Author Topic: Interesting read on electric cars  (Read 142351 times)

Onion and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline DandyD

Re: Interesting read on electric cars
« Reply #725 on: January 18, 2023, 11:05:39 AM »
That list has grown significantly in the last week and it's only a matter of time before Oz Tesla used cars join their cousins in the US with pricing.

Already happened in the UK…

Used Tesla prices continue to tank in January as experts assess big impact of new price drop

https://cardealermagazine.co.uk/publish/used-tesla-prices-continue-to-tank-in-january-as-experts-assess-big-impact-of-new-price-drop/277749

« Reply #726 on: January 18, 2023, 10:03:52 PM »
Satisfy your craving joneses-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/big-demand-for-electric-utes-in-1bn-deal/ar-AA16t4X8
Seems I might have been a bit hasty calling the LDV pricey-
https://www.drive.com.au/news/2023-ldv-et60-price-and-specs/

Get onboard with a novated lease to change the weather and don't be like that Gazza- https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/other/green-dreams-of-the-left-creating-nightmares-for-people/ar-AA16sYug
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #727 on: January 19, 2023, 12:17:11 PM »
I suspect you won't have to wait long as the Tesla Model 3s come off lease and the growing number of private sellers can't move them and the dealers aren't interested for the price-  https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/tesla/model-3/?sort=%7ePrice
That list has grown significantly in the last week and it's only a matter of time before Oz Tesla used cars join their cousins in the US with pricing.

Still a lot of money $50k.

Offline DandyD

« Reply #728 on: January 20, 2023, 03:16:13 AM »
Radical plan to axe sales of new electric cars from 2035 gets rolled – report

https://www.drive.com.au/news/wyoming-electric-car-ban-overturned/

« Reply #729 on: January 20, 2023, 02:58:42 PM »
Still a lot of money $50k.

Yes $50k cash buyers don't grow on trees but usually want finance and have a trade-in and that spells Dealers who don't appear to be enthusiastic selling at those prices. With car finance at 8-9% there are shrinking qualifiers and with Tesla slashing new prices used Dealers are clearly cautious about where used prices will settle. The real question is has Tesla satiated much of the lux EV sedan market and got too far ahead of themselves with factory capacity?
https://www.msn.com/en-au/money/companies/analysis-tesla-uses-its-profits-as-a-weapon-in-an-ev-price-war/ar-AA16wJRe

The Model 3 is now six going on seven years old and a bit boring for those who can afford the latest and greatest. At least they'd like to chop it in on the newer SUV version or await a Cybertruck perhaps but you suspect they're getting clobbered with real lux depreciation for their trade-ins at present. Give it a bash privately on Carsales then?

Has been an amazing car and I am very sad to see it go, but unfortunately it won’t tow a caravan.
https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/details/2019-tesla-model-3-standard-range-plus-auto/SSE-AD-14140212/?Cr=0
Much happier and more amazing with the asking readies no doubt.
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #730 on: January 27, 2023, 12:02:25 AM »
I must confess I'm struggling to reconcile where the brains trust are going with all this-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/australian-government-trying-to-tax-non-electric-cars-out-of-existence/ar-AA16KVFH
and the latest from my electricity provider-
https://email-view.campaign.marketing/origin/e99365db-70bf-43f4-8368-71a911219931/
or perhaps just their video if you're a recent product of our education system-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9VnTKtRSTqc

Not a problem for the son and his tradey mates as they'll just pass all their DC ute costs and any charging downtime on. Adds to inflation but I suppose it gives the suits at the RBA something to do jacking up interest rates again. Trust the circular economy in capable hands while changing the weather  :cup:

« Reply #731 on: February 01, 2023, 08:21:10 PM »
Cut the 'happy talk' crap and face facts extremists-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/toyota-calls-on-science-to-tell-ev-only-extremists-that-they-re-wrong/ar-AA16Yryt

"What has to change is that we have to mature a little bit, and we have to stop doing wishful thinking," he said. "A real discussion is that these are the constraints in the development of resources in the world, both material resources and charging infrastructure and renewable power… If that is true, how do we reduce the total amount of carbon dioxide that will accumulate? That is a mature discussion, not a kind of dream discussion."

Batteries and External Combustion Engines aren't all they're cracked up to be-
https://insideevs.com/features/645302/free-electric-vehicle-charging-sucks/

« Reply #732 on: February 17, 2023, 12:35:31 PM »
"Tesla recalls over 300,000 vehicles in the US equipped with 'Full Self-Driving"
That's going to cost some, Hmm
https://www.9news.com.au/national/tesla-recalling-nearly-363000-vehicles-equipped-with-full-selfdriving/5201a24c-7aff-44ee-bf08-b9a2c8e3cdb2

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

« Reply #733 on: February 17, 2023, 02:33:26 PM »
"Tesla recalls over 300,000 vehicles in the US equipped with 'Full Self-Driving"
That's going to cost some, Hmm
https://www.9news.com.au/national/tesla-recalling-nearly-363000-vehicles-equipped-with-full-selfdriving/5201a24c-7aff-44ee-bf08-b9a2c8e3cdb2

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

I reckon Tesla would have to be one of the most recalled brands on the planet

« Reply #734 on: February 18, 2023, 01:01:38 PM »
Work stepped us into a new EV, my dailey driver..$14 k of cheap chinese tin and plastic   So quiet compared to the 20 yro smokey joe ICE powered one ..
So quiet you can hear the diff bearings change tone under load and off load  ;D

« Reply #735 on: February 18, 2023, 05:52:27 PM »
Work stepped us into a new EV, my dailey driver..$14 k of cheap chinese tin and plastic   So quiet compared to the 20 yro smokey joe ICE powered one ..
Interesting edz, what sort of work do you do with it and is it up to the task? Looks cool though. Cheers

Sent from my SM-A226B using Tapatalk

« Reply #736 on: February 19, 2023, 06:37:59 AM »

"Under load" ???

That means the second person ??? >:D

« Reply #737 on: February 19, 2023, 10:01:50 PM »
Security / cellar work .. for my side of it ..Cleaners use it to do rounds and then the maintenance boys flog it .. Does about 6+- km a day, sofar the low battery alarm chimes at 3 bars on the display, Got about 6 days out of a full charge so far ...
As for the diff bearings ....Theyre a bit noisy on accelleration / decelleration, well to me they are .... Next test will be to see how waterproof all the lectrics are when we get lotas of rain to play in..Already warned the boss I reckon the dash will fritz itself and take out everything, Dosnt want me to put a cover over it ...So we will see .

« Reply #738 on: February 19, 2023, 11:39:31 PM »
Hey edz, thanks for reply. Interesting assessment. So i'm guessing you would'nt highly recommend it. I like the look of it and can think of several uses for it but long term lasting and reliability could perhaps be an issue based on your opinion. Cheers

Offline Gazza00

« Reply #740 on: February 21, 2023, 04:09:46 PM »
Hey edz, thanks for reply. Interesting assessment. So i'm guessing you would'nt highly recommend it. I like the look of it and can think of several uses for it but long term lasting and reliability could perhaps be an issue based on your opinion. Cheers

Like anything you would need to see it for yourself and form your own opinion of it ..
Like its new, it goes all right and all ...But for 14K is a lot of dough and how cheaply built this thing is .... For me I cant see 14K in it or longevity ..

« Reply #741 on: February 21, 2023, 04:47:13 PM »
... For me I cant see 14K in it ..

That goes for most things, doesn't it??

« Reply #742 on: February 24, 2023, 04:10:22 PM »
If you believe we can transition to net zero CO2 emissions by 2050 you are as utterly delusional as our current elites and political leaders. Physicist Mark Mills explains fairly simply and graphically why that is-
https://wattsupwiththat.com/2023/02/23/mark-mills-the-energy-transition-delusion-inescapable-mineral-realities/
Well unless you believe we should all be retreating to the age before the steam engine perhaps.

« Reply #743 on: February 26, 2023, 08:41:32 AM »
Here's one that will be worth keeping an eye on!

https://poletopoleev.com/

Offline Rowlie

« Reply #744 on: February 26, 2023, 09:26:57 AM »
Here's one that will be worth keeping an eye on!

https://poletopoleev.com/
Yeah but they're starting at the North Pole and heading to the South Pole. Its all downhill duh !!!

« Reply #745 on: February 27, 2023, 07:10:10 AM »
True dat! ;D

Also noticed from their site "With predicted temperatures ranging from -30?C to 30?C"

Ah, so they won't be driving in hot weather! ;D >:D

Although they do also make mention of "soaring temperatures at the equator" and "hot and humid jungles of South America" ??? ::) >:D

« Reply #746 on: February 28, 2023, 02:59:36 PM »
Wonder how the batteries will handle the super cold in regards to accepting charge, going to be doing some juggling of power to keep the batteries warm enough ..
The following users thanked this post: Harbourmaster

Offline l0ckym

« Reply #747 on: March 01, 2023, 06:35:30 AM »
If you believe we can transition to net zero CO2 emissions by 2050 you are as utterly delusional as our current elites and political leaders. Physicist Mark Mills explains fairly simply and graphically why that is-
https://wattsupwiththat.com/2023/02/23/mark-mills-the-energy-transition-delusion-inescapable-mineral-realities/
Well unless you believe we should all be retreating to the age before the steam engine perhaps.

Agree, but doesn't mean we shouldn't try.
2005 Nissan X-Trail ST
2008 Mountain Trail Camper

« Reply #748 on: March 01, 2023, 06:54:31 AM »
Agree, but doesn't mean we shouldn't try.

So we should destroy our economy in the pointless pursuit of an ideal??

I don't understand the logic of that....

The following users thanked this post: Bird

Offline l0ckym

« Reply #749 on: March 01, 2023, 08:29:44 AM »
So we should destroy our economy in the pointless pursuit of an ideal??

I don't understand the logic of that....

I think the market will do it anyway.
Especially compared to the cost of coal (and the insurance costs for coal companies).
Everyone wants Free Market Economics - until it doesn't deliver their ideology.
2005 Nissan X-Trail ST
2008 Mountain Trail Camper