Author Topic: Any experience with tearddrop campers?  (Read 3344 times)

Offline ADTradie

Any experience with tearddrop campers?
« on: June 21, 2016, 08:32:45 AM »

We like our camping holidays and usually tow a traditional soft top camper trailer behind the 4WD and head bush annually.

However for more sedate trips on the bitumen I thought one of these teardrop campers in Vixen Red to match my Falcon XR6 would look great and do the job.
http://theteardropcampercompany.com.au/

I'm wondering whether any of you has any experiences or comments on the quality of these campers you can share?

Or comments/advice generally on a good teardrop builder/company for me to consider?

Thanks.

A.D.
A.D.
Colorado RG MY2014 dual cab ute, swag and tent

Re: Any experience with tearddrop campers?
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2016, 08:50:31 AM »
$10-18k?
Seems an expensive exercise just to look pretty behind the falcon.... since you already have a car/camper...

Offline ADTradie

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2016, 09:46:09 AM »
I can see your logic, but I think our existing camper trailer may go to one of our kids in the not too distant future.
I've always loved my vehicles and cared for them well, so appearance is important to me.
Actually I think the price isn't too bad, considering you can pay over $100K for a caravan these days. What for I'm not sure, as our experience is when we go on a camping/drive holiday all we do is sleep and occasionally cook in a caravan (we've owned vans previously). So a teardrop provides a bed and kitchen, which is nearly all we require. About the only negative I can see is the odd occasion you get caught out by rain (or mozzies) and want a protected place to sit. So get the teardrop kitted with an awning (?) and or carry a tent (?)
Still, it's 'horses for courses'!
A.D.

UIZ733

« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2016, 10:08:58 AM »
I have no experience with a teardrop camper, unless you count a Vista Crossover. I love teardrops and in so many ways they epitomise the camping experience. They can be so well equipped for a lightweight. Have a look in; http://tnttt.com/ and see some amazing build diaries. I have seen some very nice examples many of which were DIY builds.

Offline ADTradie

« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2016, 10:22:09 AM »
Thanks UIZ733,
I guess a self build is an option?
Trouble is I've too many other projects and interests.  Plus I'm not sure I have the patience or ability to do a 'top job'.
There are some great self build teardrops out there, for sure! 
A.D.

« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2016, 10:55:03 AM »
Saw this one at the recent Brisbane camping show http://www.thegidget.com.au

The owner/designer had a rolling offroad chassis with Cruisemaster airbag suspension ready for fitting to an offroad teardrop body.  He was close to his testing phase.  Probably due on the market later this year.  May give you more travel options.

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #6 on: June 21, 2016, 05:49:26 PM »
The Gidget is a ripper !
If you are keen have a look at the "camp inn " from the states - I am looking into importing a couple at present - approx $ 20k landed , if the dollar stays stable ....

Also the " little guy " can get a rough rider version ( insert snicker here ! )
They are sold here , a bloke in the ACT has a couple for rent if you want to try em , there is an agent in Tassie to .

I have made a teardrop - classic 50's shape . The next one will be factory built unit - I really like the Camp Inn ,as they are beautifully finished and will last me till the end !
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2016, 06:23:14 PM »
Just add an awning like the XS model here:  https://www.socalteardrops.com/page.php?p=34&t=Off-Road%20Trailers
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

Offline ADTradie

« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2016, 08:25:37 AM »
I see what you mean about these Camp-Inn Campers being pretty flash.
http://tinycamper.com/index.htm
It looks like the yanks are right into the concept and I found the historic photos on this So-Cal website interesting.
https://www.socalteardrops.com/gallery.php?g=2
Thankyou for the comments.
A.D.

« Reply #10 on: June 22, 2016, 12:22:02 PM »
Something a bit different might suit.  http://go.sylvansport.com
Seen it on eBay a few times if I remember for about $3000, but for the life of me can't remember what search I did, as I can't find it again. I last saw it about a week ago.