Author Topic: Autofridge no more. What else? (they service but don't sell)  (Read 21544 times)

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
Re: Autofridge no more. What else?
« Reply #25 on: January 16, 2014, 12:03:14 PM »
Agree with the above. Accurate info should be available to all Autofridge users. Service and parts are still available whilst the business is transitioning.

« Reply #26 on: January 16, 2014, 12:25:16 PM »
Mods,

Given this info, the title of this thread needs changing.

Does this work for you?

Offline blackie66

• a wise man learns from other peoples mistakes
Re: Autofridge no more. What else? (they service but don't sell)
« Reply #27 on: June 11, 2014, 06:54:48 PM »
Wholehog/I went to the factory at west Gosford and spoke to the owner he stunk of alcohol , anyway grabbed a brochure of him and had a good look at the fridge set up, ask a few people about them and was told to do some research first so I did found out they have a danfoss copy compressor and to small for what I wanted, so for a extra $200 I ended up with a 95 litre evakool frigdemate 4years gone and it hasn't missed a beat , can't believe how good it performs in the middle of summer.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: June 11, 2014, 07:19:01 PM by blackie66 »

Offline Jason B

« Reply #28 on: June 11, 2014, 07:13:59 PM »
Wholehog, went to the factory at west Gosford and spoke to the owner he stunk of alcohol , anyway grabbed a brochure of him and had a good look at the fridge set up, ask a few people about them and was told to do some research first so I did found out they have a danfoss copy compressor and to small for what I wanted, so for a extra $200 I ended up with a 95 litre evakool frigdemate 4years gone and it hasn't missed a beat , can't believe how good it performs in the middle of summer.

Wholehog went to what factory in West Gosford? Not Auto fridge I assume as their only factory was in Botany and Leon doesn't drink and has moth balled the business? Not a danfoss copy either the real deal and were one of the better fridges on the market. I have a fair dinkum Evakool (white one not the cheaper fridge mateWholehog went to what factory in West Gosford? Not Auto fridge I assume as their only factory was in Botany and Leon doesn't drink and has moth balled the business? No danfoss, copy either the real deal and were one of the better fridges on the market ) as well as an Autofridge, the Autofridge craps on it for performance.

Offline blackie66

« Reply #29 on: June 11, 2014, 07:16:18 PM »
Sorry jason b I was talking about the bushman!

Offline blackie66

« Reply #30 on: June 11, 2014, 07:23:41 PM »
I don't know about the fridgemate being cheaper it wouldn't be much anyway , I didn't want the hassle of the fibreglass cracking I found the the fridgemate far superior in strength.

Offline Jason B

« Reply #31 on: June 11, 2014, 07:26:02 PM »

Lol, never ever seen one in the wild! I have herd some people swear by them, but in all my years of camping with various clubs and groups all over the place I have never met someone who was using one.

Maybe I hang in the wrong circles and am missing out. Both my fridges are over 10 years old. The Evakool has been good, with just the silly boost switch packing it in, this was easily bypassed. The case has been affected by the sun after all the years in the back of the cruiser and has warped along the top edge. But otherwise it has been going strong.

The Autofridge works well but is BLOODY heavy, even when empty! Eva cool make the best eskyies I reckon. And they all charge like wounded bulls!

Offline Jason B

« Reply #32 on: June 11, 2014, 07:32:52 PM »
I don't know about the fridgemate being cheaper it wouldn't be much anyway , I didn't want the hassle of the fibreglass cracking I found the the fridgemate far superior in strength.

Fridge mate is considerably cheaper than the white Evakool ones (about 40% less). We did some trials and testing some years ago and settled for the white ones for our work vehicles as they seemed more efficient. Also they were to be tied down in the back of a cab so relatively safe.

Durability wise the poly one was able to take more knock's. The white ones quickly looked second hand if thrown in the back of a ute. They were quite strong but not as impact resistant as the poly ones.

Can't go wrong with either really.

« Reply #33 on: June 12, 2014, 07:32:51 AM »

The Bushman factory where I got mine is in Research in Melbourne  ???

http://www.bushman.com.au/contact-bushman-or-one-our-local-authorised-distributors

Offline blackie66

« Reply #34 on: June 12, 2014, 07:55:25 AM »
Just checked the website they also have a head office in NSW Kangy Angy on the central coast he must of moved from west Gosford..

Offline blackie66

« Reply #35 on: June 12, 2014, 08:02:09 AM »
He also told me the story about how he's old man started the business.

« Reply #36 on: April 03, 2018, 09:43:58 PM »
It is indeed. Mine's still under warranty. Hopefully it won't be needed...

Well the warranty has expired (built March 2012), and the thermostat's playing up.

The fridge still works well....a little too well. It doesn't cycle when set to lower temps.

Anyone know the part number of the thermostat in the 75L models, and where I might get one?

Offline Claws

« Reply #37 on: April 04, 2018, 08:53:35 AM »
Bought our 73L Autofridge in 1999 and 19 years later still going great. Often wish we'd got the smaller one as too big and heavy for weekend trips but is brilliant for longer trips of a week or more. Now have an Engel Eclipse for short weekend trips.

« Reply #38 on: April 04, 2018, 11:40:23 AM »
Well the warranty has expired (built March 2012), and the thermostat's playing up.

The fridge still works well....a little too well. It doesn't cycle when set to lower temps.

Anyone know the part number of the thermostat in the 75L models, and where I might get one?

https://www.intelliquip.com.au/products/autofridge/

Don't know if they're worth getting in touch with (regardless of the fact they say they don't have spare parts) given the info on that page...?

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

« Reply #39 on: April 04, 2018, 03:02:07 PM »

GeoffA, can you use a alternative unit, i fitted something like this in my old fridge and it is working well.
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/DC12V-50-110-C-W1209WK-Digital-thermostat-Temperature-Control-Smart-Sensor-U-/302160585438?hash=item465a2ca2de

Offline kizza1

« Reply #40 on: April 04, 2018, 06:53:06 PM »
Evakool had a thermistor for my indel b fridge. I think it was like $25. Nothing from jaycar worked.

« Reply #41 on: April 04, 2018, 08:58:51 PM »
Thanks all....

.....trinity, I called Intelliquip yesterday, but they bought the name and IP only. They did give me the name of a repairer in Melbourne that has done a few.

.....John, nice idea, but if needed I'd prefer to repair to original specs.

.....kizza,  :cheers:

In any event, it seems to be working OK again. Hope it holds up for our return visit to the Kimberley next month.
Think I'll be fitting the timer switch into the Patrol, just in case....

Offline sparksy

« Reply #42 on: April 12, 2018, 08:53:04 PM »

Hi Geoff

If you remove the panel that holds the thermostat, there should be a number stamped on the thermostat housing. You have to use the same capillary tube style thermostat because the capillary tube goes down a thin copper tube into the eutectic tank.
I picked up a autofridge on verge pickup but it had all of the controls removed. I rang Leon (this was about 6 years ago )and he told me the thermostat part number and that I could get one from any reputable refrigeration supply company. Sorry but cant find where I wrote down number.
Another way to use fridge is Ive wired in a timer so it will only run during the day ( running from car battery or solar setup) that way the tanks freeze and the fridge doesnt need to run at night.
I will hunt around old files to see if  I still have the number.

« Reply #43 on: April 12, 2018, 09:23:30 PM »
Thanks sparksy.

I'm running mine through a timer switch as well, just in case.

I looked at removing the thermostat, but it's not mounted to a removable cover. I'm loath to pull it apart unless necessary.

It'd be great if you did happen to find the number.... :cup: :cup:

:cheers: :cheers: