Author Topic: Poverty Creek Bribie Island  (Read 7248 times)

Poverty Creek Bribie Island
« on: August 16, 2019, 07:06:41 PM »
We're thinking of heading here for a few days. Has anyone been on the access road recently?

Re: Poverty Creek Bribie Island
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2019, 07:11:48 PM »
I was there a couple of months ago and it was fine. Just air down and take it slow over the humps. Make sure you take the aerogard, I’ve heard the midges are ferocious around that side of the island.

Personally i think Ocean Beach is better but you do have to book well in advance.

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2019, 07:16:54 PM »
Hijacking the thread a little, what's a day trip like to Bribie like, in the past I have heard that it attracts a bit of an undesirable crowd?

« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2019, 07:19:08 PM »
I was there a couple of months ago and it was fine. Just air down and take it slow over the humps. Make sure you take the aerogard, I’ve heard the midges are ferocious around that side of the island.

Personally i think Ocean Beach is better but you do have to book well in advance.

Thanks, Rockrat, we are booked in to the ocean side 2nd week in Sept. for 4 nights. We've been there a few times recently but haven't been to Poverty for probably 20 years.

« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2019, 07:24:32 PM »
We had a fun time at Trinity’s ladies day over there.
The wife and I actually noticed considerably less bogans then we would have seen up at DI.

With regards to the camping on the western side, this time of year it’s perfect over there, especially if you get a light westerly in the evenings.
I prefer the boat access only sites and we usually have a couple of nights at mission point around this time of year.
Haven’t had an issue with mozzies or bogans over there so far.

« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2019, 07:27:06 PM »
Hijacking the thread a little, what's a day trip like to Bribie like, in the past I have heard that it attracts a bit of an undesirable crowd?
I’ve both camped and done day trips to Bribie with no issues at all. Its a pretty long beach so you can usually find some space and like all campgrounds I’m sure you get the good and the bad.

« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2019, 05:10:34 AM »
No vehicle access to the camping area at poverty creek. Don’t take too much gear. It helps keep numbers down though and there’s fire pits.

« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2019, 08:12:28 AM »
I don't want the likes of you lot coming up here, stay away.  :angel: :P

« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2019, 08:49:42 AM »
I don't want the likes of you lot coming up here, stay away.  :angel: :P

Ooh, I feel the luv, Fooey. :-* :-*

Offline BC66

« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2019, 10:33:44 AM »
We have only camped on the ocean side because let’s face it. Anyone can camp in a paddock but it’s something special to be behind the dunes and listening to the waves as you sleep

« Reply #10 on: August 17, 2019, 02:51:33 PM »
I prefer the boat access only sites and we usually have a couple of nights at mission point around this time of year.
Haven’t had an issue with mozzies or bogans over there so far.

You will need to make some floaties for your camper now.

« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2019, 03:12:49 PM »
You will need to make some floaties for your camper now.
This one is heaps more fun. ;D
4 people, all of our camping gear for the weekend and still happily sits on 65km/h up the passage... ;)

« Reply #12 on: August 17, 2019, 03:31:12 PM »
No vehicle access to the camping area at poverty creek. Don’t take too much gear. It helps keep numbers down though and there’s fire pits.
There are 2 areas, the tent camping and the group/trailer camping area.
I went up there a couple of years ago and stayed in the group area on the left as you drive in, drove in, unfolded the RTT and a mate set up his trailer with no problem. https://parks.des.qld.gov.au/parks/bribie-island/pdf/bribie-povertycreek.pdf

Wednesday/Thursday we had the place completely to ourselves (we were the bogans that night :-[ ), but Friday afternoon there was an influx and the place was packed solid.
Noisy yobs, fireworks, kids howling because of the fireworks... I was happy to head home Saturday.
The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #13 on: August 17, 2019, 03:36:06 PM »
This one is heaps more fun. ;D
4 people, all of our camping gear for the weekend and still happily sits on 65km/h up the passage... ;)
Put your camper on a pontoon made with 10 of these
 and a frame and you would have a houseboat and turn a lot more heads ;D 15 should see them only half in the water!

Offline BC66

« Reply #14 on: August 17, 2019, 03:36:17 PM »

The spot we stay at only has 2 sites. One for a camper and the other is for a tent. It’s perfect and within walking distance to water and a real toilet if you don’t want to use the porta loo

« Reply #15 on: August 18, 2019, 08:10:48 PM »

The spot we stay at only has 2 sites. One for a camper and the other is for a tent. It’s perfect and within walking distance to water and a real toilet if you don’t want to use the porta loo

Was looking at the Camper sites and looks like you need to book quite a bit in advance.

Offline BC66

« Reply #16 on: August 18, 2019, 08:11:42 PM »
We stayed mid week and were lucky. The weekends were booked out like 8 months in advance

The following users thanked this post: Rumpig

« Reply #17 on: August 19, 2019, 02:22:29 PM »
We managed a Sunday to Wednesday next month on Ocean beach.

« Reply #18 on: August 19, 2019, 03:45:33 PM »
We managed a Sunday to Wednesday next month on Ocean beach.

Tent or camper site?

« Reply #19 on: August 19, 2019, 04:26:16 PM »
Tent or camper site?

It's a  multipurpose site. We're tossing up whether camper or swags.

Offline BC66

« Reply #20 on: August 19, 2019, 04:51:53 PM »
We got stuck to start with trying to get the camper over the dunes.
Wasn’t that fun !

« Reply #21 on: August 22, 2019, 12:51:31 PM »
As it turns out, we were lucky that there were no vacancies on the weekend so didn't go to Bribie, as we would have had to evacuate yesterday because of the fire.

« Reply #22 on: August 23, 2019, 09:34:15 PM »
Told ya we didn't need the likes of you up here.  ;D

« Reply #23 on: August 24, 2019, 01:34:11 PM »
Told ya we didn't need the likes of you up here.  ;D

You didn't have to go and set fire to half the island just to keep me away!

How's it looking at the moment?

« Reply #24 on: August 24, 2019, 02:15:48 PM »
Hey Foo - those smoke pots you've got spread around the place to scare people away are doing a great job! >:D

The following users thanked this post: Foo