Author Topic: G'day, I'm a newbie  (Read 4010 times)

Offline busdriva69

G'day, I'm a newbie
« on: August 28, 2013, 05:53:28 PM »
G'day folks. I'm new to this so ill just say howdy and hope to make a few friends. Currently on hols in Coral bay staying in a nice house. But we swagged it for a week to get up here and after many years away from the camping scene we kinda got the bug again staying in caravan parks and got the itch to maybe go for a camper trailer to really enjoy the outdoors. Wow, are there too many to choose from! So I'm spending my relax time just surfing and trying to gather info. It seems difficult to compare apples with apples. I want an off road style trailer but without it being too hard core. I still like some creature comforts so we won't be doing any dessert crossings too soon. Any advice for an entry level trailer would be appreciated. Around $10k is the budget at the moment as I just killed the pig last year with the near new Hilux and I spent all the $$ fruiting that up. So I've got the gear to pull a trailer.

Anyway thanks all for your time and hope to chat to a few nice people. Cheers.

Chris.
2010 Dual Cab SR5 D4D. 2" OME Lift kit, Ironman snorkel, Ironman awning. Lots of other little bits that you generally find in the fruit bowl.. Now all I need is something behind it! Ahh got it, pics to follow.

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
G'day, I'm a newbie
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2013, 05:56:20 PM »
welcome to the forum, yes coral bay a lovely special place.. enjoy ya time there...

Carry on...
1993 80 series landcruiser

Re: G'day, I'm a newbie
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2013, 06:49:50 PM »
Welcome to the forum Chris.  Plenty of helpful info on here.  Make use of the search facility on the home page and don't be afraid to ask some questions.

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2013, 06:55:52 PM »
G'day, another new bloke here too. This place is a good place. I lurked for a couple of months before joining in.
Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0

« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2013, 06:59:16 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Chris. There is plenty of knowledge and experience to help you chose your new CT; just start a thread telling swaggers what you want in a CT and the conditions you expect to tow it in. See you around the forum mate. Muz

Offline berlitza

« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2013, 07:02:32 PM »
Welcome to a pretty addictive forum Chris, just a heads up though, there's a good possibility it could send you bankrupt.  :cheers:

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
G'day, I'm a newbie
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2013, 07:36:18 PM »
Welcome Chris, hope the search for a CT goes well and you find one soon.

How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2013, 08:11:24 PM »
Welcome Chris  ,  l too am new  here as you can see by my post count .  Now your here how can you get out , until you have read the next post .
l tried many years ago ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, but it didn't work ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, Hotel California ,,,,,,,,, you can check out any time you like but you will never leave,,,,,,,,, & who wants to                        >:D   :cheers:

G'day, I'm a newbie
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2013, 11:23:32 PM »

Look forward to your trip updates

Offline wysiwugsc

• Rooftop tents rock
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2013, 11:50:39 PM »
Welcome Chris.

Great crew here u landed on the right planet.  Its the best one I've been on so far

Wysiwugsc
Pete n jo
Dual cab 3 Ltr 04 Lux with roof top tent in the shed
HZJ105R with mods

« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2013, 07:33:15 AM »
Welcome Chris,

Good luck with your new CT search.
Plenty od good advice available here.

Offline Followme1

• Follow Me Campers
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2013, 10:23:44 AM »
Hi Chris
Welcome aboard
You can get some nice second hand Australian made campers for $10,000 and you know it will last you for years without having to replace your tent in 2-3 years

George
http://www.followmecampers.com.au

Offline Trackabout Off Road Campers

• Trackabout Off Road Campers
« Reply #12 on: August 29, 2013, 11:07:17 AM »
G'day Chris, welcome mate  :cup: You'll have a ball here!

www.trackabout.com.au

« Reply #13 on: August 29, 2013, 02:31:28 PM »
Welcome to MySwsg Chris.  A great place to research and find a great trailer. Ask away if you need some help and keep your eyes on the classifieds

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk 4

« Reply #14 on: August 30, 2013, 02:42:47 AM »
G'day Chris,

Welcome to the forum mate.........

For $10k you'll get yourself a great CT.......... don't forget to keep a keen eye on the classifieds on here, some great kitted up well cared for units come up for sale on here for around those $$........

Stay well, happy CT hunting.

Barrabart.

Offline lindamc

• Woodsies Photography
« Reply #15 on: August 30, 2013, 06:36:34 AM »
Hi Chris,
we have just bought, but yet to pick up, an aussie jay off road camper for $10500. It is only that price for this month though. But might be worth you checking them out. They are in Williamstown.
Linda
Linda & Kristin
Prado & Aussie jay camper
Melbourne

Offline busdriva69

« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2013, 09:47:20 AM »
Thanks for the warm welcome everyone. Wow my eyes are hurting now from hours looking at the screen trying to work things out. So I see myself having a few options with my budget. I can get a cheaper quality unit for my $10k with a lot of extras, or I can go for a decent 2nd hand Aussie built camper or I could start from scratch with a quality trailer and build my own. I'm more than capable and have plenty of contacts and there's heaps of info around on sites just like this one. This is by far the best forum I've found and the only 1 I've bothered to join. I reckon for my $10k I could build a fairly nice unit. Trouble is, I want it NOW!  ;D but I'm going to think it through and see what happens. I quite like the idea of a challenge and knowing I've made my own to my standards sound nice. Will keep you posted on what I decide to do once I get back to Perth and actually see some units and what sort of quality they are.

2010 Dual Cab SR5 D4D. 2" OME Lift kit, Ironman snorkel, Ironman awning. Lots of other little bits that you generally find in the fruit bowl.. Now all I need is something behind it! Ahh got it, pics to follow.

Offline Scott450

« Reply #17 on: August 30, 2013, 05:31:54 PM »
Hi Iam all so a new member good luck with the camper choice I spent a good 8 months looking and ended up with a trackabout witch Iam very impresses with def worth looking into
Toyota hilux 2013 2012 trackabout safari sv extenda