Author Topic: Carnage of the Cape MkII  (Read 31692 times)

Re: Carnage of the Cape MkII
« Reply #25 on: July 08, 2012, 08:27:49 PM »
I don' know how you did all that, when we did the cape, just before all you guys, i GOT NOTHING, and i mean nothing, well pin stripes but that is nothing anyhow. The trailer had red duct everywhere but that is all.

DANG

Just the law of averages.  We had 25 vehicles in our group, so the probability of problems increases with the amount of people.  You aren't comparing apples with apples if you are only talking about one vehicle.

We had people in our convoy that didn't suffer any damage either.

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #26 on: July 08, 2012, 09:03:32 PM »
Damage report so far after sitting in Weipa for 3 days- broken lock on the cupboard in the kitchen, broken spotlight, broken winch control box bracket my winch control is now duct taped to my bullbar. Major pinstriping on car and trailer and bent stabilizer legs. We still have 2 weeks to go but the hardest part is over tomorrow when we get out of weipa and head for the bituman. :cheers:
2006 Toyota Prado
2014 Stoney creek rear fold.

Offline Maîneÿ . . .

• Watch videos below
    • S0LAR power charging videos
« Reply #27 on: July 09, 2012, 07:31:22 AM »

We had people in our convoy that didn't suffer any damage either.

What would you put the lack of damage down to, with those that had no damage ? ?

Just asking as I expect to do a trip to the Cape in the future and it would be good advice to know how to avoid the carnage seen in the photo's

Offline JU5T1N

Carnage of the Cape MkII
« Reply #28 on: July 09, 2012, 08:56:25 AM »
The Cape is just like any other trip you take, it has it's risks. You can go there thinking you have everything spare covered and either not need any or break the 1 part you don't have. You could drive there & back with no issues or many. It comes down to good vehicle prep, knowing your car & driver ability, knowing when your in over your head and should take an easier option. I've seen $3000 Suzuki's do it with ease yet $100,000+ get carnage. At the end of the day it's an ultimate adventure that we can really enjoy but must treat with respect.....IMO

Nissan whore:
Nissan Patrol GUramax (Stripped by ADC)
Nissan Skyline R33 GTR V-spec 480awkw
Nissan Skyline R34 GTR M-spec 830awkw (NOW SOLD)

« Reply #29 on: July 09, 2012, 11:17:44 AM »
What would you put the lack of damage down to, with those that had no damage ? ?

Just asking as I expect to do a trip to the Cape in the future and it would be good advice to know how to avoid the carnage seen in the photo's

That’s the million dollar question, but unfortunately there is no real answer.  What I do know is the more flash your 4WD is, then there more chance of the luxury items playing up.

Some brands of 4WD’s are more prone to the same parts coming loose, so reseach is key.

Ground clearance is your friend and sometimes sh#t just happens. Maybe you took the wrong line or maybe the car is front moved a rock or made a hole just a little bit bigger. Sometimes these things work in your favour and sometimes it doesn’t. But if your still able to drive home under your own steam then it was a successful trip.

After 12 months it all becomes a good talking point.

« Reply #30 on: July 09, 2012, 12:13:02 PM »
If you take Tim's example where the U-bolts broke - how the hell can you prepare for that?  You can check and recheck them as much as you like, but there is no way you can prevent against it.

Just a bit of bad luck.

I also agree that when taking on tracks like that you are at risk of damage.  If you want to be totally risk free stay on the black top.

« Reply #31 on: July 09, 2012, 12:43:33 PM »
Quote from: Smartway

I don't care what anyone says, I reckon anyman that pulled up after hearing a 'noise' from the trailer and saw that would cry...

« Reply #32 on: July 09, 2012, 01:02:08 PM »
Years of travelling the Cape I have seen alot of vehicles sustain damage from minor to severe roll overs.

As mentioned you can make the trip as easy or hard as you like depending on what tracks you tackle. At every stop I would look at the springs and U bolts on the camper and also under the car. The OTL is the tuffest track to tackle and you can drive it as slow as you can and not sustain any damage but one mistake or lack of concentration and you can do some damage.

The currugations on the by pass roads can also play havoc with suspension but at the end of the day it is like all dirt roads drive to conditions and speed that you are comfortable with. Also it is the other drivers that can do the damage to your car as Mauri copped a stone chipping his windscreen while I had an idiot over take me in the dust and sprayed me with rocks.

What people dont hear is the amount of deaths that occur at the Cape from rollovers, head ons etc. The Thursday before we arrived a vehicle rolled before the Jardine river and was killed.

« Last Edit: July 09, 2012, 01:04:21 PM by McGirr »

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #33 on: July 09, 2012, 08:04:41 PM »

What people dont hear is the amount of deaths that occur at the Cape from rollovers, head ons etc. The Thursday before we arrived a vehicle rolled before the Jardine river and was killed.

We were waiting at the ferry when the ambulance tore in looking for that accident.  Very sad.

Offline bert56

« Reply #34 on: July 09, 2012, 08:07:36 PM »
All I got this year was more pin stripping. 
I also had a jerry can with about 12 litres of petrol in it stolen at seisa. The idiots burnt the strap off.
Had to replace the windscreen after 2 chips were so close together.

Bert
« Last Edit: July 17, 2012, 06:54:44 AM by bert56 »

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #35 on: July 09, 2012, 08:29:54 PM »
There are some things that you can't prevent as has been said, personally I did not find the cape that challanging, I think it's a place that hands it to the unprepared or the un-educated but good prep and sound decisons will see you through any trip without giving your car a bigger wash than you intened.

Treat your car like it's your life support, every day ask yourself
"can i drive this how many % chance have I got"

Then
" Will it damage my car, what % is the chance of damage"

Then I factor the 2 together

if I have a 90% chance of driving it with a 90% chance of damage then I bypass it.

If I have a 90% chance of driving it with a 30% chance of damage the odds are getting better.

The odds of damage must always take preceedence over the old "have a go mate you'll be right" Thats fools gold IMHO..

Have a plan , have a back-up plan and never drive into anything without a cleary laid out exit stratagey.

Or just rip tear bust and keep evreyone entertained ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Jet :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #36 on: July 09, 2012, 08:36:32 PM »
There are some things that you can't prevent as has been said, personally I did not find the cape that challanging, I think it's a place that hands it to the unprepared or the un-educated but good prep and sound decisons will see you through any trip without giving your car a bigger wash than you intened.

Then

if I have a 90% chance of driving it with a 90% chance of damage then I bypass it.

If I have a 90% chance of driving it with a 30% chance of damage the odds are getting better.

The odds of damage must always take preceedence over the old "have a go mate you'll be right" Thats fools gold IMHO..

Have a plan , have a back-up plan and never drive into anything without a cleary laid out exit stratagey.

Hey mate, that sounds like you have completed risk assessment course ;D ;D ;D

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #37 on: July 09, 2012, 08:47:19 PM »
Hey mate, that sounds like you have completed risk assessment course ;D ;D ;D

Ha Ha , It was free and they threw in the common sense modules for free as well ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline rodsswag

• Always dreamed it, now living it!!!!!!!
« Reply #38 on: July 09, 2012, 08:51:55 PM »

Then

Swag
Coramal Caravan

Offline Maîneÿ . . .

• Watch videos below
    • S0LAR power charging videos
« Reply #39 on: July 09, 2012, 09:04:23 PM »
Ha Ha , It was free and they threw in the common sense modules for free as well

are those "free" ones like the budget priced solar powered "modules"  :cup:

Offline Offroad 4x4 Accessories

Carnage of the Cape MkII
« Reply #40 on: July 09, 2012, 09:10:17 PM »
Just to let everyone know about my u bolts. They were less then 12 months old and they were the most heavy duty I could find bought from a reputable trailer parts supplier. Me being a mechanic I did check them at least once a day along with all my other checks. The nuts did not come lose it broke up the top of the u bolt. These sort of things you can't prepare for or check(unless you could xray)except to have good insurance. Just bad luck

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #41 on: July 09, 2012, 09:17:06 PM »
Just to let everyone know about my u bolts. They were less then 12 months old and they were the most heavy duty I could find bought from a reputable trailer parts supplier. Me being a mechanic I did check them at least once a day along with all my other checks. The nuts did not come lose it broke up the top of the u bolt. These sort of things you can't prepare for or check(unless you could xray)except to have good insurance. Just bad luck

Fully agree Tim there is nothing you or anyone else could have done to prevent that, you did a good job just keeping it the right way up. :cup:

Jet ;D ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #42 on: July 09, 2012, 09:17:24 PM »

Yep, sometimes shyt just happens. Risk mitigation only goes so far........Glad to hear your insurance has come to the party....

Offline becboo

• take nothing but pics leave nothing but footprints
Carnage of the Cape MkII
« Reply #43 on: July 09, 2012, 09:17:59 PM »
The good thing is no one got hurt, maimed or killed.
Cars and campers are just objects than can be replaced. People can't be.

1 question - Did you all have fun? Did you make some awesome memories?

A resounding YES!!  Fantastic!!

Becboo
Aussie Swag Camper towed by an awesome 100 series with goodies!!

Education & Intelligence accomplish nothing without action....

Offline JU5T1N

« Reply #44 on: July 09, 2012, 10:27:42 PM »
In all my years of doing comps the one time I broke something in an event was the transfer case mounts in"Stairway to Heaven" at Nissan Trials. We drove to the 100 point finish, with the Transfer stick disappearing every time I took my foot of the accelerator but I only wanted to crawl the event. At the end we found all but 1 broke in half on the second step. I had only changed them that day as my sponsor had brought a few brand spankers with him in his kit and offered them to me. I replaced them with the 1's I removed and they remained in the car for years to follow.

It's a roll of the dice in the end, you could replace every bolt to be x10 stronger and that could then be a fault as well. It is all apart of your adventure. If the trip was just as safe as a Coles car park we wouldn't be so fascinated with it as it be full of undesirables.
OK Coles car park not that safe in some suburbs do to undesirables..... ;D

Nissan whore:

Marschy

« Reply #45 on: July 10, 2012, 11:38:28 PM »
I don't care what anyone says, I reckon anyman that pulled up after hearing a 'noise' from the trailer and saw that would cry...

Cry, or laugh, hysterically?

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #46 on: July 11, 2012, 11:45:35 AM »
Sounds like you guys have had a few dramas too. We've been stuck shuffling between accomms in Bamaga and Seisia for the past week waiting for an axle to be made for our camper and flown up.

It's a strange feeling watching your tyre roll past you down Bamaga Road. Jamie(hubby) has called in all sorts of favours, and the guys at Cape York Spares and Repairs have been fantastic. Also Sue at Bamaga Resort has bent over backwards to help us out. Amazing people up here. Hopefully Thursday we'll be back on the road and meet up in Weipa with the rest of our crew.

We've done some exploring up here in the meantime, but I would much rather have been down at Chili Beach. We've also missed doing the Frenchmans Track now too. Them's the breaks :-(

Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

Offline JU5T1N

« Reply #47 on: July 11, 2012, 07:07:49 PM »
Sounds like you guys have had a few dramas too. We've been stuck shuffling between accomms in Bamaga and Seisia for the past week waiting for an axle to be made for our camper and flown up.

It's a strange feeling watching your tyre roll past you down Bamaga Road. Jamie(hubby) has called in all sorts of favours, and the guys at Cape York Spares and Repairs have been fantastic. Also Sue at Bamaga Resort has bent over backwards to help us out. Amazing people up here. Hopefully Thursday we'll be back on the road and meet up in Weipa with the rest of our crew.

We've done some exploring up here in the meantime, but I would much rather have been down at Chili Beach. We've also missed doing the Frenchmans Track now too. Them's the breaks :-(

Good to see it's all getting sorted. You'll have to go back next year to do the Frenchman's

Nissan whore:

Offline ovr55

« Reply #48 on: July 16, 2012, 05:16:02 PM »
Gday all, new front diff lock, 2 new free wheeling hubs all done by TJM Toowoomba free of charge. Will be reinbursed the charges at Seisia next week.I could not be happier with TJM's service.Mick T

« Reply #49 on: July 16, 2012, 05:46:54 PM »
Gday all, new front diff lock, 2 new free wheeling hubs all done by TJM Toowoomba free of charge. Will be reinbursed the charges at Seisia next week.I could not be happier with TJM's service.Mick T

Excellent news Mick......she'll be good as new, and $0 outlay.
I'd be happy, too.

Geoff