 2 ipods, and ipad plus in car DVD etc etc..............wasn't too much of a problem............One thing I forgot............don't take too many tent pegs....they suck. I think it was speewas idea that I liberated but I took a cordless drill and some 4 inch coach screws and the fitting for the drill.............It was worth it weight in gold when you turned up somewhere to be able to drill tent eyelets and ropes straight into the ground without having to slave away behind a hammer into ground that can be as hard as rock.....just take the battery out of the drill so it can't get knocked into the on position when travelling.

Those Coles bags fit a 15 litre pot / crab cooker so they're really handy for heating up water for showers and stuff as well.

Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 08:27:53 PM
As for power usage we had 2 iphones, 2 ipods, and ipad plus in car DVD etc etc..............wasn't too much of a problem............One thing I forgot............don't take too many tent pegs....they suck. I think it was speewas idea that I liberated but I took a cordless drill and some 4 inch coach screws and the fitting for the drill.............It was worth it weight in gold when you turned up somewhere to be able to drill tent eyelets and ropes straight into the ground without having to slave away behind a hammer into ground that can be as hard as rock.....just take the battery out of the drill so it can't get knocked into the on position when travelling.

Those Coles bags fit a 15 litre pot / crab cooker so they're really handy for heating up water for showers and stuff as well.

Yhea.. the peggy pegs are genius ;)....
Post by: MDS69 on January 04, 2015, 09:06:22 PM
Similar to nomad we did two weeks from Sydney to Birdsville, Innaminka etc with two adults and two kids around 7 and 4 at the time. In our 120 series Prado we had a cargo barrier with a box with the 47L ARB fridge in it. The box allowed us to pack against and on top of the fridge and still have ventilation etc. A roof basket had the second spare wheel and a roof top bag containing a 4 person dome tent, sleeping bags, air matresses, chairs and a slat table amongst some other stuff. Packed in and around the fridge in the wagon was food, drinks and water in tubs. Extra water in 2L coke bottles which can be stuffed in all sorts of gaps etc. Clothes in tubs as well and basic cooking equipment.
Post by: cucinadio on January 04, 2015, 09:09:00 PM
Similar to nomad we did two weeks from Sydney to Birdsville, Innaminka etc with two adults and two kids around 7 and 4 at the time. In our 120 series Prado we had a cargo barrier with a box with the 47L ARB fridge in it. The box allowed us to pack against and on top of the fridge and still have ventilation etc. A roof basket had the second spare wheel and a roof top bag containing a 4 person dome tent, sleeping bags, air matresses, chairs and a slat table amongst some other stuff. Packed in and around the fridge in the wagon was food, drinks and water in tubs. Extra water in 2L coke bottles which can be stuffed in all sorts of gaps etc. Clothes in tubs as well and basic cooking equipment.

"LIKE"  :cheers:
Post by: cucinadio on January 05, 2015, 03:27:02 PM
Any swaggers wanting to post up there fit outs?.. would be great to get some ideas ;)
Post by: StrvnMrvn on January 05, 2015, 03:31:57 PM
Mate, I would, but I'm still waiting for the dealership to put in the tub liner and canopy for me.

Can you wait until the end of the month?
Post by: cucinadio on January 05, 2015, 03:53:59 PM
Mate, I would, but I'm still waiting for the dealership to put in the tub liner and canopy for me.

Can you wait until the end of the month?

Post by: ATC on January 05, 2015, 08:19:59 PM
Any swaggers wanting to post up there fit outs?.. would be great to get some ideas ;)

I've got to go through my photos & get some decent ones

2011 BT-50, tub / canopy with 2 sets roof racks, rooftop tent, outback drawers, MSA fridge slide, 2nd battery, 2" lift, 2nd battery etc...

Have you started searching on eBay / gumtree for drawers, fridge slides etc...
My drawers are from a hilux, left space for the 2nd batteries.
You can cut / make the Sidewings to suit the BT-50 tub, the carpet is easy to get.

Here is a few pictures of the 2nd batteries.
Here is my dual battery arrangement:-

CTek D250S Dual & a Full river FAT100 (Front Access terminal) battery.

Sits in a cage behind the drawer system with a metal strap over it anchored to the drawers - space next to it for another battery.
Above is a 2500watt Pure Sine inverter.

Have 100 Amp fused switches for the electrics & 150 amp for the inverter, there is a switch panel down the back of the drawers at the tailgate for Anderson plugs, switches & cigarette light sockets

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-lfRICeyNxjk/VKnnErMH5jI/AAAAAAAABBw/Pa9nuY8NoIw/w1065-h799-no/photo%2B1.JPG)

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-lfA6a6JJopw/VKnnEiR5LZI/AAAAAAAABBs/9jGOoNva32A/w1065-h799-no/photo%2B2.JPG)

Wiring - 6B&S for the small stuff - 2 B&S for the big 150+amp cables
Mate & I brought an 8 tonne Hydraulic Crimper with a range of crimp dies - makes it a lot easier - particularly on the big cables (cheap as chips on ebay)
Post by: cucinadio on January 05, 2015, 08:29:21 PM
I've got to go through my photos & get some decent ones

2011 BT-50, tub / canopy with 2 sets roof racks, rooftop tent, outback drawers, MSA fridge slide, 2nd battery, 2" lift, 2nd battery etc...

Have you started searching on eBay / gumtree for drawers, fridge slides etc...
My drawers are from a hilux, left space for the 2nd batteries.
You can cut / make the Sidewings to suit the BT-50 tub, the carpet is easy to get.

Here is a few pictures of the 2nd batteries.
Here is my dual battery arrangement:-

CTek D250S Dual & a Full river FAT100 (Front Access terminal) battery.

Sits in a cage behind the drawer system with a metal strap over it anchored to the drawers - space next to it for another battery.
Above is a 2500watt Pure Sine inverter.

Have 100 Amp fused switches for the electrics & 150 amp for the inverter, there is a switch panel down the back of the drawers at the tailgate for Anderson plugs, switches & cigarette light sockets

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-lfRICeyNxjk/VKnnErMH5jI/AAAAAAAABBw/Pa9nuY8NoIw/w1065-h799-no/photo%2B1.JPG)

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-lfA6a6JJopw/VKnnEiR5LZI/AAAAAAAABBs/9jGOoNva32A/w1065-h799-no/photo%2B2.JPG)

Wiring - 6B&S for the small stuff - 2 B&S for the big 150+amp cables
Mate & I brought an 8 tonne Hydraulic Crimper with a range of crimp dies - makes it a lot easier - particularly on the big cables (cheap as chips on ebay)

"LIKE"...  :cheers: mate.. that already give me a link to the decent space saving 100ah battery... love you work... Can i ask what you have been running of the inverter in particular and the ah you getting ?..any chance you have a link to where you bought the battery from?...
Post by: ATC on January 05, 2015, 08:46:06 PM
The front terminal batteries aren't cheap (Aussie solar seem to have good pricing) compared to convention shipped batteries.

I put a dirty big inverter in so we (read she) can run a full sized hair dryer when we go camping.

Typically I run a proper soldering iron to fix stuff, I live in an apartment block and the truck can't get near a mains power point.

BT-50 is a great truck, they need the suspension replaced, but there is lots of good brands out there.
Mine has just gone 3 years old, still get a smile when I get in it.

Post by: cucinadio on January 05, 2015, 08:50:42 PM
The front terminal batteries aren't cheap (Aussie solar seem to have good pricing) compared to convention shipped batteries.

I put a dirty big inverter in so we (read she) can run a full sized hair dryer when we go camping.

Typically I run a proper soldering iron to fix stuff, I live in an apartment block and the truck can't get near a mains power point.

BT-50 is a great truck, they need the suspension replaced, but there is lots of good brands out there.
Mine has just gone 3 years old, still get a smile when I get in it.

:cheers: mate..... Wha did you replace the suspension with?... ours has only done 16k so far.. so will do suspension change out after i get it loaded out ;).. + it'll need a pretty heavy warranty to satisfy the lease insurance ...
Post by: ATC on January 05, 2015, 09:03:50 PM
:cheers: mate..... Wha did you replace the suspension with?... ours has only done 16k so far.. so will do suspension change out after i get it loaded out ;).. + it'll need a pretty heavy warranty to satisfy the lease insurance ...

Ultimate Suspension (http://www.ultimatesuspension.com.au) - need to make sure that you have most of the big equipment in, good suspension places will want to weight the truck & talk about what you want to do...
Post by: Barry G on January 05, 2015, 10:19:32 PM
I have set up the Jackaroo so I can leave the CT behind and, without too much rearrangement, go camping places I can't / don't want to take the trailer .

In particular:
* Fridge (39 litre Autofridge with wired-in 12 volt timer) on slide in rear of the wagon' not in the CT.
* 2nd hand rear storage 'cage' as follows:
   Lower level;
   -   passenger side fridge slide,
   -   drivers' side 'under and over' draws,
       Draws can hold square nested saucepans / Trangia metho stove and pot set / food / tools as required.
   -   between the two, storage for water 'slabs' / compressor.
   Upper level;
   -   Shelf for solar panel suitcase, with room for inflatable sleeping mats on top.
   -   Above that, storage for clothes and equipment ( sleeping bags, back packs, etc.) & lightweight 3 person dome tent.
Passenger side of cage has Coleman stove attached via large 'Quick fist'
Drivers side of cage has large fire extinguisher attached, as well as a 3x D cell torch (quick fists) and first aid kit (occie strap).

Small roof basket has mount for 4.5 kg gas bottle, as well as room for camp chairs and small folding table.

AGM battery under bonnet, with a second in a powered box in passenger side rear foot well.

Shovel and axe rack on rear mounted spare wheel, with LED light attached.

Future:
* Removable water tank between rear seat and storage cage.
* sail track mount for side awning on roof rack.
* Jerry can mount on drivers side ( small ) rear barn door.

In addition, my equipment is sufficiently flexible to allow me to continue walking when the 4x4 track ends.   8)

Post by: ATC on January 06, 2015, 09:26:24 AM
A few more images of the BT-50

What I've we've done so far, the Missus is also active in working out what we get (and helps pay for it):-
2" lift - Ultimate Suspension
Cooper ST-Maxx tyres (265-70-17) (standard tyres are 265-65-17)
TJM T13 Steel Bull Bar
TJM 9500Lb winch
TJM Snorkle
TJM bashplates (all 4 Radiator, sump, gearbox, transfer case)
Bushranger HID Driving Lights
Bight Lights LED Light Bar (low / mid priced)
ICOM UHF
Rhino Roof rack + cheap Rhino wire cage
Rhino SunSeeker II awning
EGR (Mazda factory) Canopy
EGR Heavy Duty Canopy Roof Racks
ARB Roof Top Tent (from eBay)
Outback Draws (from Hilux - brought through Gumtree) & side wings cut to fit
MSA Drop Slide (DS-60) - (from eBay)
Waeco CFX-50 fridge
CTek 250S Dual DC-DC battery charger
105 Amp hours Front Terminal battery
Mazda Towbar + factory rear recovery points

This was mid June / July on a trip in the State Forests behind Oberon
(https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-HhvGW-iIa5E/U7Cf9rv2SyI/AAAAAAAAAwA/fjYCYAzBUdY/w599-h799-no/IMG_1929.JPG)

Same trip at the club campsite on the Wollondilly river, NSW
(https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-nbRN21EHwJo/VKsdHMiS2VI/AAAAAAAABC4/do7prcE9Gc8/w1201-h799-no/DSC_2846.JPG)

Not the most glamorous shot, taken on Fraser Island
(https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-A76oM9efBqI/U46ylWPxRSI/AAAAAAAAAWc/Ym5E1pLgv28/w1201-h799-no/DSC_2513_1985.jpg)

Post by: ATC on January 06, 2015, 01:21:26 PM
I have a roof top tent on my canopy, I've also had it on the cab.

People have to make up their own mind about the convenience / inconvenience of them.
They are big, heavy create drag ad you're driving, but they are awesome!

I have the Heavy Duty Rhino Racks  (http://www.rhinorack.com.au/products/roof-racks/heavy-duty/heavy-duty-rlt600-trackmount-silver-2-bar-roof-rack_ja6240)on my truck above the cab - rated at 100kg

On the canopy I have the EGR heavy duty roof racks Canopy- 2 lift up windows (http://www.mazda.com.au/owners/accessories/info/up11acclu-/) these are rated at 150kg.

My understanding is that these loads are the maximum load that you can have whilst the vehicle is moving (eg driving) it called the Dynamic Load. The Static Load eg weight they can take when not moving is higher.

Think G Forces when going around a corner, or breaking heavily - the Dynamic loads are much lower to accommodate the other various forces that a can  be normally subject to (cornering / breaking) and abnormally subject to - accident (sudden stop in 2-5 metres).

As for the Roof Top Tent it weights something like 50-70 kg, takes 2 of us to get it on or off.
But the missus is a exceptionally stunning slim little thing, unlike myself who rarely comes across something I don't like to eat (110kg +)

Biggest issue we've had is making sure the truck is level - so the bed is level.
I will use whatever is close at hand - rocks, MaxTrax, dig a hold etc... to adjust the wheel's so the bed is level.
Also wasn't much fun closing it up at 5am covered in frost with no gloves.

Has great midge proof screens, the ARB one I have is well made, open's easily and packs up almost as easily.
Once you get used to the ladder it's simple, there are straps to help get in  / out.

They are not for everyone, some people just won't like them, but if you live / travel when the snapping handbags swim & crawl then a RTT, or at least a deck on the rood is a good investment.

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-k-I0v-2pxig/VKtW1KPNXiI/AAAAAAAABDk/t6EvwQKJpr4/w485-h323-no/DSC_0357.JPG)

Post by: cyberess on January 11, 2015, 12:37:37 PM

I have had my simple fit out up for a long time  http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=17679.msg555492#msg555492 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=17679.msg555492#msg555492)   -- I reckon the best thing that I did was to go for a alloy gull wing lift up door side door canopy, with spare wheel carriers  -- This has allowed, mounting under tray fuel tank (giving easy touring range of over 1400 Km) , easy mounting of Maxtraxs, electrical systems etc.  This being a different idea, if you like this idea it's best "not" to build out a tub setup, just replace the tub with a flat tray gull wing canopy setup and start from there.

I will let the pics tell the story
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/42087-1/inside-canopy01.jpg)
easy mounting of equipment

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/47652-1/canopy-electricial00.jpg)
Large lift up doors give good shelter - I've been sitting comfortably in a camp chair underneath while it's been bucketing down with rain, it's a good place for mounting lighting systems.

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/46209-1/Alloy-Canopy.JPG)
As the alloy canopies are easy to have strong build in roof racks  -- great for carrying firewood.

There is plenty of other things that I done to make my setup a good Dual cab touring setup  -- anyway I hope this has added to your ideas.

Post by: weeds on January 11, 2015, 07:33:43 PM

Sounds great mate.. yes we are looking a similar ... thinking #oztent5 at the rear.. but will there be enough room to sleep four adults comfortably ?... #foxwing would be great if only it covered the rear of the truck more sufficiently..... so the tarp idea sounds like the go ..but we will also want ease of set up for one nighters ..

4 adults.......umm, we have an RV 4 and is barely big enough for 3 teenagers.

RV4/5 is great for two adults.
Post by: tk421 on January 13, 2015, 02:59:56 PM
4 adults.......umm, we have an RV 4 and is barely big enough for 3 teenagers.

RV4/5 is great for two adults.

We have an RV5 - They are 2.6mx2.6m you will get 3 adults on stretchers or 4 on sleeping mats (possibly 5 if you don't mind being very close - 4 N/S and 1 E/W).  We have had two adults on a double air mattress, 2 kids under 7 on mats and a 9mth old in a portacot in it though.

However get the optional side walls & front panel and you can turn the awning into a second room 2mx2.6m. Without the walls you could easily chuck a swag or two under the awning.
http://www.oztent.com.au/oztent-accessories/deluxe-front-panel#.VLSmGnkcSUk (http://www.oztent.com.au/oztent-accessories/deluxe-front-panel#.VLSmGnkcSUk)
Post by: cucinadio on January 22, 2015, 12:03:15 PM
A few more images of the BT-50

What I've we've done so far, the Missus is also active in working out what we get (and helps pay for it):-
2" lift - Ultimate Suspension
Cooper ST-Maxx tyres (265-70-17) (standard tyres are 265-65-17)
TJM T13 Steel Bull Bar
TJM 9500Lb winch
TJM Snorkle
TJM bashplates (all 4 Radiator, sump, gearbox, transfer case)
Bushranger HID Driving Lights
Bight Lights LED Light Bar (low / mid priced)
ICOM UHF
Rhino Roof rack + cheap Rhino wire cage
Rhino SunSeeker II awning
EGR (Mazda factory) Canopy
EGR Heavy Duty Canopy Roof Racks
ARB Roof Top Tent (from eBay)
Outback Draws (from Hilux - brought through Gumtree) & side wings cut to fit
MSA Drop Slide (DS-60) - (from eBay)
Waeco CFX-50 fridge
CTek 250S Dual DC-DC battery charger
105 Amp hours Front Terminal battery
Mazda Towbar + factory rear recovery points

This was mid June / July on a trip in the State Forests behind Oberon
(https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-HhvGW-iIa5E/U7Cf9rv2SyI/AAAAAAAAAwA/fjYCYAzBUdY/w599-h799-no/IMG_1929.JPG)

Same trip at the club campsite on the Wollondilly river, NSW
(https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-nbRN21EHwJo/VKsdHMiS2VI/AAAAAAAABC4/do7prcE9Gc8/w1201-h799-no/DSC_2846.JPG)

Not the most glamorous shot, taken on Fraser Island
(https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-A76oM9efBqI/U46ylWPxRSI/AAAAAAAAAWc/Ym5E1pLgv28/w1201-h799-no/DSC_2513_1985.jpg)

:cheers: Mate.... looks the goods... we have tentatively decide to go the roof RTT route and awning ...I'll either build my own storage in the tub or track down a cheap set of S/H drawers... whatever comes first, and the rest on from there.

Any ideas re packing, cooking, storage etc would be great .. bring em on! 
Post by: cucinadio on January 22, 2015, 12:04:28 PM
I have set up the Jackaroo so I can leave the CT behind and, without too much rearrangement, go camping places I can't / don't want to take the trailer .

In particular:
* Fridge (39 litre Autofridge with wired-in 12 volt timer) on slide in rear of the wagon' not in the CT.
* 2nd hand rear storage 'cage' as follows:
   Lower level;
   -   passenger side fridge slide,
   -   drivers' side 'under and over' draws,
       Draws can hold square nested saucepans / Trangia metho stove and pot set / food / tools as required.
   -   between the two, storage for water 'slabs' / compressor.

:cheers: LIKE!
   Upper level;
   -   Shelf for solar panel suitcase, with room for inflatable sleeping mats on top.
   -   Above that, storage for clothes and equipment ( sleeping bags, back packs, etc.) & lightweight 3 person dome tent.
Passenger side of cage has Coleman stove attached via large 'Quick fist'
Drivers side of cage has large fire extinguisher attached, as well as a 3x D cell torch (quick fists) and first aid kit (occie strap).

Small roof basket has mount for 4.5 kg gas bottle, as well as room for camp chairs and small folding table.

AGM battery under bonnet, with a second in a powered box in passenger side rear foot well.

Shovel and axe rack on rear mounted spare wheel, with LED light attached.

Future:
* Removable water tank between rear seat and storage cage.
* sail track mount for side awning on roof rack.
* Jerry can mount on drivers side ( small ) rear barn door.

In addition, my equipment is sufficiently flexible to allow me to continue walking when the 4x4 track ends.   8)

Post by: cucinadio on January 22, 2015, 12:06:47 PM
I have had my simple fit out up for a long time  http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=17679.msg555492#msg555492 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=17679.msg555492#msg555492)   -- I reckon the best thing that I did was to go for a alloy gull wing lift up door side door canopy, with spare wheel carriers  -- This has allowed, mounting under tray fuel tank (giving easy touring range of over 1400 Km) , easy mounting of Maxtraxs, electrical systems etc.  This being a different idea, if you like this idea it's best "not" to build out a tub setup, just replace the tub with a flat tray gull wing canopy setup and start from there.

I will let the pics tell the story
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/42087-1/inside-canopy01.jpg)
easy mounting of equipment

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/47652-1/canopy-electricial00.jpg)

Large lift up doors give good shelter - I've been sitting comfortably in a camp chair underneath while it's been bucketing down with rain, it's a good place for mounting lighting systems.

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/46209-1/Alloy-Canopy.JPG)
As the alloy canopies are easy to have strong build in roof racks  -- great for carrying firewood.

There is plenty of other things that I done to make my setup a good Dual cab touring setup  -- anyway I hope this has added to your ideas.

:cheers:Mate i'd love to go the whole ally cab camper option.. but the SWMBO just not feeling it !!.. I won't mention on here the words she used but ..she is just not feeling it !..lol
Post by: ATC on January 22, 2015, 01:28:11 PM
Did you point out it's easier to access the gear in there?

Getting stuff out of a Tub / Canopy is a PITA - and mine as Lift up windows, not the Slides - they are even worse.
Post by: cucinadio on January 22, 2015, 02:49:23 PM
Did you point out it's easier to access the gear in there?

Getting stuff out of a Tub / Canopy is a PITA - and mine as Lift up windows, not the Slides - they are even worse.

Yea mate,, all the pros and cons... but alas its not to be ..lol