Author Topic: who else is in love with stradbroke island.  (Read 32789 times)

Re: who else is in love with stradbroke island.
« Reply #100 on: February 04, 2014, 08:31:50 PM »
Cheers mate..
We're still tossing up with a few others spots to go yet.. So many places to go and not a enough time >:(
just checked my inbox for the invite...obviously you're waiting until you have a final destination before you send it  ;) ;D ;D

Offline Clouty

« Reply #101 on: February 04, 2014, 08:46:27 PM »
just checked my inbox for the invite...obviously you're waiting until you have a final destination before you send it  ;) ;D ;D
LOL ;D ;D ;D
PM sent

Offline Hews

« Reply #102 on: February 04, 2014, 09:53:47 PM »
Straddie is an awesome place!!! If it wasn't so expensive to get the 4bee and camper over I would be there more often.

We will hopefully be doing a week trip to Flinders or Main beach from 22nd April (just after peak season so half price - but ANZAC PH on Friday 25th so short week)

For those who haven't been before here is my must see/do list for Straddie:
1) Swim @ the keyholes - freshwater and good fun drive in
2) Fishing at/day trip to Jumpinpin
3) Swim @ brown lake
4) Beer @ the pub
5) Feed Dolphins at Amity
6) North Gorge Walk
7) Round of Golf

Offline TheWall

« Reply #103 on: February 04, 2014, 10:31:57 PM »
nah- we had big tides but no surge

will check in regard to the campground accesses on main beach but the flinders beach side never gets damaged

Not being alarmist but didn't Flinders Beach flood in the storms in early 2013?

It is a great spot....wish I was heading back soon....sigh.

Offline hainess

« Reply #104 on: February 05, 2014, 07:29:07 AM »
Stradbroke ferries are doing their midyear deals again.

Camper trailers,caravans, trailers with camping gear travel free.
Monday to Thursday only. Early May to late August.
Excluding school hols.

Check their website.

Rod.

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #105 on: February 06, 2014, 08:57:41 PM »
We will hopefully be doing a week trip to Flinders or Main beach from 22nd April (just after peak season so half price - but ANZAC PH on Friday 25th so short week)

For those who haven't been before here is my must see/do list for Straddie:
1) Swim @ the keyholes - freshwater and good fun drive in

Half price in April?   As per Rod's comment I see they are doing free camper trailers from May to August but is there a different deal for April?

Also I've never really bothered mucking about at the keyholes except for many years ago ... is there a swimming hole there or did you mean take your 4wd for a swim? :)

Offline chisel

« Reply #106 on: February 06, 2014, 10:48:05 PM »
Well there ya go, swimming at the keyholes
KEYHOLES NORTH STRADBROKE Ella my DOGs first swim in fresh water lake - funny

I'll have to check it out.

« Reply #107 on: February 07, 2014, 03:44:47 PM »
Well there ya go, swimming at the keyholes KEYHOLES NORTH STRADBROKE Ella my DOGs first swim in fresh water lake - funny
I'll have to check it out.
no idea where the fires went through, but when we drove the track from Dunwich end to get to the keyholes last year, it had heaps of water holes to drive through and plenty of overgrown trees for bush pin stripping, so if you value your paint work (which didn't bother us) i'd advoid it.

HERE'S CLOUTY DRIVING THROUGH ONE OF THE MANY WATERHOLES WE ENCOUNTERED ALONG THE TRACK.....all had nice firm bases to them

Offline Hews

« Reply #108 on: February 07, 2014, 09:51:15 PM »
Half price in April?   As per Rod's comment I see they are doing free camper trailers from May to August but is there a different deal for April?

Also I've never really bothered mucking about at the keyholes except for many years ago ... is there a swimming hole there or did you mean take your 4wd for a swim? :)

Half price from 22nd refers to camping rates through Straddie camping. Peak season prices are approx. double that of off peak.

Keyholes is the best freshwater swimming spot on the island - not many people go there

Offline Hews

« Reply #109 on: February 07, 2014, 09:53:14 PM »
no idea where the fires went through, but when we drove the track from Dunwich end to get to the keyholes last year, it had heaps of water holes to drive through and plenty of overgrown trees for bush pin stripping, so if you value your paint work (which didn't bother us) i'd advoid it.

HERE'S CLOUTY DRIVING THROUGH ONE OF THE MANY WATERHOLES WE ENCOUNTERED ALONG THE TRACK.....all had nice firm bases to them

Dunwich entrance has lots of wash outs as pictured, there is an easier and quicker way in from the beach

« Reply #110 on: February 08, 2014, 06:17:19 AM »
Dunwich entrance has lots of wash outs as pictured, there is an easier and quicker way in from the beach
but not as much fun  ;) ;D ;D

EDIT...probably should mention that the vehicle Clouty is driving there is his previous 80 series, not the one he's selling now. Reckon he would have had tears rolling down his cheeks if he'd taken the one he's now selling through that track....lol
« Last Edit: February 08, 2014, 06:19:33 AM by Rumpig »

Offline Clouty

« Reply #111 on: February 08, 2014, 06:39:45 AM »
but not as much fun  ;) ;D ;D

EDIT...probably should mention that the vehicle Clouty is driving there is his previous 80 series, not the one he's selling now. Reckon he would have had tears rolling down his cheeks if he'd taken the one he's now selling through that track....lol
Lol
I forgot about that photo.. What Rumpig said that is NOT the 4wd that I've got for sale..

Offline Ben...

• Breath In - Breath Out.
« Reply #112 on: February 12, 2014, 06:35:55 AM »
Fires went right through from behive road south. Keyholes, tripod track are all ok, but sections are very burnt but will recover.
Mazda BT50 GT
Lifestyle 360

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #113 on: February 13, 2014, 12:48:38 PM »
Me I am now in love ... Sitting at flinders with a cold beer in hand ,
Top spot  :cup:

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

nbd73

« Reply #114 on: February 13, 2014, 08:08:55 PM »
Me I am now in love ... Sitting at flinders with a cold beer in hand ,
Top spot  :cup:

Jet ;D
No photo to upload?  At least share the scene (please)with the jealous minions following enviously!! ;D ;D

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #115 on: February 14, 2014, 09:20:18 AM »
No photo to upload?  At least share the scene (please)with the jealous minions following enviously!! ;D ;D

I can't work out how to off iPhone  :-[
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline 4wd26

« Reply #116 on: February 14, 2014, 11:45:49 AM »
I can't work out how to off iPhone  :-[
tapatalk makes it real easy  :cheers:
you have been blest with awesome weather, some good fish on the bite as well offshore
'08 Mitsubishi Triton GLX/R Diesel Auto, with offroad accessories.
Windsor Rapid 472s Offroad
Not your usual camper trailer
Getting Out There<- BLOG

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #117 on: February 14, 2014, 12:01:41 PM »
I've never been, and it looks like I've been missing out. Definitely need to remedy that one of these days.
Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

« Reply #118 on: April 02, 2014, 06:04:44 PM »
Hey there swaggers
We're heading over (FINALLY) this weekend for 4 nights this weekend, staying at Flinders. It is Me, Better Half, 8 yr old and 5 yr twins

Some questions if I may.
1. Looking at this map.
 https://maps.google.com.au/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=217951472158741232134.0004e23c82523892a6673&ie=UTF8&t=h&z=14&source=embed&dg=feature
Are the sites 4,5 & 6 still the best as far as the toilet access goes?
2. Trying to reduce weight, is there some where to fill up the Gerry Can for shower water near by? Even if it is a drive to type thing in our daily travels.
3. I see that a fire should be OK, can fire wood be bought on the island?
4. Is it worth taking some Kayaks?
Thanks swaggers.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2014, 06:26:28 PM by DaveR »

Offline kiwipride

« Reply #119 on: April 02, 2014, 07:24:24 PM »
DaveR

We were there just last weekend.

1. Yes 3-6 and also 7 are great spots with 7 beening a little more private. Wish we stayed at 7 but we stayed at 3
2. Fill up at Adder Rock caravan Park. The tap is on the left right at the boom gate. The is a attached hose already on.
3. Yes, we had fires. bring on wood or there is a guy who sells it on the way up from Dunich.
4. Don't know about Kayaks.
Bonus, a shark washed up on the beach!
My plan is to live forever......so far, so good!

Offline kiwipride

« Reply #120 on: April 02, 2014, 07:27:35 PM »
Shark:

My plan is to live forever......so far, so good!

« Reply #121 on: April 02, 2014, 07:49:33 PM »
Thanks for that.
All sorted then.

Offline 4wd26

« Reply #122 on: April 03, 2014, 07:45:42 AM »
depends on how mobile you want to be with the kayaks
Flinders "most" times will be ok straight off the beach for kayaking
or take the kayaks to brown lake, not a bad way to finish off the camping trip anyway, get to clean up the kayaks in fresh water
good kayaking in the Bay (Dunwich to Amity)  :cheers:

the rest of the advice is spot on, not far up the beach to Adder rock to get water
'08 Mitsubishi Triton GLX/R Diesel Auto, with offroad accessories.
Windsor Rapid 472s Offroad
Not your usual camper trailer
Getting Out There<- BLOG

Offline chisel

« Reply #123 on: April 04, 2014, 01:46:45 PM »
I'm looking forward to 10 days over there covering easter and anzac day.  We'll be down Main beach.

I thought there was a fire ban in place.  Has it been lifted with the recent rain?

« Reply #124 on: April 04, 2014, 02:28:34 PM »
I thought there was a fire ban in place.  Has it been lifted with the recent rain?
Yes, good to go for COOKING fires, wink wink, nudge nudge.......