Author Topic: The Countdown is on and handy hints as well.  (Read 54264 times)

Offline Nick74

Re: The Countdown is on and handy hints as well.
« Reply #150 on: September 23, 2015, 06:30:02 PM »
Are we having the traditional port and tim tam night? if so remember to bring along those two ingredients and if you have not been involved in this ritual you will find out on the night  :D ;D

Can I just bring some Tequila and Chocolate Montys?
Cheers Nick
2013 PB Challenger
2011 GIC Offroad aka Katie
If I loved these tyres any more they would be beer - David Freiberger 2015

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #151 on: September 23, 2015, 08:28:44 PM »
Can I just bring some Tequila and Chocolate Montys?

No worries Nick we will drink your Tequila and eat your monty's, but you may not get into the "Club" hahahaha
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

« Reply #152 on: September 23, 2015, 09:12:41 PM »

Next, I may need two volunteer's to help load our free firewood on the Thursday (1st) afternoon.
Rob from The Tree Amigo's has hurt his shoulder ansd seeing as he is giving us free wood and delivery, I told him we'd help.
I may need to do the Listo Brisbane run that day.  ;D

We'll be there Monday or Tuesday Kev so I volunteer Brett to help with the firewood :)

« Reply #153 on: September 24, 2015, 04:08:32 AM »
Cool, he'll love that and guess what boy and girls......

Only 8 friiiiiggin days to go till hillbilly central.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2015, 04:10:22 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
« Reply #154 on: September 24, 2015, 07:46:52 AM »
two more sleeps to go two more sleeps to go
and yes i have the hill billy bus ready to go

Ads
Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

« Reply #155 on: September 24, 2015, 08:23:51 AM »
Couple of UHF channels used in the area

Michelle and Maddie in the ice trucks at Inskip and DI.    CH 7
Manta ray barge.   CH 4
Tour Buses.          CH4
For those with jeeps, Rainbow Beach Towing.    CH 4  >:D

« Reply #156 on: September 24, 2015, 09:10:16 AM »
For those with jeeps, Rainbow Beach Towing.    CH 4  >:D

I have made a note of that one....I don't want to embarrass you Toyota and Nissan drivers by having to tow you out with the Jeep

« Reply #157 on: September 24, 2015, 03:36:32 PM »
I have made a note of that one....
What about the Fire Brigade?
No beach fires permitted, you know!

« Reply #158 on: September 24, 2015, 05:58:22 PM »
Couple of UHF channels used in the area

Michelle and Maddie in the ice trucks at Inskip and DI.    CH 7
Manta ray barge.   CH 4
Tour Buses.          CH4
For those with jeeps, Rainbow Beach Towing.    CH 4  or 000. Fire brigade. >:D

Fixed it for you mate  :D
The following users thanked this post: Footy Shorts Shane

« Reply #159 on: September 24, 2015, 06:06:29 PM »
Now, moving away from the Jeep thing.... because I have one.....  ;D

The whales are around lately if ya up for a kayak adventure.

"Kayaking tour off Double Island Point spots 16 whales"

Deanna Beck from Epic Ocean Adventures said the whales were a common sight on the company's tours between July and November, but Tuesday was special because they had not seen that many on one tour before.

She also said the tour company had a 90% strike rate when it came to spotting pods of bottle-nosed dolphins, and frequently came in contact with sea turtles.

Humpback whales migrate through the waters off Rainbow Beach on their way to and from Antarctica.

The whales spend the summer in the cooler waters around the pole feeding, but make the journey up the east coast of Australia, and past the South Island of New Zealand to calve in warm tropical waters in winter.

Unlike many migrating whales, humpbacks are most commonly spotted by whale watchers because they prefer to follow the coastline, fairly close to the shore.

The whale migration occurs every year between June and November and has helped to spawn a new branch of eco-tourism, with many charter boat companies now specialising in whale watching tours.

Humpbacks are found in both hemispheres, but those in the Northern Hemisphere spend their winters in the Artic Circle so migrate at different times of the year. Therefore there is no interbreeding between northern and southern humpbacks.

There are 18-20,000 humpback whales migrating to and from Antarctica each year. The species was almost hunted to extinction, with the numbers slumping to about 5000 worldwide before a moratorium was introduced in 1966.

Fast Facts

*The humpback whale takes its name from the habit of breaking the water surface with a large area of its back when diving.

* About 20,000 humpback whales will migrate this season between Antarctica and the Great Barrier Reef.

*Humpbacks were the third most endangered species of all the big whales up until 1998, but now their numbers are increasing 13% each year.

*They are the fifth largest animal on this planet, growing up to 15m in length with a weight of up to 45,000kg (99,000lbs) - equivalent to 11 elephants or 600 people each.

*Humpbacks are the most acrobatic of all of the great whales.

*The species displays a wide variety of leaping, rolling and breaching movements which provide fascinating viewing for whale watchers.

*The humpback whale is also well known for its complex underwater vocalisations or whale songs particularly during breeding.

* Adult whales have been seen to breach 20-30 times within five minutes, displaying awesome grace and power.

*Very much like a Jeep, awesome grace and power....  ;D Its a jeep thing....  :cup:    :4x4:
« Last Edit: September 24, 2015, 06:08:04 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #160 on: September 25, 2015, 04:42:58 AM »
7 days left and don't forget ya bug spray....

Now, don't forget to pack some fishing gear for the kids. Good prize to be won.

« Reply #161 on: September 25, 2015, 04:57:56 AM »
7 days left and don't forget ya bug spray....

Now, don't forget to pack some fishing gear for the kids. Good prize to be won.

Gezzzzzzz...Would love to be there....but more redundancies next Wednesday.......Hope you all have tons of fun........Tim Tams and port....love that game...... ;D ;D ;D ;D.. :cup: :cup:

Offline mjharps

« Reply #162 on: September 25, 2015, 05:39:01 AM »

The whales are around lately if ya up for a kayak adventure.

We saw a heap from Leisha's track along the beach when we were there a few weeks ago. 

mjharps

« Reply #163 on: September 25, 2015, 07:12:03 AM »
Jeezus the Bloody weather is terrible up at Rainbow atm, feel sorry for you blokes camping ... Ahhh  who am I trying to kid, its a bloody pearla of a day ....CHECK it out here for yourselves .. http://www.coastalwatch.com/surf-cams-surf-reports/qld/rainbow-beach

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
« Reply #164 on: September 25, 2015, 10:12:53 AM »
if everything runs to plan 24hrs and i will be standing(drinking) at my camp for the week
Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

« Reply #165 on: September 25, 2015, 10:34:09 AM »
Another handy hint for the weekend.....

For those who are silly enough, to drive on the beach WITHOUT OWNING A DECENT 12v AIR COMPRESSOR, there's free air at the car wash in Karoonda st. You'll drive straight passed it from the beach access back to Carlo Pt. it's on the foot path opposite Wolf Rock Dive centre in the side street, (can't think of the name of the street)

A quality 12v air compressor and pressure gauge is probably the most important piece of recovery equipment for beach driving. Doing so without these items is irresponsible and stupid.

Shane.

(I'm 'told' it's there. I wouldn't know really, as I use my fancy ARBTJMDrAIR branded awesome compressor.  :angel:  You may see a vehicle there that looks like mine, but it's not me, honest  ;D )

Offline Rusty

« Reply #166 on: September 25, 2015, 12:09:34 PM »
if everything runs to plan 24hrs and i will be standing(drinking) at my camp for the week
I am hooping for the same to be set up in 24hrs cant wait to sit down under a tree with the esky and watch jeepers set up his camp on Sunday

Rusty 
2018 200 series landcruiser
2021 Jayco silverline outback

Offline robbo1172

• I owe, I owe, it's off to work I go...
« Reply #167 on: September 25, 2015, 12:16:42 PM »
Another handy hint for the weekend.....

For those who are silly enough, to drive on the beach WITHOUT OWNING A DECENT 12v AIR COMPRESSOR, there's free air at the car wash in Karoonda st. You'll drive straight passed it from the beach access back to Carlo Pt. it's on the foot path opposite Wolf Rock Dive centre in the side street, (can't think of the name of the street)

A quality 12v air compressor and pressure gauge is probably the most important piece of recovery equipment for beach driving. Doing so without these items is irresponsible and stupid.

Shane.

(I'm 'told' it's there. I wouldn't know really, as I use my fancy ARBTJMDrAIR branded awesome compressor.  :angel:  You may see a vehicle there that looks like mine, but it's not me, honest  ;D )

Will it fit my Tarago? I only like to use genuine Toyota air where possible, but car wash air should be ok in the short term until I can get it replaced at the next service.

Looking forward to seeing how the Tarago goes on the beach... :)

Robbo...
Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever. - Ghandi

http://www.rockfactor.com.au

https://www.facebook.com/rockfactorduo

« Reply #168 on: September 25, 2015, 04:48:46 PM »
I am hooping for the same to be set up in 24hrs cant wait to sit down under a tree with the esky and watch jeepers set up his camp on Sunday

Rusty
The ol girl has a withering right hook too.

If ya see me running, With my skirt around my waist, squealing like a 6 year old and her behind me, don,t slow me Down.

Laughing is fine.

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #169 on: September 25, 2015, 05:37:18 PM »
Thought we may have been heading off to today, moved the van about 20 meters so the boss could mow where it sits, ah I thought should just keep going, but was told to back it up and you have to wait till Sunday. Bloody women lawn mowers'.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

« Reply #170 on: September 25, 2015, 06:16:58 PM »
I'm on holidays,
See ya Thursday Kev.

Offline Nick74

« Reply #171 on: September 25, 2015, 09:24:02 PM »
No worries Nick we will drink your Tequila and eat your monty's, but you may not get into the "Club" hahahaha

hhhhmmmmmmmmmm, is there a secret handshake or password or something?

I am hopeless at guessing but pretty good at drinking in the gutter by myself
Cheers Nick
2013 PB Challenger
2011 GIC Offroad aka Katie
If I loved these tyres any more they would be beer - David Freiberger 2015

« Reply #172 on: September 26, 2015, 03:54:25 AM »
You won't on your own if in the gutter... be lots of others there... fall down, vomit all over them, pooped their pants drunk.

« Reply #173 on: September 26, 2015, 03:59:44 AM »
Well, 6 days and we've dang gone gots ourselves a Nat Meet.

Not for me but, we're in tomorrow  ;D but I gotta do a half day mowing Monday  :-[ but back Tuesday, bugger, full day mowing Wednesday  :-[ and then I think we're right to have a beer.

Ol Casa Del Jeepers will get pulled out in few hours too

« Reply #174 on: September 26, 2015, 04:17:29 AM »
Oh, the Tin can Bay Seafood Festival is on today too, so any early arrivals should feel free to drop over.
I'm going down there about 11am to make a pig of myself with the garlic prawns. /