General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on July 11, 2015, 12:31:35 AM

Title: Warn winch rebuild
Post by: Bird on July 11, 2015, 12:31:35 AM
going to mates place, having a beer, then deciding to service me winch... much intercoursing around, remove bullbar and winch and UHF Aerial, and more...

finally get winch in shed, find that the freespool lever wont move... not a good look...
remove the other end from the motor, look inside,  it looked like the cup and substance from 1 girl 1 cup...

decide its a job for Mal Leslie :(  Call GG to find out rough price he paid for his.. found out.. started crying...
refitted bar, ariel, spotties, no winch and drove home with tail between legs....
Title: Re: Re: 'Daily Rant Thread'
Post by: Rumpig on July 11, 2015, 07:26:30 AM
going to mates place, having a beer, then deciding to service me winch... much intercoursing around, remove bullbar and winch and UHF Aerial, and more...

finally get winch in shed, find that the freespool lever wont move... not a good look...
remove the other end from the motor, look inside,  it looked like the cup and substance from 1 girl 1 cup...

decide its a job for Mal Leslie :(  Call GG to find out rough price he paid for his.. found out.. started crying...
refitted bar, ariel, spotties, no winch and drove home with tail between legs....
Reckon I need to look up the meaning of intercoursing...I'm hoping it means something different to my thinking  ???  ;D
Post by: Bad Scott on July 11, 2015, 08:44:23 AM
Reckon I need to look up the meaning of intercoursing...I'm hoping it means something different to my thinking  ???  ;D
Wasn't game to write anything but since you have.
X everyone else >:D
Post by: D4D on July 11, 2015, 08:59:04 AM

It's worth it
Post by: BaseCamp on July 11, 2015, 09:10:38 AM

"Forget that" ....   its Bird's reference to 2 girls and a cup that's got me bejeebered
 :worthles:   :cup:
 :police:
 ???

NO
 ???
Post by: Rumpig on July 11, 2015, 09:13:49 AM
"Forget that" ....   its Bird's reference to 2 girls and a cup that's got me bejeebered
 :worthles:   :cup:
 :police:
 ???

NO
 ???
i thought I'd play it safe an just avoid that reference myself...lol
Post by: Bird on July 11, 2015, 01:13:07 PM
It's worth it
Called Mal this morning, price starts at $700!!!!!!!!! Can get a new winch with Plasma for that price.

since have spoken with a few mates who have had work done... Chris on here had his done which was in similar condition to mine, $1100+!hahahahahahah that's funny!
Post by: Swannie on July 11, 2015, 01:39:35 PM
You would just buy a new runva wouldn't you for that price?

Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 11, 2015, 01:59:43 PM
Called Mal this morning, price starts at $700!!!!!!!!! Can get a new winch with Plasma for that price.

since have spoken with a few mates who have had work done... Chris on here had his done which was in similar condition to mine, $1100+!hahahahahahah that's funny!

Getting steep at those prices, although a new Warn will set you back a heap more. I was lucky as I sent him my winch brand new out of the box so he just improved it. Maybe he is getting ready for retirement  ;D

Post by: GeoffA on July 12, 2015, 07:45:39 AM

Do it yourself.....
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2015, 01:12:30 PM
Quote from: swannie
You would just buy a new runva wouldn't you for that price?
I got this one at a good price $1400 new ;) contacts.. contacts :P
Theres a XP9.5 on ebay complete for a grand, or a Premier 9000 for under 100 at moment.

Quote from: GGV8Cruza
Maybe he is getting ready for retirement  ;D
I had that thought too
but as a mate said he gets comp blokes spending $15,000+ on upgrading their own winch so to him maybe he thinks its cheap. scottmefuqt

Quote from: GeoffA
Do it yourself.....
I thought there maybe a youtube on how to do it, but cant find Shit on how to waterproof them properly. not even a decent website. :(
In the defence, the XD9000 design is decades old, so waterproofing probably wasn't high on the list back then.

Cheapest XP I can find new in US was around 1700au + million shipping.

I've been trying to understand what parts Mal uses, and I think he must use the 2 end parts the drum goes in, and also the cross braces...  ???

http://winchserviceparts.com/ (http://winchserviceparts.com/) looking here (USA of course), parts aren't that bad...

might drop in and see Adam at Ironman again...  talk to him about his winches and how waterproof his are.
Post by: D4D on July 12, 2015, 01:20:21 PM
but as a mate said he gets comp blokes spending $15,000+ on upgrading their own winch so to him maybe he thinks its cheap. scottmefuqt

I've been trying to understand what parts Mal uses, and I think he must use the 2 end parts the drum goes in, and also the cross braces...  ???

You're paying for parts, labour and many many years of knowledge.
Post by: GeoffA on July 12, 2015, 01:24:53 PM

http://winchserviceparts.com/ (http://winchserviceparts.com/) looking here (USA of course), parts aren't that bad...

Warns are designed to be mounted feet-down, but most are mounted feet-forward. When I spoke with ML, he said that most of what he does is to address the non-drainage issue when they're mounted feet-forward. As mine's mounted feet-down (TJM bar with cradle), he said there wasn't a lot to be gained by having him work on it. How is yours mounted Bruce?

I bought his cross braces separately.

Post by: Bird on July 12, 2015, 01:25:33 PM
Quote from: D4D
You're paying for parts, labour and many many years of knowledge.
No doubt, which is one reason I called him.. but the parts were only 300.. lots of labour in 1100.00....
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2015, 01:27:28 PM
Warns are designed to be mounted feet-down, but most are mounted feet-forward. When I spoke with ML, he said that most of what he does is to address the non-drainage issue when they're mounted feet-forward. As mine's mounted feet-down (TJM bar with cradle), he said there wasn't a lot to be gained by having him work on it. How is yours mounted Bruce?

I bought his cross braces separately.

Mines in a TJM bar too :) But interesting to see, the drain hole is only at one end of the winch (motor or gearbox cant remember) which I find strange...

Actually googling I see warn now make a winch totally designed to run underwater.... wonder how many billions they would cost.
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2015, 01:31:23 PM
Geoff.. what are the crossbraces??? surely they aren't just the bars "bracing bars" ???

Interesting, googling and seeing some of the threads on what grease to use....
http://forum.ih8mud.com/threads/waterproofing-a-winch.371911/ (http://forum.ih8mud.com/threads/waterproofing-a-winch.371911/)

Some chat on Caterpillar Dozer grease here that 'traps' the water... sounds interesting.
Post by: GeoffA on July 12, 2015, 01:38:37 PM
Geoff.. what are the crossbraces??? surely they aren't just the bars "bracing bars" ???

Bruce, the std braces are very light, and too close to the winch body. ML's cross-braces are heavier, and spaced out from the winch body. They give more room for the rope to bunch up when winching. The housings can break if the rope bunches up against the braces. I don't remember pricing, but they weren't big money. Easy to make.

Post by: Bird on July 12, 2015, 01:40:42 PM
Bruce, the std braces are very light, and too close to the winch body. ML's cross-braces are heavier, and spaced out from the winch body. They give more room for the rope to bunch up when winching. The housings can break if the rope bunches up against the braces. I don't remember pricing, but they weren't big money. Easy to make.

These are what he was saying was for waterproofing... ??? I know the birdsnesting issue with the std bars, but trying to figure out how it could waterproof it... maybe I mistook what he said... theres plenty of people making the cross braces too these days..

Looking at exploded views of the XP, there certainly seems more seals than the stocky XD
Post by: GeoffA on July 12, 2015, 01:43:32 PM
These are what he was saying was for waterproofing... ???

Got me.... ???

Looking at exploded views of the XP, there certainly seems more seals than the stocky XD

Lucky I got my XP from the US when the dollar was good.... ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2015, 01:49:06 PM
Got me.... ???
Might call him again Monday, maybe he was quoting weekend prices.

Lucky I got my XP from the US when the dollar was good.... ;D ;D
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/48/2b/c6/482bc609eb85c1bfaab543cf008ac9cd.jpg)

Epoxy paint, are they all the same??? will get GG to split this into a winch thread.
Post by: nab on July 12, 2015, 03:10:28 PM
I got this one at a good price $1400 new ;) contacts.. contacts :P

So how does the "you get what you pay for" theory work here?? Twice the price of a Runva and it's still Shite? Why is the winch dead? Maintenance issue, broken parts, user error?   ;D
Title: Re: Warn winch rebuild
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 12, 2015, 04:40:01 PM
Split out for you Bird

Post by: loanrangie on July 12, 2015, 06:06:47 PM
So how does the "you get what you pay for" theory work here?? Twice the price of a Runva and it's still Shite? Why is the winch dead? Maintenance issue, broken parts, user error?   ;D

x2, what is the actual issue with it ?
Post by: Bad Scott on July 12, 2015, 06:18:41 PM
Do it yourself.....
But the parts get washed in the washing machine :cheers:
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2015, 07:15:40 PM
Quote from: nab
Why is the winch dead?
Cause I'm a lazy **** - simple as that... Probably 7-10 winches on 4b's out there that haven't had their winch touched would be the same

All but 2-3 winches on the market would have been the same. But if you had the spare to get it waterproofed or buy the waterproofed unit= then it would piss on a Runva which he suggested couldn't be waterproofed....
Post by: achjimmy on July 12, 2015, 07:59:20 PM
I did mine from new with advice from Mal. He was certainly very generous with his advise, I did explain to him I was in sydney and was a fitter with acess to machinery?. it would be a lot harder from used because things would cease up.  But it ain't rocket science. Oh and I did get the offset tierods from Mal think they were less than $60 posted.

I know the Runvas are like the holy grail atm and I even put a mate on to the seller here. But I can't see any winch going for long with repeated dunkings and minimal use?
Post by: GeoffA on July 12, 2015, 08:49:21 PM
Mines in a TJM bar too :) But interesting to see, the drain hole is only at one end of the winch (motor or gearbox cant remember) which I find strange...

Is it mounted feet-down, or feet-forward? Is the drain hole at the bottom?
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2015, 08:51:05 PM
Is it mounted feet-down, or feet-forward? Is the drain hole at the bottom?
mounted down and rotated to have drain at bottom.

I might do the phone call saying im interstate and have access to machinery :D
Post by: oldmate on July 12, 2015, 09:00:48 PM

You own two comp trucks.
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2015, 09:03:03 PM
You own two comp trucks.
Post by: oldmate on July 12, 2015, 09:27:07 PM

With another in the go with 2 sill mount winches also fitted
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2015, 09:29:27 PM
With another in the go with 2 sill mount winches also fitted
not only front and rear mounted, I have side and roof mounted...
Post by: oldmate on July 12, 2015, 09:34:12 PM
not only front and rear mounted, I have side and roof mounted...

That's what I meant, sill mounted (door sill) 1 each side. Want an f1-11 to go with that?  :D ;D
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2015, 09:57:48 PM
so has anyone found any good pages on waterproofin XD9000's ??? I cant find Shit.. nothing on pootuber either

What grease are people using????
Post by: Snapman007 on July 12, 2015, 10:50:03 PM
so has anyone found any good pages on waterproofin XD9000's ??? I cant find Shit.. nothing on pootuber either

No, but thanks for asking. ;D
Post by: Snapman007 on July 12, 2015, 11:04:53 PM
Would packing them head to toe full of greece keep the water out?
Post by: achjimmy on July 12, 2015, 11:22:12 PM
Silcone will water proof it , then put a drain and breather in the end casing for the motor.  After I did mine I bought a  warn end casing already taped with a BSP port in it. Next time it's out Iam  Going to hook it up to a small blower motor that runs concurrently with the winch . Maybe with an override switch for after water crossing?
Post by: achjimmy on July 12, 2015, 11:24:39 PM

But thought you said you were lazy?
Post by: Bird on July 13, 2015, 08:26:07 AM
Quote from: achjimmy
But thought you said you were lazy?

(http://cdn.meme.am/instances/61746423.jpg)
Post by: loanrangie on July 13, 2015, 02:03:18 PM
Would packing them head to toe full of greece keep the water out?

I know their economy is crap but i dont think they'll all fit  ;D.

I pulled my old M8000 out a few years ago after it failed to winch me out of my parents back yard (another story ) and expected it to be rooted since i hadnt touched it since fitting it 9 years ago.
  When i checked the motor it was totally dry and the gearbox was still greased just as i left it, in my ARB bar the winch is fitted feet up in a cradle between the end of the chassis rails.
 Exposed as it is it has never copped any damage, winch is at least 20-25yo so i expected it was cactus but it works perfectly now.
Post by: raider on July 13, 2015, 08:40:56 PM

What grease are people using????
I saw a rebuild via Google where they used a grease / oil slurry of some sort .
Post by: V8CRSA on July 13, 2015, 09:24:24 PM

When Mal did our winch it also cost is over $1100.....that was a bit of a surprise.
I know the grease you need to use is the EPL0 it's the thinnest grease, it's nearly oil, that's what Mal told me to use.

If it was my money again, I would buy a cheaper brand and just replace it every 5 years.......

Post by: Bird on July 13, 2015, 09:39:25 PM
Home:
https://www.warn.com/truck/winches/src/XD9000.shtml (https://www.warn.com/truck/winches/src/XD9000.shtml)

Operators Manual
http://atecoequipment.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/XD9000-Operators-Manual.pdf (http://atecoequipment.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/XD9000-Operators-Manual.pdf)

Albright wiring
https://www.smithiesoutback.com.au/cms/ALBRIGHT%20SOLENOID%20WIRING.pdf (https://www.smithiesoutback.com.au/cms/ALBRIGHT%20SOLENOID%20WIRING.pdf)

XD9000 parts sheet
http://www.warn.com/truck/ReplacementParts/parts/222/34355F3.pdf (http://www.warn.com/truck/ReplacementParts/parts/222/34355F3.pdf)

Part Numbers and Exploded View
http://atecoequipment.com.au/manual/xd9000-12v-catalogue-sn-1134880-up/ (http://atecoequipment.com.au/manual/xd9000-12v-catalogue-sn-1134880-up/)

Parts ordering:
http://winchserviceparts.com/xd9000.php (http://winchserviceparts.com/xd9000.php)

Recommendations for Grease:
http://bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=2452921 (http://bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=2452921)
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/general-4x4-discussion/147080-warn-winch-rebuild-source-grease.html (http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/general-4x4-discussion/147080-warn-winch-rebuild-source-grease.html)

Stuff
http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/recovery-gear-87/how-rebuild-low-mount-warn-step-step-121730/index2.html (http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/recovery-gear-87/how-rebuild-low-mount-warn-step-step-121730/index2.html)

All about winch rope.
http://www.rockstomper.com/catalog/recovery/ropes.htm (http://www.rockstomper.com/catalog/recovery/ropes.htm)
Post by: Bird on July 15, 2015, 05:16:26 PM
Quote from: raider
I saw a rebuild via Google where they used a grease / oil slurry of some sort .

Interesting...
Anyway dropped in on a ex-R32 - now Audi Loving Freak (D4D knows wat im on about) that worked for ARB for 15 years and he said this is correct..
Use Moreys Oil Treatment in good Moly Grease and you'll be laughin..
Post by: D4D on July 15, 2015, 05:19:54 PM
Anyway dropped in on a ex-R32 - now Audi Loving Freak (D4D knows wat im on about) that worked for ARB for 15 years and he said this is correct..

How is the old fart?
Post by: Bird on July 15, 2015, 08:35:22 PM
Quote from: D4D
How is the old fart?
drivin an A3 something... repeats things a bit.. comes with old age.. Still knows his Shit though....

The story of the kid in the Magna taking out the R32 is interesting LOL
Post by: Bird on July 18, 2015, 06:33:32 PM
4 hours of work today, its cleaned up pretty good!!!

now to get a couple of bearings and gaskets
Post by: GeoffA on July 18, 2015, 06:42:44 PM
Good work.  :cup:

Total cost so far, and expected cost when finished??
Post by: Bad Scott on July 18, 2015, 06:55:57 PM
how to get a couple of bearings and gaskets
Quality Bearings?
Are the gaskets just for sealing or do they add to end play?????
If they are just for sealing why not use Loctite flange sealant   :cheers:
Post by: Bird on July 22, 2015, 10:51:06 AM
2 bearings
6203 RS C3
6202Z

Got the gaskets from mate in this
(http://cdn.advisorthinkbox.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/wheres-waldo-Store.jpg)
Post by: Bird on July 22, 2015, 11:22:17 AM
Good work.  :cup:

Total cost so far, and expected cost when finished??
Gaskets $5
Grease and Moreys Oil treatment $30
Bearings - find out at lunchtime.

lots of rags, brake cleaner and wire brush time - priceless.
Post by: GeoffA on July 22, 2015, 12:04:50 PM
Gaskets $5
Grease and Moreys Oil treatment $30
Bearings - find out at lunchtime.

lots of rags, brake cleaner and wire brush time - priceless.

:cup: :cup:

Do it yourself.....

;D ;D
Post by: Bad Scott on July 22, 2015, 12:32:44 PM
2 bearings
6203 RS C3
6202Z

Got the gaskets from mate in this
(http://cdn.advisorthinkbox.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/wheres-waldo-Store.jpg)

Did alright in finding him ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on July 23, 2015, 05:14:04 PM
Gee not many good bearing companies around anymore.. 4 round work here have all gone!

might have to try Dandenong..
Post by: macca on July 23, 2015, 08:07:42 PM
SKF Bearings on Dandy / Franna Road  or CBC / BJ both on Hammond Road. Renhel Manufacturing just up the road for seals
Post by: Bird on July 23, 2015, 08:09:25 PM
SKF Bearings on Dandy / Franna Road  or CBC / BJ both on Hammond Road. Renhel Manufacturing just up the road for seals
love ya werk
Post by: fuji on July 23, 2015, 08:32:16 PM
Did what GG did and dropped it into Mal and he did something to it for a couple of hundred and then had it fitted. Which reminds me I had cause to use the winch at Lake Hart near Woomera. Just found a nice camp and the sun was setting and the beer was just opened. "herro" he says. "Yes mate, wassup?"
" my car stuck in sand 1 kirometer flom heea." You have help me" f%}^{%]% I said. So I drop everything and drive him down to the trainlines and there's his car and the front wheels are buried in the sand. Type of car you ask? A Hyundai Accent. "  Winched him out and as I go to drive off he bogs himself again. F^{^{%]% I say. So winch him out again and he drives off in the sunset to Yulara. Freaking tourists! At least the winch works ;D
Post by: macca on July 23, 2015, 08:57:39 PM
Did what GG did and dropped it into Mal and he did something to it for a couple of hundred and then had it fitted. Which reminds me I had cause to use the winch at Lake Hart near Woomera. Just found a nice camp and the sun was setting and the beer was just opened. "herro" he says. "Yes mate, wassup?"
" my car stuck in sand 1 kirometer flom heea." You have help me" f%}^{%]% I said. So I drop everything and drive him down to the trainlines and there's his car and the front wheels are buried in the sand. Type of car you ask? A Hyundai Accent. "  Winched him out and as I go to drive off he bogs himself again. F^{^{%]% I say. So winch him out again and he drives off in the sunset to Yulara. Freaking tourists! At least the winch works ;D
Bugger that Fuji in beer drinking time, should have just chucked him fifty cents to call someone who cares. Reminds me of the time up the Murray a guy tried to put his boat in the river and ended up putting his 200 in there as well. Hooked the winch on, but i was up over the bank and couldnt see him and was wondering why I was struggling to move, actually pulled my car out of the ditch I put it in to help hold it, so I gets out and walk over to the bank to see what's going on and here he is standing beside the car with the wheels on full lock digging deeper into the sand. Ya might wanta get in and help I says, so after about two hours stuffing around he goes to his fridge and gets four cans of VB, great I hate the stuff

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bad Scott on July 23, 2015, 09:53:16 PM
Bugger that Fuji in beer drinking time, should have just chucked him fifty cents to call someone who cares. Reminds me of the time up the Murray a guy tried to put his boat in the river and ended up putting his 200 in there as well. Hooked the winch on, but i was up over the bank and couldnt see him and was wondering why I was struggling to move, actually pulled my car out of the ditch I put it in to help hold it, so I gets out and walk over to the bank to see what's going on and here he is standing beside the car with the wheels on full lock digging deeper into the sand. Ya might wanta get in and help I says, so after about two hours stuffing around he goes to his fridge and gets four cans of VB, great I hate the stuff

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk

Could've been worse. He could've given ya a six pack ;D ;D
Post by: mike and tracy davis on July 23, 2015, 10:27:39 PM
Great write up in the patrol4x4.com site in the recovery gear section on rebuilding your Warn winch, step by step guide that someone with basic mechanical skills can attempt easily and lots of pictures.

Cheers Mike :cheers:
Post by: Jason B on July 23, 2015, 10:52:45 PM
When Mal did our winch it also cost is over $1100.....that was a bit of a surprise.
I know the grease you need to use is the EPL0 it's the thinnest grease, it's nearly oil, that's what Mal told me to use.

If it was my money again, I would buy a cheaper brand and just replace it every 5 years.......

Just sold my Warn high mount as it was in need of maintenance after many years of service and I plan on doing exactly this. I am currently looking at my options and don't mind the look of the 12000lb mean mother. Rolling them over regularly would be the most cost effective solution I believe.

Post by: Bird on July 24, 2015, 10:32:59 AM
Just sold my Warn high mount as it was in need of maintenance after many years of service and I plan on doing exactly this. I am currently looking at my options and don't mind the look of the 12000lb mean mother. Rolling them over regularly would be the most cost effective solution I believe.

been a few cheap high mounts on nasty auction site for <500 - perfect for Mal-ing if your rich.
Post by: Bird on July 24, 2015, 11:42:07 AM
Dunno... not a fan of wireless, but its good for when your out of the car...

or
(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTYwMFgxMjAw/$T2eC16FHJHYE9nzpcDMbBQG)-jYDl!~~60_57.JPG)

or both...
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 24, 2015, 12:52:00 PM
I am going to do both

Post by: Bird on July 24, 2015, 12:55:06 PM
I am going to do both

are you going to also do the power isolator incab?
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 24, 2015, 01:03:32 PM
are you going to also do the power isolator incab?

yes

Post by: Bird on July 26, 2015, 07:33:50 PM
Gearbox looks tidy from the outside. Just the free spool lever stuck.
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/winch/1.jpg)

Then pulling it apart shows baby poo... and still water in there :(
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/winch/4.jpg)

Surface Rust and mushy poo
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/winch/6.jpg)

More surface rust and shock... and water...
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/winch/5.jpg)

Yucky poo vomit spit cry...
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/winch/7.jpg)

elbow grease, wire brush, brake cleaner, and some funky blasting machine at Vinces werk =  :cup: :cup: :cup:
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/winch/8.jpg)
Post by: MDS69 on July 26, 2015, 08:52:32 PM

I don't have a winch, never had a winch, don't think I will ever get a winch but to me buying a cheap winch and replacing every couple of years appears risky as you are replacing it because it has failed and the risk is it has failed when you needed it meaning you are stuck somewhere especially solo.
The same train of thought on fridges and buying cheap to me there is no safety risk if it breaks down just spoiled food but bogged in the outback with no help in sight with a faulty winch......
Post by: GeoffA on July 26, 2015, 09:10:21 PM
It's coming along nicely... :cup:
Post by: Bad Scott on July 26, 2015, 09:12:43 PM
shiny bits  :cup: :cup:
Post by: Bird on July 27, 2015, 09:40:34 PM
Anyone got good connections for 10mm Dyneema? 30-35mtrs?
Post by: evolution on July 28, 2015, 05:21:23 PM
Anyone got good connections for 10mm Dyneema? 30-35mtrs?

We have genuine Dyneema at work?

Evo
Post by: CC2005 on July 28, 2015, 08:27:16 PM
For the XP owner

XP9.5 greasing for feet mounting forward orientation.

http://postimg.org/image/yllj92y79/ (http://postimg.org/image/yllj92y79/)

Post by: Bird on July 28, 2015, 10:00:00 PM
Home:
https://www.warn.com/truck/winches/src/XD9000.shtml (https://www.warn.com/truck/winches/src/XD9000.shtml)

Operators Manual
http://atecoequipment.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/XD9000-Operators-Manual.pdf (http://atecoequipment.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/XD9000-Operators-Manual.pdf)

Albright wiring
https://www.smithiesoutback.com.au/cms/ALBRIGHT%20SOLENOID%20WIRING.pdf (https://www.smithiesoutback.com.au/cms/ALBRIGHT%20SOLENOID%20WIRING.pdf)

XD9000 parts sheet
http://www.warn.com/truck/ReplacementParts/parts/222/34355F3.pdf (http://www.warn.com/truck/ReplacementParts/parts/222/34355F3.pdf)

Part Numbers and Exploded View
http://atecoequipment.com.au/manual/xd9000-12v-catalogue-sn-1134880-up/ (http://atecoequipment.com.au/manual/xd9000-12v-catalogue-sn-1134880-up/)

Parts ordering:
http://winchserviceparts.com/xd9000.php (http://winchserviceparts.com/xd9000.php)

Recommendations for Grease:
http://bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=2452921 (http://bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=2452921)
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/general-4x4-discussion/147080-warn-winch-rebuild-source-grease.html (http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/general-4x4-discussion/147080-warn-winch-rebuild-source-grease.html)

Stuff
http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/recovery-gear-87/how-rebuild-low-mount-warn-step-step-121730/index2.html (http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/recovery-gear-87/how-rebuild-low-mount-warn-step-step-121730/index2.html)

All about winch rope.
http://www.rockstomper.com/catalog/recovery/ropes.htm (http://www.rockstomper.com/catalog/recovery/ropes.htm)

How to Splice Rope (Nothing like I expected)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M9kImggLWUQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M9kImggLWUQ)
Post by: Barry G on July 28, 2015, 11:01:59 PM
Last link:  certainly nothing like splicing traditional hemp rope.

Years ago I could make quoits to practice.
Post by: Bird on August 01, 2015, 11:17:27 PM
Well today was assembly day for the spare winch... I have 2, and both are XD9000's.
new bearings and gaskets, grease/moreys mixed throughout (that moreys stuff is insanely tacky and like honey !!) fully expoxyed as per the thread from patrol forum...
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/1_zpstzt7x90n.jpg)

line up the motor parts
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/5_zps2g0lqi0g.jpg)

Nice and cleaned up properly... no 1/2 measures.
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/3_zpsrfwornc1.jpg)
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/6_zpsl3al7izh.jpg)

Assembly of the motor went well :)
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/7_zpskks6n10g.jpg)

Looks a touch better and will not corrode this time :) :) :)
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/8_zpsawjcztia.jpg)
Post by: Bird on August 01, 2015, 11:32:17 PM
The Gearbox.

Mix up the concoction..
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/10_zpsojyegjws.jpg)

this Shit is the bomb... its so tacky you can do a couple of cobwebs without trying..  :cup:
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/17_zpslvicgbxv.jpg)

Sitting the bits in place before coating them with the mix...
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/11_zpsfk0jcl6u.jpg)

So covering it as much as possible and running it into the gears and down the sides and lots!
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/12_zpsizta1nlr.jpg)

More gears and more goop
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/13_zpsplljcuni.jpg)

At this point sat the rod in place and used a cordless to test the gears were seated properly (no photos hands were way too coated but they will never rust...) and to run some of the goop around through the gearbox.. all went well.

Reassembly of the brake section with cleaned up drum and pads etc.
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/14_zpsq4lrptrv.jpg)

Then putting it all together ready to bolt the braces on. :)
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/15_zpsbc23taup.jpg)

Then wired up on the bench and test run in both directions and free spool tested - all ready to rumble!!!!!!!!!  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Much thanks to Stunt Hands again for his assistance.. Now to do the second winch  :cup: :cup: and sell one.
Post by: D4D on August 01, 2015, 11:35:23 PM
You should do that for a living
Post by: GeoffA on August 01, 2015, 11:38:40 PM

Yep. Looks better than new.... :cup:

You got final $$ yet?
Post by: Bird on August 01, 2015, 11:44:00 PM
Yep. Looks better than new.... :cup:

You got final $$ yet?
... on the assembly after cleaning

Moreys was the most expensive part.. $20something - but I only used about 50-100ml out of the bottle
Grease $10 -  only used about a handful..
2 new warn gaskets $5
2 new warn plastic drum bushes $15
Tin of epoxy paint $20
Brake Cleaner I already had several tins of it at home
Bearings $10 for 2 from local bearing place - SKF bearings.

... and use of Stunt hands machinery, emery paper, lathes, benches,  rubber hammers, rags, brake cleaner as solvol did nothing to clean my hands from that Moreys Shit... Even the brake cleaner struggled..
Post by: GeoffA on August 01, 2015, 11:48:02 PM
So, under $100 incl bearings, brushes etc??
Post by: Bird on August 01, 2015, 11:50:01 PM
I'd forgot the bearings, so added them... brushes cleaned up perfectly.
And surprisingly easy to do.
Post by: Bird on August 01, 2015, 11:55:21 PM
too dirty for me... still digging Shit out of fingernails from the weekend pulling it apart!
Post by: Bad Scott on August 02, 2015, 06:47:01 AM
Looks awesome. Good work Bruce :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on August 02, 2015, 06:56:05 AM

I'd forgot the bearings, so added them... brushes cleaned up perfectly.
And surprisingly easy to do.

Do it yourself.....

8) ;D
Post by: Jason B on August 02, 2015, 10:11:25 AM
I'm in the market for a low mount, as I sold the hi mount  :D
Post by: Black Diamond on August 03, 2015, 08:09:19 PM
Good work Bruce :P
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2015, 08:28:09 PM
Quote from: Black Diamond
Good work Bruce :P
thanks dude.. 1 down 1 to go.. :)
Post by: achjimmy on August 03, 2015, 08:44:40 PM
Great stuff well done.  Did you go the offset tierods too?
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2015, 08:50:43 PM
Quote from: achjimmy
Great stuff well done.  Did you go the offset tierods too?
not with this one, but going to with the second one. I've not nested with this one, I'm pretty careful feeding it on, it doesn't take much :)
Post by: feisty on August 03, 2015, 10:29:53 PM
Thanks for sharing - nice job well done!
Post by: GeoffA on August 03, 2015, 10:48:42 PM
It's too nice. You won't want to get it dirty now...... :P
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2015, 10:56:11 PM
It's too nice. You won't want to get it dirty now...... :P
fairlead - what sort did you use for plasma? Photos? offset or normal?
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 04, 2015, 06:09:46 AM
Looks great Bird, did you do anything to keep the water out of the internals?

Post by: Brett B on August 04, 2015, 08:23:52 AM
Nice job mate  ;D  :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on August 04, 2015, 12:04:18 PM

Normal roller fairlead, but with nylon rollers.
Post by: Bird on August 04, 2015, 12:31:37 PM
Normal roller fairlead, but with nylon rollers.

ahhhh ok...

Any advantage of one over other you think?
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 04, 2015, 12:37:18 PM

Running plasma and a hawse on mine, just need to watch when winching in a large angle off to the side. The weight difference from a normal roller fairlead and and aluminium hawse is crazy

Post by: Bird on August 05, 2015, 08:12:18 PM
Running plasma and a hawse on mine, just need to watch when winching in a large angle off to the side. The weight difference from a normal roller fairlead and and aluminium hawse is crazy

metal rollers? Or swapped to the plastic?
Post by: loanrangie on August 05, 2015, 11:34:19 PM

Hawse = alloy , no rollers.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 06, 2015, 06:43:12 AM

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/like/151463970875?limghlpsr=true&hlpht=true&ul_noapp=true&hlpv=2&chn=ps&lpid=107&ops=true&viphx=1 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/like/151463970875?limghlpsr=true&hlpht=true&ul_noapp=true&hlpv=2&chn=ps&lpid=107&ops=true&viphx=1)

Post by: achjimmy on August 09, 2015, 09:21:07 PM

I spaced mine out with a spare hawse so I can get a better angle.
Post by: achjimmy on August 09, 2015, 09:24:26 PM
Talking with the guy who did the GVM upgrade and how I taped the end casing of the 9.5 so that it could breathe and drain. He dug the following out and said he used to wire a 12v blower to one port in series with the winch so when it ran it would blow air through!

Going to put it on next service.

Post by: Bird on August 09, 2015, 10:56:49 PM
Talking with the guy who did the GVM upgrade and how I taped the end casing of the 9.5 so that it could breathe and drain. He dug the following out and said he used to wire a 12v blower to one port in series with the winch so when it ran it would blow air through!

Going to put it on next service.
Not sure what the purpose is??

I know comp trucks have it, but that's to keep water out before you go under... once you wet its too late for a 12v motor...

or am I reading it wrong.
Post by: Bird on August 09, 2015, 11:10:56 PM
Grey 10mm Plasma Rope and Albright sitting in shed now :)
Post by: achjimmy on August 10, 2015, 05:20:13 AM
I just wanna increase the breathing capacity . The more it can ventilate the less likely and condensation issues.
Post by: Bird on August 10, 2015, 12:09:40 PM
Quote from: loanrangie
Hawse = alloy , no rollers.

Yea, was poor choice of words.. But you can get replacement plastic rollers to replace the metal ones for those that dont want the hawse

(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NjAwWDYwMA==/z/T4EAAOSw~gRVpcIg/$_12.JPG)
Post by: D4D on August 10, 2015, 12:18:59 PM
I thought the idea of the ports was to create positive air pressure in the motor to keep water from being sucked in through the seals. Same concept as diff breathers.
Post by: Bird on August 10, 2015, 06:13:59 PM
I thought the idea of the ports was to create positive air pressure in the motor to keep water from being sucked in through the seals. Same concept as diff breathers.
Would be nice if you could easily fit breathers upto firewall or similar... apparently the irinman ones come  std with it...

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk

Post by: achjimmy on August 10, 2015, 07:23:57 PM

Yep that's what it's for but I don't think I dunk it enough to worry. Next service wil tell
Post by: achjimmy on August 10, 2015, 07:27:47 PM
Would be nice if you could easily fit breathers upto firewall or similar... apparently the irinman ones come  std with it...

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk

That's the breather from my 9.5xp on the cruisers firewall. The other port is a drain/acess port to spray inside with WD after the odd trip.......too which I haven't done yet!

Post by: Bird on December 05, 2018, 09:05:44 AM
Gearbox looks tidy from the outside. Just the free spool lever stuck.
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/winch/1.jpg)

Then pulling it apart shows baby poo... and still water in there :(
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/winch/4.jpg)

Surface Rust and mushy poo
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/winch/6.jpg)

More surface rust and shock... and water...
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/winch/5.jpg)

Yucky poo vomit spit cry...
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/winch/7.jpg)

elbow grease, wire brush, brake cleaner, and some funky blasting machine at Vinces werk =  :cup: :cup: :cup:
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/winch/8.jpg)
time to give it another tidy up me thinks :)
Post by: Bird on February 18, 2019, 09:38:15 AM
Quote from: Bird
new bearings and gaskets, grease/moreys mixed throughout (that moreys stuff is insanely tacky and like honey !!) 
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/1_zpstzt7x90n.jpg)

line up the motor parts
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/5_zps2g0lqi0g.jpg)

Nice and cleaned up properly... no 1/2 measures.
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/3_zpsrfwornc1.jpg)
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/6_zpsl3al7izh.jpg)

Assembly of the motor went well :)
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/7_zpskks6n10g.jpg)

Looks a touch better and will not corrode this time :) :) :)
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Winch/8_zpsawjcztia.jpg)
Time to give my girl another birthday I think
Post by: Bird on June 26, 2019, 11:39:57 AM
Quote from: Bird
Time to give my girl another birthday I think
Need to find a workshop, or someone with a large bench to spread out on... anyone ideas?
Post by: Bird on September 24, 2020, 10:49:27 AM
Still due for a service :(
Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 24, 2020, 11:10:33 AM
Still due for a service :(

Get it to me and I can see what I can do

Post by: Bird on September 24, 2020, 11:19:08 AM
Quote from: GGV8Cruza
Get it to me and I can see what I can do

I'll drop the patrol off in the driveway :P
winch service, wash and detail please my good man.

(https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcS80OUzq4yqefWUc1zB2S-6tMzN2hRcoKafHQ&usqp=CAU)
Post by: prodigyrf on September 24, 2020, 11:14:18 PM
Wouldn't you use a grease like this or marine grease?
https://www.mxstore.com.au/p/Penrite-100g-Power-Sports-10-Tenths-Grease-Tube/PSGR0001

"Power Sports Grease is a water resistant, high temperature, multi-purpose grease that contains a special anti-rust additive for enhanced protection against rust and corrosion. It also contains a tackiness agent to provide increased protection during severe performance conditions allowing for exceptional water wash out resistance and spray off resilience.

APPLICATION

Power Sports Grease has been formulated to provide outstanding lubrication and protection in all outdoor conditions such as Motorcycling, Marine, Automotive and other outdoor activities where a water-resistant type grease is required. It has excellent resistance to water, snow, ice & mud and provides outstanding film strength.

Power Sports Grease can be used on wheel bearings including those fitted with disc brakes, cables, throttle lines, linkages, winch gears and most other greasing points where protection is needed against the elements.

Power Sports Grease is excellent for motor cycles and push bikes for bearings and waterproofing areas exposed and are prone to retaining water and dirt that could potentially rust. It can be used on quad bikes, snow mobiles and ATV's on the front and rear wheel axles as well as the front fork steering bearing, shock absorber linkages and swing arm pivots. In marine applications it can be used on dog seals, trailer rollers, prop shaft splines, steering mounts and general greasing points."
Post by: bmwfreak on September 25, 2020, 12:51:31 PM
waterproofing areas exposed and are prone to retaining water and dirt that could potentially rust.

Sounds like it might be useful for the starter motor on Toyota 4.5l V8’s >:D